*** Official Hearts Europa Conference League Thread**

BudgeUp

2 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Hmm Fiorentina perhaps? Austria Wien, been there done it, would have been a good one but in the same pot. I'm happy that I know most of the names; clubs roon oor fledgling level 

Aye suppose that's the level we are at by getting beat tonight so have to take what the conference has to offer. 

• Replies 944

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

• Luckies1874

• luckyBatistuta

Cory McNamara

Heart of Midlothian, Fiorentina, West Ham United, Djurgardens IF

or

Hearts, Gent, Slovan, Ballkani

We won't play against Shamrock Rovers, Zalgiris & Austria Wien

3 hours ago, OmiyaHearts said:

Oh, Linfield ruining it with an own goal in 121st min. Gone to pens

Linfield absolutely Hibsed it tonight.  I turned it on after the BBC Scotland stream crapped itself. 

119th minute they have a 4 on 1 break up past the halfway line. Ball played and there are 3 players bearing down on the goalie.  The central player plays it to the guy on the left, who inexplicably rolls it straight toward the goalkeeper with absolutely no conviction or pace at all.  A truly dreadful shot.  Ball goes down the other end toward the corner flag, it gets drilled in and goes in off the Linfield boys leg, going over the line before bouncing out.  Goal given.  

They then miss their first 2 penalties, and that's the end of my hope of getting them in the groups and getting an away game just down the road from me. 

*******s. 

Quick travel guide for our potential opponents. Most of them are pretty straightforward, there's a few that would be an absolute nightmare though. 

Pot One
Villareal - Estadi Ciutat de Valencia, 26,000 - Valencia, Spain - Currently using Levante's stadium in Valencia. Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also pretty easy to get to from Barcelona. 

Basel - St Jakob-Park, 38,000 - Basel, Switzerland - Direct flights to Basel-Mulhouse from Edinburgh.

Slavia Prague -  Fortuna Arena, 21,000 - Prague, Czech Republic - Multiple direct flights to Prague from Edinburgh

AZ Alkmaar - AFAS Stadion, 19,500 -  Alkmaar, Netherlands - Many flights from Edinburgh to either Amsterdam, Eindhoven or Rotterdam/Den Haag then train direct to Alkmaar. 

Gent - Ghelamco Arena, 20,000 - Gent, Belgium - Flight from Edinburgh to Brussels or Charleroi then direct train to Gent. 

Istanbul Basaksehir - Fatih Terim Stadium, 17,000 - Istanbul, Turkey - Direct flights from Edinburgh to Istanbul. Potentially also accessible from Sofia & Burgas in Bulgaria from Edinburgh. 

Partizan - Partizan Stadium, 30,000 - Belgrade, Serbia - Could fly from Edinburgh to Budapest then a 7-8hr train journey, otherwise it's via London, Paris etc. 

West Ham - London Stadium, 62,500 - London, England - Piece of piss. 

Pot Two
CFR Cluj
- Constantin Radulescu Stadium, 22,000 - Cluj-Napoca, Romania - Direct flights from London, Doncaster/Sheffield and Liverpool. From Edinburgh best bet is to Bucharest or Budapest then a train. 
Molde - Aker Stadium, 11,000 - Molde, Norway - Bit of a pain in the arse. Flights from Edinburgh to Bergen or Oslo then an internal flight or long journey by train and bus. 

FCSB - National Arena, 55,000 - Bucharest, Romania - Direct flights from Edinburgh, easy. 
Fiorentina - Stadio Artemio Franchi, 43,000 - Florence, Italy - Potentially a direct flight from Edinburgh with BA, if not then easily accessible from Pisa and other nothern Italian cities via train. 

FC Koln - RheinEnergieStadion, 50,000 -  Cologne, Germany - Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also very easily accessed from Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Brussels, Amersterdam and Hamburg. 
Hapoel Be'er Sheva - Turner Stadium, 16,000 - Be'er Sheva, Israel - **** knows. 20 miles from the Gaza Strip. Get to Tel-Aviv somehow and then 90 minutes on a train. 

Apollon Limassol - Tsirio Stadium, 13,000 - Limassol, Cyprus - Pretty easy, flight from Edinburgh to Larnaca or Paphos. 
Slovan Bratislava - Tehelne Pole, 22,500 - Bratislava, Slovakia - Direct from Edinburgh to Bratislava or even Vienna or Budapest which are nearby.  

