Geordie RIP

Gundermann

Cannae believe it. 

That's the end of Killing Joke.  Nobody could replace Geordie. 

And not one guitar solo in his whole 40+ year career. Incredible musician.

A style of guitar playing in a band's prevalent style that was innovative in it's own right,  without being especially unique.  Fast fingered,  bluesy guitar riffs weren't their thing.  They have always been the epitome of industrial rock.  Repetitive,  relentless,  menacing melody.  He'll always be a great to people who loved the band for what they are.

9 hours ago, Day@theraces said:

Each to there own, but that's horrific. R.I.P though.

Maybe this is more to your taste? ;)

One of my all time favourite bands, seen them loads of times, a very influential band.

I'm glad my son saw them recently.

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

I can only presume a certain alien chasing poster is in the pokey. 

To be fair to him, he is a big fan.

First it was Raven, now Geordie.

For me, apart from Jaz Coleman, he was the main influence for Killing Joke. He had a big part in the writing of lyrics for KJs songs.

Even Jimmy Page was quoted as saying Geordie, was one of the best guitarists he heard.

His style of playing  was unique.  And gave KJ their unique sound.

KJ, were the main influences of "industrial mental".

Paul and Jaz were heavily into the "occult", meaning "hidden"..

I was too, and i am still.

When Geordie joined Killing Joke, the four elements, air, fire water and earth were complete. 

Indeed Jaz went onto say, that Killing Joke gigs were so much more than an entertainment gig.  

He once said our gigs are a "exorcism"..

All the band , including bass player Youth", were into books and would pass them about the band.

From the first album in the early 1980s , it dealt with their never-ending visions and warnings of a creeping and slow breakdown of social and political issues.  

Fast forward today and its now manifesting in UK and world politics, and the degradation of social unrest.  

Indeed all their albums to date deal with this. From the utter venomous album "Extremities", to the single New Cold War, they were way beyond their time.

I refrained  from this thread, as my study of the "occult" has synced with this band and with the ongoing UAP world situation . Even Jaz has said he thinks UAPs are real, in the sense that they show another form of a manifestation of a higher consciousness.

KJ and Geordies playing style and sound influenced bands such as Metallic, causing them to cover such songs as "The Wait".

From their album "Brighter Than A Thousand Suns, i dedicate this song to Geordie called Sanity.

As one part of this song says, "and we"ll remember, last days of Rome AGAIN"

Civilisations wax and wane, how true. 

Rest in peace Geordie.

And the superb Geordie guitar on "Millennium.

They were punks and often had songs about  the insidious worlds of  politics  and religions.

One only has to read the lyrics of certain songs that they had a dislike for both.

404671406_6364725043628347_8156869064943898630_n.jpg

Edited by maroonlegions

Geordie , had a hand in this song, lyrics that is.

" I can  see the world, i can see the world to come, in a pandemonium..

Good post mate. 

I only met the great man once, in Kentish Town before the 2 day residency they done in 2008. I was outside the pub across from the venue with a half bottle of tonic. He politely declined. I've seen (not met) jaz a few times before gigs but geordies whole manner was too scary for me. 

Another dig at  the British political system.

I suspect at the Tory non elected PM of today..

Geordies style of play shines through in this song of anger.

"Its a ADD generation, the introduction of slavery,(poverty low paid wages, jobs).Thorough  the " Corporate  elect".. 

Just now, crunchy frog said:

Good post mate. 

I only met the great man once, in Kentish Town before the 2 day residency they done in 2008. I was outside the pub across from the venue with a half bottle of tonic. He politely declined. I've seen (not met) jaz a few times before gigs but geordies whole manner was too scary for me. 

I did the British dates on the Extremities, Dirt and Various Repressed Emotions tour, I was still following a band called LOUD who were supporting, along with an Italian thrash band called Brain Damage, I met all the band pretty much on a daily basis, Jaz was really nice but there was something pretty deep and dark about him, he was definitely unique, Geordie was a bit standoffish, but why wouldn't he be?! One night his amp was playing up, while playing he walked up to it slowly, gave it a kick, it started working again, all in the coolest manner possible😎

6 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

Good post mate. 

