crazy thing you have seen or heard about at hearts games

Masonic

Ayr United away at the end of 76-77. We had already been relegated, the result was meaningless and the game was going nowhere. At Somerset the main terrace was open with a high drop behind it. I don't know how, but a boy feel over the wall. The St Johns Ambulance team rushed to the scene, and for a while there must have been a couple of hundred fans at the back of the terrace with their backs to the pitch watching them in action, including quite a few who rushed from elsewhere on the terrace just to see what was going on. It was certainly more exciting than the match. I don't know how badly the boy was hurt, but I remember the following day it being referred to in match reports with the interest it caused being suggested as a reflection of how poor the match was.    

• Replies 224

• millerjames398

• TyphoonJambo

• Weakened Offender

• Harry Potter

Apologies for being off-topic but this is a sevco story. My wifes dad was a sevco ST holder (living in England) and took my wife and her brother to an Everton v Rangers friendly in Liverpool. They were in some Everton pub for a few when it all kicked off and the riot police rushed the pub on horseback! Must have been a site!

...anyway, back to Hearts...

...just to be clear, the horses were IN the pub,

Edited by Rogue Daddy

A Rangers game about 10 years back. The Gorgie Road end had a few Sevco fans in the hospitality seats in front of us. Usual GFA official tripped over his guide dog missing the fact the Rangers' 99th minute equalising goal was a mile offside.

A big fat glaickit Rangers fan, in an ill fitting What Everyone Wants (in the sale) suit sporting a pies-stained orange tie turned around giving us all the Vs big time.

Cue the wee laddie next to me launching a coca-cola cup 🥤 Exocet missile speed landing perfectly - bull's eye smacking the huns pocked marked coupon. 

Perfect! 

On 02/01/2020 at 14:49, Masonic said:

in no particular order

hearts fans in brugge knockin on doors for directions one doors open nobodys in they go in and cook steaks then leave early 1990s

fans struggling for stuttgart accomomdation local boy lets some of the lads stay and takes them to a brothel and a peep show early 2000s

stuttgart police siezed fans money before boarding ferry early 2000s

programmes were free in germany some fans took boxes and sold for whatever they could get early 2000s

alex higgins bodyguard "losing his wallet" then fan was hit with tram in stuttgart and the money from the wallet was used for his hospital bill early 2000s

celtic fan been put through a shop window on gorgie road early 2000s same thing in dundee early 2000s

brugge beer drinking contests whoever had the biggest number on the bottom of the bottle had to get next round early 1990s

liverpool travel lodge after a fans stuff went missing and she complained police came and escorted her away because she was on medication they put her in a straightjacket few years ago

any other good ones?

Not a particularly good one but I did hear about a Hearts fan got hurt in Paris after being hit in their Metro. 

Not really crazy, but in the mid eighties, if a player for the opposition made an error, hundreds of arms, in unison, pointing at them, while the cry was "Peeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnniiiiiiiiiiissssssss,  peeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnnniiiiiiiiiisssssssss, peeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnniiiiiiiissssssssss..."

Around 200 of Hearts' finest terracing lads defended The Shed when Aberdeen and Dundee came to Tynecastle for a Scottish Cup Semi Final back in 1984. We were in the Gorgie Rd End and when it kicked off the Dundee fans started cheering, the Hearts lads were then allowed onto the track and into the Dundee end, again the D' fans started cheering and welcomed the Hearts fans into their end. 

For what I remember it didn't last long, the Hearts fans started singing and that's what ignited the flames, of course the Don's fans weren't happy hence the scuffling. 

Gorgie Rules as they say

5 hours ago, TypoonJambo said:

Was there not an "only 2 Mark Vidukas" chant after he admitted mental health issues. My favourite was always "some poor monkeys got Tony Mowbrays heed" 

I’m sure he was supposed to play against us at tynecastle at was awol. I remember singing ‘where’s your viduka gone’ 

22 minutes ago, Boris said:

Not really crazy, but in the mid eighties, if a player for the opposition made an error, hundreds of arms, in unison, pointing at them, while the cry was "Peeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnniiiiiiiiiiissssssss,  peeeeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnnniiiiiiiiiisssssssss, peeeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnnniiiiiiiissssssssss..."

