U.S. Politics megathread (merged)

trex

Kells_On_Jackson
6 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

Ah yes, "forest maintenance." Just who do you expect would be out there doing that? Do you have any concept how much national forestland is in California versus how many USFS staff people there are? And how much of the forestland is on privately owned land?

The four dams that were removed were on the Klamath River, which is roughly as close to LA as Paris is to Edinburgh.

It hasn't rained in three months and the Santa Ana winds are gusting at 75 mph with like 10% humidity but aye, a few anti-vaxxers and some brush clearing would have helped this. FFS.

UCLA scientist:

The insanity of being a fire ecologist in the epicenter of a major fire event, bags packed and ready to evacuate, watching active fire from my window, while taking media requests and explaining to the public, for the 100,000th time how climate change is largely responsible for this

Do you live out here? Thought so, you have zero clue how bad Newsome is, or how bad the State has been mismanaged. 

I've lived in this State since 2002, and I've seen it go downhill, I'm not going to bore everyone to tears with just how bad it is, Google can do that for anyone interested, but suffice to say, sitting on a laptop way over in NC and pontificating about CA is right up there with the others on here who go on about the U.S. and can't even vote in our elections.

• Replies 40.7k

• JFK-1

• Maple Leaf

• Watt-Zeefuik

• Justin Z

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Do you live out here? Thought so, you have zero clue how bad Newsome is, or how bad the State has been mismanaged. 

I've lived in this State since 2002, and I've seen it go downhill, I'm not going to bore everyone to tears with just how bad it is, Google can do that for anyone interested, but suffice to say, sitting on a laptop way over in NC and pontificating about CA is right up there with the others on here who go on about the U.S. and can't even vote in our elections.

Has the controlled burning been stopped completely?

Just looking for patterns here.....

Trump is unilaterally renaming things (like the Gulf of America), and says he'll take control of other countries for "security" reasons .(like Greenland).

Putting these 2 Trumpian declarations together, combined with his steadfast belief that  Climate Change is a hoax, surely he's not going to retain the name Greenland after he send the troops in ?   

He hates the Green agenda,  along with folk who adhere to it, and just wants to "drill, baby, drill".   So, what might  he rename it as ?

Whiteland ?  (got a MAGA supremacy vibe  about it)

Trumpland ?  (an obvious candidate, but how will  Musk react to that  ?)

Maple Leaf
15 minutes ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

He wasn't "pontificating" about CA in general, he was replying to comments by another poster about the fires.  What did he post that was wrong?

1 hour ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

@Watt-Zeefuik

This is an interesting transfer of power

Three good, decent politicians there in Marshall, Cooper, and Stein. Hopeful that Cooper runs for Senate in two years. Marshall should have been Senator but the shiteating DC Democrats bailed on her when the state primary didn't choose their preferred stooge, Cal Cunningham in the primary and underfunded her in a winnable race. Cunningham went on to get the nomination years later and blew a 6 point lead after he got caught in the most boring, vanilla sexting scandal ever.

19 minutes ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Oh, we've got a live one. 9 posts total, 49ers logo, hasn't posted in a year and a half, and says I don't know how bad "Newsome" is.

No, I don't live there, and I don't particularly care for Newsom, but that wasn't the point, was it?

16 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Has the controlled burning been stopped completely?

Controlled burning has been greatly expanded in recent years but again, the amount of forestland in California is gigantic and doing burns is tricky work (it's been decades but way back in undergrad years I got to help on a few). And the landscape of the west in general is just far dryer than it was just a decade ago, hence all the burning that's happening now.

The good news is that as awful as the burns have been, there are starting to be big burn scars across the landscape that are acting as fire screens. But that's scant comfort to the thousands who have seen their houses and community buildings burn to the ground this week.

Kells_On_Jackson

Wtf you talking about? 'Live one"

I hardly ever post in here.

Anyway, the guy above asking about controlled burns, which is not easy, My Wife's Uncle has a cabin up near Pinegrove, It is on unincorporated land which means it's not run by any City, closest incorporated land to it would be Pinegrove and even then, I'm not sure that's even incorporated tbh, so closest city would be Jackson, home to a decent sized Indian casino, anyway, to burn, takes hoops and loops and more hoops and loops, they will only allow burning so many yards from your property, there's tons of dead brush lying around, tons of it and folks wonder why there's so many fires.  

