Well done Michael Stewart

Thomaso

6 minutes ago, brux said:

Recently it's been made obvious what we all thought before, the refs in Scotland are corrupt and inept.  For BM to say that wasent a pen today shows he has never played the game and doesn't understand what happens when running at pace and someone pushes you.

What you need to remember is that Bobby with his X ray vision can compute that the push wasn't hard enough to merit a penalty. All this from a studio miles from the incident.

A truly remarkable talent .

• Replies 115

• OTT

• Thomaso

• Trigger

1 hour ago, Gorgierools said:

Watched it several times,still don't see a foul.

I was front row 20 yards from it. It was a stonewaller. I had a perfect angle of the push on him. I'm first to admit if a penalty is soft. But that is defo a penalty, and the ref had as good a view as me. There was never a danger of that getting overturned on VAR. If that is anywhere else on the park its a foul 100% of the time (even with Wullie Collum). Why should it be different for a penalty?

1 hour ago, The Maroon Pound said:

I just can't take Leanne seriously talking football just a BBC box ticking exercise nor Boaby Madden 

I Leanne ticks two boxes........

1 hour ago, Gorgierools said:

Watched it several times,still don't see a foul.

Sorry just realised you were talking about the Hill challenge. Silly me. Didn't look a foul to me, but I didn't have as good a view as the penalty.

Its one of those penalties IMO which are just annoying, you know damn well what the striker is up to and the defender has been utterly suckered in by it.

But the above doesn't make it not a penalty. It was clever play from Gino, He was going nowhere, but he did enough to sucker the defender in and I guarantee if it was a Celtic or Rangers player, neither Madden or Crichton would have had the bottle to criticise it. 

Its actually really worrying that a referee that was among our "best" disagrees with it. Our senior referees are all terrible, and it worries me that guys like Madden and Collum are influencing the next generation. 

As clear a penalty as you will ever see.

I think a lot of pundits don't realise that accidental contact is still a foul. 

Edited by Mikey1874
Mix up

1 hour ago, August Landmesser said:

Aye, listening to him squeaking on about it really revealed a lot about his entire refereeing career. Spanner of a man

48 minutes ago, Rockwell said:

Bobby maddens opinion is priceless .just been kicked out of English lower.leagues because he was hopeless . A terrible referee for years 

He really is a shocking referee and doesn't come across as a particularly likeable chap. I still remember that match at Tynie when he knew he'd made a colossal arse of it and lost the plot. 

6 minutes ago, OTT said:

Its one of those penalties IMO which are just annoying, you know damn well what the striker is up to and the defender has been utterly suckered in by it.

But the above doesn't make it not a penalty. It was clever play from Gino, He was going nowhere, but he did enough to sucker the defender in and I guarantee if it was a Celtic or Rangers player, neither Madden or Crichton would have had the bottle to criticise it. 

Its actually really worrying that a referee that was among our "best" disagrees with it. Our senior referees are all terrible, and it worries me that guys like Madden and Collum are influencing the next generation. 

No one saying it should have been a red card.

After Maeda assumed to control ball last week, surely Ginnelly could have easily turned on a sixpence and been through on goal. 

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

What good does that do us? He is an irrelevance like the other pundits.

One of those grudges 😄 

I do not like him much either , prefer him as a pundit to a player though . He was dreadful in maroon 

Leanne’s alright . Her voice annoys me a bit , but she usually knows what she is talking about ………….. wrong this time though

9 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

It wasn’t an accident. It was a clear pen though. 

Ginelly is heading away from goal. The decision from the defender to put a hand on his back is crazy.

It’s a penalty all day long.

8 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Correct. Nothing accidental about it.

A stupid decision by the defender.

Gorgierools
36 minutes ago, jager man said:

I was front row 20 yards from it. It was a stonewaller. I had a perfect angle of the push on him. I'm first to admit if a penalty is soft. But that is defo a penalty, and the ref had as good a view as me. There was never a danger of that getting overturned on VAR. If that is anywhere else on the park its a foul 100% of the time (even with Wullie Collum). Why should it be different for a penalty?

Sorry mate,crossed wires. I meant the foul for their free kick.

6 minutes ago, Gorgierools said:

Sorry mate,crossed wires. I meant the foul for their free kick.

Never a free kick.

Zanders set up and the wall not jumping didn’t help either, though.

35 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Despite Cochrane getting sent off for accidental contact last week.

32 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

I think the defender trips up. 

3 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

I think the defender trips up. 

Will need to look at it again. If it was I didn’t notice, I thought he deliberately pushed him. 