Pot Four
Dnipro
- Kosicka Futbalova Arena, 6000 - Kosice, Slovakia - They seem to be playing their games in Kosice so it's either London or Liverpool for a direct flight or Edinburgh to Bratislava then a train across the whole country.
Lech Poznan - Stadion Poznan, 43,000 - Poznan, Poland - Direct flights from Edinburgh. About halfway between Berlin and Warsaw and easy to get to on a train from either. 
Slovacko - Mestsky Stadion, 8000 - Uherske Hradiste, Czech Republic - Tiny town in the arse end of the Czech Republic, probably best served by flying to Prague then getting a train. There are also flights to Brno from London which is much closer.
Silkeborg - JYSK Park, 10,000 - Silkeborg, Denmark - Again a bit of a pain in the arse to get to as it's in the middle of no-where. Probably best flying to Billund or Copenhagen from Edinburgh then trying to find some combination of trains/buses. There are flights from London to Aarhus which has a direct train service to Silkeborg.
Djurgardens - Tele2Arena, 30,000 - Stockholm, Sweden - Direct flights from Edinburgh, easy. 

Pyunik - Vazgen Sargsyan Republican Stadium, 14,000 - Yerevan, Armenia - No direct flights from the UK at all but should be relatively easy from Edinburgh on Air France, Lufthansa or Brussels Airlines with one connection. 
RFS - Daugava Stadium, 10,000 - Riga, Latvia - Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also easy to get to from Kaunas, Vilnius or Tallinn if needs be. 
Ballkani - Fadil Vokrri Stadium, 13,500 - Pristina, Kosovo - Like RFS and Dnipro another one not using their own stadium. There's a few flights to Pristina from London and there seems to be loads from Basel/Mulhouse too. 

Edited by Jamboross

Arthur Morgan
6 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

Is this one where you progress to a 2nd group if you finish in the top 2?

I think it's just knockouts after this?

Jambo in Japan
21 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

Is this one where you progress to a 2nd group if you finish in the top 2?

32 teams enter the group stage. 8 groups of 4.

8 group winners advance to the last 16.

8 group runners up get seeded and drawn against 8 unseeded 3rd placed teams from the Europa league groups in a preliminary last 16. 8 winners from this round form the other half of the actual last 16.

6 minutes ago, Jambo in Japan said:

32 teams enter the group stage. 8 groups of 4.

8 group winners advance to the last 16.

8 group runners up get seeded and drawn against 8 unseeded 3rd placed teams from the Europa league groups in a preliminary last 16. 8 winners from this round form the other half of the actual last 16.

Thanks for that.  Means if we finish 2nd we will play a minimum of 10 Euro games this season.

Clear need to strengthen the squad if we can.

Jambo in Japan
12 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

Thanks for that.  Means if we finish 2nd we will play a minimum of 10 Euro games this season.

Clear need to strengthen the squad if we can.

We certainly do. Even if you write off Europe and judge the season on the domestic campaign, we're going to need better squad depth to keep winning on the Sundays following Thursday nights, if we're to keep hold of 3rd place.

2 minutes ago, Fire_At_The_Disco said:

What times the draw today? 

1.30pm. Not sure when dates for fixtures are announced but i imagine it will be Monday.

Heartsmad1874
8 minutes ago, skacel51 said:

1.30pm. Not sure when dates for fixtures are announced but i imagine it will be Monday.

Tomorrow morning at latest according to some on twitter.

Ideal group : Villarreal, Koln and Slovacko

Worst case : Istanbul Basaksehir, Hapoel Beer Sheva  and Pyunik.

5 hours ago, Jamboross said:

Quick travel guide for our potential opponents. Most of them are pretty straightforward, there's a few that would be an absolute nightmare though. 

Pot One
Villareal - Estadi Ciutat de Valencia, 26,000 - Valencia, Spain - Currently using Levante's stadium in Valencia. Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also pretty easy to get to from Barcelona. 

Basel - St Jakob-Park, 38,000 - Basel, Switzerland - Direct flights to Basel-Mulhouse from Edinburgh.

Slavia Prague -  Fortuna Arena, 21,000 - Prague, Czech Republic - Multiple direct flights to Prague from Edinburgh

AZ Alkmaar - AFAS Stadion, 19,500 -  Alkmaar, Netherlands - Many flights from Edinburgh to either Amsterdam, Eindhoven or Rotterdam/Den Haag then train direct to Alkmaar. 

Gent - Ghelamco Arena, 20,000 - Gent, Belgium - Flight from Edinburgh to Brussels or Charleroi then direct train to Gent. 

Istanbul Basaksehir - Fatih Terim Stadium, 17,000 - Istanbul, Turkey - Direct flights from Edinburgh to Istanbul. Potentially also accessible from Sofia & Burgas in Bulgaria from Edinburgh. 

Partizan - Partizan Stadium, 30,000 - Belgrade, Serbia - Could fly from Edinburgh to Budapest then a 7-8hr train journey, otherwise it's via London, Paris etc. 