I live in commuter distance of the city, it's mostly wine country around me, it's on the 580 corridor, which is one of the main routes in and out of the Bay and just about every year, there's fires, last year, there was one which came close to the Livermore labs, it went round it and was stopped just where the 580 buts up to Tracy, wanna know the crazy thing? They're building houses right on where the fire was, no joke, you can see the brown where the fire was stopped and the new construction going on right on top of it. Yup, that's right. And people wonder why these disasters happen.

And to the dick going about being a live one, shoot me a dm and I'll gladly give you my teams,zoom link and I can live chat you with my camera on in case you're thinking I'm some kinda troll.

Peace out

Kells_On_Jackson
39 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

He wasn't "pontificating" about CA in general, he was replying to comments by another poster about the fires.  What did he post that was wrong?

How about passing opinions off as fact? I'm a registered Republican now, how did that happen? 20 odd years of living in a Democrat-controlled State, I have zero doubt that I'm in the minority and that I'll probably get trashed for it, that's fine, I can accept that, but I have a hard time accepting folks chiming in with their 2 cents and don't even live here, took a quick look through this thread and it's just bashing my adopted country (became a citizen in 2018) and that to me anyway, is just crap. Don't see a lot of Americans bashing Scotland or the UK do we ?

Anyway, I'm going back into lurking mode, prolly surface again god knows how long lol

Peace out guys

unknownuser
1 hour ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

right up there with the others on here who go on about the U.S. and can't even vote in our elections.

America wants nothing more than to be the centre of the universe, of course people talk about it. Why wouldn't they?

4 minutes ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

How about passing opinions off as fact? I'm a registered Republican now, how did that happen? 20 odd years of living in a Democrat-controlled State, I have zero doubt that I'm in the minority and that I'll probably get trashed for it, that's fine, I can accept that, but I have a hard time accepting folks chiming in with their 2 cents and don't even live here, took a quick look through this thread and it's just bashing my adopted country (became a citizen in 2018) and that to me anyway, is just crap. Don't see a lot of Americans bashing Scotland or the UK do we ?

Anyway, I'm going back into lurking mode, prolly surface again god knows how long lol

Peace out guys

I find it intriguing that people would vote for a convicted felon to be President. 

17 minutes ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Don't see a lot of Americans bashing Scotland or the UK do we ?

To be fair, yon Musk fella seems to have a fair bit to say about it.

ManxandCapeTownJambo
28 minutes ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Peace out guys

apart from the two most important people in the States ?

they are not just bashing the UK they are  trying to influence elections and trying to stir up insurrection and across Europe not just the UK

When the clown prince Trump takes over again your problems are just beginning 

unknownuser

And of course, Trump and his bairns qualify to play for Scotland, while the enormous arsehole has plenty business here.

Maple Leaf
1 hour ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Peace out guys

The very nature of an online forum like JKB is for people to express their opinions.  It's inevitable that you'll read opinions that you don't agree with, or maybe even piss you off.  That's the way it is.

You have the choice of rebutting those opinions or ignoring them.  Personally, I'd prefer people to post their opposing views, even when reading them sometimes pisses me off as well.  Clearly most posters on this thread are anti-Trump, but not all.  But I think it's incorrect to say that there has been a lot of America bashing, apart from Trump, the GOP, and SCOTUS.

Anyway, on more important matters, your 49ers are crap!!!  :biggrin2:

Shock!

SCOTUS denies Trump's latest application to avoid his sentencing on Friday. It was only a 5-4 majority though.

Edited by Footballfirst

8 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Shock!

SCOTUS denies Trump's latest application to avoid his sentencing on Friday. It was only a 5-4 majority though.

Roberts and ACB again the marginally sane ones. Thomas, Alito, and Kavanaugh consistently the tools.

2 hours ago, Kells_On_Jackson said:

Wtf you talking about? 'Live one"

I hardly ever post in here.

