Dunfermline Athletic Training Ground

dannymack

8 hours ago, been here before said:

Aye, opened in 2016.

Strachan was apparently greeting about it early doors right up to his punting the following year.

It because he wanted to train at a luxury hotel just outside of Glasgow with few facilities rather than use a purpose built facility. 

• Replies 107

• dannymack

• kingantti1874

• RustyRightPeg

• Sooks

3 minutes ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

The club knows more than you. Favourable terms may not be forthcoming. Oriam like any Landlord will be looking to increase the rent considerably and will not look to spend a penny. So we’re going to pay for an extension to their house? 

We will be leaving IMO 

They know more than you as well don’t they, and haven’t we already publicly stated the preference is to stay? 

We should pay for an extension to our house, for our use and rent the pitches on favourable terms .  

That’s what a sensible business would do.  we are a small club, we don’t have £20m to chuck at a project with no return. 

Andrew McKinley February 13th 2024

“The own site is more a backup if we can't get to where we want to get to with the Oriam. That's our first preference. With the Oriam we are at the stage of looking at feasibility studies of what a better training facility at Oriam would look like, how we would fund that, and all these sorts of things. That is one of the focus areas this calendar year."

Edited by kingantti1874

Ministryofdad
53 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

They don't though.

Hearts & the SRU have a private area at the other end of the facility that they get exclusive access to.

Private players entrance. No access to the public what so ever. 

Private dining facilities also. All be it have to walk through the public part for a very short time before going up stairs to dine in private. 

Oriam is fine for hearts. 

Would be better if it had proper recovery facilities for players. 

dannymack
10 hours ago, Chuck Berry said:

Rosyth got kicked out of Recreation Park as the Council sold it to a supermarket, that was 4 or 5 years ago.

They got a temporary home at the Fleet Grounds until such time as they got a replacement ground as part of the supermarket deal, but it dragged on and on, the Council didn't allow the developers to start work until a new ground was supplied.  Fleet Grounds didn't meet East of Scotland League requirements and the league was running out of patience.

They were then supposed to be going to the Civil Service ground along with the Pars, but I believe they were shafted by them and it was back to square one, but the Fleet Grounds were now needed for a new school.

Eventually a new 3g was agreed for one of the pitches at Pitreavie, bascially a 3g cage, with dressing rooms in the big white building, moving there for next season.  However, the terms of the rental were changed a couple of months ago which the club couldn't meet, so they decided to jack it and withdrew from the league with immediate effect.

Recreation Park remains a wasteground, undeveloped.    A complete shambles.

That's bang out of order... a number of folk are to be held responsible for that. 

What supermarket was going to be built ? 

My guess is the land will be left for a few years before being sold off for a small housing unit. 

dannymack
9 hours ago, sirwalter said:

Ah, but way, way back in the mists of time the Pars had big plans for a training centre at Humbug Park - it didn't end well.. 

Wasn't aware of that, trying to bully their way into Humbug but C.P. having none of it 

dannymack
8 hours ago, Armageddon said:

Have you ever set foot in any part of the Orium?  That will explain why we’ve not committed the multi-millions needed to build and run and top class facility. 

Yes. Unfortunately we're 3rd down the pecking order. 

Mikey1874
1 hour ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Those who rabbit on about how class Oriam is have never even been there let alone train there. It’s essentially a public gym. I get adverts for a membership there. We may as well train at David Lloyd or Meggetland “fantastic facility” there too. But it’s not ours, we don’t control it. Any old Tom Dick and Harry walks the same halls as our players. 

I 100% expect Hearts to move on when contract expires in 2030. It seems OP has completely missed the noise which has been regularly coming out of the club indicating we’re looking closely at it. It will easy take the 6 years we have until then to plan it properly so we def won’t be terminating Oriam early. 

Ann Budge saying infrastructure projects are over and all money is going into playing squad is wrong then.

Because we'd to start saving for the cost of a training facility now surely.

dannymack
1 hour ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Those who rabbit on about how class Oriam is have never even been there let alone train there. It’s essentially a public gym. I get adverts for a membership there. We may as well train at David Lloyd or Meggetland “fantastic facility” there too. But it’s not ours, we don’t control it. Any old Tom Dick and Harry walks the same halls as our players. 

I 100% expect Hearts to move on when contract expires in 2030. It seems OP has completely missed the noise which has been regularly coming out of the club indicating we’re looking closely at it. It will easy take the 6 years we have until then to plan it properly so we def won’t be terminating Oriam early. 

👏👏👏👏👏

It's all about getting to the next level and ticking off what's next on the  "to do list". 

