Miners Strike

Still remember the Wig and Pen in Butlin(Ayr). It was always busy. 

The 80s, I hated them at the time, but it wasn't that bad.

• Replies 212

• doddsyJR9

• il Duce McTarkin

• Gundermann

• henrysmithsgloves

Gundermann
7 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

savile-thatcher_2437786b.jpg.ebb51c57a1876fb9274c85edd514f465.jpg

Now then, now then, now then.

Is Jimmy saying, "promise me your corpse Maggie"?

EC_Hearts

Having watched the second episode you can understand why governments have always resisted requests for an inquiry into what went on at Orgreave. Almost like the police had been ordered to force a confrontation that day.

1 hour ago, EC_Hearts said:

Having watched the second episode you can understand why governments have always resisted requests for an inquiry into what went on at Orgreave. Almost like the police had been ordered to force a confrontation that day.

Police started the battle at Orgreave. Its been proven since the BBC (surprise surprise) edited the news footage to make out the miners attacked first.

Gundermann

Btw, oor Mick McGahey is in the news again. Richard Leonard campaigning for a memorial to him at the Parliament. I believe his ashes are already in the foundations.

Apparently he was a Jambo. Saw him in Burdiehouse some 30 years ago and the auld guys I was working with almost saluted him as he walked past.

https://news.stv.tv/scotland/holyrood-should-honour-working-class-hero-mick-mcgahey-says-ex-labour-leader-richard-leonard

421916377_729864462661268_58516554158132

5 minutes ago, Gundermann said:

Btw, oor Mick McGahey is in the news again. Richard Leonard campaigning for a memorial to him at the Parliament. I believe his ashes are already in the foundations.

Apparently he was a Jambo. Saw him in Burdiehouse some 30 years ago and the auld guys I was working with almost saluted him as he walked past.

https://news.stv.tv/scotland/holyrood-should-honour-working-class-hero-mick-mcgahey-says-ex-labour-leader-richard-leonard

I worked beside his grandson, his grandson was a hun.

Gundermann
4 minutes ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

I worked beside his grandson, his grandson was a hun.

Even great trees produce bad fruit...

Just now, Gundermann said:

Even great trees produce bad fruit...

😀

henrysmithsgloves
1 hour ago, Gundermann said:

MI5 had to hire a translator when they tapped his phone 🤣🤣 Need more of his ilk nowadays 😎

Gundermann
20 minutes ago, henrysmithsgloves said:

MI5 had to hire a translator when they tapped his phone 🤣🤣 Need more of his ilk nowadays 😎

Brilliant! 😄 

Aye, where are they today?

11 hours ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

Police started the battle at Orgreave. Its been proven since the BBC (surprise surprise) edited the news footage to make out the miners attacked first.

Of course it was.

Many testimony’s of miners who said they couldn’t go anywhere to picket without being stopped but this day they were all allowed to travel.

It was well orchestrated.

New Town Loafer
On 31/01/2024 at 00:29, FWJ said:

Hear, hear.

Attlee in the 40s, Wilson & Jenkins in the 60s and Blair & Brown in the 00s made huge  improvements to this country.

(And I have no doubt Tories like McMillan, Eden & Douglas-Home would be horrified at what their party has become)

New Labour utterly destroyed the social fabric of this country through mass immigration which absolutely nobody voted for, all to 'rub the right's nose in diversity'. That is their legacy.

35 minutes ago, New Town Loafer said:

New Labour utterly destroyed the social fabric of this country through mass immigration which absolutely nobody voted for, all to 'rub the right's nose in diversity'. That is their legacy.

No.  Thatcherism destroyed the social fabric of this country with the abandonment of the post-war consensus.  
“Me first and the devil take the hindmost”

Gundermann
1 hour ago, New Town Loafer said:

Care to explain this?

Is it because our supermarkets and high streets are full of foreign food like quesadillas, masalas, chow meins, ramen, Argie steaks etc? Is it because all our energy, infratstructure and consumables are foreign owned/ manufactured? And, which wave of mass immigration was the worst - the coming of the Celts some 2000 years ago? The Romans? The Normans and Vikings? The refugees from famine and clearance in Ireland and the Scottish Highlands in the late 19th C? The Jews and Italians that moved here in the early 20th? The Poles, Indians and Jamaicans that came from the 40s onwards?

