Donald Ford

Aside from being a fine player, Donald has helped Hearts survive twice. He is one of the founders of FoH, and earlier, was instrumental in bringing in Wallace Mercer. A true Hearts great IMHO.

• Replies 177

• Factuer Moi

• ri Alban

• Hearts Heritage

1 hour ago, sandylejambo said:

law was almost finished in 74, he should never have played before Ford, it was a travesty that he was picked over Ford, no matter how good Law used to be.

Law was the greatest Scottish striker of his generation, but by 1974 he was was years past his best, he was picked for the 1974 World Cup squad  100% based on sentiment 

Ford was at his peak and deserved his chance 

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

How good was this lad? I wish I'd seen him play. 

DREW%20BUSBY%20(5).jpeg

Up there with the best...Hard as nails!

4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

DREW%20BUSBY%20(5).jpeg

Rab is and always will be my favourite Jambo, spoke with him now and then, he was always just one of the boys. Actually got flushed faced when i tried to idolise him... Some boy. Rab and Keegan were my main mentors as a young player .

Edited by Factuer Moi

1 minute ago, Factuer Moi said:

Rab is and always will be my favourite Jambo, spoke with him now and then, he was always just one of the boys. Actually got flushed faced when i tried to idolise him... Some boy.

Rab??????...that's the Buzzbomb!

Just now, Hashimoto said:

Rab??????...that's the Buzzbomb!

Sorry That is Drew Busby, i was watching a video on Rab there.. Yikes

1 hour ago, Hashimoto said:

Donald Ford was a great wee player and a good servant to Hearts. Bad car accident more or less ended his career at Hearts. Always felt that Willie Gibson got a hard time trying to follow on from Ford. Gibson could score, but he was no where near the class of Ford.....FWIW....He should have played ahead of a well past it Law at WC in 1974  

Actually, at the time, Donald himself had a hard time replacing Willie Wallace after we sold him to Celtic for buttons. The fans were so disgusted at losing Wallace and Donald was seen as 'lightweight'. In the event, he proved to be one of the best forwards we ever had. and I still remember his fabulous goal against Rangers in the cup replay 

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

DREW%20BUSBY%20(5).jpeg

100% commitment, one of the better players in a period of dross, would not have got a regular game in the modern era, a bit too industrial for modern coaches and referees.

if I was going to compare to anyone in the recent era I would go for Ryan Stevenson 

Like many have said Ford and Cruickie were also my hero's. About 10 yrs ago I was back for a visit and was at a restaurant in South Queensferry for dinner with my sister. Who was sitting a couple of tables away?  You guessed it. I almost plucked up the courage to go and chat to him to tell him how much influence he had on me as a player but chickened out as I did not want to disturb he and his wife. 😂

Just now, jbee647 said:

100% commitment, one of the better players in a period of dross, would not have got a regular game in the modern era, a bit too industrial for modern coaches and referees.

if I was going to compare to anyone in the recent era I would go for Ryan Stevenson 

9 minutes ago, Hashimoto said:

Up there with the best...Hard as nails!

8 minutes ago, Factuer Moi said:

Rab is and always will be my favourite Jambo, spoke with him now and then, he was always just one of the boys. Actually got flushed faced when i tried to idolise him... Some boy. Rab and Keegan were my main mentors as a young player .

Loved Keegan and Linekar, but King Kenny and Wee Robbo were Gods to me 

1 hour ago, RobNox said:

I remember his hat trick of penalties against Morton.  Donald and Cruickie were my heroes when I first started going to games.

Was that the game we won 6-1?

Ford was one of my favourites back in the 70s. Was fair chuffed to play against him in a five a sides tournament at Meadowbank, was a charity event organised by Radio Forth. Winning sides received Radio Forth t-shirt!

14 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

DREW%20BUSBY%20(5).jpeg

My all time favourite Hearts player, as others have said 100% commitment and hard as nails. Loved watching him take penalties too. No mucking about, just put the laces right through them.

7 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Loved Keegan and Linekar, but King Kenny and Wee Robbo were Gods to me 

So you were a cheeky moaning faced aggressive poaching nippy wee sweetie wife then.

Donald Ford was not only a great player but also a true gentleman.    Bumped in to him one day in early 80s and he could tell by my enthusiastic face that I had recognised him and he stopped for a chat.  We were in the throws of the relegation yoyo period and things looked grim at Tynecastle at that time.  I remember him saying don't worry things will get better.  Ironically a year or 2 later he was persuading Wallace Mercer to save our club!  Also that day Donald was heading to an appointment at the Eye pavilion but he still made the time to talk to a fan.  Loved him as a player, admired him as a man.  