Anyway, the guy above asking about controlled burns, which is not easy, My Wife's Uncle has a cabin up near Pinegrove, It is on unincorporated land which means it's not run by any City, closest incorporated land to it would be Pinegrove and even then, I'm not sure that's even incorporated tbh, so closest city would be Jackson, home to a decent sized Indian casino, anyway, to burn, takes hoops and loops and more hoops and loops, they will only allow burning so many yards from your property, there's tons of dead brush lying around, tons of it and folks wonder why there's so many fires.  

I live in commuter distance of the city, it's mostly wine country around me, it's on the 580 corridor, which is one of the main routes in and out of the Bay and just about every year, there's fires, last year, there was one which came close to the Livermore labs, it went round it and was stopped just where the 580 buts up to Tracy, wanna know the crazy thing? They're building houses right on where the fire was, no joke, you can see the brown where the fire was stopped and the new construction going on right on top of it. Yup, that's right. And people wonder why these disasters happen.

And to the dick going about being a live one, shoot me a dm and I'll gladly give you my teams,zoom link and I can live chat you with my camera on in case you're thinking I'm some kinda troll.

Peace out

So look, we got off on the wrong foot. Seymour Hersh and I were doing our usual thing in disagreeing with each other on here (he's a Republican who claims to not like Trump but I think he loves "pwning the libs" more and there he was spouting the "clearing the underbursh" nonsense again). You came in lecturing me on not living there and apparently expected me to be a Newsom apologist, but then misspelled his name. You had an extremely low post count. You were being rude and you looked all to hell like a fake account created by someone pretending to be someone you weren't.

Sorry, let's start over.

I don't particularly love California Democrats, and Newsom is certainly way down my preference list for 2028 nominees. (This is another sore point—another particularly annoying poster has a bad habit of coming on this thread and accusing anyone who doesn't like Trump of thinking the Democrats are perfect, refuses to engage with responses, then shows up three weeks later to say the same thing all over again.) But yes, basically any scientist with relevant expertise is stating clearly that these fires are particularly extreme because of climate change. Not poor "forest clearing" practices, not a firefighter shortage, not resource misallocation. Some folks don't want to hear that.  But it's as close to a fact as you're going to find when it comes to natural disasters. (My immediately prior job to my current one was in hurricane decision support software, and hurricanes are similar—you can't say any particular storm happened or was worse because of climate change, but it's dead certain there's more and bigger storms because of climate change.)

Yes, fire has always been a part of the California landscape but they're objectively happening with greater frequency and higher intensity on drier fuel loads. No, I don't live in California but I took a fair few classes from a spatial ecologist in my masters program whose specialty was the California chapparal and I did an independent study on fire ecology as an undergrad (it was on upper great plains prairie fire ecology but we talked a lot about and did controlled burns). So on this I'm at least informed enough to know more than the basics on this particular topic.

And FWIW building in the burn scar is not a bad plan. It's the place that's least likely to have fire problems for the next 5 years or so, so long as you manage the brush there. And if the brush isn't getting managed, that's first and foremost a private property issue, and not something that the California or federal government has failed to do.

Sparks being fanned and carried by the wind creating more fires, how are they ever going to stop this.

dffe03d0-cdac-11ef-94cb-5f844ceb9e30.jpg

20 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Sparks being fanned and carried by the wind creating more fires, how are they ever going to stop this.

dffe03d0-cdac-11ef-94cb-5f844ceb9e30.jpg

There's a very small amount of good news in that the Santa Ana winds are going to spend a few days down closer to normal levels rather than the abnormally high ones. With the region like a tinderbox even the lower winds will be a problem but it's still better than dealing with hurricane-force gusts of hot dry wind in the middle of a fire zone.

44 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

There's a very small amount of good news in that the Santa Ana winds are going to spend a few days down closer to normal levels rather than the abnormally high ones. With the region like a tinderbox even the lower winds will be a problem but it's still better than dealing with hurricane-force gusts of hot dry wind in the middle of a fire zone.

Don't think I have seen anything like this outside fire bombing raids on Germany and Japan. It truly looks apocalyptic and maybe only nature can stop it.

