*** Official Greenock Morton vs Heart of Midlothian Scottish Cup 1/4 final match day thread ( Live on BBC) ***

Scott980612

Scott980612

Started the last match thread and got lucky , here we go again 🇱🇻

Good rest for the players before this one , might see a few changes.

Gordon started last 2 cup games so he may come in. Toby and Dexter should keep place in team , Tait or Denholm might be looking at a start. 

Be a tough one , watched their game vs Motherwell , entertaining game. 

They lost their last match 2 - 0 at home to ICT. 

They play Dundee Utd at Cappielow tonight so see how that goes.

Should be a good cup tie but will go 3 vs 1 to Hearts. 

• Replies 1.6k

• Watt-Zeefuik

• ScandinavianJambo

• jamboozy

• Harry Potter

Strongest team available as the Cup is the last hurdle for securing group stage Euro football now and also a chance of silverware. Gordon might start though as you say

1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

Morton playing Dundee United tonight at home.

They apparently have quite few players out injured. 

It's a cup game. Never take anything for granted.

We have to have the same professional approach for this game as we had for Airdrie in the last round.

If we go into the game thinking we have it won before a ball is kicked, we will get put out the cup. 

We are the better team, but we also have to go into the game with the better attitude too.

Greenock Morton 1-3 Heart of Midlothian

Vargas, Kingsley, Shankland

Wee Mikey
2 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Greenock Morton 1-3 Heart of Midlothian

Vargas, Kingsley, Shankland

Nah ... clean sheet for Craig Gordon.

received_1189714838673486.gif

karipidis

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kingsley

Rowles

Cochrane

Beni

Hoff

Vargas

Grant

Forrest

Shankland

TexasAndy

This will be tough.  They will get stuck in absolutely no doubt.  I 'm sure we will cope with whatever they throw at us but the pitch can be a bit of a leveller.  Anyhoo I think 2-0 Hearts.

Agentjambo
1 minute ago, karipidis said:

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kingsley

Rowles

Cochrane

Beni

Hoff

Vargas

Grant

Forrest

Shankland

Why change a winning team…same as Celtic please.

karipidis
2 minutes ago, Agentjambo said:

Why change a winning team…same as Celtic please.

Don't think we need the back 5 against Morton. We will have a lot of the ball so makes sense to get more attacking players on the park. 

Tynecastle Valhalla

Will be a rough and tough game tbh and we need to start quickly and on the offensive.

get an early goal and we should be ok.

fancy the hoff to score again

Any team managed by Imrie will make us have to fight for every ball. 

Horrible wee shite but you know that he will demand, and get, 100% from his team 

jbee647
9 minutes ago, TexasAndy said:

This will be tough.  They will get stuck in absolutely no doubt.  I 'm sure we will cope with whatever they throw at us but the pitch can be a bit of a leveller.  Anyhoo I think 2-0 Hearts.

I agree, this will be no walkover, go with the right attitude and we win

Morton coached by that thug Imrie, will attempt to kick us off the park

horrible side, playing at a horrible ground, god help us if it’s windy and raining standing in that open end.

They will play route one, I hope Kent and Kingsley are fit, I don’t fancy a central defence of Sibbick and Rowles, Morton play a style that Hearts won’t have come up against this season 

They are in fact a bit of a throwback, and if we are not up to it, it might come as a bit of a culture shock, having said that, none of this will come as a shock to Naismith, and I’m sure we will be set up accordingly.

I think I'd like to see a wee bit of rotation, just to give Gordon some minutes and whatnot. 

Gordon

Dexter Sibbick Kingsley Rowles Cochrane

Denholm Devlin Grant

Shankland Vargas

Agentjambo
14 minutes ago, karipidis said:

Don't think we need the back 5 against Morton. We will have a lot of the ball so makes sense to get more attacking players on the park. 

Back 3 against Celtic,3-5-2.

Deevers

I see we have the prize prick David Dickinson as referee for this game and Clancy as fourth official. 

Mikey1874
2 hours ago, Deevers said:

I see we have the prize prick David Dickinson as referee for this game and Clancy as fourth official. 

No VAR would think

25 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

No VAR would think

Is their main striker out George Oakley not been in squad last couple of games 

Scott980612
26 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

Is their main striker out George Oakley not been in squad last couple of games 

It would appear so , missed last few games and not involved again tonight 

gregzy2k7

Another tough game.

We need to get at them from the start and put them on the backfoot, they will try to make this match a battle and will try to hurt us from set pieces, but we have to try to keep the ball on the deck and play football here.