Gundermann
42 minutes ago, FWJ said:

No.  Thatcherism destroyed the social fabric of this country with the abandonment of the post-war consensus.  
“Me first and the devil take the hindmost”

Thatcher, not immigrants, destroyed "indigenous" working class communities inc coal, steel and shipbuilding but then, the Uber Patriot loved Britain so much she imported it all from her fascist pals in South Africa and elsewhere. She then took the nationalised industries from us - we owned them - and sold them off. Beats me how it's somehow patriotic to sell your country's assets to various foreign billionaires and corporations. Our energy and telecommunications could be owned by us but instead it's owned by France, China and god knows who else.

Edited by Gundermann

4 hours ago, Gundermann said:

The strike could have been over in June/July after the Norton House negotiations which Mick played a big part in.It would've seen a return to work and a longer term closure programme .Mick said we could've been back heads held high but the deal was scuppered by Scargill  who again wouldn't put it to a vote and  by then had visions of revolution.I think most off us saw what was coming when Scargill beat Mick in the leadership contest when Gormley went.I sincerely believe that there wouldn't have been a strike if Mick had won.Old school leader who knew how to negotiate and get a deal that suited everyone.( It's ok to beat the bookie son but dont take his bag as well,was one of his sayings) Loved a wee chat with him when he came out to Tranent Miners,he liked a wee hawf

23 hours ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

My first job was £28 YTS as an apprentice in January 1991. A fiver went a long way.

It hadn't gone up much then, I got £27.30 in 1985.

1 hour ago, Ron Burgundy said:

By the time I'd paid my digs and bus pass I had a whole tenner to myself for the week. 

Had to do a few evening and Saturday shifts in the kitchens of the Braid Hills Hotel and Hunters Tryst to fund my drink and exotic tobacco adventures. I was actually financially pretty well off compared to most of my peers.

the posh bit
2 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Kids get £30 a week to stay on at school in 2024.

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, the posh bit said:

Kids get £30 a week to stay on at school in 2024.

Really?

the posh bit
7 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Really?

Kids from families on low incomes qualify for an Educational Maintenance Allowance. £30 a week, 90% attendance is the minimal requirement. 

Dawnrazor
4 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

Kids from families on low incomes qualify for an Educational Maintenance Allowance. £30 a week, 90% attendance is the minimal requirement. 

Ok, never knew that, good idea.

24 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

No wonder the infantry is struggling for numbers.

9 hours ago, Gundermann said:

Another of the NUM leaders Lawrence Daly lived just round the corner from my childhood home in Fife. One of his sons, Morven, was one of my brother's pals. He always seemed to wear a distinctive woolly jumper in Motherwell's traditional claret and amber.

the posh bit
18 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

No wonder the infantry is struggling for numbers.

Today's young team aren't stopping Putin. 

19 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

Today's young team aren't stopping Putin. 

Why should they? Hopefully he fecks GB right up. 

6 hours ago, ehcaley said:

The strike could have been over in June/July after the Norton House negotiations which Mick played a big part in.It would've seen a return to work and a longer term closure programme .Mick said we could've been back heads held high but the deal was scuppered by Scargill  who again wouldn't put it to a vote and  by then had visions of revolution.I think most off us saw what was coming when Scargill beat Mick in the leadership contest when Gormley went.I sincerely believe that there wouldn't have been a strike if Mick had won.Old school leader who knew how to negotiate and get a deal that suited everyone.( It's ok to beat the bookie son but dont take his bag as well,was one of his sayings) Loved a wee chat with him when he came out to Tranent Miners,he liked a wee hawf

I know Micks daughter and grand daughters and  grand sons . Never had the chance to meet him though but remember him from the news etc 

JimmyCant
22 hours ago, Doctor FinnBarr said:

I think from the early days of the strike a feeling grew amongst police officers that they had to win in a battle of two very big gangs. Orgreave was the culmination of steadily worsening violence. What started off as pushing and shoving became rock throwing, punching kicking and baton charges.

Orgreave was a set up. Designed by senior officers to happen, probably pressured by deep government, and knowing that the rank and file were fed up and ready for a tear up.

Any excuse that day and they (the miners) were getting their arses kicked. This was doubly ensured by drafting the Met in. Guys who had no sense of what the communities were like and didn’t care. It was part orchestrated and part blood lust. The big gang had to win and it was time. It’s as simple and as sad as that.

