• Hearts007

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Watt-Zeefuik

15 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

Realistically we need the old firm to do really well in Europe. And when we get in yourselves win the winnable games. Rangers going through in this tie should make sure winners of the 2025 Scottish cup gets groups 

Sorry don't agree. They earn big group stage money in Europe every season. We don't.  It's bad enough thier dominance domestically and the European money just adds to kills the rest of us of us off. It keeps their wage bill compatibility high. The better they do the more they earn. One of the rest (maybe us) may hang on their coat tails and get lower group stage games occasionally. But thats chicken feed. What we really need is for them to fail miserably in Europe,  go out ASAP and be in crisis. If we qualify for Europe at any stage its up to us . I don't want to be beholden to the arse cheeks for anything. 

1 minute ago, Texaco said:

Sorry don't agree. They earn big group stage money in Europe every season. We don't.  It's bad enough thier dominance domestically and the European money just adds to kills the rest of us of us off. It keeps their wage bill compatibility high. The better they do the more they earn. One of the rest (maybe us) may hang on their coat tails and get lower group stage games occasionally. But thats chicken feed. What we really need is for them to fail miserably in Europe,  go out ASAP and be in crisis. If we qualify for Europe at any stage its up to us . I don't want to be beholden to the arse cheeks for anything. 

But we aren't that far off being able to earn big group stage money ourselves. No, it won't be as much as they do, but it could be a huge improvement over our current status.

And it's not just the OF we're in financial competition with. I absolutely hate that we lose out on players to shite low table English Championship and League One teams. More money for us in Europe means a better standard of player and a better chance to compete in Europe against the other mid-sized European clubs.

Luckies1874

Decent result for them. If they play anything like that on Sunday Hibs are out. 

After today's matches should be 2 good games next Thursday with both 1st legs ending in draws:

Rangers v Benfica 5.45pm (aye, they are being made to play early in the Weeg)

Aston Villa v Ajax 8pm

Edited by Luckies1874

Mikey1874

That was a pretty typical Rangers away European performance. Rode their luck but just did enough. 

johnking123

We need them to do well in Europe.  If we want group stage football. Hopefully they get through.

Good result for them.

They always look decent in Europe

Chuck Berry
19 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

But we aren't that far off being able to earn big group stage money ourselves. No, it won't be as much as they do, but it could be a huge improvement over our current status.

And it's not just the OF we're in financial competition with. I absolutely hate that we lose out on players to shite low table English Championship and League One teams. More money for us in Europe means a better standard of player and a better chance to compete in Europe against the other mid-sized European clubs.

Thomaso

….. slaughter the Hibs!

Gundermann

Despise them.

Good result for them unfortunately. 

4 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Co-efficient? 🥸😎

We need the coefficient to drop, so both OF play in the EL, Dave, otherwise Scotland's going to lose points when one of the OF flumps out of the CL

It's not looking too great unless Viktoria win their 2nd leg in the ECL next week, plus it would be best for the coefficient if rangers get knocked out next week

Benfica were really poor though and they're out unless they pull their socks right up

We'll be very lucky to stay in the top 12 after next Season and if we don't stay 11th / 12th then the Conference GS is oot the windae

34 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

We need the coefficient to drop, so both OF play in the EL, Dave, otherwise Scotland's going to lose points when one of the OF flumps out of the CL

It's not looking too great unless Viktoria win their 2nd leg in the ECL next week, plus it would be best for the coefficient if rangers get knocked out next week

Benfica were really poor though and they're out unless they pull their socks right up

We'll be very lucky to stay in the top 12 after next Season and if we don't stay 11th / 12th then the Conference GS is oot the windae

Overly complicated imo. When losing improved things something is far wrong. 

dannymack
2 hours ago, dannymack said:

As I say Rangers doing very well just now. 

When we played Benfica we were 1-0 down at half time. 👎

1 hour ago, Arthur Morgan said:

Who?

The Heart of Midlothian Football Club 

1 hour ago, Texaco said:

They don't need the co-efficient to get Euro group football, more than once in recent seasons they have gone all the way to the groups and even knockout stages from QR1. Think Hearts could do that?

Hearts and all non OF Scottish sides absolutely need the co-efficient to have any chance of group football, so if they don't win, you get nothing. And they wont care about that while everybody else has in comparison even less money but aren't beholden.

Happy days with no Euro group football ever. Or at least none for anybody but the OF, that's what you appear to support.

HeartsandonlyHearts
2 hours ago, johnking123 said:

We need them to do well in Europe.  If we want group stage football. Hopefully they get through.

**** them. Hope they get absolutely slaughtered next Thursday. Scummy cheating bar stewards. Scottish club fans should never forget how they cheated every other Scottish club for close to 20 years. **** them.

