Worst Christmas present you have either given, or received...

Morgan

My wife's mum once got a box of tissues from her brother.  

I know of someone who was given a can of WD40.

My mum, bless her, once gave me a soap dish that she got in a Charity shop that she worked in.  She probably nicked it too.

A feckin soap dish.  From my own mum.  A stolen one.

There must be far worse ones?

A bottle of Newcastle Brown. That was actually wrapped with a gift tag. Now I know that christmas isn't supposed to be about the cost of things but it stings a bit when you've spent a fortune on presents for a family member, their partner, and their kids they buy you a bottle of beer. Meanwhile they spent a fortune on gifts in the house, "sorry we could only get you a beer, the kids got an ipad and a television for their room each. And we are saving cash as we've just bought a fortnight at Disneyland"

Arseholes.

My brother had a supernatural talent at gifting the most bizarre and useless things in human history.  He only ever gets me beer now.  So he's redeemed himself.  Thankfully I get more than one bottle.

My Gran used to give us grandkids unfashionable thing from markets and charity shops. When I was about 22 (1992)  I got a Knight Rider sweatshirt. 

henrysmithsgloves

Been passing the same tin of McEwens between the father in law and myself for coming on forty years, sadly I think due to his health this is going be the last Xmas,and I'm stuck with the tin😕

7 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

My Gran used to give us grandkids unfashionable thing from markets and charity shops. When I was about 22 (1992)  I got a Knight Rider sweatshirt. 

N Lincs Jambo

About 8-9 years ago we got our youngest daughter a plastic bucket, sponge and car shampoo as a bit of a joke (she did wash our car at the weekend in return for us getting her a decent mobile and pay for her contract).

She was utterly livid until she noticed an envelope in the bucket. She opened it to find two tickets to see her then favourite band All Time Low at Manchester. She forgave us for the practical joke 😂 

31 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Similarly my gran got me a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles jumper when I was wee. It had a yellow body with print and green sleeves. Didn't have the heart to say I wasn't into them so wore it one night to the swimming baths and never lived it down. 

Got an Alan Carr live DVD off my ex once. Christ knows why, I must have laughed at something he did on TV one night. 

Just now, Салатные палочки said:

Similarly my gran got me a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles jumper when I was wee. It had a yellow body with print and green sleeves. Didn't have the heart to say I wasn't into them so wore it one night to the swimming baths and never lived it down. 

😀

The_razors_edge

My wife’s nana has bought me a honking brown t-shirt and a pair of cheap trackie bottoms from Asda.

i don’t buy presents (leave it to the wife) so can’t fess up on that score. 

periodictabledancer

A pre-owned paperback , a spice rack ( out of date), a Wet Wet Wet cassette tape. 

The "giver" posts on here 

I hope he's reading this.

Miserable c u next Tuesday. 

30 minutes ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

About 8-9 years ago we got our youngest daughter a plastic bucket, sponge and car shampoo as a bit of a joke (she did wash our car at the weekend in return for us getting her a decent mobile and pay for her contract).

She was utterly livid until she noticed an envelope in the bucket. She opened it to find two tickets to see her then favourite band All Time Low at Manchester. She forgave us for the practical joke 😂 

Reminds of the time my old man wanted a watch and my mum bought him slippers. He went in the huff about it so she didn’t bother to tell him if he’d actually went to the bother of trying them on he would have found the watch inside on if then. It was days later before he twigged. 

57 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Anal

You shouldn’t have let him do that to you…..

it’s about the giving, not the receiving 

periodictabledancer
10 minutes ago, PortyJambo said:

Just about every work's Secret Santa present I've ever got. 

For a secret Santa, A mate gave another workmate a book called "My Big Book of Friends".

It was blank. 

He got reported to HR by the guy and got a written warning.

3 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

For a secret Santa, A mate gave another workmate a book called "My Big Book of Friends".

It was blank. 

He got reported to HR by the guy and got a written warning.

Dear oh dear oh dear.

16 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

a Wet Wet Wet cassette tape. 

Although not for Christmas, this is the worst present I was ever given. 🤣

I got one of those fleshlight fake *** things off one of my mates once. I never even got a chance to inspect it as the barman in my local took off with it. 

I hope it was pre used.

1 hour ago, Angry Haggis said:

A cheese making kit. 

I’m not a cheese fan. Know your target for purchasing. 

That's decent. 

Are you sure it wasn't a fondue kit?

