Beni - out until next season with cruciate injury

wattie exploited

Ford Prentice
5 minutes ago, Barack said:

Beni's out. We play Hibs. Waaah! Honest to ****. :rolleyes:

I'd put Pollock in against that filth, & have no qualms about him performing. Never mind a combination of either Haring, Halliday, McEneff or Sibbick.

1 minute ago, Hood09 said:

If we are struggling short term deal for Irving to cover

Pollock is on loan to East Fife. Although Irving's German club has gone bust I don't think he can play for anyone until next season - anyway (though I rate him) I don't think his style of play fits with ours - one of the reasons he left.

• Replies 1.2k

• wattie exploited

• Thomaso

• TheBigO

Sibbick and Haring for me.

Halliday could do a job but he and Haring together would take us back to the dark days of last season with zero pace or urgency. I wouldn’t fancy that pairing to get the better of anyone, even Hibs. 

27 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Overall we haven't played worse when Beni has been missing. 

Of course it's a blow but we should have enough cover. 

Our strengths are in defence and attack anyway. 

Beni is our outstanding link between defence and attack.

No point in crying over spilled milk because it will not bring him back any sooner but he is our best midfielder by a bit of a distance

Sibbick and Haring for me if Devlin does not make it

5 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Beni is our outstanding link between defence and attack.

So you think Hibs are favourites for next 2 games then?

17 minutes ago, Ford Prentice said:

Pollock is on loan to East Fife. Although Irving's German club has gone bust I don't think he can play for anyone until next season - anyway (though I rate him) I don't think his style of play fits with ours - one of the reasons he left.

I wondered about an Irving deal just to have another look at him as I was a fan. I would be surprised if a club going bust stops a player out of contract signing for someone else but you could be right about his playing style, certainly Nielson didn't seem that bothered about losing him 

10 minutes ago, DS98 said:

Sibbick and Haring for me.

Halliday could do a job but he and Haring together would take us back to the dark days of last season with zero pace or urgency. I wouldn’t fancy that pairing to get the better of anyone, even Hibs. 

I'm not sure I can remember a Haring/Devlin combination, it could work imo.

54 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Heard he was in London 2 weeks ago seeing a specialist, but not the op part.

Hope I’m wrong but heard from a v reliable source 

Games Beni missed

Celtic 1 Hearts 0 - the offside goal, Devlin, Haring played

Livingston 0 Hearts 1 - McEneff, Devlin played

Hearts 0 Rangers 2 - Haring, Devlin played

Dundee 0 Hearts 1 - Jamie Walker goal. Haring, Devlin played

Hearts 2 Ross County 1 - Michael Smith, Haring played

Hearts 2 St Johnstone 0 - Devlin, Haring played

Auchinleck Talbot 0 Hearts 5 - Devlin, Haring played 

(Beni returned for home defeat to Celtic)

St Johnstone 2 Hearts 1 (on bench after home defeat to Dundee) 

Edited by Mikey1874

16 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

So you think Hibs are favourites for next 2 games then?

Where did that come from? Show me where suggested that!

The fact is with our full strength team including probably our best quality outfield players Beni and Souttar we would not only have given Hibs a right thrashing but also have a great chance to beat the OF in the final.

With these two out and possibly Devlin it will be tougher.

5 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Games Beni missed

Backs up what I said, the performances dipped but we had momentum and dug out results. 

5 minutes ago, We_are_the_Hearts said:

Backs up what I said, the performances dipped but we had momentum and dug out results. 

The games just prior to his injury included the dreadful performances and defeats at Aberdeen and Morherwell still our worst performances this season. 

2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

The games just prior to his injury included the dreadful performances and defeats at Aberdeen and Morherwell still our worst performances this season. 

Agree with that. Although we weren’t much better at Dundee or Livi but managed to get results. He will be a big loss but we just need to get on with it

4 hours ago, RDSK said:

Any info on Souttar’s injury? 

4 hours ago, wavydavy said:

Robbie said he would be ready for the Hibs game but I would take that with a pinch of salt.

He said GMS was only going to be out for one week after hsi wrist injury.

3 hours ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Gutted :(

How's Devlin and Souttar?

This was from the 16th March but Robbie saying he was hopeful for both Souttar & Cammy to be back in by mid April & maybe for the double header. With our record on injuries I'm hoping for the best, but expecting the worst.