I think we will win fairly comfy though, going for hopefully a fairly routine 1-3 hearts win.

My team would be,

Gordon

Dexter Kingsley Rowles Cochrane

Beni Hoff

Vargas (if fit?) Grant Forrest 

Shanks

Not a stroll, but do think we will take care this of this one , just like the last round 

AC Mallin_51

Need to be at it 100%, they’ll be up for it and their pitch is usually like a tattie field. Would take a monumental collapse to not finish 3rd now, even by last seasons standards so the only thing standing between us and European football til Christmas is the cup. Stay in it as long as we can and hopefully end up in a situation like 21/22 with us v one of the uglies in the final, knowing from the middle of April Europe is in the bag and we’ve had a fantastic season. If Killie, Aberdeen or god forbid… Hibs (gulp) snuck in and won the cup it’d make this season go from about an 8/10 down to a 5

ScandinavianJambo
20 hours ago, karipidis said:

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kingsley

Rowles

Cochrane

Beni

Hoff

Vargas

Grant

Forrest

Shankland

Yep, same team as Sunday with same bench please.

6 minutes ago, Rick Sanchez said:

Is Nieuwenhof fit?

Was hoping he had came off due to the shift he had put in as oppose to an injury

Mikey1874
3 hours ago, ScandinavianJambo said:

Sibbick started on Sunday. 

ScandinavianJambo
5 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Sibbick started on Sunday. 

Yes and he did better then Natty against Rangers 

MR INCREDIBLE

Not wanting to count chickens but when is the Semi Final draw ????

Mikey1874
2 minutes ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

Straight after the Morton game. 

Rick Sanchez
8 minutes ago, ScandinavianJambo said:

Yes and he did better then Natty against Rangers 

Sibbick isn't in the team you said yep tae. And he didn't play right back on Sunday.

10 hours ago, MR INCREDIBLE said:

I'll get in first here and predict we'll get Celtic in a `mouth watering rematch of the feisty affair at Tynecastle`.  Media wankfest.

Get off to a flyer and score a couple to put the game to bed early. Don't take anything for granted as these games can be a banana skin, and the cup is too important to lose to a diddy club.

best team from KO and pound their goal. Shanks hat trick would be fine and a couple from Vargas. 1-5 ( now where have I seen that result before, damn my memory. ) 

KyleLafferty

Gordon

Beni Devlin

Vargas Grant Forrest

Shankland 

AGoodLaugh

Latest update from Naismith is Kent out; Hoff, Vargas, Oda all doubtful. 

Mikey1874
2 minutes ago, AGoodLaugh said:

Latest update from Naismith is Kent out; Hoff, Vargas, Oda all doubtful. 

Nieuwenhof out.

Chuck Berry
3 hours ago, KyleLafferty said:

Gordon

Beni Devlin

Vargas Grant Forrest

Shankland 

It's going to be more of a battle on a ropey pitch.  Saw their game on Tuesday against the Arabs and they are no better/worse than Airdrie although if it's pishing down that pitch will hamper us.

I'd put Atkinson in, instead of Dexter as he's perhaps better suited to this type of game, otherwise I agree with that. Maybe an argument for Fraser to start this one ahead of Beni.

We just need to get out the traps and play our game and we'll tuck them away.

Edited by Chuck Berry

BigAlim

If none of the doubtful ones make it:

Gordon

Lembikisa

Kingsley

Rowles

Cochrane

Devlin

Baningime

Tait

Forrest

Shankland

Grant

ollie2004
On 05/03/2024 at 15:20, TexasAndy said:

Last time I was they threw concrete blocks at us, or should I say dropped them from an overhead walkway through the bus roof light. Thankfully nobody injured but advice you people who are going take care and enjoy your trip.

Gordon

Sibbick

Kingsley

Rowles

Lembikisa      Baningime      Devlin        Cochrane

Grant

Shankland                            Forrest

57 minutes ago, upgotheheads said:

Gordon

Sibbick

Kingsley

Rowles

Lembikisa      Baningime      Devlin        Cochrane

Grant

Shankland                            Forrest

Won't be far from that I reckon. 

TexasAndy

The one certainty for me in the team selection is Devlin for Hoff.  We are going to need dig in midfield to combat their enthusiasm and in the absence of Hoff Devlin fits that perfectly.

Win the battle in order to play i imagine at this venue with that manager. 

Their tails are rightly up amid a good season.

We need to calm them down first 20 and then quality should show. 

I dont expect an Airdrie first 45mins tbh.

Any result that puts us in last 4 draw is a good one IMO.