Edited by Greedy Jambo

Best presents were obviously when i was a kid, games consoles, bmx etc. 

I've had some utter tripe in the last 10 years, stupid books, like 100 crazy things in the world etc. 

I would have just been happy with some hot sauce. 

periodictabledancer
42 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Although not for Christmas, this is the worst present I was ever given. 🤣

You're kidding 😂😂😂😂😂

periodictabledancer
35 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

I got one of those fleshlight fake *** things off one of my mates once. I never even got a chance to inspect it as the barman in my local took off with it. 

I hope it was pre used.

😂😂

WAY back in the day a workmate  who lived in a large mixed house was asked by a flatmate if he wanted to go halves on a sex doll .

15 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

You're kidding 😂😂😂😂😂

Yeah, my uncle bought me the first WWW album (cassette). No idea why...I think because he lived in England he just assumed every ****er up here liked them. Absolute pish. 😁

Probably still got it in my cupboard mind you.

Many moons ago my brother asked me if I wanted to go halfers on a set of hand weights.

I said no so he got me a set of weights for Christmas.

Following my lack of gratitude, he complained that he had to cart them back from town on the bus and carry them up the road to our house.

7 minutes ago, Hansel said:

My mrs bought me a toilet brush a few years ago. 

Stick with paper is my advice, tried a brush and it sprayed shite everywhere and my arse was sore for days. 

12 minutes ago, R9. said:

Old manager was big on the secret Santa pish majority of folk swapped £10 notes 😂😂 or £10 Greggs vouchers. 

I used to hate waking up to Xmas and having a lamp or heated blanket while siblings had toys or things to arse about with.

Why didn’t anyone buy you toys ?

periodictabledancer
24 minutes ago, R9. said:

Old manager was big on the secret Santa pish majority of folk swapped £10 notes 😂😂 or £10 Greggs vouchers. 

I used to hate waking up to Xmas and having a lamp or heated blanket while siblings had toys or things to arse about with.

Are you  Shergar ? 

Just now, R9. said:

I think that year I got a new bed so got bedding and beside lamps 😂😂

Aye but how did your siblings get toys and you got lamps and beds and stuff? Did they have to sleep on the floor and play with their toys in the dark?

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Aye but how did your siblings get toys and you got lamps and beds and stuff? Did they have to sleep on the floor and play with their toys in the dark?

Didn’t we all?

:oohmatron:

55 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Aye but how did your siblings get toys and you got lamps and beds and stuff? Did they have to sleep on the floor and play with their toys in the dark?

Sorry but 🤣😁😆😜

periodictabledancer
1 hour ago, GinRummy said:

Years back I had a Secret Santa at a school I was temporarily teaching at.

When I opened the wrapping I found this with a multi pack bar of cheap chocolate taped to it.

Initially I thought it might be a bottle of something.......

20231130_233229.thumb.jpg.26014f4936f0010822e59510b9debe66.jpg

It wasn't. It was this horse calendar 

20231130_233320.thumb.jpg.2614b22c6e68605d288985869e78a5b9.jpg

Sponsored by Genting Casino

20231130_233434.thumb.jpg.22b81ae3ce20f058f1965cb0ce6157d7.jpg

I think they forgot until the day and just wrapped something they found in their house which they clearly got for free....or they clearly despised me.

It was so bad that I kept it.

(And its colour in your own wallpaper I have in a corner of my kitchen in case you're wondering. If you visit you get to colour one in)

9 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

Years back I had a Secret Santa at a school I was temporarily teaching at.

When I opened the wrapping I found this with a multi pack bar of cheap chocolate taped to it.

Initially I thought it might be a bottle of something.......

20231130_233229.thumb.jpg.26014f4936f0010822e59510b9debe66.jpg

It wasn't. It was this horse calendar 

20231130_233320.thumb.jpg.2614b22c6e68605d288985869e78a5b9.jpg

Sponsored by Genting Casino

20231130_233434.thumb.jpg.22b81ae3ce20f058f1965cb0ce6157d7.jpg

I think they forgot until the day and just wrapped something they found in their house which they clearly got for free....or they clearly despised me.

It was so bad that I kept it.

(And its colour in your own wallpaper I have in a corner of my kitchen in case you're wondering. If you visit you get to colour one in)

This is the winner surely :laugh2: "The Vigourous of Fine Horse" 

2 minutes ago, Vlad Magic said:

A fish curing kit.

Basically a load of “flavoured” salt.

It’s never been used.

Give it to someone else as a present.😄