****Official Dundee Utd V Hearts matchday thread****

GinRummy

Just now, alwaysthereinspirit said:

That was a decent first half. Dominated the game. We need to do something about our crossing into the box. It’s been a couple of seasons of frustration. Let’s hope WE go for broke in the second half and don’t sit back. They’ve had one attack. 

We need to create more danger. But more time for Woodburn to settle in. 

• Replies 1.4k

• sadj

• King prawn

• Hearts007

Ted Hastings

We look so much better with the wing backs pushed higher up the park, gives us a much better control of the ball. Should be 2 but I’ll take 1-0.

Also anyone know the words to the song to the tune of starman? 

Just now, sadj said:

Thats why Id have him over Gino at mo. We saw it last season too even when hes not at his best hes got quick feet and posutionally is very good and if he nicks the ball they have no option but take him down. Still frustrates me at times and I get why some get pissed at him

Agree

He is always dangerous 

Just now, sadj said:

Thats why Id have him over Gino at mo. We saw it last season too even when hes not at his best hes got quick feet and posutionally is very good and if he nicks the ball they have no option but take him down. Still frustrates me at times and I get why some get pissed at him

Gino will almost certainly come on for 20 mins or so and run them ragged 👍

Tynecastlesmychurch

Right, we absolutely dominated that. Unfortunately didn’t really test Carson in the first half. You would expect Utd to come out and have a go in the second half now. We need to up our game again. In terms of getting more efforts on goal I mean! I’d like to see Gino on at some point. Especially as Utd will surely have to try and get forward. And I can see Gino terrifying that back line! 

4 minutes ago, Halliphax said:

Imagine if we parked the bus and Utd equalised, like in previous games lol

Hope we put them to the sword and get another couple, we've got the possession and skill.

I'm sure Robbie might try and do that 

I would bring on ginnelllt and go for it 

Deserved lead IMO, although another penalty to break deadlock.

Heres hoping we come out in same mode and dont retreat and cause ourselves undue pressure.

Best defence is attk!

Watching with the sound off having a barby. Hearts totally dominant of the football but lacking a cutting edge. 

IMO Of course 👍🏻

3 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

you're on a hat trick, try someone else!

I mean, Haring did his best to spoil it with that header :lol: 

Kalamazoo Jambo
1 minute ago, Hearts007 said:

missed the pen. what happened?

GMS tripped in the box. Stonewaller.

Boyce had penalty saved but scored from the rebound.

The referee awarded us a penalty. We scored from it.

1 minute ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

That was a decent first half. Dominated the game. We need to do something about our crossing into the box. It’s been a couple of seasons of frustration. Let’s hope WE go for broke in the second half and don’t sit back. They’ve had one attack. 

Second game in a row when we've missed a sitter, and then followed up with a quick penalty. Important when you go into the dressing room with tails up rather than pissed-off.

Really enjoyable half of football. Look head abs shoulders above United. Well played hearts. More of the same second half please. 

GMS nicked the ball wi some quick feet and utd lad had to pull him down

SomethingAboutObua

GMS fouled pretty much on the line, Boyce stepped up and it wasn't a great pen, don't know how the keeper didn't collect it as he dived but instead he pushed into Boyce's feet to score the rebound 

Very good display. 72% possession says it all.

bring on a few subs later and new energy should see them off.

well done Hearts

1 minute ago, Vlad Magic said:

Gino will almost certainly come on for 20 mins or so and run them ragged 👍

I think/hope so. Spec if we are ahead as they will have to come out

Just now, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

GMS tripped in the box. Stonewaller.

Boyce had penalty saved but scored from the rebound.

phew

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

The league is pretty much sewn up already.

:flagwave:

First place, definitely, but I can see the rest of it being tight for the other teams involved.

PhoenixHearts

Nice to see Boyce netting from open play again. I feel like too many of his goals come from the penalty spot... 🙃

2 minutes ago, usagi said:

We have the makings of a very good side. Couple more in and new players time to settle and we're defo on to something here 👍

Potential for sure, if managed well.

Just now, redjambo said:

First place, definitely, but I can see the rest of it being tight for the other teams involved.

Covid figures rising though ☹️  League could be called tonight. 

1 minute ago, Barack said:

United are dung. Haring and/or Halliday off, and Gino and or Gnando on.

Take advantage of the inevitable spaces that will now appear. 

Souttar should just have a deck chair fused to his spine.

That would change our shape a lot i dont agree

lost in space
1 minute ago, feej said:

Playing some nice stuff, good tempo and movement, Halliday and Smith need to be better with delivery though.

THIS. Some very slick and FAST passing movements. Even GMS is trying hard. Woody been busy but not outstanding.

Wingbacks poor for us so far with distribution.

Need to continue to go forward!!!

Really surprised at United playing so deep. Bit like us at Parkhead and for some of the Aberdeen game. They'll need to come out second half which could suit us. Just as long as Neilson doesn't go ultra defensive and try to sit on the 1-0 lead. 

Anyone else thinking our fitness seems to be really coming on? Chased every single ball, really making them work for it. Very fast plays. It's making a huge difference. DU look very slow and look as if they've just parked the bus.

Need to keep attacking second half, I know for a fact they're going to come out and try equalise straight away. Gordon is such a huge asset in our counter attacks.

BRAVEHEART1874

Good first half looked like a home performance ;) Great time too score, woodburn looking good,  come on da jambos :)

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

Hibs’ll be bottom, red.

Put your booster on it.

💉

8 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Well deserved, better team by an absolute ****ing mile -  .. some of the comments on here beyond ****ing clueless. - we are playing a team with 11 men inside their own half, same formation they played against the huns to try and pinch a winner - screw the nut lads.  

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Well if it is there's an undeniable precedent for what happens next.

5 minutes ago, Hearts007 said:

Watch the highlights!!! Defo pen due to quick feet. Pen saved & scored on the re-bound. Well deserved.

7 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Playing good stuff. Well deserved lead and if Haring wasn't pish at heading the ball, we'd be well clear.

was easier to score, dunno how he missed that, i would have buried that😏

5 minutes ago, ShedBoy said:

Watching with the sound off having a barby. Hearts totally dominant of the football but lacking a cutting edge. 

IMO Of course 👍🏻

72% possession first half 

2 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Hi cheery chops!

😄

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Who's this prick still greetin about the penalty, on DUTV . Shut it ya tit. And DU are pish.

Only the mutton mollestors greet more. Can you imagine a game between them? It would be like listening to a hi-pitched turbine for 90 minutes. 

2 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Who's this prick still greetin about the penalty, on DUTV . Shut it ya tit. And DU are pish.

Mr Happy?

He most be fun at a party😂

Just now, Wee Mikey said:

Watch the highlights!!! Defo pen due to quick feet. Pen saved & scored on the re-bound. Well deserved.

yep just seen it 👍