John Souttar and Cammy Devlin Hearts injury update as Robbie Neilson sets return target - Edinburgh Live

30 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

I think its true that our biggest dip in form has come about when Halkett has been out rather than Beni. Not that Beni isn't important to how we play

5 minutes ago, jamboinglasgow said:

I think its true that our biggest dip in form has come about when Halkett has been out rather than Beni. Not that Beni isn't important to how we play

Definitely, Halkett is, perhaps with Gordon, our most important player.  Doesn't mean he's our best player, I just don't thin k we have a replacement to what he brings to the team.  I wouldn't like to be without Kingsley either.

Any other one player, we have cover or can compensate in other ways.  The issue will be if we're missing both Beni and Cam, but even then, i think we're ok, if not golden.

No Idle Talk

That is dreadful news. ☹️

Although a cruciate injury is no longer a career ending injury, this likely means we will be without Beni until well into next season. He will be a big miss. 

It is also a tough one for Beni himself. A long road to recovery lies ahead. 

Damn. 

LochcarronJambo

Totally gutted Beni is out, til next season,he is a class player that would walk into both OF teams, he is going to be a major miss & was key to beating either OF in SC Final…hopefully when we make it there 🙏🏻…. Will need the rest of the midfield to step up

Rick Sanchez

It's even more gutting that he'll miss out on pre season as well. Add in fitness and it could well be after the next winter break before we see him 😭

1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

Games Beni missed

You missed a few off the list of games he played when he returned and only included a couple of games where he was still very obviously getting his match sharpness back

Gutted for the boy, he must have been excited about a Derby semi-final. We do however have options and will still field a strong team in the semi. Hopefully with no more injury blows before then. Smith and Devlin should be back soon, Haring, Halliday, Sibbick, Cochrane, Atkinson could all play there, plenty options. We have two difficult fixtures to concentrate on before the semi, and  the required adjustments will be made. No panic, all the best Beni.

19 minutes ago, Sooks said:

You missed a few off the list of games he played when he returned and only included a couple of games where he was still very obviously getting his match sharpness back

What games did I miss. I listed the games he didn't play where our record was 5 wins and 3 defeats. 

Just now, Mikey1874 said:

What games did I miss. I listed the games he didn't play where our record was 5 wins and 3 defeats. 

None I am an idiot and I mis read the last part of your post ignore

6 minutes ago, Sooks said:

None I am an idiot and I mis read the last part of your post ignore

No worries.

We all agree he's a big miss but hopefully we can cope. 

1 minute ago, Mikey1874 said:

No worries.

We all agree he's a big miss but hopefully we can cope. 

That is where I am at yes he is a massive loss but it will do us no good what so ever to lament it too much we still have better players than Hibs

HeartsandonlyHearts
3 hours ago, The Bannon Flick said:

Yup - whit a tube I am 😬

Had a brain fart when thinking who the captain was 🤡

I was all for Souttar being captain  before the season started. Thank god smarter people knew better. Imagine having him as captain while the Newco stuff was dragging’ on.

1 hour ago, No Idle Talk said:

That is dreadful news. ☹️

Although a cruciate injury is no longer a career ending injury, this likely means we will be without Beni until well into next season. He will be a big miss. 

It is also a tough one for Beni himself. A long road to recovery lies ahead. 

Damn. 

Great so we signed him on a 3 year contract (?) and he may not be fully back to his best until the last year when the vultures will pinch him on a pre-contract!

2 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

I wondered about an Irving deal just to have another look at him as I was a fan. I would be surprised if a club going bust stops a player out of contract signing for someone else but you could be right about his playing style, certainly Nielson didn't seem that bothered about losing him 

I'm not sure I can remember a Haring/Devlin combination, it could work imo.

That would be the next best thing but I wouldn’t hold my breath regarding Devlin making it. 

No matter who we put on the park against Hibs they will be left in no doubt what is required, and they will be upto it. 

As one who suffered the late 60s and 70-79, I never shit it from Hibs then, and I'm  not about to start now.

Let that lot, club and supporters do the shiting.

mellors1874
3 hours ago, Hood09 said:

If we are struggling short term deal for Irving to cover

Hope that's a joke 😅 boys pish 

Great opportunity for Haring to cement a new contract. 

Devlin , Haring,  Sibbick, Halliday and Smith in there gives us plenty cover for this season, more than enough to secure 3rd and get to the final of the cup .

The bummer is he will miss a pre season but the positive is he looks to have a tremendous attitude and will deal with it pretty well .

No Idle Talk
57 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Great so we signed him on a 3 year contract (?) and he may not be fully back to his best until the last year when the vultures will pinch him on a pre-contract!

