James Anderson interview

Agentjambo

2 minutes ago, Sid said:

I think if you look back at my posts you will see I’m not afraid to criticise. 
When someone claims “disingenuous” about the person who has given us millions without asking for anything in return, it’s reasonable to compare how they talk about senior people in the club. 
Do you agree or not? 
Or do you think it’s ok to endlessly repeat personal insults?  

Sadly KB has a very vocal coterie of posters who appear to believe that to be the very reason for the existence of this forum.

• Replies 301

• Sooks

• BlueRiver

• Hmfc1965

• Luckies1874

1 hour ago, Sooks said:

Are you saying you want him to be less ambitious 

He should be more realistic,the bigger the players budget,will be the team winning

the league,thats a fact,others could upset it sometimes,but never on a regular basis.

Just now, ford donald said:

He should be more realistic,the bigger the players budget,will be the team winning

the league,thats a fact,others could upset it sometimes,but never on a regular basis.

I prefer him being ambitious personally 

5 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Nae point in telling a bird you’ve a big whanger then showing her yer peanut 🥜 

Colonel Kurtz
17 minutes ago, sirwalter said:

Whilst very much on your side of the argument here it isn't of itself unreasonable to disagree with statements from successful people. Donald Trump has been hugely successful in many ways but...

I would compare James Anderson more to Warren Buffet

Anne Budge seemed surprised to Learn Scottish Football is so corrupt the litigation she instigated was naive  and more a gesture

7 minutes ago, mitch41 said:

Trump …..4 times his companies have went bankrupt, he couldn’t ever make a casino make money, daddy was a crook and left him the family business and Trump owes billions to hundreds of companies who can’t afford to sue him. What is success, success is winning by playing to the rules.

Those are only a few of a great many "buts" yet he did, however regrettably, become President of the United States and that surely has to be accounted a personal success of no little magnitude?

You do realize that I was defending, though not agreeing, with your criticism of Mr Maxwell?

9 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Yes, but the only way we will get near the old firm is if the playing side is injected with a huge amount of cash. That’s being realistic. 

Yes, it’s a fixed league in many years but that doesn’t account for much of the gulf between us and them. 

9 minutes ago, Sooks said:

All good points . Too much to expect Doncaster will increase league sponsorship and TV revenue I suppose :( 

Definitely too much to hope for  !!  :peepwall:    Thinking about the whole SPL setup  thing - clubs such as Hearts,  Hibs & Aberdeen are pretty much the hardest done by.    The OF are out of sight financially, with exclusive TV revenue due to all their away games being shown  live by subscription TV.   Both of them are guaranteed  a shot at the CL and EUropa League group stages (maybe 1 qualifier first).   The diddy teams (Livi, St.J & Ross Co)  can't survive financially without giving more than half their capacity over to OF fans 3 (sometimes 4) times each season (while still benefitting from the live TV coverage) - so they've go no reason to want a change.

Killie, Motherwell, St.Midden, DUndee  are similar, just slightly better supported.

Meanwhile the 3 of us get only modest financial benefit from the OF bigot fans. Am I right in thinking that Hearts are not allowed to show their own PPV in the UK for these home games ?   Hearts fans could sell out the entire ground on a good day, so in fact we possibly lose/forfeit some money due to segregation and extra police/stewarding costs when these glory-hunting scum turn up. 

3 minutes ago, Colonel Kurtz said:

Anne Budge seemed surprised to Learn Scottish Football is so corrupt the litigation she instigated was naive  and more a gesture

I wasn't seeking to make that comparison - that would be truly odious!

20 minutes ago, mitch41 said:

And what person did I insult, just read my post carefully.

I wasn’t talking about you. I was talking about your buddy/other account. 

2 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

We were shite 50 years ago. It's fine to continue to be shite now. :rofl:

Sadly, its some weird comfort blanket of many Hearts fans kept in the locker as an excuse for a manager they like when things are starting to go pear shaped. 

Confusingly, it can be the same fans who laud the vision and ambition of Mr Anderson (as I do) and contradict themselves with the very “we were shite years ago blah blah blah” point.  🤷🏼‍♂️

Wasn’t this new era of fan ownership under the guidance of our current board and being in a better financial state not supposed to be about realising more of our potential (which has always been spoken about over the decades) which in turns means trying to become better on the football pitch?    But let’s keep harping back at various points in our history when we were shite?

Why not aspire to the good times? Make that the barometer?  

Completely perplexing thought process some people have.  

9 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said:

Yes, but the only way we will get near the old firm is if the playing side is injected with a huge amount of cash. That’s being realistic. 

Yes, it’s a fixed league in many years but that doesn’t account for much of the gulf between us and them. 