1 hour ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

We need the coefficient to drop or else Scottish teams might lose too much…. Causing the coefficient to drop?

you lost me

5 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

We need the coefficient to drop or else Scottish teams might lose too much…. Causing the coefficient to drop?

you lost me

I've posted a few times on it

If we get overtaken by the Czechs, then the CL GS stage goes with it, so hopefully both cheeks get around 20 points in EL, instead of 1 of them getting their arse handed to them and just netting the 4 bonus points

-

Edited by Ricardo Quaresma

6 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

I've posted a few times on it

If we get overtaken by the Czechs, then the CL GS stage goes with it, so hopefully both cheeks get around 20 points in EL, instead of 1 of them getting their arse handed to them and just netting the 4 bonus points

-

Ok, I'm a tad confused. What do we need to happen to protect it?

Just now, davemclaren said:

Ok, I'm a tad confused. What do we need to happen to protect it?

Quick answer is we want rangers pumped and Czech teams to score about 6 points between them, so Scotland can get more points in the Europa League, instead of practically nowt in the Champions League

We're in 10th, overtaken by Turkey now

If we slip to 11th, or 12th, we keep the Conference Group Stage spot for the Big Cup / 3rd scenario that we've had last 2 Seasons

11th or 12th means the Champions League Group stage is lost and top 2 have to qualify to get there

If the butt cheeks are both in the Europa League, the country probably gets 20 points each from those 2 in that Tournament

The Czechs have 3 teams left, but the 2 Prague teams look like going out; they might get some more points, but I think they're both going out next week; that leaves Viktoria, who drew 0-0 away to Servette tonight

I think if rangers get papped, the Czech teams need about 5.5 - 6 points between them to overtake Scotland

Otherwise next Season will be another poor scoring year and Scotland will lose the Automatic CL & Conference League Group Stage places

5 hours ago, Bull's-eye said:

Judging by his comments recently he doesn't watch Hearts either.

What comments would that be?

Arthur Morgan
3 hours ago, dannymack said:

The Heart of Midlothian Football Club 

Ah, the 60's?

Arthur Morgan
12 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Those away goals could prove vital…

You do know they don't count anymore? Unless I'm missing the joke?

10 hours ago, johnking123 said:

Reluctantly agree! 

Domestically getting near them is borderline impossible, but the prize money is such a game changer vs the other teams and what it can do for the club infrastructure!! 

Far enough in for the coeffficient then they can get violated 5-0 from some big 5 league team 😂

7 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Quick answer is we want rangers pumped and Czech teams to score about 6 points between them, so Scotland can get more points in the Europa League, instead of practically nowt in the Champions League

If we slip to 11th, or 12th, we keep the Conference Group Stage spot for the Big Cup / 3rd scenario that we've had last 2 Seasons

11th or 12th means the Champions League Group stage is lost and top 2 have to qualify to get there

If the butt cheeks are both in the Europa League, the country probably gets 20 points each from those 2 in that Tournament

The Czechs have 3 teams left, but the 2 Prague teams look like going out; they might get some more points, but I think they're both going out next week; that leaves Viktoria, who drew 0-0 away to Servette tonight

I think if rangers get papped, the Czech teams need about 5.5 - 6 points between them to overtake Scotland

Otherwise next Season will be another poor scoring year and Scotland will lose the Automatic CL & Conference League Group Stage places

It all sounds counter intuitive but not a surprise tbh. 🥸

Mikey1874
1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

Yeah.

Win more Europa games and Scottish teams will qualify automatically for the Champions League.

Really expect these teams to pump the bigots and they rarely do. Sevco players dying after every tackle is cringeworthy. Ridvan or whatever his name is rolled around like he had been shot by a sniper. Get really disappointed when they score or get anything out of a game and to hell with the co efficient. The more games they win the more cash they get to stay afloat. Pumped out early and the chances of them going under improve dramatically. Possibly our only hope of even getting second.

34 minutes ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

Really expect these teams to pump the bigots and they rarely do. Sevco players dying after every tackle is cringeworthy. Ridvan or whatever his name is rolled around like he had been shot by a sniper. Get really disappointed when they score or get anything out of a game and to hell with the co efficient. The more games they win the more cash they get to stay afloat. Pumped out early and the chances of them going under improve dramatically. Possibly our only hope of even getting second.

There are no signs they are going under. 

jambo89
9 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

That doesn’t sound right. 2 points for a win, plus 3 points for qualifying and a few points for reaching knockout stages, you’re still looking at Rangers and Celtic to win 7 or 8 games to get the 20 points each you mentioned. Considering that Rangers only won 7 games when they reached the final, we we need an erse cheek final for this to pan out

gordon simpson
16 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

The co-efficient could do with them going further than the Czech teams. Be nice if they got hammered though.

would be great if they went all the way ,then get barred for 5 years as their fans celebrate in Dublin  

busbyfth
14 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

Decent result for them. If they play anything like that on Sunday Hibs are out. 

After today's matches should be 2 good games next Thursday with both 1st legs ending in draws:

Rangers v Benfica 5.45pm (aye, they are being made to play early in the Weeg)

Aston Villa v Ajax 8pm

48,000 sick notes then at the home game if  an early kick off. 