Just now, Factuer Moi said:

So you were a cheeky moaning faced aggressive poaching nippy wee sweetie wife then.

With a fat arse. :D

2 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

With a fat arse. :D

Hmm. How fat ,How tall are you? 

Edited by Factuer Moi

Like me Donald now lives in Carnoustie, as does another ex-Jambo, Dave McNicoll. Donald runs a photography business and plays a lot of golf. Still looks very fit and still has that fine head of hair (though a different hue to his playing days). A true Hearts great.

Every week I looked forward to seeing the Aird Ford Busby Stevenson Prentice forward line. Donald was my absolute hero. His goal in the 4-1 revenge match following a 50 yard run by Stevenson was one of my favourites but the best was at Parkhead when he ran with the ball along the 18 yard line beating several defenders before doing a right angle and ramming the ball home.

The phrase "true gentleman" would apply to him. No petulance, no kidding on or shamming it. He would hand the ball back to the opposition if it ran away.

His positional sense was great and for quite a small CF (I think 5' 9 or 10?) he could rise to a header like a gazelle. I used to think at the time he was like our bobby charlton

1 hour ago, merrymac said:

Correct Morgan he was a CA.

Now has his own photography business, think he specialises in Scottish and golf scenery.

Top player, and honest as the day is long, no diving for Donald

I can vouch for his talent as a photographer. I've got a cracking photo of the Forth Bridge at sunset from when his gallery was at Queensferry. A thing of beauty.  Signed it for me when I proved my credentials.  Think he lives in Carnoustie now. Ex captain of the golf club. All round lovely guy.

1 hour ago, alanbauld said:

Donald Ford, Alan Anderson and Jim Cruickshank were the quality spine in an otherwise very poor time for Hearts, the team then were really quite dismal, so bad that a crowd of over 10,000 was a very rare occurrence. He was a real Hearts man, always gave everything and could certainly score goals without a lot of help from anyone else (which was just as well). Good in the air as well as on the ground, remember him seeing off Celtic at Parkhead on one of the few occasions the team around him sparked into life, especially remember his headed goal in that game, majestic. One of my first hero's. If he had a weakness for the modern game it is probably his slim build though his speed did seem to compensate back then. Only ever got one booking in his career I believe, a controversial throwing the ball to a referee who wasn't looking at the time.

Sums up my memories (and trauma!) of that era. 
As you say, Ford was a great Hearts man and there’s no higher tribute.

2 minutes ago, Fort Vallance said:

I can vouch for his talent as a photographer. I've got a cracking photo of the Forth Bridge at sunset from when his gallery was at Queensferry. A thing of beauty.  Signed it for me when I proved my credentials.  Think he lives in Carnoustie now. Ex captain of the golf club. All round lovely guy.

If anyone is interested

gordon simpson
2 hours ago, The Maroon Pound said:

Naw we've no just signed him although maybe he would still bang  them in the back of the net. I never seen him play and I am curious of the type of player he was as clearly being a great club servant during the 60s & early 70s 

How would you rate him alongside Robertson, Bauld etc

Donald Ford was my childhood hero along with Jim Cruickshank 

52 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

DREW%20BUSBY%20(5).jpeg

He was magic, ri.

As I said, just this afternoon, on the Busby thread, he was, and still is, my all-time favourite Hearts player.

32 minutes ago, Factuer Moi said:

:wow:

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I don't want sent off.

Oh wait, seems there is an issue with You being sent Off

referee-anthony-taylor-and-the-linesman-discuss-the-first-goal-during-J89E82.jpg

6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

He was magic, ri.

As I said, just this afternoon, on the Busby thread, he was, and still is, my all-time favourite Hearts player.

:wow:

👍 Wish I'd seen him, but I did get to see Robbo, JC and Big Sandy. :cheese: Wish we had them know.

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

@ri Alban and @Factuer Moi engaging in friendly banter. :rofl:

👍 It's Friday and Hearts are gonnae hammer Motherwell the morra. 

Oh and my wife's new car just arrived. Nae mair taxiing. :robboyas:

👍 Wish I'd seen him, but I did get to see Robbo, JC and Big Sandy. :cheese: Wish we had them know.

Ok Red card rescinded during play, this one is sent off instead. At least you played at the highest level....

chelsea-referee-fa-cup-final.jpg

Edited by Factuer Moi

👍 It's Friday and Hearts are gonnae hammer Motherwell the morra. 

Oh and my wife's new car just arrived. Nae mair taxiing. :robboyas:

:rudiyas:

1 minute ago, Factuer Moi said:

Ok Red card rescinded during play, this one is sent off instead. At lest you played at the highest level....

chelsea-referee-fa-cup-final.jpg

:robboyas: