Hearts Finishing Position - Based on Current Squad POLL

XXX

POLL  

408 members have voted

1. 1. With the start of the new Premiership season few weeks away taking into account the summer signings and CURRENT squads, where can you see Hearts finish this season?

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 29/07/22 at 23:00

Just now, IveSeenTheLight said:

Third place

2021/22 - Hearts 61 points (That’s your started for 1)

2020/21 - Hibs 63 points

2019/20 - Motherwell 46 points (League stopped early, but you can claim that as 2)

2018/19 - Kilmarnock 67 points

2017/18 - Rangers 70 points

2016/17 - Rangers 67 points

2015/16 - Hearts 65 Points 

2014/15 - Inverness 65 points

2013/14 - Aberdeen 68 points

2012/13 - St Johnstone 56 points (That’s no 3)

2011/12 - Motherwell 62 points

2010/11 - Hearts 63 points

2009/10 - Dundee Utd 63 points

Thats 13 seasons where only 3 where 61 points would have secured 3rd, one of which was the curtailed COVID season

see above post. 

but this aside.  we had wrapped 3rd up by February and took the foot off the gas. I think that is clear to absolutely everyone. 

also. When hearts, hibs, rangers not in the league I’d say that would account for a fair number of point 👍🏻

• Replies 151

• IveSeenTheLight

• kingantti1874

• jambo89

Third place

2020/21 - Hibs 63 points

2019/20 - Motherwell 46 points (League stopped early, but you can claim that as 2)

Thats 13 seasons where only 3 where 61 points would have secured 3rd, one of which was the curtailed COVID season

Once again, you are using the 3rd place points total.

I can't make this any simpler, you need to have more points than 4th place to finish 3rd. Why are you using the 3rd place points total?

IveSeenTheLight
23 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

You did disappear when Aberdeen were pish likes. You’ve now re-appeared when they might not be. 

covered that before.

I took Covid hard at the start of the year and was hardly online at all.

we were pish last year, I don’t dispute that

6 minutes ago, Gorgierools said:

You tried counting sheep? I never get past 3.

agreed

4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

you disappeared for months.  You’ll disappear this season again as the sheep have flattered to deceive and have been lucky with red cards 

I’ve never disappeared just because of results.

If we’re pish, I’ll say we’re pish

Edited by IveSeenTheLight

covered that before.

agreed

fair enough mate. Tbh I do enjoy your contribution 

2 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

covered that before.

I took Fovid hard at the start of the year and was hardly online at all.

sorry to hear that. Hope you’ve recovered. So while Aberdeen were shit you disappeared because you had covid and now that they might not be shit your back but without covid. That more accurate?

IveSeenTheLight
1 minute ago, jambo89 said:

Once again, you are using the 3rd place points total.

I can't make this any simpler, you need to have more points than 4th place to finish 3rd. Why are you using the 3rd place points total?

Because when you look at it, to secure 

Take the 2020/21 season for example. 
Hibs finished 3rd with 63 points

We we’re 4th with 56 points.

61 points does not secure you third place just by getting ahead of the 4th placed team.

That just places you 4th

4 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Third place

2020/21 - Hibs 63 points

2020/21 4th place = 56 points (57 points required to finish 3rd)

2019/20 (Covid)

2018/19 4th place = 67 points (68 points required for 3rd)

2017/18 4th place - 67 points (68 points required for 3rd)

2016/17 4th place = 58 points (59 points required for 3rd)

2015/16 4th place = 56 points (57 points required for 3rd)

2014/15 4th place = 57 points (58 points required for 3rd)

2013/14 4th place = 58 points (59 points required for 3rd)

2012/13 4th place = 54 points (55 points required for 3rd)

I Just don;t understand how you're not getting it?

IveSeenTheLight

2020/21 4th place = 56 points (57 points required to finish 3rd)

2019/20 (Covid)

2018/19 4th place = 67 points (68 points required for 3rd)

2017/18 4th place - 67 points (68 points required for 3rd)

2016/17 4th place = 58 points (59 points required for 3rd)

2015/16 4th place = 56 points (57 points required for 3rd)

2014/15 4th place = 57 points (58 points required for 3rd)

2013/14 4th place = 58 points (59 points required for 3rd)

2012/13 4th place = 54 points (55 points required for 3rd)

I Just don;t understand how you're not getting it?