I remember that well and a girl who used to come to the games with us questioned why the The Shed were singing ' Paint This, Paint This '  

😆

1 hour ago, Marvin said:

Not a particularly good one but I did hear about a Hearts fan got hurt in Paris after being hit in their Metro. 

Leg amputation. 

On 02/01/2020 at 19:14, 22games nro said:

Dressing as santa for away trip in leige, ( was early November 1992)  went in disguise as was supposed to be on a work course in england.

Then our bus (Portobello) we gave a few english guys a lift back to the city centre only for the bus To be stormed by police to arrest the chelsea mob that had been causing trouble 

No Chelsea were in Liege. An Evening News report claimed Chelsea were there but I can assure you they weren't.

On 03/01/2020 at 03:07, Heart of Darkness said:

If my memory can stretch that far back! I recall that there wasn't that many Chelsea  lads on this particular trip!!

There was one certain JM who was very impressed with the Hearts Casuals holding their own whilst being vastly  outnumbered......allegedly. 

As you say allegedly, he definitely wasn't there, Jason Marriner wasn't a face at Chelsea back in the late 80's early 90's. 

There were so many gullible fans back then who at the first sight of trouble Chelsea were always mentioned and blamed,  even the trouble in Dublin in 1988, Chelsea were mentioned in the talk after the game despite the fact it was quite clear to see it was fans draped from head to toe in maroon battling with the celtic pricks. 

Edited by dannymack

On 03/01/2020 at 14:01, GinRummy said:

I was behind the goals that day and half the shed was already passing on their way out when the first went in. Squashed up like sardines as everybody stopped in their tracks. Pure bedlam when the equaliser went in.

One of the best moments of my Hearts supporting yoof. Dogs abuse as we waited to leave via the bottleneck and then two quick goals, the second a topper. Utter bedlam. There wasn't many of us left but the ones who were have never forgotten it. 

My contribution is my first trip to Pittodrie in 83. Everyone in the city telling us we'd get hammered by the casuals. Grafitti everywhere stating Hearts would get stabbed by the Aberdeen Stanley Squad. Mayhem after the match with the Gorgie Aggro chasing them all over the shop. A real eye-opener. 

On 02/01/2020 at 15:43, Deodato said:

The Shed was home to my craziest memories. 

I remember, as a kid, waiting for the game to begin in the shed and an argument broke out between some union jack waving Hearts fans from Livingstone and a Scottish nationalist Hearts fan who was there with his girlfriend. It kicked off and got really ugly. 

The leader of the Livingstone mob's tactic for resolving the heated dispute was to pull out his cock and piss all over his opposite number and his girlfriend. I didn't stay around to watch what happened after that, but I'm pretty sure the police did. Kicked off. 

Also, I remember the pisser around the back of The Shed not because I was brave enough to go there but when you looked up the slope of the shed you could see the steam rising. The shed pissed was home to plants that couldn't grow in the Botanics. Unreal, looking back at it. 

Can still smell the mixture of stale ale, bovril and urine, mind you never had cold feet in the shed.

1 hour ago, Harry Potter said:

Can still smell the mixture of stale ale, bovril and urine, mind you never had cold feet in the shed.

Used to land in those bogs after climbing in the school end😢

1 hour ago, cookieboy said:

sure he posts on here 

He does, but not seen his posts for a while unless he has changed his user name. 

2 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

😂😂

2 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

I remember the dreadful error of wearing new blue suede Doc Martin’s to a game and going for a piss in those toilets. They ended up with a white salt line around them that never truly went away. 

Feyanoord v Hearts

So many crazy things on that trip

On the 'smoke boat'  a guy running through the ferry doing the 'dance of the flaming arseholes'. Butt naked with a length of flaming toilet roll protruding from his arse. 

The caberet girls giving up after being drowned out by hearts songs. 

The lovely croupier lady losing control of the blackjack table. People doubling their winning bets when she wasn't looking. Guy next to me left with about a grand. Myself with about 300. Almost paid for the trip. Bumped into the guy on the boat on the way back and he'd invested all the cash in a large lump hash. 

Outside the euro bar Dam Square a young lad pucked right at the feet of 2 coppers. They didn't even bat an eyelid. 

League cup final against st mirren in 2013.

I seen two hearts fans get into a scrap with each other, i don't think they knew each other either, Have no idea what it was about. Weird.

Summed up a pish day for us.

4 hours ago, gregzy2k7 said:

League cup final against st mirren in 2013.