A downpour would do it but that isn't going to happen is it. In the fire zone reportedly there has been no rain in 262 days, it's hardly likely to conveniently bucket down now.

31 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Don't think I have seen anything like this outside fire bombing raids on Germany and Japan. It truly looks apocalyptic and maybe only nature can stop it.

A downpour would do it but that isn't going to happen is it. In the fire zone reportedly there has been no rain in 262 days, it's hardly likely to conveniently bucket down now.

It's the high wind that's not only been fueling it but keeping them from fighting it. You can't air drop fire suppressant of any kind in 80 mph gusts. Now they'll be able to use their air support for a little while. They've gotten one of the smaller fires contained and have made progress on another. The two big ones, though, are still totally uncontained. If they can get a break in front of one or both of them, the pressure could come up.

10 minutes ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

It's the high wind that's not only been fueling it but keeping them from fighting it. You can't air drop fire suppressant of any kind in 80 mph gusts. Now they'll be able to use their air support for a little while. They've gotten one of the smaller fires contained and have made progress on another. The two big ones, though, are still totally uncontained. If they can get a break in front of one or both of them, the pressure could come up.

Good description from Lawrence of how this is all about the Santa Ana winds and was in fact inevitable plus that it's ludicrous to lay the blame for this at anyone's feet.

Lawrence has a house in LA which he says is currently right at the edge of the fie zone and adds that these Santa Ana winds are gusting at up to 100mph which in his own experience is unknown. He said he has seen 50mph gusts.

He says that wind will be back tomorrow and they still wont be able to contain far less stop the fires.

Lawrence: What's happening in Los Angeles is a hurricane without rain. It is a hurricane with fire. 

MSNBC’s Lawrence O’Donnell explains how the Santa Ana winds took a spark and turned it into an “explosion of flame” that created the deadly Los Angeles wildfires.

15 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Good description from Lawrence of how this is all about the Santa Ana winds and was in fact inevitable plus that it's ludicrous to lay the blame for this at anyone's feet.

Lawrence has a house in LA which he says is currently right at the edge of the fie zone and adds that these Santa Ana winds are gusting at up to 100mph which in his own experience is unknown. He said he has seen 50mph gusts.

He says that wind will be back tomorrow and they still wont be able to contain far less stop the fires.

Lawrence: What's happening in Los Angeles is a hurricane without rain. It is a hurricane with fire. 

MSNBC’s Lawrence O’Donnell explains how the Santa Ana winds took a spark and turned it into an “explosion of flame” that created the deadly Los Angeles wildfires.

The one place I do agree with SH is that the LA mayor could have not cut the FD budget by $17 million while giving LAPD, one of the most notoriously corrupt big police departments in the country, an additional $180 million or something.

But the fire chief, while unhappy with the cuts, has also said no amount of money would have made them ready for this.

12 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

I've given up hope on those. We had to watch Strom Thurmond turn 100 in office. Jesse Helms recovered from countless illnesses.

We do have a "quad-viral" threat going right now. Maybe something that just incapacitates him for a month or two starting in late January though . . .

Doing a William Henry Harrison?

Imagine a californian resident coming on to the forum of an Edinburgh football club to discover most of the posters with opinions on US politics are not californians. 

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Imagine a californian resident coming on to the forum of an Edinburgh football club to discover most of the posters with opinions on US politics are not californians. 

Because he's not in Edinburgh should we ignore his opinion on Hearts?

Well that's a totally bizarre concept on a debate forum. You can't talk about current international events unless you're there, I suppose it means I can't join any discussion that isn't centred in Oklahoma. Bizarre.

It's cold here and I don't want to hear any opinions from you lot who aren't in Oklahoma on how cold it is. I don't care you can google for Oklahoma weather, you're not here, you have no opinion.

40 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Well that's a totally bizarre concept on a debate forum. You can't talk about current international events unless you're there, I suppose it means I can't join any discussion that isn't centred in Oklahoma. Bizarre.

It's cold here and I don't want to hear any opinions from you lot who aren't in Oklahoma on how cold it is. I don't care you can google for Oklahoma weather, you're not here, you have no opinion.