JimmyCant
16 hours ago, dannymack said:

As I said I'm led to believe all is not well up at The Oriam with sub standard grass pitches, behind the SRU and SFA in the pecking order when it comes to booking indoor facilities, not having privacy when training, not having privacy and adequate facilities for analysis, team bonding and catering. 

All this was on the back end of the guy who's with Steve Clarke at Scotland complaining about the same details. 

My source is a coach with the Youth Development (I'll not mention names) and he has in previous conversations mentioned the need for Hearts to move on into the next levels if we're wanting to sit near the top of the tree. 

Another £10m to £15m infrastructure project which merely serves to have somewhere similar to train on to what we have now, would be a ludicrous waste of money for a club with our resources

Rather than advance us to next levels etc etc blah blah, it would hold us back financially for another 3-4 years, diverting money away from the first team when we’ve only just been told that the major projects are done for now and we’re going to better resource the football side.

Its a wish list dream project and unless someone is going to underwrite  the cost without impacting the first team (even standing still takes you backwards) we shouldn’t even be contemplating this, other than a paper exercise. 

if we’ve lost some good faith with Oriam/Riccarton we ought to be looking at repairing that relationship first, even if it means paying a bit more for a higher priority in the relationship. If the pitches are shite, jointly financing new pitches seems a good option to me.

Diverting millions into a new build facility would be utterly stupid IMO.

8 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Ann Budge saying infrastructure projects are over and all money is going into playing squad is wrong then.

Because we'd to start saving for the cost of a training facility now surely.

To be fair she said for the next couple of seasons that there is no infrastructure projects needing funding, I can imagine if we are serious about a new training ground then we will have a long term plan and the benefactors will play a big part in funding it. 

Just now, JimmyCant said:

Another £10m to £15m infrastructure project which merely serves to have somewhere similar to train on to what we have now, would be a ludicrous waste of money for a club with our resources

Rather than advance us to next levels etc etc blah blah, it would hold us back financially for another 3-4 years, diverting money away from the first team when we’ve only just been told that the major projects are done for now and we’re going to better resource the football side.

Its a wish list dream project and unless someone is going to underwrite  the cost without impacting the first team (even standing still takes you backwards) we shouldn’t even be contemplating this, other than a paper exercise. 

if we’ve lost some good faith with Oriam/Riccarton we ought to be looking at repairing that relationship first, even if it means paying a bit more for a higher priority in the relationship. If the pitches are shite, jointly financing new pitches seems a good option to me.

someone gets it.  Thankfully, Andrew McKinley does as well judging by his comments in February. 

dannymack

If the top table at the club are not willing to take the risk then we'll fall short in my opinion. 

Take the banter away from Hibs' training complex, that's what we should be looking to emulate but maybe upgrade on a number of things that are down there. 

Steven Naismith, Frank Macavoy and Gordon Forrest have all experienced clubs with private facilities therefore if they're looking to take Hearts to the next level then the top table surely have to listen up. 

Fans who are anticipating white elephants are not really looking at the bigger picture here, there are ways and means of funding projects and I'm confident we could achieve those aims. 

We really do need to cut ties with The Oriam and Heriot Watt. 

JimmyCant
2 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

To be fair she said for the next couple of seasons that there is no infrastructure projects needing funding, I can imagine if we are serious about a new training ground then we will have a long term plan and the benefactors will play a big part in funding it. 

Isn’t this the last year of commitment from our ‘benefactor’ I thought we only had 2 significant benefactors in any case. James Anderson (whose official commitment is expiring soon) and Ann Budge herself. We talk about benefactors like there’s a dozen of them. There is one as far as I know who’s ploughed money in for 5 years and doesn’t appear to get or want a return, and Ann Budge, to whom we still owe money plus interest for her financial input (so not truly a benefactor to the same extent as Anderson has been)

dannymack
5 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

1, The quality of the pitches is no where near the standard required to help Hearts try to proceed to the next level. The days are gone of Roseburn/Saughton Park holes, divits and dug shit ! 

2, Blah Blah Blah will not help the club win trophies, qualify for Europe and attract players.

3, Similar project mirroring the new Main Stand, is there really that a high a risk with a new project once the hotel is finally completed ? 

1 minute ago, dannymack said:

1, The quality of the pitches is no where near the standard required to help Hearts try to proceed to the next level. The days are gone of Roseburn/Saughton Park holes, divits and dug shit ! 

2, Blah Blah Blah will not help the club win trophies, qualify for Europe and attract players.

3, Similar project mirroring the new Main Stand, is there really that a high a risk with a new project once the hotel is finally completed ? 