I seen two hearts fans get into a scrap with each other, i don't think they knew each other either, Have no idea what it was about. Weird.

Summed up a pish day for us.

Lots of little scraps kicking off all over the place amongst Hearts fans. 

A few rows behind me they were going ape shit, burst nose, blood everywhere, around a dozen going for it.

Its easy to get upset with your fellow fans, I was raging at the Hearts team that day at full time despite the valiant attempts to get the equaliser, then you've got the fans standing applauding the defeat, unlucky Hearts, unlucky!  WTF ? 

Just been beaten in a final by St.Midden and we've to applaud the losers ? 

Can see where some fans lose the plot.

12 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

😀It was the smell from the brewery mixed with the stale pish stink that really went for you if you had a hangover. Gave me the proper boak.

9 hours ago, Jungle said:

Feyanoord v Hearts

On the 'smoke boat'  a guy running through the ferry doing the 'dance of the flaming arseholes'. Butt naked with a length of flaming toilet roll protruding from his arse. 

The lovely croupier lady losing control of the blackjack table. People doubling their winning bets when she wasn't looking. Guy next to me left with about a grand. Myself with about 300. Almost paid for the trip. Bumped into the guy on the boat on the way back and he'd invested all the cash in a large lump hash. 

Outside the euro bar Dam Square a young lad pucked right at the feet of 2 coppers. They didn't even bat an eyelid. 

Nothing new to the Dutch police, they've probably seen hundreds of Brits puke up there :laugh:

Smoked-Glass
On 02/01/2020 at 17:46, millerjames398 said:

Big bernie taking his dug to games in the 70s/80s, well before my time, but could never get my head round somebody taking their mutt to games home and away apparently 🤯😂🇱🇻

Is that the big guy who drank in robbo's and didn't like "fenians"? 

2 hours ago, dannymack said:

A few rows behind me they were going ape shit, burst nose, blood everywhere, around a dozen going for it.

Its easy to get upset with your fellow fans, I was raging at the Hearts team that day at full time despite the valiant attempts to get the equaliser, then you've got the fans standing applauding the defeat, unlucky Hearts, unlucky!  WTF ? 

Got my Dm boots covered in mud that day walking in to the ground, was on the robbos double decker, no heating☹️.

Smoked-Glass
23 hours ago, TypoonJambo said:

Was there not an "only 2 Mark Vidukas" chant after he admitted mental health issues. My favourite was always "some poor monkeys got Tony Mowbrays heed" 

chris_mcmillan-9199.jpg

18 hours ago, dannymack said:

No Chelsea were in Liege. An Evening News report claimed Chelsea were there but I can assure you they weren't.

As you say allegedly, he definitely wasn't there, Jason Marriner wasn't a face at Chelsea back in the late 80's early 90's. 

There were so many gullible fans back then who at the first sight of trouble Chelsea were always mentioned and blamed,  even the trouble in Dublin in 1988, Chelsea were mentioned in the talk after the game despite the fact it was quite clear to see it was fans draped from head to toe in maroon battling with the celtic pricks. 

I

Correct but a lot of squaddies from Belfast definitely helped in the mayhem

2 hours ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Is that the big guy who drank in robbo's and didn't like "fenians"? 

Thats the one.

Big Dave scoring v hibs at Tynecastle in a 2-0 win and the whole of tynecastle doing the donkey noises in return to hibs who had sung it all game. 

I chuckled. 

18 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Big Dave scoring v hibs at Tynecastle in a 2-0 win and the whole of tynecastle doing the donkey noises in return to hibs who had sung it all game. 

I chuckled. 

On the other side of the coin I remember being at Parkhead when Cascarino came on as a sub. Up until then he'd been shite for them and never managed to score.

How we all cheered and made donkey noises when he came on for Charlie Nicholas.

2 minutes later he's scored (albeit a jammy piss poor effort Henry deflected in). 

16 minutes ago, been here before said:

On the other side of the coin I remember being at Parkhead when Cascarino came on as a sub. Up until then he'd been shite for them and never managed to score.

How we all cheered and made donkey noises when he came on for Charlie Nicholas.

2 minutes later he's scored (albeit a jammy piss poor effort Henry deflected in). 

Yip, remember a game v them at Tynie. 