Getting above 4th place, means you reach 4th, not 3rd

2 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Because when you look at it, to secure 

61 points does not secure you third place just by getting ahead of the 4th placed team.

That just places you 4th

What are you on about? if you have more points than 4th place you move in to 3rd? Why are you adding extra teams and positions.

IveSeenTheLight
6 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

fair enough mate. Tbh I do enjoy your contribution 

Thanks, I get that my presence irks some but that is never my intention.

5 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

sorry to hear that. Hope you’ve recovered. So while Aberdeen were shit you disappeared because you had covid and now that they might not be shit your back but without covid. That more accurate?

I think I may have long covid.

my fitness and lung capacity is nothing like before the start of the year, but thankfully it’s slowly improving

Getting above 4th place, means you reach 4th, not 3rd

Finishing above 4th place means you finish 4th aye? That's enough internet for me today.

IveSeenTheLight

What are you on about? if you have more points than 4th place you move in to 3rd? Why are you adding extra teams and positions.

Try this again….

That just places you 4th

IveSeenTheLight

Finishing above 4th place means you finish 4th aye? That's enough internet for me today.

Yes, it pushed them down to 5th

The Grim Reaper

Thanks, I get that my presence irks some but that is never my intention.

my fitness and lung capacity is nothing like before the start of the year, but thankfully it’s slowly improving

Weren't you out sailing somewhere for months with no phone reception the other time you disappeared? 

IveSeenTheLight
Just now, The Grim Reaper said:

Weren't you out sailing somewhere for months with no phone reception the other time you disappeared? 

Can only think that would have been a short period on holiday

IveSeenTheLight
17 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

see above post. 

but this aside.  we had wrapped 3rd up by February and took the foot off the gas. I think that is clear to absolutely everyone. 

also. When hearts, hibs, rangers not in the league I’d say that would account for a fair number of point 👍🏻

Absolutely agree that last season you had no challenge at all and could afford to take your foot off the gas.

It may have helped you in the latter stages of the Scottish cup, although I’ve not looked closely at it to be fair.

Hearts have a very good squad.

I said at the start of the season you were favourites for 3rd, however did also say the strains of additional games ‘ travel in Europe would test you squad.

With that in mind, I thought it was a great result for you last week to turn around St Johnstone to get the 3 points

22 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Third place

2020/21 - Hibs 63 points

Hearts only needed 61 points last year to finish 3rd because the teams 4th - 10th were all pretty much the same level meaning they were constantly dropping points to each other. 

This year will be the same I think, and the big question for us is whether we set ourselves apart from that rat race again. 

I don't see this trend changing in the end few years either so I think the average points total for 3rd will be significantly lower over the next 5 years versus the last. 

49 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

You did disappear when Aberdeen were pish likes. You’ve now re-appeared when they might not be. 

Have they played against 11 men yet? E.T the other night was first time wasn't it?

IveSeenTheLight
7 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Hearts only needed 61 points last year to finish 3rd because the teams 4th - 10th were all pretty much the same level meaning they were constantly dropping points to each other. 

This year will be the same I think, and the big question for us is whether we set ourselves apart from that rat race again. 

I don't see this trend changing in the end few years either so I think the average points total for 3rd will be significantly lower over the next 5 years versus the last. 

The threshold may indeed be lower in the coming seasons, than in the previous ones.

You generally always get some team that goes on a run (Kilmarnock under Clarke for example)

Motherwell, despite losing in Europe, could they potentially go on a run?

3 minutes ago, 151 said:

Have they played against 11 men yet? E.T the other night was first time wasn't it?

😝

Do you think Gallagher or Fitzwater shouldn’t have been red carded?

The threshold may indeed be lower in the coming seasons, than in the previous ones.

You generally always get some team that goes on a run (Kilmarnock under Clarke for example)

Motherwell, despite losing in Europe, could they potentially go on a run?

😝

Do you think Gallagher or Fitzwater shouldn’t have been red carded?

I never said I agree or disagree with the red cards, I haven't seen them.

Merely pointing out that nothing has changed for Aberdeen really. On the whole they are pretty pish.

31 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

sounds awful. Hope you improve and things get better for you. 

Dick Dastardly
49 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Try this again….

That just places you 4th

I get what you are saying, i think, but in your scenario hibs only needed 57 points to finish 3rd, not the 63 they had. 57 points would have secured them 3rd place that season. 