Load of tripe.  Thankfully the club arent thinking the same way.  Once again if we have £20 m to spend let’s spend it on things which will actually help grow the club.

It’s not lost that the quotes from McKinley have been conveniently glossed over.  It’s not the clubs plan - thankfully.!! 

JimmyCant
21 minutes ago, dannymack said:

If the top table at the club are not willing to take the risk then we'll fall short in my opinion. 

Take the banter away from Hibs' training complex, that's what we should be looking to emulate but maybe upgrade on a number of things that are down there. 

Steven Naismith, Frank Macavoy and Gordon Forrest have all experienced clubs with private facilities therefore if they're looking to take Hearts to the next level then the top table surely have to listen up. 

Fans who are anticipating white elephants are not really looking at the bigger picture here, there are ways and means of funding projects and I'm confident we could achieve those aims. 

We really do need to cut ties with The Oriam and Heriot Watt. 

Fall short of what exactly ?. The mythical next level ?

A training facility even close to what Oriam/Riccarton offers would cost us about the same as what the ‘next level’ clubs outlays on a couple of new players without batting an eye.

This ‘next level’ nonsense should be binned. What we should be aiming for is securing and consolidating the level we’re at. That’s the ceiling whether you like it or not unless something drastically changes in regard to Celtic and Rangers. If there’s a next level for us it’s to stop having to hope the likes of Kilmarnock and St Mirren slip up

You don’t need to spend £15 million on a training facility which wouldn’t have any tangible impact if you’re not chucking every possible penny into improving the first team quality. £15 million ! Can you imagine what that does for our first team for the next 3-4 years ? We certainly wouldn’t be worried about having Shankland poached for sweeties. He’d actually have to fight for a start ! Christ we can’t even take him off if he’s having a quiet game just now because we’ve got zero to substitute him with. God knows where we’d be if he’d done a hamstring in December. Certainly not 3rd and probably not top six. Priorities mate. Priorities.

Edited by JimmyCant

1 minute ago, kingantti1874 said:

Load of tripe.  Thankfully the club arent thinking the same way.  Once again if we have £20 m to spend let’s spend it on things which will actually help grow the club.

It’s not lost that the quotes from McKinley have been conveniently glossed over.  It’s not the clubs plan - thankfully.!! 

Its clears from the word of Hearts that whatever happens there will be investment needed to be put in, Hearts preferred option is that they stay at Oriam and get permission to build their own section there. But if they cant get that then the consideration is a new training ground.

In an article today Naismith talked about improvements to the training ground being planned.

I do think we will stay at Oriam with new areas which will be solely Hearts (both internal and external) but we will have to fund. I think its in the Oriams interest to have a permanent tenant, but I am certain that there will be early plans at the moment for a new training ground as a contingency. 

Mikey1874
7 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

Fall short of what exactly ?. The mythical next level ?

A training facility even close to what Oriam/Riccarton offers would cost us about the same as what the ‘next level’ clubs outlays on a couple of new players without batting an eye.

This ‘next level’ nonsense should be binned. What we should be aiming for is securing and consolidating the level we’re at. That’s the ceiling whether you like it or not unless something drastically changes in regard to Celtic and Rangers.

You don’t need to spend £15 million on a training facility which wouldn’t have any tangible impact if you’re not chucking every possible penny into improving the first team quality. £15 million ! Can you imagine what that does for our first team for the next 3-4 years ? We certainly wouldn’t be worried about having Shankland poached for sweeties. He’d actually have to fight for a start ! Christ we can’t even take him off if he’s having a quiet game just now because we’ve got zero to substitute him with. God knows where we’d be if he’d done a hamstring in December. Certainly not 3rd and probably not top six. Priorities mate. Priorities.

Fall short of Hibs and what they've achieved since they had their own training ground. 

45 minutes ago, Ministryofdad said:

Private players entrance. No access to the public what so ever. 

Private dining facilities also. All be it have to walk through the public part for a very short time before going up stairs to dine in private. 

Oriam is fine for hearts. 

Would be better if it had proper recovery facilities for players. 

Too small though, apparently. 

Not once have I heard anyone from Hearts moan about Oriam. 

McKinley said he'd explore the possibilities of our own training ground, purely for convenience, not due to the standards not being up to scratch.

Think the facilities are excellent tbh.

2 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

McKinley said he'd explore the possibilities of our own training ground, purely for convenience, not due to the standards not being up to scratch.

Hearts have outgrown the facilities they bought into when the Academy opened in 2004.