As I said earlier, my biggest regret about that time was having to follow through on the legal process which meant many men lost their jobs for relatively trivial offences. Arrested merely to get them out of the way and reduce the numbers on any given day but the law didn’t allow for it without charges.

Putting the men arrested at Orgreave in jail and on trial for rioting was just an extension of that. Completely unnecessary and barbaric and a fit up from start to finish (none of them was convicted of rioting)

The police as a service was politicised in that period. Used as a tool of government and unable to go against it. The implications of that were far reaching and a cancer which has grown and grown to the extent we have now. Hand in hand with gross underfunding we’ve seen The gradual and now almost total withdrawal of policing by consent. An un policeable generation. No trust . No partnership. No visibility. No response. Barely keeping a lid on every day public order

Someone I know and trust as someone who doesn’t bullshit told me he met an old school friend in a pub at the time of the strike and was surprised to see him as he’d moved away from Scotland when he joined the army a number of years before. When he asked why he was back he became a bit vague but after another couple of drinks said “he was up wearing a different uniform manning the picket lines but couldn’t say too much” and there were certainly images of police without numbers on their uniforms at some of the flashpoints. 

JimmyCant
9 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Someone I know and trust as someone who doesn’t bullshit told me he met an old school friend in a pub at the time of the strike and was surprised to see him as he’d moved away from Scotland when he joined the army a number of years before. When he asked why he was back he became a bit vague but after another couple of drinks said “he was up wearing a different uniform manning the picket lines but couldn’t say too much” and there were certainly images of police without numbers on their uniforms at some of the flashpoints. 

From my experience I know that happened. It wasn’t widespread, certainly not up amongst the guys I worked with but now and again you’d see someone who had removed their numbers. Never understood it or agreed with it myself but yes, it did happen.

Go for it 1308
On 30/01/2024 at 23:26, doddsyJR9 said:

If you were a young man in the 70's Labour run Britain. You would remember it as being real poverty stricken times, brought about by as per usual union left wing green brigade self serving ness. Thatcher ushered in decades of empowerment, employment  and growth for ordinary people. There were mistakes, the miners were used by the self serving union green brigade. 

Sorry mate...but you're a ******g dickhead 

1 minute ago, Go for it 1308 said:

He hides it well though. 

doddsyJR9
48 minutes ago, Go for it 1308 said:

Just someone who lived during the poverty stricken, closed shop union green brigades, 1970s, The Scargill's, Jack Jones, Hugh Scanlon's, the NUM, Flying Pickets, 3 day week, Myriad Unions, had the power to shut down Britain, in a heartbeat, and they often did back then. It took someone like Margaret, a grocers daughter to reign them in and modernise Great Britain. It didn't have to be that way, but the socialist green brigades were causing mayhem and misery. 

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Why should they? Hopefully he fecks GB right up. 

Aussie’s a Putin fan now 

Hope there’s space in his bedroom for Putin’s poster next to Hitler’s

Go for it 1308
5 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Just someone who lived during the poverty stricken, closed shop union green brigades, 1970s, The Scargill's, Jack Jones, Hugh Scanlon's, the NUM, Flying Pickets, 3 day week, Myriad Unions, had the power to shut down Britain, in a heartbeat, and they often did back then. It took someone like Margaret, a grocers daughter to reign them in and modernise Great Britain. It didn't have to be that way, but the socialist green brigades were causing mayhem and misery. 

I'll repeat this...and I don't care if I do get banned. You are a total clueless dickhead, prick of a man ....and shame on you for your recollection of those events. Disgusting 

8 minutes ago, doddsyJR9 said:

Just someone who lived during the poverty stricken, closed shop union green brigades, 1970s, The Scargill's, Jack Jones, Hugh Scanlon's, the NUM, Flying Pickets, 3 day week, Myriad Unions, had the power to shut down Britain, in a heartbeat, and they often did back then. It took someone like Margaret, a grocers daughter to rein them in and modernise Great Britain. It didn't have to be that way, but the socialist green brigades were causing mayhem and misery. 