Armageddon

Leanne is just there to tick a box, the stupid tart can hardly speak English with her face full of make up.

tynie chris
3 hours ago, Thomaso said:

Just listened to MS destroying Leanne. and Bobby Madden on radio - they said it wasn’t a penalty and MS wasn’t having it! Insisted it was a “stonewaller” and had Leanne bitching way at him!

Heard it on the way home from the game, was the only laugh I had today, well said Michael Stewart.

AllyjamboDerbyshire
3 hours ago, Randy Marsh said:

The foul for the free kick they scored looked extremely soft.  Would have been a totally different had we only gone in 1 nil down.

Spot on, except it wasn't soft, it wasn't a foul.

3 hours ago, Trigger said:

Wrong again?

Tell me about the time Neilson asked for no ball boys to be present v Celtic in a deliberate attempt to slow the game down?

Naismith asked for similar last week obviously?

The only reason we don't have ball boys against sellik is so they don't get spat on or assaulted by the gfitw

8 minutes ago, AllyjamboDerbyshire said:

Spot on, except it wasn't soft, it wasn't a foul.

Referee succumbed to the shouts from the torn faced Celtic B team fans.

Awful decision.

Zander and the wall from then on in were also awful, tbf.

Just now, The Treasurer said:

The only reason we don't have ball boys against sellik is so they don't get spat on or assaulted by the gfitw

I know that. 

As do others who had the discussion with @Pasquale for King initially.

He was convinced it was a deliberate ploy from Neilson to slow the play down, however. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2 minutes ago, Trigger said:

I know that. 

As do others who had the discussion with @Pasquale for King initially.

He was convinced it was a deliberate ploy from Neilson to slow the play down, however. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Sorry I should have read more of the thread. Not like a pundit to make up their mind without the full facts 

7 minutes ago, The Treasurer said:

We didnt have any against them in the cup, not even at our end. Only had a couple last week at the Gorgie end, noticed we were taking a breather when possible as we were pressing. 

1 hour ago, Armageddon said:

Leanne is just there to tick a box, the stupid tart can hardly speak English with her face full of make up.

Is she a tart ? Bit of an odd thing to call her 

PortyBeach
1 hour ago, Armageddon said:

Misogyny… Homophobia…I’m sure there are other prejudices in your diatribe I can’t quite articulate just yet. 

Quite an “achievement” in one sentence. 

2 hours ago, Trigger said:

Never a free kick.

Zanders set up and the wall not jumping didn’t help either, though.

Think there may have been a slight deflection which changed flight of ball 

4 minutes ago, PortyBeach said:

Misogyny… Homophobia…I’m sure there are other prejudices in your diatribe I can’t quite articulate just yet. 

You are correct no need, she is just a cvmt.

9 minutes ago, PortyBeach said:

I know I shouldn't get involved but I can't help myself so, what part is homophobic? Or are you doing the usual PC trendy crap and disputing every argument by throwing in a load of pc labels to inure yourself  with the in crowd whilst trying to belittle the angry thoughts of the common man. 

Maybe the guy just doesn't like her.

Edited by TypoonJambo

AllyjamboDerbyshire
1 hour ago, Trigger said:

Referee succumbed to the shouts from the torn faced Celtic B team fans.

Awful decision.

Zander and the wall from then on in were also awful, tbf.

It wasn't a good wall, and Clark's positioning was awful.

Truly awful referee gives truly awful decisions, just another day 

51 minutes ago, PortyBeach said:

Could have just said she is a shite pundit. 

No prejudice just fact 

PortyBeach
39 minutes ago, TypoonJambo said:

I know I shouldn't get involved but I can't help myself so, what part is homophobic? Or are you doing the usual PC trendy crap and disputing every argument by throwing in a load of pc labels to inure yourself  with the in crowd whilst trying to belittle the angry thoughts of the common man. 

Maybe the guy just doesn't like her.

You obviously don’t know that she’s gay?

So, what are you saying? That you can spout ill-considered abuse and it’s OK so long as you’re a “common man”?

That to challenge this is “PC trendy crap”?

PortyBeach
8 minutes ago, The Treasurer said:

Could have just said she is a shite pundit. 

No prejudice just fact 

Yes, but he didn’t.

1 hour ago, PortyBeach said:

Homophobia? 

:cornette_dog:

5 hours ago, Gizmo said:

He really is a shocking referee and doesn't come across as a particularly likeable chap. I still remember that match at Tynie when he knew he'd made a colossal arse of it and lost the plot. 

Against Hamilton? Aye, total prick of a man

12 hours ago, Gizmo said:

I remember the look on his face as he realised he had to go up the Wheatfield tunnel 😂,the whole stand was snarling at him, he turned to the PC next to him and whimpered, then got escorted off the pitch.

