*** Heart of Midlothian Match Thread v Aberdeen***

gov

2 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Well done guys.

You deserved to go through last night.

Fair play.

What''s all the animosity between McLean and the Aberdeen fans though ?

Was it just the celebration, or is there something historical there ?

• Replies 1.5k

• Hearts007

• Sagan

• Marvin

• pettigrewsstylist

10 minutes ago, Busby8 said:

Fair play.

What''s all the animosity between McLean and the Aberdeen fans though ?

Was it just the celebration, or is there something historical there ?

Probably gave them the fist pump when he played on loan for them

I enjoyed the win last night and came away happy to be in the semi-finals. The football Hearts played in the first 15 minutes was exciting, played with speed and was good to watch, then we seemed to start making mistakes. During the second half our team reverted to the old ways of a team that had no system or idea what they were meant to be doing and it got worse when Clare came on. If it hadn't been for the players fighting finish and a decent cross for once into the box we'd be out. Yes our team doesn't play like a team for far too long in games there is defiantly a lack of good coaching.

Two excellent results in a row!  Delighted with the turnaround that is happening.

Looks like the protests were the kick up the arse the club has needed.

1 hour ago, mitch41 said:

I enjoyed the win last night and came away happy to be in the semi-finals. The football Hearts played in the first 15 minutes was exciting, played with speed and was good to watch, then we seemed to start making mistakes. During the second half our team reverted to the old ways of a team that had no system or idea what they were meant to be doing and it got worse when Clare came on. If it hadn't been for the players fighting finish and a decent cross for once into the box we'd be out. Yes our team doesn't play like a team for far too long in games there is defiantly a lack of good coaching.

The lack of good coaching is an act of defiance?

22 minutes ago, Longshanks said:

Two excellent results in a row!  Delighted with the turnaround that is happening.

Aye, a bunch of 13 year olds and a fake protest at a reserve game at Meggatland really showed them

46 minutes ago, Longshanks said:

I would have joined in the protests but I don’t own a tracksuit.

4 hours ago, fabienleclerq said:

Whens the highlights released?had to work last night.

1 hour ago, EH11_2NL said:

Anyone got the goals handy?

5 hours ago, Rudolf said:

No wonder Uche was burst, when Keena scored the last penalty he (Uche) ran to the penalty box with Michael Smith on his back:laugh:

Thats how he spends most of the game to be fair. 

4 hours ago, mitch41 said:

Can you not enjoy the good week? 

So, the first half, when we were clearly the better team, was that down to good coaching or the just the players intuition? 

At what point in the game did lack of good coaching kick in? Remember, Aberdeen have been 2nd and 3rd in the league for the past few years and they barely laid a glove on us last night. 

7 hours ago, mitch41 said:

Longer than 15 minutes  :)

Thought we got very tired in the 2nd half,  that's when we reverted to Berraball 

6 hours ago, Bridge of Djoum said:

The lack of good coaching is an act of defiance?

The deficiencies in the Hearts team at times against Aberdeen were frightening. The amount of times in the game when Smith, Hakett, Berra and Hickey looked up to pass the ball forward and nothing was on. No movement into space, no one running the channels ect. And when Clare came on it got worse thank god Aberdeen were mince and had to rely on 2 penalties. St Mirren is a game where Hearts will have to show we're on the right lines, fingers crossed.

4 hours ago, tokyowalnut said:

Can you not enjoy the good week? 

So, the first half, when we were clearly the better team, was that down to good coaching or the just the players intuition? 

At what point in the game did lack of good coaching kick in? Remember, Aberdeen have been 2nd and 3rd in the league for the past few years and they barely laid a glove on us last night. 

Aberdeen are not a good team.

This league is not a good league.

We haven't been playing good teams. Don't kid yourself on.

23 minutes ago, mitch41 said:

Aberdeen, good or not, are 3rd and have consistently been the 2nd/3rd best team in the league (quality of the league is irrelevant, we're not going to be playing anywhere else).

They are the team the media love, and are consistent. Exactly what we strive to be. 

39 minutes ago, mitch41 said:

That reads like the same pish the likes of you were peddling last season when we got to the LC Semi Final and SC Final about our opposition being poor.

At least try and be objective mate.

12 hours ago, 8skacel8 said:

Observation re Keena.  He played a key role in Halkett's goal then buried the winning penalty.  He has come in for harsh criticism from some but surely that contribution is a lot better than nothing.

14 hours ago, Sir Gio said:

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=hearts+2+aberdeen+2&&view=detail&mid=A9457AA8617E8DD73C26A9457AA8617E8DD73C26&&FORM=VRDGAR

This kid is far too sensible to be an Aberdeen fan. Willie Miller should take heed and Dick Gordon

Any time I’ve listened to them on the radio together, it’s sounded as though Willie Miller regularly takes heid from Richard Gordon.

4 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Observation re Keena.  He played a key role in Halkett's goal then buried the winning penalty.  He has come in for harsh criticism from some but surely that contribution is a lot better than nothing.

He lost the ball every time he got it. He was woeful when he came on.  

11 minutes ago, Hercules said:

He lost the ball every time he got it. He was woeful when he came on.  

Apart from the second goal and the winning penalty what have the Romans done for us

16 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Apart from the second goal and the winning penalty what have the Romans done for us

😂. Ok. Fair play. I’m on the positive bus this week. 👍🏻

Edited by Hercules

2 hours ago, Icon of Symmetry said:

Any time I’ve listened to them on the radio together, it’s sounded as though Willie Miller regularly takes heid from Richard Gordon.

:isee:

13 hours ago, frankblack said:

That reads like the same pish the likes of you were peddling last season when we got to the LC Semi Final and SC Final about our opposition being poor.

At least try and be objective mate.

like i said don't kid yourself there isn't a good team in this league. We don't do well because we 

aren't good enough and that is solely our fault. A semi final and a final were reached because of the rubbish teams we beat on the way. WE WON NOTHING !

On 25/09/2019 at 22:29, Jaap's Sigh said:

After saying earlier that I didn’t fancy us on penalties, I and delighted and extremely surprised that we went through so easily. Can only score ours and hope that they miss theirs or our keeper chooses the right way. 

Brilliant!

On 25/09/2019 at 23:10, allystrachan said:

Atmosphere during the penalties tonight is where tynie comes into its own. Can’t underestimate the importance the fans have on outcomes when it’s close like that. 

Aidan Keena has praised the fans for during the Aberdeen penalties. 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/hearts-hero-aidan-keena-asked-to-take-betfred-cup-penalty-to-show-he-can-handle-responsibility-1-5012435

21 minutes ago, Barack said:

Rangers & Celtic, aren't good teams in our league?

🤔

HA ha you just said the right thing "our league".  Aye they'd also be good in the Irish, Welsh, and Vanarama 

National League.

1 minute ago, Barack said:

So you don't think they are then? Ok.

Think the point's been made. Thanks, Mitch. Have a nice Friday.

Love you.