2 hours ago, Rc55 said:

As long as they defeat Hibernians. I don't care!

If we're going to finish third consistently, like it or loathe it, we need at least one of the OF to do well in Europe and ideally not in the Champions League given the riches it brings.

I hope Rangers progress - albeit would be a real eye opener to the level of team we're up against to win the Scottish...

7 hours ago, davemclaren said:

'gers pumped, 'mon the Czechs 😆

Slight change to the score last night, all Czech teams got 1 point and rangers got 2

Scotland have 32 / 5 = 6.4000, 5 Year Total 36.050

Czechs   have 52 / 4 = 13.000, 5 Year Total 35.550

As is, if they catch up over half a point, they take 10th & the CL GS from the League Winners here; I am sure that's better for us, but that's just for next Season

So, hopefully the cheeks compete in the EL, where they can gain more points, plus we (The Hearts) get in and about the points too, still a bit to be done to get there

If the OF were both in EL this year & got 20.000 each, it would've been the best score I've seen from Scottish Clubs, 49 / 5 = 9.800, whereas the previous best is 39 / 4 = 9.750

Unfortunately, that's the number that's getting chopped off at end of this Season, plus an 8.500 next Season, so that's why Scotland is in a bit of bother here

-

Typo

5 hours ago, jambo89 said:

That doesn’t sound right. 2 points for a win, plus 3 points for qualifying and a few points for reaching knockout stages, you’re still looking at Rangers and Celtic to win 7 or 8 games to get the 20 points each you mentioned. Considering that Rangers only won 7 games when they reached the final, we we need an erse cheek final for this to pan out

16 points, rangers already have, there's bonus points for progression, plus they got some points for CL qualifying in Q3 & Q4

20 hours ago, NaturalOrder74 said:

The rangers going a European run is a great thing for us as much as it’s agony to admit it 

Except if their efforts maintain 10th in Europe for Scotland, whichever OF team wins the League will faceplant like the last 2 times in the Champions League

Sure they'll be happy to get €10M extra for getting annihilated though

6 hours ago, Ex member of the SaS said:

What makes you think they are going under? 

49 minutes ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Except if their efforts maintain 10th in Europe for Scotland, whichever OF team wins the League will faceplant like the last 2 times in the Champions League

Sure they'll be happy to get €10M extra for getting annihilated though

There's another effect of them racking up points this season, and that's that for now it increases the national association baseline for Scotland, which is what we'll play with in Europe next season as we haven't accrued enough points to exceed it. It won't change much but it might bump us into slightly easier sailing for something like the EL qualifier.

4 hours ago, loveofthegame said:

If we're going to finish third consistently, like it or loathe it, we need at least one of the OF to do well in Europe and ideally not in the Champions League given the riches it brings.

I hope Rangers progress - albeit would be a real eye opener to the level of team we're up against to win the Scottish...

At some point in the near future we're going to need to start pulling some weight in generating club points. Maybe not next season but we should be able to earn decent points in the UECL and possibly in the EL playoff round with a home win or draw even if we don't go through. And within the next 3-5 years, we really need to make the knockout round of the UECL and maybe get a result or two there. Having a third club making contributions to the coefficient would be a huge boost for Scotland (not to mention a bunch of extra cash for us).

HeartsandonlyHearts
1 hour ago, Sir PH said:

Hope!!

Me too. They’re one of the top two in the scum league of scum.

37 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

There's another effect of them racking up points this season, and that's that for now it increases the national association baseline for Scotland, which is what we'll play with in Europe next season as we haven't accrued enough points to exceed it. It won't change much but it might bump us into slightly easier sailing for something like the EL qualifier.

That's more than likely not good enough for EL Q4, we need to build our own

The sheep got quite fortunate because Frankfurt didn't care about the last ECL Group match, gifting 2 points; they only had 3 points from 3 draws before KO; in the end they got 5, 1 better than we did with 2 wins the previous year

They're now on 11, despite a strike-out in the year before, but surely another strike-out, baah-ah 🐑, 😆

The new Format is mental too, there's no pots now, so club coefficient means nowt there, plus there's no drop-down, so I've heard, from the top 2 tournaments to a knockout round in the tournaments below, which will have an effect on points gained for some Teams / Countries

-

There's no 3rd as it's one huge group

jambo_tar
20 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

That was a pretty typical Rangers away European performance. Rode their luck but just did enough. 

They are lucky in Europe but they played well last night also. Think they've a really good chance to get through now. If they draw someone like Liverpool in the next round, they could end up getting hammered though. Liverpool beat them 9-1 on aggregate last time they played.

N Lincs Jambo

I'm reading that a 25 year old Rangers fan has died after the game in Lisbon last night. As much as I'm no fan of the club, that's horrific. Same age as my eldest daughter. RIP

1 hour ago, Sir PH said:

You think Rangers or Celtic would be fine without the European money on tap every season?

47 minutes ago, kila said:

You think Rangers or Celtic would be fine without the European money on tap every season?

Nope. But they are guaranteed it.