Astonishing Guitar Players

Lovecraft

I made a thread about songwriters last week, and it's triggered a few like minded people into music discussions.

I'm currently drunk again, and listening to Animal by Pink Floyd, one of the best albums ever recorded.  It just is.  There is no debate.

Dave Gilmour is actually beyond astonishing as a musician, that he has created his own sound.

I do dabble in guitar playing.  I'm shit.  But listening to Gilmour etc...   it does put you off.

So...   Guitar players that make it squeal with emotion.....

Go.............

• Replies 145

• Lovecraft

• Victorian

• Unknown user

• ri Alban

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Many more to come but...

Jimmy Page

Pete Townshend

Johnny Thunders

Brian James

Jimmy Hendrix

Led Zep are in my top 5 band ever.

Page is just a silly, silly guitarist.

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Many more to come but...

Jimmy Page

Pete Townshend

Johnny Thunders

Brian James

Jimmy Hendrix

Never heard of Johnny Thunders.

New York Dolls?

Really?

I always thought they were pish any time I heard them.

Edited by Lovecraft

2 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Never heard of Johnny Thunders.

New York Dolls?

Really?

I always thought they were pish any time I heard them.

Certainly not.   Thunders is a huge influence on guitarists.

Just now, Victorian said:

Cool.  I will give them a spy.

As I said, any time I heard the New York Dolls, I thought they were pish.

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Lindsey Buckingham.   Unique technique and ultra talented.

Yeah.  Love Fleetwood Mac.

Astonishing song writer too.  Obviously.

Just now, Lovecraft said:

Cool.  I will give them a spy.

As I said, any time I heard the New York Dolls, I thought they were pish.

They were glam / mock rock / proto punk and short lived but they were very talented.

Just now, 80bob said:

Tom morello

Hahahah

Again.

In my top 5 bands ever.

Done well for a posh kid.

Created an entire style.

This is the kind of stuff i'm looking for.

Flat out, other level guitar.

3 minutes ago, Victorian said:

They were glam / mock rock / proto punk and short lived but they were very talented.

Sweet.  I've seen your other comments on music threads.   Will 100% have a spy.

Not into punk, but do appreciate music.

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

Prince

Slash

When asked what it feels like to be the best guitarist alive, Eric Clapton said, "I don't know. Ask Prince." 

My last cat was called Hendrix (RIP wee man!) which gives my influences away a little. 

The chilli peppers don't interest me much any more but I just adored John Frusciante in the BloodSugarSexMagik period. It's only relatively recently I've come to appreciate Hillel Slovak (their original guitarist who died) and how much he influenced John (who was a huge fan and got to join his favourite band)

1 minute ago, Lovecraft said:

When asked what it feels like to be the best guitarist alive, Eric Clapton said, "I don't know. Ask Prince." 

I saw his purpleness live, I'll go in peace when my time comes. 

2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I saw his purpleness live, I'll go in peace when my time comes. 

Mark King

BB King...

guitaring royalty. 

2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

My last cat was called Hendrix (RIP wee man!) which gives my influences away a little. 

The chilli peppers don't interest me much any more but I just adored John Frusciante in the BloodSugarSexMagik period. It's only relatively recently I've come to appreciate Hillel Slovak (their original guitarist who died) and how much he influenced John (who was a huge fan and got to join his favourite band)

I would like to love the Chill Peppers.     

I just can't as Anthony Kiedis is ****ing terrible.

It's a shame, as I think the band are amazing.  Flea is "astonishing"

4 minutes ago, Cade said:

Prince

Herman Li

John Gomm

Matt Bellamy

Slash

Yeah, Matt is another level.

Classical level.

7 minutes ago, AWM said:

Ritchie Blackmore

Rory Gallagher

Michael Schenker

Dave Murray

Adrian Smith

Seems to be theme there.

Good man.

27 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Nope.

Listened to about 5 or 6 of their songs.

Shite.  Just like my first impressions.

Nothing happening in their music at all.

Edited by Lovecraft

1 minute ago, Lovecraft said:

Nope.

Listened to about 5 or 6 of there songs.

Shite.  Just like my first impressions.

Nothing happening in their music at all.

Fair enough.   :)

Seems to be theme there.

Good man.

Django Rheinhardt

Kenny Burrell

Andrés Segovia

Julian Bream 

John Williams

Paco de Lucía

Scotty Moore

Carl Perkins

Reverend Gary Davis

Doc Watson

John Fogerty

to name but a few...

10 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

I would like to love the Chill Peppers.     

I just can't as Anthony Kiedis is ****ing terrible.

It's a shame, as I think the band are amazing.  Flea is "astonishing"

They're funny, their first few albums were good time funk (George Clinton produced one of them), they had a song based on Dr Seuss' Yertle the Turtle, one aboot catholic school girls, one about partying on a girl's p**** etc, but success only came after Hillel died and they got more serious. I love BSSM but early daft funk chilis were great at what they did! Check out Fight Like a Brave for a glimpse at how good they were.

1 minute ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Django Rheinhardt

Kenny Burrell

Andrés Segovia

Julian Bream 

John Williams

Paco de Lucía

Scotty Moore

Carl Perkins

Reverend Gary Davis

Doc Watson

John Fogerty

to name but a few...

FFS

That's a big list

I love CCR

America's Sex Pistols.

If anything the guitar playing is shite.

Bit unfair on them.    The Pistols were utter shite.    The Dolls had an edge and could play.

FFS

That's a big list

I love CCR

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Bit unfair on them.    The Pistols were utter shite.    The Dolls had an edge and could play.

Yeah, the Pistols are shit.    I don't get the hype.   I understand the "movement"  but, they were awful.

Seriously though.

Zappa.  This is the stuff I mean.  Silly, silly guitar.

Edited by Lovecraft

One of the best I've seen in the flesh was Steve Vai in David Lee Roth's band at the Playhouse on the Skyscraper tour.

Going to see The Cult for the first time next month in the weej, so nominate Billy Duffy.

Robert Smith of The Cure deserves a mention as does Reeves Gabrels, currently in The Cure but formerly Bowie's band and Tin Machine.

Another I've seen a couple of times - Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath, who more or less invented

James Dean Bradfield of The Manic Street Preachers is also underrated as he is their lead singer.

Yeah, the Pistols are shit.    I don't get the hype.   I understand the "movement"  but, they were awful.

Manufactured shite by a clever hanger-on who was quick off the mark.     You could argue the same about Bernie Rhodes.

Edited by Victorian

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Manufactured shite by a clever hanger-on who was quick off the mark.     You could argue the same about Bernie Rhodes.

Yeah.  i'm looking for genuine musicians.

See Zappa above.

Edited by Lovecraft

The fact Fogerty is on it.  I will work my way through it.

Good man.