And Thatcher replaced it with turning the working class on each other. The ultimate I’m alright Jack society, I’ve bought my council house now I’m better than my neighbour and I’ll be a working class Tory as I've got a mortgage. And I don’t give a shit about the miners families and kids as my job is safe. Then fast forward your job isn’t safe, and your kids don’t have any jobs or opportunities. Then the grants disappeared so the bright promised future of education for all evaporated. 
Yeah, that my idea of a better society. My ****ing arse it is. 

doddsyJR9
1 minute ago, Go for it 1308 said:

I'll repeat this...and I don't care if I do get banned. You are a total clueless dickhead, prick of a man ....and shame on you for your recollection of those events. Disgusting 

I admire Margaret Thatcher for taking on the Green Brigade Unions back then. They were out to cause as much chaos and misery for the ordinary Great Britisher, as they could. Nowadays, they use the Climate, and forcing as many ordinary hard working people out of their cars as they can, and delete their whatapps messages. I lived and survived the 70's, hard times for a lot of people. 

doddsyJR9
1 minute ago, Tazio said:

And Thatcher replaced it with turning the working class on each other. The ultimate I’m alright Jack society, I’ve bought my council house now I’m better than my neighbour and I’ll be a working class Tory as I've got a mortgage. And I don’t give a shit about the miners families and kids as my job is safe. Then fast forward your job isn’t safe, and your kids don’t have any jobs or opportunities. Then the grants disappeared so the bright promised future of education for all evaporated. 

The only ones to blame are the closed shop union green brigades, who were hell bent on causing mayhem and misery to the ordinary people. They were the bully boys, closing down of the country. There was no choice but to bring them down. They brought it upon themselves. 

Just now, doddsyJR9 said:

The only ones to blame are the closed shop union green brigades, who were hell bent on causing mayhem and misery to the ordinary people. They were the bully boys, closing down of the country. There was no choice but to bring them down. They brought it upon themselves. 

What is this green brigade shit you keep going on about? Every single thread. You appear on here every night at about the same time and sprout your idiotic shit regular as clockwork and kill threads as people know if they give a frank reply to you they risk a ban. Thatcher and her followers have ****ed this country beyond belief. Amazingly we have privatised things even America has the sense to keep under state control. Selling Britain by the pound 

11 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Just now, Tazio said:

What is this green brigade shit you keep going on about? Every single thread. You appear on here every night at about the same time and sprout your idiotic shit regular as clockwork and kill threads as people know if they give a frank reply to you they risk a ban. Thatcher and her followers have ****ed this country beyond belief. Amazingly we have privatised things even America has the sense to keep under state control. Selling Britain by the pound 

Two good posts.

1 hour ago, Go for it 1308 said:

I think he's just a troll, or possibly a halfwit. 

doddsyJR9
Just now, Tazio said:

The Green Brigade is simply my referencing the 70's and 80's Unions and socialism, that has republicanism at its core value, they would replace the monarchy, separate Great Britain, everything a hobo seeks. Most people recognise where I come from. All of the Hearts and Rangers supporters who I grew up with had a similar ethos back then. We all believed in the Monarchy, Great Britain and No Surrender to the IRA. 

34 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Aussie’s a Putin fan now 

Hope there’s space in his bedroom for Putin’s poster next to Hitler’s

I've got Göring next to Hitler. That fella could rock a uniform.

Putin's an Ivan wank Home-Bargains-Hitler and can gtf.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

The Green Brigade is simply my referencing the 70's and 80's Unions and socialism, that has republicanism at its core value, they would replace the monarchy, separate Great Britain, everything a hobo seeks. Most people recognise where I come from. All of the Hearts and Rangers supporters who I grew up with had a similar ethos back then. We all believed in the Monarchy, Great Britain and No Surrender to the IRA. 

And at last you say it out loud. I’m not so thick I align my football support with politics or religion. You clearly are. 

doddsyJR9
2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

And at last you say it out loud. I’m not so thick I align my football support with politics or religion. You clearly are. 

Do you think the hobos and green brigade see it that way? Please don't be naive?

4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I’m not so thick I align my football support with politics or religion. 

What kind of weirdo doesn't do that?

Do you think the hobos and green brigade see it that way? Please don't be naive?

This place is full of treasonous pigs, doddsy. Don't let their woke agenda get you down.

1 minute ago, doddsyJR9 said:

If you were soup you could stand a spoon up. 

1 minute ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

What kind of weirdo doesn't do that?

You just there in your Lazio PJs matey.