Retailer £18.13 (37%)
Sportswear firm £12.76 (26%)
VAT £8.24 (17%)
Manufacturing and shipping £4.79 (10%)
Club licensing fee £2.97 (6%)
Marketing £1.39 (3%)
Distribution £1.17 (2%)
Total retail price £49.45

If the retailer gets £18.13, but the shirts are sold directly through the club (as we don't licence sales out through other channels), does that mean we get the £18.13 + the £2.97 club licencing fee, so around £20 per shirt?

• Replies 791

• tian447

• Batistuta87

• Anything2

1 hour ago, tian447 said:

From that article:

Retailer £18.13 (37%)
Sportswear firm £12.76 (26%)
VAT £8.24 (17%)
Manufacturing and shipping £4.79 (10%)
Club licensing fee £2.97 (6%)
Marketing £1.39 (3%)
Distribution £1.17 (2%)
Total retail price £49.45

If the retailer gets £18.13, but the shirts are sold directly through the club (as we don't licence sales out through other channels), does that mean we get the £18.13 + the £2.97 club licencing fee, so around £20 per shirt?

Vat is 20% now

34 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Vat is 20% now

But is (near enough for this discussion) 17% of the retail price. 

Loosely based on the away kit theme, were our 97/98 and 98/99 kits the same with the only difference being the Olympic Sportswear/OS logo? 

shipman1983

Does anyone know what the sizes are like? I got the black 3rd kit but it’s on the smaller size don’t want to get a bigger size if it’s gonna drown me 😂😂

On 09/06/2020 at 08:26, Samuel Camazzola said:

Loosely based on the away kit theme, were our 97/98 and 98/99 kits the same with the only difference being the Olympic Sportswear/OS logo? 

Yep.

Well 99.9% sure that was all it was.

I've a feeling with the away kit we'll be revisiting the candy stripes, anyone able to do a mock up?

Batistuta87
48 minutes ago, droid said:

I've a feeling with the away kit we'll be revisiting the candy stripes, anyone able to do a mock up?

image.thumb.png.5781c703b7fbe40d4321a7ef9c293b1a.png

1 hour ago, Walrus said:

From the poolside range. Quite like the shorts. 

20200610_095039.thumb.jpg.55f46da5c3592b086a4d0295647bcad3.jpg20200610_095020.thumb.jpg.ef1a0716e4df92269875692d09e7a539.jpg

Shorts are smart but 30 quid??! Bit steep, especially once you add postage

Batistuta87
2 hours ago, hmfcbilly said:

Shorts are smart but 30 quid??! Bit steep, especially once you add postage

Got these at the start of the summer for a tenner from M&M. Obviously not the same but they're pretty similar:

https://www.mandmdirect.com/01/details/UM2238/Umbro-Mens-City-Swim-Shorts-New-Claret

um2238_3_cloudzoom.jpg

Edited by Batistuta87

Batistuta87
23 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Just sew a Hearts badge on, sorted. 👍

Exactly! 😂

Actually wouldn't wear Hearts shorts out and about but I do wear these.  

1 hour ago, Batistuta87 said:

????

That has to be the crappest mock up of the shittest top thats ever been done.

Its so bad its funny.

Batistuta87
7 minutes ago, been here before said:

That has to be the crappest mock up of the shittest top thats ever been done.

Its so bad its funny.

Aye ok 👍

Its not meant to look real, its not a design proposal, I'm not claiming its good, its nothing more than a quick mock up that took 2 minutes to make using an online kit designer, to show how those colours might look. Get a grip.

Edited by Batistuta87

27 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Aye ok 👍

Its not meant to look real, its not a design proposal, I'm not claiming its good, its nothing more than a quick mock up that took 2 minutes to make using an online kit designer, to show how those colours might look. Get a grip.

Thats a quality rant over very little.

Nae bother though, I'll get a grip.

6 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

Got these at the start of the summer for a tenner from M&M. Obviously not the same but they're pretty similar:

https://www.mandmdirect.com/01/details/UM2238/Umbro-Mens-City-Swim-Shorts-New-Claret

um2238_3_cloudzoom.jpg

Not a million miles off though mate and a third of the price. Guess it depends how badly you want the hearts badge on your shorts and if you can afford or want to give money direct to the club. Personally, I'm all for buying club merchandise but I would struggle to justify paying £36 for the hearts ones or a tenner for almost identical but without the badge, especially when I paid the tenner for unlimited deliveries at mandm for a year 5 months ago! Horses for courses and all that. Cheers for the heads up👍

LarrysRightFoot
4 minutes ago, droid said:

More this kind of thing mate

691D649C-0F21-4251-9A98-1FB7ACA3E64D.jpeg

That with the Man City blue grandad neck from the same time. I’d buy it.