Pot Two
CFR Cluj
- Constantin Radulescu Stadium, 22,000 - Cluj-Napoca, Romania - Direct flights from London, Doncaster/Sheffield and Liverpool. From Edinburgh best bet is to Bucharest or Budapest then a train. 
Molde - Aker Stadium, 11,000 - Molde, Norway - Bit of a pain in the arse. Flights from Edinburgh to Bergen or Oslo then an internal flight or long journey by train and bus. 

FCSB - National Arena, 55,000 - Bucharest, Romania - Direct flights from Edinburgh, easy. 
Fiorentina - Stadio Artemio Franchi, 43,000 - Florence, Italy - Potentially a direct flight from Edinburgh with BA, if not then easily accessible from Pisa and other nothern Italian cities via train. 

FC Koln - RheinEnergieStadion, 50,000 -  Cologne, Germany - Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also very easily accessed from Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Brussels, Amersterdam and Hamburg. 
Hapoel Be'er Sheva - Turner Stadium, 16,000 - Be'er Sheva, Israel - **** knows. 20 miles from the Gaza Strip. Get to Tel-Aviv somehow and then 90 minutes on a train. 

Apollon Limassol - Tsirio Stadium, 13,000 - Limassol, Cyprus - Pretty easy, flight from Edinburgh to Larnaca or Paphos. 
Slovan Bratislava - Tehelne Pole, 22,500 - Bratislava, Slovakia - Direct from Edinburgh to Bratislava or even Vienna or Budapest which are nearby.  

Pot Four
Dnipro
- Kosicka Futbalova Arena, 6000 - Kosice, Slovakia - They seem to be playing their games in Kosice so it's either London or Liverpool for a direct flight or Edinburgh to Bratislava then a train across the whole country.
Lech Poznan - Stadion Poznan, 43,000 - Poznan, Poland - Direct flights from Edinburgh. About halfway between Berlin and Warsaw and easy to get to on a train from either. 
Slovacko - Mestsky Stadion, 8000 - Uherske Hradiste, Czech Republic - Tiny town in the arse end of the Czech Republic, probably best served by flying to Prague then getting a train. There are also flights to Brno from London which is much closer.
Silkeborg - JYSK Park, 10,000 - Silkeborg, Denmark - Again a bit of a pain in the arse to get to as it's in the middle of no-where. Probably best flying to Billund or Copenhagen from Edinburgh then trying to find some combination of trains/buses. There are flights from London to Aarhus which has a direct train service to Silkeborg.
Djurgardens - Tele2Arena, 30,000 - Stockholm, Sweden - Direct flights from Edinburgh, easy. 

Pyunik - Vazgen Sargsyan Republican Stadium, 14,000 - Yerevan, Armenia - No direct flights from the UK at all but should be relatively easy from Edinburgh on Air France, Lufthansa or Brussels Airlines with one connection. 
RFS - Daugava Stadium, 10,000 - Riga, Latvia - Direct flights from Edinburgh. Also easy to get to from Kaunas, Vilnius or Tallinn if needs be. 
Ballkani - Fadil Vokrri Stadium, 13,500 - Pristina, Kosovo - Like RFS and Dnipro another one not using their own stadium. There's a few flights to Pristina from London and there seems to be loads from Basel/Mulhouse too. 

Definitely think 

Gent 

Appolon 

Hearts 

RFS 

For winning and ease of travel.

Bring it on, the EL is probably above our squads capabilities right now & we’d likely be the whipping boys. This competition is probably where most of us expected to be playing, the finances involved are still massive for a club like hearts & theres a lost of possibilities for some really interesting ties including a couple of giant names from top leagues.

Definitely a drop down in quality with the teams in the draw compared to europa but do have a realistic chance of getting out of the groups 

7 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Thanks mate.  Was thinking when the actual fixtures would be announced ie how long after the draw ? 

5 hours ago, Jamboross said:

Pot One

Pot Two
CFR Cluj

Pot Four
Dnipro

Excellent work sir.

I am planning to book one trip with my three kids (youngest being 10).  I'd be interested on people's opinion of teams / places to avoid because of their casual / ultra element?  I don't fancy being ambushed outside a pub with three kids in tow!

8 hours ago, OmiyaHearts said:

West Ham

Fiorentina

Heart of Midlothian

Lech Poznan

Would be a good group 

Fire_At_The_Disco
46 minutes ago, skacel51 said:

Thanks bud

KyleLafferty

After lasts night disappointing outcome, I’m calm now and ready for this draw. I didn’t think I’d see hearts again in European league football and here we are. Some tasty looking trips that will make unbelievable memories.

19 minutes ago, alfamonkey said:

Thanks mate.  Was thinking when the actual fixtures would be announced ie how long after the draw ? 

They hope to have confirmation by Saturday 

JamboCampbell

Probably been asked but how long after the draw are the dates announced?

ignore me just saw above haha

Edited by JamboCampbell

ScandinavianJambo
9 hours ago, BudgeUp said:

Why did you start the same thread as this when you were the first to reply on here.