I know . I am glad he feels differently though at the same time 

2 hours ago, noskillson said:

Streaming and ppv is the way to go... Need to overcome all objections to that to increase revenues 

How does that make money with the numbers that have dodgy fire sticks or use dodgy websites?

4 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Sadly, its some weird comfort blanket of many Hearts fans kept in the locker as an excuse for a manager they like when things are starting to go pear shaped. 

Confusingly, it can be the same fans who laud the vision and ambition of Mr Anderson (as I do) and contradict themselves with the very “we were shite years ago blah blah blah” point.  🤷🏼‍♂️

Wasn’t this new era of fan ownership under the guidance of our current board and being in a better financial state not supposed to be about realising more of our potential (which has always been spoken about over the decades) which in turns means trying to become better on the football pitch?    But let’s keep harping back at various points in our history when we were shite?

This!! Bizarre support at times. It's a case of.......know your place, and don't get above your station. Almost a losing mentality that seems to plague our club unfortunately. 

It's a wee bit of a nothing article. It's also a bit naive as the budget disparity between our big 2 and the others is much bigger than the other leagues he refers to.

3 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

I think you're lumping all the posts proclaiming "we are/were sh1te" together.   If today's "sh1te" is being pipped for 3rd by 3 points, it come nowhere near the true "sh1te" of the 70s.   Maybe its just fans who are too young to have seen the 70s - but believe me, finishing 4th in the top league  back then would have been a real achievement.  That's how sh1te we were, despite having some good players.

We need a sh1te-o-meter to avoid such mix-ups, imo 😀

20 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Brilliant post. 

:clap:

They don’t do irony bud! 

1 hour ago, Debut 4 said:

Every Hearts fan  does aspire to have good times and success. 

The difference is that when it doesn't go exactly in Hearts favour, most reasonable folk don't call for sackings, board changes and call everything  out as shite.

They understand football has many factors involved.

The issue isn't a group of Hearts fans not showing  ambition or success,  it's a group on here that cannot seem to  handle any set backs without an emotional meltdown.

Every thread turns to shite due to them.

Our history and context within the game is also important, to ignore it is foolish in the extreme.

Many of the negative posters were/ have been  demanding change even when we were 3rd and in cup finals.

They only post to criticise, for such an enlightened poster the name calling of many of our staff and general nonsense could not have bypassed you?

Edited by Bazzas right boot

47 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

I think you're lumping all the posts proclaiming "we are/were sh1te" together.   If today's "sh1te" is being pipped for 3rd by 3 points, it come nowhere near the true "sh1te" of the 70s.   Maybe its just fans who are too young to have seen the 70s - but believe me, finishing 4th in the top league  back then would have been a real achievement.  That's how sh1te we were, despite having some good players.

We need a sh1te-o-meter to avoid such mix-ups, imo 😀

For the size of club, location, and support over the decades. It's an under achieving big big bucket of shite, and even bigger shite.

2 minutes ago, innerjambo said:

For the size of club, location, and support over the decades. It's an under achieving big big bucket of shite, and even bigger shite.

Spoken like a true Hibernian interloper.

Just now, innerjambo said:

10/10 for originality dude!!

Others have spotted your Hibernianess ?

Im shocked.

19 minutes ago, innerjambo said:

10/10 for originality dude!!

You have a different opinion so you must be a Hobo.

Laughable. 

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

You have a different opinion so you must be a Hobo.

Laughable. 

Yeah, same old apologists. No criticism allowed, or you're a Hobo.

3 minutes ago, innerjambo said:

Yeah, same old apologists. No criticism allowed, or you're a Hobo.

Yep.

Weird behaviour. 

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

How does that make money with the numbers that have dodgy fire sticks or use dodgy websites?

Sky seem to do alright. What money did we make from it during Covid. 

14 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Has it ever been released the profit if any sky make from showing scottish football from advertising revenue ?.

2 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Yep, fewer games on tv or streaming the better for the club  

To answer your question…dedicated sport and club channels would need to go.

There’s technology available that would make streaming illegally, a lot more challenging, if not impossible for most.

As thing stands, Sky are caught between a rock and a hard place. The ball is firmly in their court.

Using decent encryption... Sky have been doing it for years 

4 hours ago, Luckies1874 said:

You make some good points. 

The one highlighted in red isn't one of them though as it's totally disingenuous. You are not alone in trying to create the narrative that there have been isolated calls for heads after a given game especially one we were likely to lose. Yes there have been calls after numerous recent losses. The reason for that is because there have been so many losses! An accumulation of evidence that results have not been good enough. 

Are you really wanting me to dig them up from the start of the season or are you going to concede now?

3 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Has it ever been released the profit if any sky make from showing scottish football from advertising revenue ?.

I meant Sky do alright generally from showing football while illegal streaming services were freely available for all the football they show, apologies for being unclear. 