Yes him and Jaz had to be in a good mood, to socialise.🤣  

1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

I did the British dates on the Extremities, Dirt and Various Repressed Emotions tour, I was still following a band called LOUD who were supporting, along with an Italian thrash band called Brain Damage, I met all the band pretty much on a daily basis, Jaz was really nice but there was something pretty deep and dark about him, he was definitely unique, Geordie was a bit standoffish, but why wouldn't he be?! One night his amp was playing up, while playing he walked up to it slowly, gave it a kick, it started working again, all in the coolest manner possible😎

:thumb:

10 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Extremities tour still the best time i saw them. And I saw them a lot. 

16 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

Extremities tour still the best time i saw them. And I saw them a lot. 

Not trying to seem even cooler than I must do already(!)  but I was on the guest list for Killing Joke at the Finsbury Park gig, The Mission New Model Army Killing Joke The Henry Rollins Band and Blur, Blur stood in when at short notice when Bleach cancelled.

Jaz Coleman was still working a bit with LOUD when he produced their first album, I blagged my way on in great style 😎😂

Edited by Dawnrazor

28 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Killing Joke and particularly Jaz hated music journos and jurnos in general.  So they wrre always weary of strangers, after a bad and lying jurno done and un truthful articule on them. Kaz turned up at their office..No more said.. 

7 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Not trying to seem even cooler than I must do already(!)  but I was on the guest list for Killing Joke at the Finsbury Park gig, The Mission New Model Army Killing Joke The Henry Rollins Band and Blur, Blur stood in when at short notice when Bleach cancelled.

Jaz Coleman was still working a bit with LOUD when he produced their first album, I blagged my way on in great style 😎😂

Aye awright. I was there too. Telling the mission to GTF. Or maybe telling you to GTF ya ligger 😏

IMG_20230527_111214_339.jpg

Edited by crunchy frog

5 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

You lucky B********.

2 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

Aye awright. I was there too. Telling the mission to GTF

My band done a great wee cover of Wardance..We  were just fecking about in the reversal room, but we agreed it was banging.. 

Edited by maroonlegions

1 minute ago, maroonlegions said:

You lucky B********.

I know!

A mate of mine, who'd followed Killing Joke from the start and was a permanent on their guest list, wasn't there, so I got his place.

3 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

Aye awright. I was there too. Telling the mission to GTF

Superb👏👏🤣🤣 it was a great day though😎

3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Superb👏👏🤣🤣 it was a great day though😎

****ing freezing it was. June 91. We got the nightbus down on the Friday night. 

1 minute ago, crunchy frog said:

****ing freezing it was. June 91. We got the nightbus down on the Friday night. 

I can't remember it being cold, but the Speed and Thunderbird might have contributed to that!

My girlfriends cousin worked in a recording studio and shared a flat in Kensington so we all stayed there on the night. Was it really 32 years ago?!

The guy who's guest list I blagged, was from Reading, he had some stories to tell about bands, he started following Crass, he used to hitch about with Ian Astbury, got into the Southern Death Cult at the very start, was at the very first Sisters of Mercy gig, I met him again for the first time in years at a Sisters gig in Glasgow a few years ago, he looked like a microwaved corpse, but I'm not surprised considering the amount of amphetamine he must've taken! 

On 28/11/2023 at 19:04, Dawnrazor said:

I can't remember it being cold, but the Speed and Thunderbird might have contributed to that!

My girlfriends cousin worked in a recording studio and shared a flat in Kensington so we all stayed there on the night. Was it really 32 years ago?!

The guy who's guest list I blagged, was from Reading, he had some stories to tell about bands, he started following Crass, he used to hitch about with Ian Astbury, got into the Southern Death Cult at the very start, was at the very first Sisters of Mercy gig, I met him again for the first time in years at a Sisters gig in Glasgow a few years ago, he looked like a microwaved corpse, but I'm not surprised considering the amount of amphetamine he must've taken! 

Love a bit of CRASS when i am angry at the shitfest we call the world.