There were no women's or girls teams envisaged at that time. The number of coaching and specialist support staff has increased significantly, both at first team and academy levels. They only had very limited catering facilities. 

The opening of the Oriam introduced competition for the use of the facilities. Hearts are being squeezed as to when they their academy teams can train and there are limitations on what facilities they can use.

My general observation is that the grass pitches are in poor condition. Whether that's down to lack of maintenance, overuse, or the weather, I don't know.  The astro also gets hammered and will have a relatively short life before it needs its surface replaced.

2 hours ago, A_A wehatethehibs said:

Hearts have their own private facility within the Oriam.

And why can't our players walk the same halls as the public riff-raff when they come in? They train/meet/eat privately which is all that matters.

I've seen players there loads and nobody bats an eyelid.

Just now, Nookie Bear said:

And why can't our players walk the same halls as the public riff-raff when they come in? They train/meet/eat privately which is all that matters.

Such a weird take thinking the players need to be somehow ushered around in private.

Just now, Footballfirst said:

Hearts have outgrown the facilities they bought into when the Academy opened in 2004.

There were no women's or girls teams envisaged at that time. The number of coaching and specialist support staff has increased significantly, both at first team and academy levels. They only had very limited catering facilities. 

The opening of the Oriam introduced competition for the use of the facilities. Hearts are being squeezed as to when they their academy teams can train and there are limitations on what facilities they can use.

My general observation is that the grass pitches are in poor condition. Whether that's down to lack of maintenance, overuse, or the weather, I don't know.  The astro also gets hammered and will have a relatively short life before it needs its surface replaced.

So for a start the women's teams can go and train elsewhere. They are subsidised enough without us taking their needs into consideration when potentially investing £millions on new facilities.

8 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

So for a start the women's teams can go and train elsewhere. They are subsidised enough without us taking their needs into consideration when potentially investing £millions on new facilities.

:shockio:

My understanding is that Gavin Masterton holds a lease over Pitreavie and used the leverage of Rosyth's predicament with Lidl reneging on their agreement with the club and Fife Council to get funding towards installing a new astro pitch at Pitreavie.  (Masterton owns a company called Pitreavie Enterprises Ltd., which has its business address as the pavilion there).

Masterton then apparently put up the fees that Rosyth would have to pay for use of the facilities and the club chose to fold as a result.  Masterton now has a brand new astro that he can now rent out to joe public.  

Thomaso
14 hours ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Gavin Masterton (ex BOS chief) previously owned them, not sure when he sold up and some Germans own them now.  I think the guy you’re thinking of was maybe their chairman?

Yorkston?

Thomaso
27 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

👏

38 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Well that's not going to happen, thankfully.

Chuck Berry
1 hour ago, dannymack said:

That's bang out of order... a number of folk are to be held responsible for that. 

What supermarket was going to be built ? 

My guess is the land will be left for a few years before being sold off for a small housing unit. 

I want to say Aldi but I'm not sure.  Apparently they're not going ahead with it, for now.

I think we will expand our presence at Oriam. I think we will build on land close to the current facilities and put in the things that we need which are currently missing . Seems like the most cost effective way of doing it 

Women’s football will soon bring in so much money they will be able to build their own facilities. 

The strong independent ladies game will soon attract millions of women to watch the sport, stealing them away from preferred female past times such as keeping up with the Kardashian’s and married at first sight and  not be reliant on a cash back handers rom all the nasty obviously sexist men who for some strange reason don’t want to buy tickets.  

maybe we can share with the ladies when they build it .  

Edited by kingantti1874

10 minutes ago, Sooks said:

I think we will expand our presence at Oriam. I think we will build on land close to the current facilities and put in the things that we need which are currently missing . Seems like the most cost effective way of doing it 

👍🏻

Where exactly can the current site be expanded? Only spare space is opposite side of campus beside the Robotariam, on the current sports side, it looks like all available space has been taken up.

It sounds like a really positive move for Dunfermline. 

Always thought it was a shame that Fife haven't been able to put together a team that can retain top flight status. 

Chuck Berry
2 hours ago, dannymack said:

Wasn't aware of that, trying to bully their way into Humbug but C.P. having none of it 

When the original Crossgates Primrose went belly-up in the early 1960's, Dunfermline under Jock Stein took over Humbug Park. There were two pitches within the boundary of the ground.  At some point the Pars moved out and the newly resurrected CP moved back in around 1983.

Chuck Berry

If the B team has shown us anything, it shows that the club view player development as a vitally important part of how we operate in future. Producing our own players who can improve the team and make handsome profits when sold.