Batistuta87
1 hour ago, droid said:

Ahh I see, my bad - would be awesome if we got something like this. Definitely gonna be white/light since we're keeping the black 3rd kit anyway.

On 08/06/2020 at 12:39, Tommy Brown said:

Vat is 20% now

20% of the price without VAT, not 20% of the price including VAT.

Works out at 16.67%

13 hours ago, droid said:

I love this top. Only rivalled by the asics and strongbow version. I’d be all over any top of this design. 

19 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

Aye ok 👍

Can you let me know the URL for the online kit designer?

Fancy having a wee play around...

Batistuta87
21 minutes ago, BRY said:

Can you let me know the URL for the online kit designer?

Fancy having a wee play around...

Here you go mate: 

https://www.ev2sportswear.com/kitbuilder/#/ 

Some useable templates in the rugby section too. I pull the image from the website into Powerpoint to add the Hearts badge and stuff hence the shite-ness of the mock ups lol, but I think you can upload them to the site and add to your design that way. Obviously some folk dont appreciate it, but its a decent wee tool for doing a quick design.

3 hours ago, spacerjoe said:

20% of the price without VAT, not 20% of the price including VAT.

Works out at 16.67%

Clever, my bad

2 minutes ago, biffy said:

That’s all the training gear on the club store website. All mainly light or dark blue.

A lot of it looks dreadful.  

1 minute ago, Scotland said:

Heartsaway.thumb.jpg.ad46d190463d468fdcb65ab1c45e3a9c.jpg

Basing only on Training gear, think we might end up with the Inter style kit again

would be a monster seller

15 minutes ago, Scotland said:

Basing only on Training gear, think we might end up with the Inter style kit again

Very nice indeed 👌

Batistuta87

Training wear looks interesting - I'm not a fan of the navy and light blue combos but in all fairness it looks like Umbro are giving us bespoke gear with a bit of effort going in. I'd actually have been quite happy with this as away top. Maroon shorts and white socks with this would be lovely.

image.png.9a665a8a493d4e4358e7076cc09beb5c.png

Not so keen on the look of this stuff, but its only training gear.

image.png

Edited by Batistuta87

3 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Training wear looks interesting - I'm not a fan of the navy and light blue combos but in all fairness it looks like Umbro are giving us bespoke gear with a bit of effort going in. I'd actually have been quite happy with this as away top. Maroon shorts and white socks with this would be lovely.

image.png.9a665a8a493d4e4358e7076cc09beb5c.png

Not so keen on the look of this stuff, but its only training gear.

image.png

I hope the away top is better than the training top! 

_20200612_115927.thumb.JPG.23083f59c67fb5b0385f2d1ef9b6a632.JPG

1 hour ago, Scotland said:

Now that isn’t dreadful.   Like that. 

Just now, Batistuta87 said:

This would have made a nice away kit. 

image.png.7f62277c5c1c22e7ecdcb5d7a4d8527b.png

What would the other sock look like? :whistling:

Batistuta87
16 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Aye, not very keen on that if I'm honest! 

37 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

When I first seen that on facebook I thought it was some fancy marketing nonsense where they had taken a maroon and white top and displayed it in negative, didn't think that those were the actual colours

2 hours ago, Scotland said:

Cracking effort. We still have the black 3rd kit so I suspect the away will be predominantly white or a very light colour. Also I think the training wear is supposed to be different from the kits so as the subs warming up are not a distraction. Not sure if it's an official rule or just a guideline. 

Loved the Inter away top. If they do bring it back, I hope they don’t ***** about with the design too much. That mock up photo above with the two shades of blue, instead of blue and black doesn’t look very good at all.

2 hours ago, Anything2 said:

Cracking effort. We still have the black 3rd kit so I suspect the away will be predominantly white or a very light colour. Also I think the training wear is supposed to be different from the kits so as the subs warming up are not a distraction. Not sure if it's an official rule or just a guideline. 

Good point. I think we’ll finally see a modern version of our 80s silver top.  

2 hours ago, Special Officer Doofy said:

Loved the Inter away top. If they do bring it back, I hope they don’t ***** about with the design too much. That mock up photo above with the two shades of blue, instead of blue and black doesn’t look very good at all.

Like Inter have actually done with last season and this coming seasons kit (if the leaks are to be believed!). 

5 minutes ago, Fraggle said:

Like Inter have actually done with last season and this coming seasons kit (if the leaks are to be believed!). 

Oh no! The blue and black stripes are such a classic look. :( 

Why move away from something that good. :(

Edited by Special Officer Doofy

31 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

Good point. I think we’ll finally see a modern version of our 80s silver top.  

🙏🤞