Is having the ***official thread**" status that big a deal?

Hibs patter 

Anyway.

Teams involved.

Djurgårdens IF (SWE)

CFR Cluj (ROU)

FC Basel 1893 (SUI)

ACF Fiorentina (ITA)

Fotbal Club FCSB

1. FC Köln (GER)

West Ham United FC (ENG)1. FC Slovácko (CZE)

Molde FK (NOR)

Ballkani (KOS)

FK Partizan (SRB)

KKS Lech Poznań (POL)

İstanbul Başakşehir FK (TUR)

FC Vaduz (LIE)

Villarreal CF (ESP)

AZ Alkmaar (NED)

Dnipro (UKR)*

Gent (BEL)*

Austria Wien (AUT)*

Silkeborg (DEN)*

Sivasspor (TUR)*

Žalgiris (LTU)*

Pyunik (ARM)*

Heart of Midlothian (SCO)*

Shamrock Rovers (IRL)*

Anything but Djurgårdaren IF for me. It my childhood team. Too much of a head f🤯

52 minutes ago, Martin_T said:

Not up for this at all to be honest, so crushingly disappointed at missing out on the Europa League.

This is kinda where I'm still at. Hopefully pull a couple of decent ties out the hat today, get me more excited about it.

West Ham

Koln

Poznan

Desperately need a trip away.

Anyone in Pot 1 apart from Partizan

Anyone in Pin Pot 2 apart from Cluj and fcsb 

Lech Poznan or Dnipro in Pot 4

48 minutes ago, Dayman said:

They hope to have confirmation by Saturday 

Is it Saturday to confirm the exact dates ie Wednesday or Thursday as I know games can be moved if teams from the same city are both playing?

And straight after the draw will we know what match day we play our opponents? For example on game week 4 does pot 1 always play pot 4? 

Edited by karipidis

1 minute ago, karipidis said:

Is it Saturday to confirm the exact dates ie Wednesday or Thursday as I know games can be moved if teams from the same city are both playing?

And straight after the draw will we know what match day we play our opponents? For example on game week 4 does pot 1 always play pot 4? 

Do they not draw the order of the ties at the same time as the draw? I've no idea how it works to be honest. I'm just hoping we get at least a couple of decent away trips that are winnable. 

Was absolutely dejected last night but a good nights sleep later we can now look forward to the Conference League.  This is the reward for our efforts last season.  At least 3 great nights at Tynie to come!

Ibrahim Tall

AZ

Apollon Limassol

Hearts

RFS

please.
I understand the Villarreal/Fiorentina/Lech Poznan shouts but we’ve actually got a pretty decent chance of getting a few wins and getting the next round if we get the right draw. 

15 minutes ago, karipidis said:

I can’t remember where I read it but I think we find out who we play today and which game week we play them tomorrow. I forgot that there are two days of games each week so I’m not sure I considered that whenever I read this. 

10 hours ago, vegas-voss said:

One big glamour game then 2 shit teams we can beat please 

Was thinking that.

West Ham plus two (more) diddy teams will do me.

Bungalow Bill
1 hour ago, ScandinavianJambo said:

Anything but Djurgårdaren IF for me. It my childhood team. Too much of a head f🤯

I’d love Djurgårdaren, my one and only Swedish friend supports them! 

When the draw is made, when will we know which team we play and on what date, as well as which leg is home or away? Just want to know so I can book flights ASAP to take advantage of cheaper fares.

Edited by Jambos_1874

35 minutes ago, mickycameron98 said:

Fiorentina please. Great club, and who doesn't want to go to Italy!

With you on this one, not bothered about the other two teams, take what we get, but would love Fiorentina.

11 hours ago, BudgeUp said:

We've got games that are (hopefully) more winnable to look forward to. 

Gutted after last night, but this is my hope now.

The Black Prince
10 hours ago, julienbrellier said:

Quite like that thinking actually.

1 big glamour tie and a couple of winnable games at decent locations in europe

Do Amalfi and Porto Fino have teams?

1 hour ago, mickycameron98 said:

Fiorentina please. Great club, and who doesn't want to go to Italy!

Kind of like an Italian Hearts

ScandinavianJambo
1 hour ago, Bungalow Bill said:

I’d love Djurgårdaren, my one and only Swedish friend supports them! 

Wow! I never meet anyone who know who they are. Bloody Malmö, Gothenburg and AIK is all people speak about. DIF (shortened version of Djurgården) is doing exceptionally well now a days. Not like in the early 90s when it was a jojo between Allsvenskan and 1an.....

Sorry I got carried away there lol. 

Still, I wouldn't know what to do, 25 years of supporting DIF only and 22 years of supporting Hearts (& DiF)...

I'm giving away my age here, but as said a bit of a head 🤯.