What horrid thing to have to type. 

Think we’re finishing 3rd but it’s going to be a lot tighter and we can’t take games against bottom 6 sides lightly. That Killie game should be a wake up call we don’t get to sleepwalk through games. 

IveSeenTheLight
20 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I get what you are saying, i think, but in your scenario hibs only needed 57 points to finish 3rd, not the 63 they had. 57 points would have secured them 3rd place that season. 

What horrid thing to have to type. 

I get that logic, but the problem is that you’re not swapping teams each season.

You have to get more than the team, whoever they are, in third place.

so in that season, Hearts, Aberdeen, Kilmarnock, Motherwell, whoever, needed to get more than Hibs did (63 points)

Otherwise, it’s like saying you only needed 49 points last year.

Will 49 points be enough this year? I very much doubt it.

2 hours ago, BudgeUp said:

Wis it, aye?

Aye, read the whole thread for context or you'll end up looking more stupid than normal. 

👇

On 22/06/2022 at 09:05, Bazzas right boot said:

Voted 1st, but 3rd again. 

Aberdeen to push us. 

Hibs to improve 

Utd/ Motherwell to crash and burn

1 hour ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

covered that before.

agreed

That's fair enough mate.  I'd said to a mate that you hadn't been on JKB much lately I assumed as Aberdeen weren't doing very well.  I do enjoy your contributions, it's always constructive and you call it as you see it.  Happy to have you back.

1 hour ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

3rd, but a lot closer to 4th/5th.

Probably, although if the likes of Aberdeen improve enough then they could pip us for 3rd.    Our sheep friend  can try to explain  the difference between 3rd, 4th and 5th if that happens, since he's struggling with the concept using data from previous seasons.      😉

1 hour ago, 151 said:

I never said I agree or disagree with the red cards, I haven't seen them.

Merely pointing out that nothing has changed for Aberdeen really. On the whole they are pretty pish.

6DD3E74E-B78F-4472-9D0F-C6F291545CC8.jpeg

September a big month for Hearts. 5 games that may begin to shape the season, one way or another, all winnable and all frought with danger, time to crank it up for 15 days and put a marker down

2 hours ago, db211833 said:

TBF he is correct!  You can't just remove the team that actually did finish third.

See next season, I reckon if we finish one place above 4th we'll finish in 3rd place. This season too.

Edited by graygo

4 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

When are  Aberdeen at hibs?

🙃

Edited by Bazzas right boot

IveSeenTheLight
11 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Wow, I did not realise that.

I did think tomorrows trip away would be tough, so getting a win would be a great result for us.

13 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Third place

2020/21 - Hibs 63 points

Shame you never went for the last twenty seasons ………….. few of ours not making the 13 cut

IveSeenTheLight
Just now, Sooks said:

Shame you never went for the last twenty seasons ………….. few of ours not making the 13 cut

It was the Hearts fan that used the 13 season threshold.

Thats why I stopped at 13 seasons

11 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

It was the Hearts fan that used the 13 season threshold.

Thats why I stopped at 13 seasons

The year of our administration and relegation through points deduction  after winning the cup ……. an important year to be fair as it was that which gave a window to your teams short and not very impressive period of best of the rest

2 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Wow, I did not realise that.

I did think tomorrows trip away would be tough, so getting a win would be a great result for us.

These guys love these little factoids 😆

9 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

When are  Aberdeen at hibs?

🙃

They usually beat each other in the away fixtures I think. 

10 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

Do you seriously not remember the numerous posters predicting a relegation battle?

I'm very rarely on this and generally just read a few topics. Ones with less than 3 pages as they tend to not be as melodramatic.

On 02/09/2022 at 11:37, Bazzas right boot said:

Aye, read the whole thread for context or you'll end up looking more stupid than normal. 

👇

My apologies bud. 

There is merit in not posting on this when yer steaming. 

Don't usually post, just usually read.... Unless I'm on the bevvy evidently!

50 minutes ago, BudgeUp said:

My apologies bud. 

There is merit in not posting on this when yer steaming. 

Don't usually post, just usually read.... Unless I'm on the bevvy evidently!

After today, I'll join you on the bevvy. 

On 01/09/2022 at 20:29, GinRummy said:

So one player is fourth, two players maybe third? Why don’t we just sign half a dozen and win the league?

Still think I was being unreasonable?