He is a brainless buffoon.😏

11 hours ago, Armageddon said:

This place is funny really. Mods obsessed with banning posters from threads for calling other posters "idiots" or "morons".   Yet you can get with saying almost anything if it's not directed at a fellow poster.  

It probably lives in the UK and yet is obsessed with "box-ticking" on BBC Scotland's fitba show.  Furious about it.  Priorities priorities.....😂

Armageddon
1 minute ago, WageThief said:

This place is funny really. Mods obsessed with banning posters from threads for calling other posters "idiots" or "morons".   Yet you can get with saying almost anything if it's not directed at a fellow poster.  

It probably lives in the UK and yet is obsessed with "box-ticking" on BBC Scotland's fitba show.  Furious about it.  Priorities priorities.....😂

That’s how it should be!  Free speech while respecting fellow posters, it’s in the rules when you sign up. 👍🏼

Im only highlighting that this hopeless Spitting Image puppet is adamant Ginnelly wasn’t fouled for the penalty, should we just accept yet more shambolic media attention towards the club from someone only there to help the BBC be more inclusive?

The Wrinkly Ninja
9 hours ago, PortyBeach said:

You obviously don’t know that she’s gay?

So, what are you saying? That you can spout ill-considered abuse and it’s OK so long as you’re a “common man”?

That to challenge this is “PC trendy crap”?

None of the comment was homophobic though. There was also nothing in the comment to suggest that it was pejudiced by her sexuality and it took a few inferential steps by you to assume and claim that it was. You then tried to defend it.

It appears that you are saying it is ok to spout I’ll-considered defamatory abuse.

Edited by The Wrinkly Ninja

How anyone, never mind one of recently "top" refs can look at that and say no penalty is honestly baffling. Properly confusing. He pushes Gino with force in the back!

Derek Ferguson on the radio when asked directly said maybe but Gino had been falling down all game so on that basis understood why it wouldnt have been given?? Eh?!?! I mean! What the????

He also said Gino is at risk of getting less from refs cos he falls over all the time?? Does he? Weve had players who do this. I dont hugely see it with Gino. I think thicknut Fergy is letting the even thicker St Mirren crowd cloud his "judgement"

The Wrinkly Ninja
18 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

How anyone, never mind one of recently "top" refs can look at that and say no penalty is honestly baffling. Properly confusing. He pushes Gino with force in the back!

Derek Ferguson on the radio when asked directly said maybe but Gino had been falling down all game so on that basis understood why it wouldnt have been given?? Eh?!?! I mean! What the????

He also said Gino is at risk of getting less from refs cos he falls over all the time?? Does he? Weve had players who do this. I dont hugely see it with Gino. I think thicknut Fergy is letting the even thicker St Mirren crowd cloud his "judgement"

Gino done it a couple of times yesterday and infuriatingly done so at the expense of challenging for the ball or chasing after the lost challenge. He didn’t get a foul for any of them. Robert Borthwick on hearts tv called him out a couple of times. Could hear him muttering ‘get up Gino’ more than once.

You quite rightly say that should have no impact on the decision when he is fouled and any ex-pro who says that he can understand why a foul wouldn’t be given on those grounds is indeed thick.

Perth to Paisley

Bbc "listen again' option not available for this programme.

Censorship; or available later when people have forgotten?

Definitely a penalty and the defender knew it.

Ginnelly was one of the better players yesterday .Was he going down to easily during the game ?

He should have had more fouls .St Mirren were cute .

Got caught red handed at the penalty.

1 minute ago, Perth to Paisley said:

Bbc "listen again' option not available for this programme.

Censorship; or available later when people have forgotten?

Not the 1st time that's happened and it's a bit baffling seeing as it doesn't exactly use up any storage space or anything technical.

It does make me wonder if certain people have some sort of undue influence when anything 'controversial' has been broadcast live which they'd rather had not been aired.

3 minutes ago, Ked said:

Definitely a penalty and the defender knew it.

Ginnelly was one of the better players yesterday .Was he going down to easily during the game ?

He should have had more fouls .St Mirren were cute .

Got caught red handed at the penalty.

Yup, I too found myself muttering, "get up" more than once, but he defo got clipped / bundled over on at least one occasion whereby the ref just ignored it.

Edited by Wee Mikey

Japan Jambo
15 hours ago, jbee647 said:

You could feel Leanne giving him filthy looks through the radio, she had to get the last word too 

Thought less of her (and Madden) for her comments. Can't see this as anything other than a pen and the subtext that he went down easily is way out of line.