What I’d like to know is of individual Scottish clubs could do better streaming their own home games than the current Sky deal. 

5 minutes ago, Gizmo said:

Are you really wanting me to dig them up from the start of the season or are you going to concede now?

Huh? It was you that said the Rangers game!!! My exact point is that was far from an isolated incident, it's because we have been gash for almost the entirety of 2023 that people have called for managerial change after losses! As results have remained totally mediocre since the sacking of Neilson that has continued into this season! And shock horror it will likely continue into December without a consistent improvement in results!

7 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

I read it as-

Building a club or anything good takes time and constant greetin about every bump in the Road and wanting everyone oot is counter productive.

A round about way of saying to some to  stop being an emotional wreck and trust the club.

Like others think , he seemed to be having a less than subtle dig at the authorities and the OF set up as well.

Hopefully we can keep him on our side and if he does wish to spend more on a club-  it's  us.

This may also  help others understand the importance of us being seen as a community club (Grannies, scones, wumunz team  n' all) when attracting his interest,  ideas.... and money. 

Maybe this group will all see the bigger picture rather than post shite constantly.

Would agree with that.

I think he is echoing what has often said is the problem with football (and why often it is hard to run like a normal business) where the focus is on the short term rather than the long term. A club can set out a strong long term plan to push forward, but a run of poor results can mean that the club faces massive pressure from the fans and media which can bring about ripping up the that whole plan. Short term thinking is rife through all areas of football, just look at tv deals, where clubs will take a deal that is only just better than before for 5 years rather than push for a bigger deal, because they want to know that money is safe for the coming season.

I do have some agreement that a change of manager can have more effect than he says, but I think his view is more towards challenging the Old Firm is about building things up financially and the manager is only part of that, where often they are viewed as the only thing.

I do get a sense of ambition in his words, and I suspect he is not someone easily ignored by other board members, but it is more a long game for the club which faces problems when fans view things week to week rather than season to season.

41 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

No idea. Would be interesting to find out. 

23 minutes ago, noskillson said:

Using decent encryption... Sky have been doing it for years 

Really, no encryption stops someone filming a stream and selling it on. 

Just now, davemclaren said:

No idea. Would be interesting to find out. 

Since I posted that I’ve remembered it was ‘free’ if you had bought a season ticket and didn’t request a refund so the figure might not be that meaningful. 

Just now, GinRummy said:

Since I posted that I’ve remembered it was ‘free’ if you had bought a season ticket and didn’t request a refund so the figure might not be that meaningful. 

True. 

Just now, davemclaren said:

Really, no encryption stops someone filming a stream and selling it on. 

All football matches that are on sky, tnt or the other one are all really easy to find a stream for. Not someone filming at the game but the actual stream. Sometimes club only streams like Hearts TV are a bit trickier to get. 

Minor tangent ...

Alan Curbishley & Charlton Athletic.

Fans: "Curbishley OOT" 

IIRC ... Charlton Athletic doing not too bad until his exit.

See where they are now.

Methinks Mr Anderson ain't so daft.

56 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Minor tangent ...

Alan Curbishley & Charlton Athletic.

Fans: "Curbishley OOT" 

IIRC ... Charlton Athletic doing not too bad until his exit.

See where they are now.

Methinks Mr Anderson ain't so daft.

Aye, good shout actually.  CHarlton punched way above their weight under him season after season, wining 2 promotions and getting to the PL.  THe riches of the PL seemed to make a lot of their fans lose any sense of perspective after that.

4 hours ago, Colonel Kurtz said:

The litigation was crackpot but designed to divert attention from the circumstances that put us in that position.

9 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Aye, good shout actually.  CHarlton punched way above their weight under him season after season, wining 2 promotions and getting to the PL.  THe riches of the PL seemed to make a lot of their fans lose any sense of perspective after that.

Nah, there was a huge amount of Charlton supporters screaming for change. Lots of disgruntled supporters at games.

We've only got a handful of empty vessels that clearly moan about absolutely anything.

13 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

But when did we last have a manager who got us punching above our weight?

3 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Every Hearts fan  does aspire to have good times and success. 

The difference is that when it doesn't go exactly in Hearts favour, most reasonable folk don't call for sackings, board changes and call everything  out as shite.

They understand football has many factors involved.

The issue isn't a group of Hearts fans not showing  ambition or success,  it's a group on here that cannot seem to  handle any set backs without an emotional meltdown.

Every thread turns to shite due to them.

Our history and context within the game is also important, to ignore it is foolish in the extreme.

Many of the negative posters were/ have been  demanding change even when we were 3rd and in cup finals.

They only post to criticise, for such an enlightened poster the name calling of many of our staff and general nonsense could not have bypassed you?

Totally agree...