Van H Donk came off for A walker at 1-1, we all cheered, the wee dick stuck one in the top bag from 25 yards. 

Boyd as well, fat jokes then boom. 

You know it's happening as well. 

Macdonald's Soccer Indian
On 02/01/2020 at 17:46, millerjames398 said:

Big bernie taking his dug to games in the 70s/80s, well before my time, but could never get my head round somebody taking their mutt to games home and away apparently 🤯😂🇱🇻

I was on Bernie's bus after our bus left early leaving us stranded at Fir park. His dog was seated next to him at the front and we had to stand all the way home but at least he allowed us on. Thanks Bernie

5 hours ago, Harry Potter said:

Got my Dm boots covered in mud that day walking in to the ground, was on the robbos double decker, no heating☹️.

Raging ? 😆

17 hours ago, Jungle said:

Feyanoord v Hearts

Michael Bolton in the home end that night.

21 hours ago, Tazio said:

I remember the dreadful error of wearing new blue suede Doc Martin’s to a game and going for a piss in those toilets. They ended up with a white salt line around them that never truly went away. 

Tazio, that's the first post on JKB that has actually made me throw up. 

The range of emotion within the 30 minutes between Alan Mclaren's equaliser and the shoot out defeat to Airdrie in the semi final defeat was quite crazy too. 🙄

Edited by Weakened Offender

Montgomery Brewster
11 hours ago, GinRummy said:

😀It was the smell from the brewery mixed with the stale pish stink that really went for you if you had a hangover. Gave me the proper boak.

Yes it was a classic smell that will never leave anyone who breathed in the fumes.

oooft. Would singe your nostrils. What the fan from yesteryear had to endure 😁

13 hours ago, dannymack said:

Maybe it was just me, but i can remember hearts fans gettin into scraps with each other, at just about all the semi deafeats leading up to 98..im sure some nutter in a tweetie pie costume got lifted, at the 1st 0-0 airdrie semi..think that day was too much for lots of people😂

Smith saving a PK to give us the lead  In a shoot out v Dundee, then taking the next and missing, then they scored, we missed again and then when we were out the lc. 

Cracking stuff. 

St Johnstone scoring 4 in the second half v us at Tynecastle when we were 2-0 up was a **** fest as well. 

We even saved a PK to keep it 2-0 at HT. 

That Another lc :berra: moment from us. 

They were a first division side as well. 

9 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Smith saving a PK to give us the lead  In a shoot out v Dundee, then taking the next and missing, then they scored, we missed again and then when we were out the lc. 

Cracking stuff. 

St Johnstone scoring 4 in the second half v us at Tynecastle when we were 2-0 up was a **** fest as well. 

We even saved a PK to keep it 2-0 at HT. 

That Another lc :berra: moment from us. 

They were a first division side as well. 

Got a parking ticket in Dundee as well that night 🙂 

On 30/09/2020 at 15:42, dannymack said:

Dublin was full of locals wearing Celtic tops, big battle outside the ground which made front page of Irish times or something. Hearts won by the way.....

12 minutes ago, cookieboy said:

Got a parking ticket in Dundee as well that night 🙂 

Oh dear. 

Mind the bus back to the city centre, after the 1-1 with Liverpool, so many party songs, and just general mental Ness. Out of nowhere the Hearts fans were singing 'lets all make the bus bounce' it was a single decker and it was properly bouncing! The driver didn't have a care in the world. These immigrant ladies at the front looked terrified like they'd entered some parallel universe. Then it was back to concert square for more Juice 

Jamstomorrow

Funniest thing I ever heard at Tynie was Hibs fans singing that they were going to win the league!   I wonder how that worked out?

FERRY HEARTS

Went to away leg in Munich on arrival we dumped bags in hotel and carried on on the sauce.Ended up at a  peep show fiver entry and you got 3 free pints 

I fell asleep and when woke up guy couple seats away in long trench coat RIppin The Heid of It. 😱 aw mates had fecked off and left me  

On 01/10/2020 at 20:07, millerjames398 said:

Maybe it was just me, but i can remember hearts fans gettin into scraps with each other, at just about all the semi deafeats leading up to 98..im sure some nutter in a tweetie pie costume got lifted, at the 1st 0-0 airdrie semi..think that day was too much for lots of people😂

The semi final win against Aberdeen was the last big day out for the radges and bams. Place was full of them.