Part of that is providing top class facilities at the Academy/Training base.  Selling the club to parents as the best place for their kid to be. That also applies to prospective first team signings.

So whether we stay at Oriam (with improvements) or self-build we need to get it right.  It's an important part of our long term planning.

Edited by Chuck Berry

Armageddon
1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said:

Women’s football will soon bring in so much money they will be able to build their own facilities. 

The strong independent ladies game will soon attract millions of women to watch the sport, stealing them away from preferred female past times such as keeping up with the Kardashian’s and married at first sight and  not be reliant on a cash back handers rom all the nasty obviously sexist men who for some strange reason don’t want to buy tickets.  

maybe we can share with the ladies when they build it .  

I laughed :)

Men at home putting the kids to bed, that they have themselves birthed.

21 hours ago, dannymack said:

Was at Rosyth Dockyard this morning and passed the old Civil Service and Recreation Park (played there a few times over the distant years) and saw that work was getting done to the Civil,  stopped to have a look and asked the worker what was going on, seemingly The Pars have secured the land and once completed along with the old building it will be their new training ground... looks awfy good, or braw and there's two grass pitches included within the land area. 

Was thinking how and why have Hearts not done this sooner rather than later (I know we're in a contract) as I'm led to believe all is not well up at The Oriam with the club staff deserving a much better standard and service from the owners. 

I know the club has a tight budget and heads are above water but surely to compromise on a contract exit and use the rent money to finance our own training complex will only benefit Hearts in the long run ? 

Screenshot_20240404_152050_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20240404_152115_Gallery.jpg

Had many a good night of bowls there. Sad for the club they had to fold

1 hour ago, Cambo said:

Where exactly can the current site be expanded? Only spare space is opposite side of campus beside the Robotariam, on the current sports side, it looks like all available space has been taken up.

I had a wee look on maps a while ago and there are spaces . No idea whatsoever about the availability of that land however . I assume the club will have investigated and costed the possibility

dannymack
5 hours ago, kingantti1874 said:

Thank you for your derogatory opinion on mine that is quite clearly the opposite of yours you ignoramus. 

dannymack
5 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

Fall short of Hibs and what they've achieved since they had their own training ground. 

Massive differences to what Hibs have and to what Hearts' blueprint would be, as I stated earlier in the thread the Hibs training complex should be a bench mark and bench mark only. 

To ask Hearts players to train in a 'barn' is not what I'd expect. 

dannymack
5 hours ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Next time you speak to someone with close links to the club ask in great depth about the state of the pitches and the pecking order for booking indoor training. 

I'm sure you'll then here a moan. 

The facilities are not excellent, even the SFA don't want to entertain the outdoors. 

dannymack
5 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

Well said 👏👏

The maintenance of the pitches/facilities are not up to scratch. 

the posh bit

Knew a guy who lived near the old CSC in Rosyth, used to get a cracking pint of Tennents in there. 

dannymack
Posted (edited)
5 hours ago, Nookie Bear said:

No they don't, anyone can rock up and watch HOWEVER it's not the first time nor the last that the management team have had to ask folk to leave... Craig Levein used to lose his shit if a small crowd gathered and I'm led to believe Wee Lee sent someone up to spy on Hearts.

Edited by dannymack

17 minutes ago, dannymack said:

Thank you for your derogatory opinion on mine that is quite clearly the opposite of yours you ignoramus. 

thankfully my opinion is aligned with that of the club.  Who thankfully are approaching this is the right way, and not being overly dramatic or looking to be irresponsible with club funds.  

spending £20m (a conservative estimate for such a facility) will not help us move forward it will hold us back for years. 

Edited by kingantti1874

dannymack
5 hours ago, Footballfirst said:

My understanding is that Gavin Masterton holds a lease over Pitreavie and used the leverage of Rosyth's predicament with Lidl reneging on their agreement with the club and Fife Council to get funding towards installing a new astro pitch at Pitreavie.  (Masterton owns a company called Pitreavie Enterprises Ltd., which has its business address as the pavilion there).

Masterton then apparently put up the fees that Rosyth would have to pay for use of the facilities and the club chose to fold as a result.  Masterton now has a brand new astro that he can now rent out to joe public.  

Skulduggery_pleasant.jpg

dannymack
Just now, kingantti1874 said:

Yes your post was very respectful blah blah blah 🤨 it deserved the response it got 

thankfully my opinion is aligned with that of the club.

Deary me,no one set out to be disrespectful or derogatory, only yourself and one other disregarded opposite opinions by using the terminology "tripe and blah blah blah."

Thankfully my opinion is aligned with certain members of staff of the club too.