Bearing in mind how the John Souttar situation played out, it will be interesting to see how Hearts handle Beni's contract situation if he is out until Christmas or beyond. 

13 minutes ago, ramrod said:

Great opportunity for Haring to cement a new contract. 

Devlin , Haring,  Sibbick, Halliday and Smith in there gives us plenty cover for this season, more than enough to secure 3rd and get to the final of the cup .

The bummer is he will miss a pre season but the positive is he looks to have a tremendous attitude and will deal with it pretty well .

It's a great chance to get a better midfielder than Haring imo. 

4 hours ago, We_are_the_Hearts said:

Really? We are a far better team when Beni plays. Our form dipped when he last got injured but we had momentum and dug out results. Our form has got better recently as his form has. Think you underestimate the work he gets through and balance he gives the team. Time will tell

He is a very good player but I think our form has got better as we have changed shape into a 4231.We were still shit when Beni came back playing 343.Halkett has also been a big returning player and others have picked up for with the change in shape.Boyce for one looks far better than in the previous week's since switching to playing the number 10 role.

3 hours ago, Sooks said:

No point in crying over spilled milk because it will not bring him back any sooner but he is our best midfielder by a bit of a distance

Sibbick and Haring for me if Devlin does not make it

Yip. 

I'd go with Mickehnuff and Haring tho. 

I’d be keeping Devlin under wraps until the semi, assuming he’ll actually be healed before then.

We’ll need his natural fitness and energy to cover ground. I’d definitely be cajoling him carefully for the next couple of weeks. Time for others to step up in the next couple of league games to keep us ticking over and get an even tighter grip on 3rd.

Edited by Debut 4

Maybe time to approach wolves for a Ronan loan next year?

Always looking on the bright side. We won’t lose Beni to a transfer in the Summer as we expected. Hopefully he has a quick recovery and we get the bulk of next Season with him to help us in Europe (if selected!). 

Arthur Morgan

I remember the 2-1 home defeat to Celtic, Beni came on for the 2nd half and completely changed the game, we were 2-0 down but really should have got it back to 2-2 in that 2nd half, a posts width away from it. We absolutely bossed it when he came on.

Gutted for Beni. This might put the kibosh on a potential big money move as well if we don't see him again until later next season, or we might be able to get him to commit to a couple of years extension.

Good thing we have a couple of games to try some things out. I think Neilson will keep McEneff for the bench as depending on who else is fit we still don't have much energy off the bench for the upcoming games. I reckon Sibbick and Haring will get a runout against RC, then Halliday and Haring in the league derby. If Devlin is fit for the semi those 3 will be playing for a place alongside him, unless they do really well and Cammy starts on the bench if fit. If Smith is fit he'll also come into contention for Beni's place.

44 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Would cost too much. 

41 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

A lot maybe depends on how Sibbick does and what position he ties down. Haring is the nearest we have to Beni in terms of someone capable of bossing the centre of midfield. With Beni out I think it's more important than ever to get him on a new contract, plus get someone more long-term in - maybe someone more attacking if Sibbick looks good in CM. 

1 hour ago, Thomaso said:

We should probably expect that to be how things turn out, but hope to be surprised! At the end of the day if Beni keeps up this form he'll get offers to quadruple his wages so it will all depend on him.

6 minutes ago, jr ewing said:

Would cost too much. 

We were able to get a better midfielder than Haring already, cost us nothing. 

7 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

We were able to get a better midfielder than Haring already, cost us nothing. 

Better?

5 hours ago, Barack said:

Beni's out. We play Hibs. Waaah! Honest to ****. :rolleyes:

I'd put Pollock in against that filth, & have no qualms about him performing. Never mind a combination of either Haring, Halliday, McEneff or Sibbick.

Pollock is out on loan, can’t be recalled 

7 hours ago, We_are_the_Hearts said:

We are not well

covered at all. None of the players you mention come even close to Beni or Devlin. 

Yep, if we go into the semi without Beni, Soapy, Devlin and Smith the game is a 50/50 in terms of result. Our stick on favourite status would be gone. 

Just now, jr ewing said:

Not much good to us just now. 

Aye, but it proves we can afford better than Haring so your original comment was incorrect. 

I reckon we'll play Haring and Sibbick in the next two league games. I know there's no such thing as a meaningless derby but the first one in the league is as close as it comes. Field as many young players as we can in that one and let them find their feet in a derby. Which ever ones look settled will be fully ready for Hampden.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to Beni - out until next season with cruciate injury