Do you enjoy a Doner Kebab?

Doner Kebabs  

100 members have voted

1. 1. Do you enjoy a doner kebab?

It's Saturday, you may well be participating in what is known as the bevy. 

Here's a poll to celebrate this glorious day. 

Haven't tried the one here but I do like a German döner. So much so, I can eat one sober. 

12 minutes ago, Norm said:

Haven't tried the one here but I do like a German döner. So much so, I can eat one sober. 

I've still to try that German Doner place in town. 

2 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

It’s bevvy not bevy. 

Phillistine. 

Maybe so, but it's the last thing on any normal persons mind, late on a Saturday night. 

37 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

It's decent but there are loads of places doing better. 

GDK in Edinburgh is decent, but does not compare to a good authentic Doner over in Germany.

I'm not fussy though. As long as it's meat, wrapped in bread, and drowned in chilli sauce, I'll get fired right in to it. One of life's great little mysteries.

13 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

It's decent but there are loads of places doing better. 

What's the best place, in your opinion? might be worth a wee trip.

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

It's Saturday, you may well be participating in what is known as the bevy. 

Here's a poll to celebrate this glorious day. 

Bevy.

9 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

What's the best place, in your opinion? might be worth a wee trip.

Best one I had in Edinburgh was a place in Bruntsfield, can't remember it's name. There's a place in Stenhouse Cross that's pretty awesome too but I can't remember the name of that too 😁

1 minute ago, Weakened Offender said:

Best one I had in Edinburgh was a place in Bruntsfield, can't remember it's name. There's a place in Stenhouse Cross that's pretty awesome too but I can't remember the name of that too 😁

😂 Goes with the territory.

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Bevy.

Oh, here he comes with his scrabble board. Nice to see you, to see you, nice. 

6 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Efes in Tollcross?

Just down from the Bruntsfield Hotel?

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

It’s pretty good tbf. I do like a kebab but normally just when pished. That place is pretty nice even sober. 

Off course. Only a food snob would deny that a nutricious Doner is good for you after copious amounts of alcohol

10 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Oh, here he comes with his scrabble board. Nice to see you, to see you, nice. 

Evening.  :wave1:

18 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

It’s pretty good tbf. I do like a kebab but normally just when pished. That place is pretty nice even sober. 

I'll need to try it. 

Love a kebab me, but aye, doner is usually a pished thing or a wee craving if i've not had one in ages.

I'll usually go for chicken and or lamb on a normal day, all the salad,  chilli and garlic sauces, and hopefully freshly made naan/tortilla.

Edited by Greedy Jambo

The Gorgie

Doner meat from my local chippies isn't that good. Best doner meat I've had was from a chippy in Gateshead.

21 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Efes in Tollcross?

Just down from the Bruntsfield Hotel?

Yeah, that does ring a bell. 

26 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

😂 Goes with the territory.

Guilty as changed. 😁

5 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Yeah, that does ring a bell. 

He retired and sold up. I agree though, his kebabs were lovely.

Donna, Donna...show's yer kebab......Donna....show's yer kebab!

:653:

5 minutes ago, EH11_2NL said:

Donna, Donna...show's yer kebab......Donna....show's yer kebab!

:653:

Belongs in the fish thread imo. 

Shish kebab everytime. Mixed lamb amd chicken, smothered in garlic and chilli sauce.

Fukkin starving now!

17 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Can’t stand them, or cyclists. 

:rofl: fussy eater? Moaning *******?

11 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

:rofl: fussy eater? Moaning *******?

Definitely the latter, certainly not the former 😆

9 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Definitely the latter, certainly not the former 😆

Ha, out of interest then, what would be your go to munch be, if you were up late on the piss? 

top 3. 

12 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Ha, out of interest then, what would be your go to munch be, if you were up late on the piss? 

top 3. 

In the past a Chippy,Pizza or a burger. Veggie now so Pizza, Chips, Veggie burger. 
Seems like such a long time ago I’ve actually had to do it. 
It was my pals birthday today, in her garden and had a bottle of cider, a ridiculously strong Long Island Ice Tea, went for my 2nd jag, home and ordered pizza, snoozing by 7. Nonsense eh 🙈

2 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

In the past a Chippy,Pizza or a burger. Veggie now so Pizza, Chips, Veggie burger. 
Seems like such a long time ago I’ve actually had to do it. 
It was my pals birthday today, in her garden and had a bottle of cider, a ridiculously strong Long Island Ice Tea, went for my 2nd jag, home and ordered pizza, snoozing by 7. Nonsense eh 🙈

You should try the Veg pizza from the £5 pizzahut menu, it's well decent.

Veg burgers can be good to, as long as you have salad and a decent burger sauce. 

i went on the straight and narrow once... haha

16 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

You should try the Veg pizza from the £5 pizzahut menu, it's well decent.

Veg burgers can be good to, as long as you have salad and a decent burger sauce. 

i went on the straight and narrow once... haha

So much choice now, love the ones from Scotmid,Linda McCartney, Beetroot/Halloumi from Aldi too. 
Next time I’m in Pizza Hut I will give it a bash, just too far away for takeaway it’s not cold when it gets here. 

