Edinburgh dialect (dying breed)

Restonbabe

I've been in around the city of Edinburgh and noticed that the dialect and local twang is long lost. 

Is the Edinburgh dialect confined to The history books? 

Not many people from this toon socialise in it. 

It's the result of years of kids watching US shows and being told that a local accent makes you sound dumb by the talk snobs. 

As someone who's been away a long time but spent quite a bit of time in Edinburgh recently , the only difference I've noticed is groups of guys constantly shouting at each other at 100 mph when in company (does no one just "talk" up there any more ?) and the infuriating increase in adding "eh ?" at the end of every sentence. 

Apart from that, I'd say the old ways of speaking like my grandparents did died out a long time ago. 

10 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

As someone who's been away a long time but spent quite a bit of time in Edinburgh recently , the only difference I've noticed is groups of guys constantly shouting at each other at 100 mph when in company (does no one just "talk" up there any more ?) and the infuriating increase in adding "eh ?" at the end of every sentence. 

Apart from that, I'd say the old ways of speaking like my grandparents did died out a long time ago. 

They say eh at the end of everything because that's the postcode and it's to remind themselves that they don't live in Glasgow.  

13 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

They say eh at the end of everything because that's the postcode and it's to remind themselves that they don't live in Glasgow.  

:rofl::clap:

44 minutes ago, XB52 said:

It's the result of years of kids watching US shows and being told that a local accent makes you sound dumb by the talk snobs. 

You see that on the match day threads,  posters taking the piss due to someone's use of words .

Not everyone who uses ken, eh, barry or gadjie is a toothless Jakey .

The BBC drama 'Guilt' is set in Edinburgh and for the most part, the actors are doing their best Edinburgh accents. Sounds funny listening to it on TV because the vast majority of Scottish films or TV shows use The Weeg as their preferred accent. Pelters for this but it is no better or worse than The Weeg when you hear it on TV. It can sound just as horrible in parts.

14 minutes ago, EH11_2NL said:

The BBC drama 'Guilt' is set in Edinburgh and for the most part, the actors are doing their best Edinburgh accents. Sounds funny listening to it on TV because the vast majority of Scottish films or TV shows use The Weeg as their preferred accent. Pelters for this but it is no better or worse than The Weeg when you hear it on TV. It can sound just as horrible in parts.

There was another series set in Edinburgh (character was "Jackson Brodie"). They seemed to use a lot of English actors (Martin Freeman's missus was the main cop) and those who attempted Edinburgh (or Scottish) accents were quite painful. I watched it for the Edinburgh sights & scenery but, largely, it was meh.

the Hearts way
1 hour ago, EH11_2NL said:

I ken it's nippy eh 😀 !

2 hours ago, EH11_2NL said:

I enjoyed Guilt and the accents were fine apart from using can't instead of cannae, or didn't instead of didnae. No gangster would use the posh words but I suppose they want it more understandable in rUK. Do English programs do the same? 

1 minute ago, XB52 said:

I enjoyed Guilt and the accents were fine apart from using can't instead of cannae, or didn't instead of didnae. No gangster would use the posh words but I suppose they want it more understandable in rUK. Do English programs do the same? 

Trainspotting had to be subtitled for the U.S. I believe.

5 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Ewen Bremner is from Edinburgh and his accent in the film was pure Edinburgh.  Think rest of cast were a hodge podge of accents Kelly Mcdonald ( Glasgow) Euan Mcgregor ( Perth mixed with George Herriots posh boy) and Jonnny cant remember his surname is English. 

Just now, JamesM48 said:

Ewen Bremner is from Edinburgh and his accent in the film was pure Edinburgh.  Think rest of cast were a hodge podge of accents Kelly Mcdonald ( Glasgow) Euan Mcgregor ( Perth mixed with George Herriots posh boy) and Jonnny cant remember his surname is English. 

There was more that those characters in the film, and my point was that the broad Scots accent including Edinburgh is too much overseas.

3 hours ago, XB52 said:

THIS 

So true.

Through the years when some of my work has involved working with young people . many from deprived areas . they have been very self conscious about their use of colloquial language and their accents.  Its a self hate really foisted by middle class snobbery really.  I used to have regular  " disagreements" with other workers who would pick up the young people for their language .  Yes I did remind those young people that's its important  or wise to change your " register" when you are in other types of company or situations ( ie. a job interview  or in a work place environment). but they should always be their authentic self and speak how they wish without feeling they are any less a person than others. 

4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

There was more that those characters in the film, and my point was that the broad Scots accent including Edinburgh is too much overseas.

Yes people abroad struggle with it. Had to repeat myself or speak so decking slowly in Houston so many times. Used to drive me nuts . I then had that horrible " Sheena Easton" almost fake transatlantic accent for a time. :) whilst there. it made it easier to converse. But the Yanks love the Scottish accent though. 

