• Dawnrazor

• Bender

• vegas-voss

3 hours ago, Norm said:

Someone pointed it out on here before that all their beers taste of grapefruit and I'd never noticed it. Ever since though, that's all I can taste when I drink their stuff

To ruin the tone, if you drink enough BrewDog stuff, particularly the Elvis Juice one which is supposed to be grapefruit, then the following day your ....ahem... "bathroom offerings" will also stink of grapefruit :lol: 

2 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Williams Brothers for me. Che Guava Lager or Joker IPA.

Joker IPA always hits the spot. 

Not a trendy name but Loch Lomond Brewery is doing some first class IPAs right now, Aldi has them on sale now.

On 25/09/2023 at 20:41, Morgan said:

I quite like Hazy Jane and Elvis juice.

I really like the Punk IPA.

Do you have a favourite, or do you not like Brewdog at all?

Used to like it but found after a few cans it was sickly so stop buying it. I genuinely think it was trendy for a while and has had its day. 

Regular John

Agree with the William Brothers shouts, could drink 7 Giraffes all day, however I am partial to the odd Brewdog Dead Pony Club, quite tasty.

On 26/09/2023 at 13:29, tian447 said:

To ruin the tone, if you drink enough BrewDog stuff, particularly the Elvis Juice one which is supposed to be grapefruit, then the following day your ....ahem... "bathroom offerings" will also stink of grapefruit :lol: 

Plus there will be no solids...

29 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

Plus there will be no solids...

Like a grapefruit cottage cheese. 

If you're lucky 👍

Meh.  Brewdog stuff is OK if there's no alternative available.

I do like a lot of contemporary craft beers, especially Irish-brewed beers.  But tonight, thanks to my local Tesco, I've been drinking this:

120097011_0_640x640.jpg?identifier=03d0b

On 25/09/2023 at 20:01, Zico said:

There’s loads of better Scottish beers out there and James Watt is an arsehole of the highest order. 

Harsh. He was world lightweight champion and he'd still kick your arse.

9 hours ago, Ulysses said:

I do like a lot of contemporary craft beers, especially Irish-brewed beers.  But tonight, thanks to my local Tesco, I've been drinking this:

That's a lovely beer, a few places around me have that on draught.

3 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

That's a lovely beer, a few places around me have that on draught.

It is a fine beer.  Only bottles available here, so I'll have to make do. 🍺

13 hours ago, Ulysses said:

That’s good stuff. And a proper beer. It just tastes like, erm, beer. No fancy over hopped fruit nonsense going in.  

Brewdog hired a big room at my work when they were opening the Lothian Road pub for open interviews. Turn up on the day, no formal application process until you turned up. It was hilarious to watch, pretty much every man interviewing for a job had a beard, a plaid shirt, and tattoos. And our head barman at the time who ticked all those boxes that was working on the day handed his notice in the next day as they’d headhunted him 🤣

38 minutes ago, Tazio said:

That’s good stuff. And a proper beer. It just tastes like, erm, beer. No fancy over hopped fruit nonsense going in. 

I do like an occasional "big" beer, but you can't have more than one of them at a time.  I had my first pint of Landlord over 30 years ago, and it's been a regular go-to for me ever since (when I can get it).  It reappeared in my local Tesco a few months ago, but before that I had to rely on my trips to Sainsbury's in Newry to get some.

(I'm still more loyal to my local craft beers, though.)

1 minute ago, vegas-voss said:

Bottles of Old Jock are also ****ing great.So many beers far better than Brewdog.

Old Jock and Wee Jock are really nice, I often get the Jock in a Box for Christmas.

9 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Brewdog is shit and the guy that owns them is a creepy weirdo sex pest.

5 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Old Jock and Wee Jock are really nice, I often get the Jock in a Box for Christmas.

Ah never seen that before will need to ask for it this year 

11 hours ago, TallPaul said:

Brewdog is shit and the guy that owns them is a creepy weirdo sex pest.

Of course, the first comment from you is purely your opinion. 👍

Remember that.

2 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

Bottles of Old Jock are also ****ing great.So many beers far better than Brewdog.

bona fide alkie! :lol:

On 25/09/2023 at 19:25, Der Kaiser said:

Dont want to be cruel but Elvis juice is quite pish.

Not nearly as pish as Leith Juice, obviously.

Screenshot_20231010_052826_Google.jpg

Always thought they were trying too hard to be cool. "Punks" etc. what's that all about?

Anyway, the owners seem to have made a wedge selling shares and overpriced, over strength beer that tastes shit.

Fair play.

1 hour ago, Pans Jambo said:

Always thought they were trying too hard to be cool. "Punks" etc. what's that all about?

Anyway, the owners seem to have made a wedge selling shares and overpriced, over strength beer that tastes shit.

Fair play.

Generally speaking, OTT strength beers taste awful.

I've had many 14% + ones and they're nothing other than a novelty.

1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

The proper Belgian fruit beers are decent but **** those craft beers that you get in about a third of a pint and  20%  that are thick and syrupy they are ****ing bawfing.

Edited by vegas-voss

1 hour ago, Wee Mikey said:

Probably a cheap night out for the students. 4 pints and yer pished!

Rupert Pupkin

Roaster Coaster by Brewdog was a lovely beer…. But generally their stuff I find to be a bit shyte.

It’s funny they’ve become everything they professed to hate.🤪🤪

7 hours ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

Roaster Coaster by Brewdog was a lovely beer…. But generally their stuff I find to be a bit shyte.

It’s funny they’ve become everything they professed to hate.🤪🤪

Roaster Coaster was a cracking beer, as was Nitro Jet Black Heart, 2 great Brewdog stouts, can’t get either of them now.

12 hours ago, jimmyjambo said:

Roaster Coaster was a cracking beer, as was Nitro Jet Black Heart, 2 great Brewdog stouts, can’t get either of them now.

They had Black Heart on in their Lothian Road bar yesterday. 

Wasn't really a fan but got a Brewdog beer 'advent calendar' one year and some of them were decent,  particularly a hazy ipa one.

Some were just ultra hipster weird like a palma violet beer which was less appetising than someone vomiting in my mouth.

3 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

They had Black Heart on in their Lothian Road bar yesterday. 

Should have said in cans, not that I’ve seen anyway.