Is a kebab your first choice after a few drinks?  

3 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

So much choice now, love the ones from Scotmid,Linda McCartney, Beetroot/Halloumi from Aldi too. 
Next time I’m in Pizza Hut I will give it a bash, just too far away for takeaway it’s not cold when it gets here. 

Is a kebab your first choice after a few drinks?  

Not been in a pizzahut in years, £5 menu is available for delivery lol. 

Linda McCartney, tried her sausages about 10 year ago, horrible. 

1st choice after a few drinks... i don't have one. I'm the opposite of a fussy eater, the list is pretty much endless. 

8 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Not been in a pizzahut in years, £5 menu is available for delivery lol. 

Linda McCartney, tried her sausages about 10 year ago, horrible. 

1st choice after a few drinks... i don't have one. I'm the opposite of a fussy eater, the list is pretty much endless. 

Richmond meatless sausages are spectacular. 
Long time ago we used to leave early to catch the Baked Tattie shop in Newington on the way home,  had my first ever Cheese n Beans BP and instantly fell in love 😆
You need fed after a bevvy. 

4 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Long time ago we used to leave early to catch the Baked Tattie shop in Newington on the way home,  had my first ever Cheese n Beans BP and instantly fell in love 😆

I have MF Richmond sausages in the fridge. They taste more like meat than the original Richmond sausages :laugh:

4 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I don't eat baked tatties often, but you can't go wrong with beans and cheese, my other choice would be tuna mayo and red onion. 

Lovely jubbly. 

9 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I don't eat baked tatties often, but you can't go wrong with beans and cheese, my other choice would be tuna mayo and red onion. 

Lovely jubbly. 

Tuna mayo onion baguette and Cheese n onion crisps, mints needed after that 😃
Good bit of stodge to fill you up when your drunk 😆
Depends on what’s open obviously. 
We were in Leeds ten years ago and the Greggs was open til 4am 🤔
I turned to my nephew in the club we were in and said I think I’m going off my head or had too much because I can smell hot dogs, he said look they’re selling them over there 😱🤔🤷🏾‍♂️🙈😂?!?!

Lastly how this hasn’t caught on I will never know, there’s a takeaway in Wigan (I have mates down there, great night out) that phones you a taxi when you order food, how good an idea is that?

You can eat in the taxi too. 

9 minutes ago, Pap said:

I have MF Richmond sausages in the fridge. They taste more like meat than the original Richmond sausages :laugh:

Amazing aren’t they? I think you could give them to anyone and they wouldn’t know. 

Best I've ever tasted were from one the of stalls (pick a busy one - it'll be busy for good reason) at the open-air Naschmarkt in Vienna. I've never had anything anywhere near as good in Britain.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_Ypg-mxHgSn4/S8xAmOu1wzI/AAAAAAAAAEY/WLlOwl0gDjE/s1600/IMG_3977.JPG

Served in really nice fladenbrot (none o' yer pitta pish) with a decent salad (with lettuce, rather than shredded cabbage), and yoghurt-sauce and chilli-flakes, rather than nasty red gloopy stuff. The business...   :icon14:

Edited by Auld Reekin'

All this talk about food and trying to eat healthy, i've just made a massive salad. 

lettuce

cucumber

tomatoes

red onions

red pepper

sweetcorn

sliced gherkins 

black olives

Ended up flinging it all in a large tupperware when i realised i'll need something to soak the booze up. 

It will be a fantastic breakfast though! got a wee tub of potato salad to fling on as well. 

18 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

All this talk about food and trying to eat healthy, i've just made a massive salad. 

lettuce

cucumber

tomatoes

red onions

red pepper

sweetcorn

sliced gherkins 

black olives

Ended up flinging it all in a large tupperware when i realised i'll need something to soak the booze up. 

It will be a fantastic breakfast though! got a wee tub of potato salad to fling on as well. 

Lose the cucumbers ,gherkins and black olives.

9 minutes ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

Lose the cucumbers ,gherkins and black olives.

Only if you give me 3 things to replace them with. 

10 hours ago, Pap said:

Aren't all Richmond sausages meat free? 

****ing bowfing, are Richmond sausages. 

crunchy frog

I use Kebab Express in Gorgie Road opposite strattys, consistently good. I also have a thing for the half pound burgers from cheeky chicken in wardlaw st even though I know the place is a health risk

Ali's at Stenhouse Cross do good Kebabs but....................they also do a pizza with shish kebab lamb, chicken kebab and donner meat. Excessive but very tasty. 

I’m a wee bit fussy lately….I’ll avoid anything chicken simply because of the welfare thing being more and more in the headlines….kfc etc….beef could be similar to chicken but not so bad however…..lamb is my meat choice outside eating, to my knowledge wee lambs are treated very well…….before we butcher them 😂

16 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Lovely jubbly. 

Careful…..bad tuna needs to be more highlighted….most of the tinned stuff is scrapings of left over tuna carcasses…..

just think “chicken sausages or hotdogs made from mechanically recovered pork …. Which is actually pork flesh power washed from crushed pig carcass” …. Of course tuna Mayo tastes great however, buy your own tuna steak, cook it and mix with Mayo 👍