Just now, JamesM48 said:

Yes people abroad struggle with it. Had to repeat myself or speak so decking slowly in Houston so many times. Used to drive me nuts . I then had that horrible " Sheena Easton" almost fake transatlantic accent for a time. :) whilst there. it made it easier to converse. But the Yanks love the Scottish accent though. 

They probably thought you were Irish. :lol:

4 minutes ago, frankblack said:

They probably thought you were Irish. :lol:

lol i do remember when i told one person i was from Scotland . She asked what part of England is that ? 

Just now, JamesM48 said:

lol i do remember when i told one person i was from Scotland . She asked what part of England is that ? 

I think Scots should be legally allowed to hit anyone who comes out with that one!

7 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I think Scots should be legally allowed to hit anyone who comes out with that one!

We can. It's international law.

16 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I just rolled my eyes 👀 that was probably worse 😂

3 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

There was a time when Canadians were commented on as a result of Eh at the end of a sentence, don't hear it much now, must have emigrated.

Edited by Sharpie

42 minutes ago, frankblack said:

That would mean that folk from new Zealand could do the same and I've made that mistake a few times.  

9 minutes ago, Auldbenches said:

That would mean that folk from new Zealand could do the same and I've made that mistake a few times.  

I work on the golden rule always defer to the less obvious guess if you don’t recognise an accent. A kiwi or Canadian will be pleased if they think you spotted their accent but annoyed if you think they are Australian or American. Whereas the Australian or American won’t care too much if you get it wrong. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

I work on the golden rule always defer to the less obvious guess if you don’t recognise an accent. A kiwi or Canadian will be pleased if they think you spotted their accent but annoyed if you think they are Australian or American. Whereas the Australian or American won’t care too much if you get it wrong. 

Great idea.  It shouldn't bother is when they get it wrong but it does. 

Though I've been more offended when asked if I was from Glasgow.  

24 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

There was a time when Canadians were commented on as a result of Eh at the end of a sentence, don't hear it much now, must have emigrated.

I've been to Canada a few times and I've never noticed it. It seems to be an internet chat thing with Americans. 

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

"That Sinking Feeling" was redubbed in Edinburgh accent for the US release.

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

There's English regional soundalikes for cannae & dinnae (even across the Midlands) but you absolutely never hear it on TV. 

Being bred and buttered here in the Capital I've never really thought we had much of a dialect. As for the OPs contention it might be gone I doubt that it was just never that pronounced. If you look all round the UK accents/dialects are getting thicker not thinner. 

36 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Im Not to bad at guessing where people are from bu listening to their accent . In particular people from anywhere in the U.K. . I tend to be not far off . 

40 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

I've been to Canada a few times and I've never noticed it. It seems to be an internet chat thing with Americans. 

Canadians have a habit of finishing every sentence with “right”.

”You guys had a good flight right”?

“We had an amazing dinner last night right”

I think the weathers going to be shit tomorrow right”

Ive spent a lot of time here very here and talk to Canadian pals every day and they do this nearly every time.

2 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

It’s Heriot’s James.

That happens to us a lot, here in France.

Even our American friends think we are ‘English’ even though they have been in Edinburgh with us.  :facepalm:

3 minutes ago, Morgan said:

It’s Heriot’s James.

Oops 😬 Ah well I just went to a bog  standard compo ! 

Just now, Morgan said:

That happens to us a lot, here in France.

Even our American friends think we are ‘English’ even though they have been in Edinburgh with us.  :facepalm:

So you must speak French with a English accent lol 

3 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Oops 😬 Ah well I just went to a bog  standard compo ! 

Only pulling your leg, J.

Born bred and raised in Edinburgh and still here.  However I have a traveller twang to my accent as my grandparents (mums side) and indeed my mum were travellers. I picked it up but it has died down significantly over the years. 

I like the Edinburgh accent but agree kids because of their online presence have lost a lot  of the accent. My son speaks nothing like I do. A weird combination of Scottish and American 😂

Edited by AlimOzturk

4 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

2 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

“ aye call me a cow 🐄 “ 

The boy is mental 😁

Edited by Savage Vince

Just now, Savage Vince said:

I recently found out I'm from 

The boy is mental 😁

Yes really manic style of humour . It’s an acquired taste . I like it 

4 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Heavens!

I’m blushing furiously.

😡

Well as Long as that’s all your dain 

“ furiously “ 

F2E6E2D5-4EE7-4539-8FFD-157907863D49.gif

1 hour ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Great hockey game eh, the goalie was good eh, pronounced the more ay,

will-i-am-a-jambo

Ha, reminds me of a time l was in a hostel in NZ and an American asked me 'where in England l was from?' l told him l was Scottish and he replied 'same thing'. I nearly throttled him. I knew straight away without asking him he was an American as only Yanks are dumb enough to come out with that crap.