I think 'debate forum' over-sells the utter pish spouted on here most of the time.

I can have an opinion on that as I can spout utter pish with the best of them. 

On Don Jnr's pathetic visit to Greenland;
"Danish media reported Thursday that a series of photos featuring Kirk and Greenlandic residents in MAGA hats was staged. The MAGA cohort reportedly rounded up homeless people from the area—including one person from under a bridge—promising them a meal at the Hotel Hans Egede in exchange for their participation in the pro-Trump photo circuit.

Videos of the trip that circulated on X describe the Greenlandic participants as “the local community in Nuuk,” but several local sources that spoke with DR News described the photographed individuals as “homeless and socially disadvantaged” people who are often outside the supermarket directly across from the hotel where the Trump event was held."

7 hours ago, JFK-1 said:

Don't worry, super stable genius has the answer:

r/facepalm - just turn on the faucet and leave it running...problem solved! *crisscross hands*

The "Pizzagate" gunman who gained infamy in 2016 by holding hostages at a pizza parlour and demanding to see the hidden kiddy fiddling sex dungeon in the basement has been shot dead by police during a traffic stop after he pulled a gun on the officers who were trying to enforce an arrest warrant.

Play stupid games..........

5 minutes ago, Cade said:

The "Pizzagate" gunman who gained infamy in 2016 by holding hostages at a pizza parlour and demanding to see the hidden kiddy fiddling sex dungeon in the basement has been shot dead by police during a traffic stop after he pulled a gun on the officers who were trying to enforce an arrest warrant.

Was there a sex dungeon in the basement? Asking for a friend on here. 

14 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

There wasn't even a basement.

23 minutes ago, Cade said:

Good.  He was one of the gullible nutjobs who terrorised one restaurant after another for weeks  because of fabricated conspiracy nonsense on social media about child sex slaves.

I feel for the seal and Walrus population of Greenland if the US tries to invade ,you just know the US bombers will mistake them for Danish troops and slaughter thousands of them.

31 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Was it Woking Pizza Express? That might attract a certain non-sweaty clientele.

30 minutes ago, Cade said:

There wasn't even a basement.

They would say that though wouldn't they?

Feckin halfwit was trying to dig up the floor in the cleaning cupboard trying to find the hidden dungeon

Anyways, daft arsehole's deid noo

Maple Leaf

I just read that a Canadian water-bomber that was being used to fight the Palisades fire has been taken out of commission.  Apparently, some idiot on the ground was flying a drone in restricted air space and it hit the plane, damaging a wing.

There definitely is no limit to human stupidity.  :buttkick:

Gundermann

Same as the auld guy but crazier and with added criminality.

bafkreicpdadqilrlsdstwce5fiuuagfle3wwfpq

CavySlaveJambo

Well that is Trump sentenced for the 34 Felony Counts.  

He got the much predicted Unconditional Discharge.   The main point is that he is still a Felon. 

CavySlaveJambo
2 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I just read that a Canadian water-bomber that was being used to fight the Palisades fire has been taken out of commission.  Apparently, some idiot on the ground was flying a drone in restricted air space and it hit the plane, damaging a wing.

There definitely is no limit to human stupidity.  :buttkick:

Absolutely Humans are definitely stupid and have no clue what they are doing sometimes.  

3 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I just read that a Canadian water-bomber that was being used to fight the Palisades fire has been taken out of commission.

Did Trump try to put tariffs on it?  :whistling: 

22 minutes ago, CavySlaveJambo said:

The main point is that he is still a Felon. 

For he's a jolly good felon.... 🎵 :runaway:

His team, of course, are claiming that the unconditional discharge is the same thing as exoneration and that he wasn't guilty and it was all a witch hunt blah blah blah.

5 hours ago, Gizmo said:

Don't worry, super stable genius has the answer:

r/facepalm - just turn on the faucet and leave it running...problem solved! *crisscross hands*

He said this back in 2019. 

And he isn't wrong. Extremely poor forest management. 

Global warming yep but you can help yourselves too. 

14 minutes ago, indianajones said:

He said this back in 2019. 

And he isn't wrong. Extremely poor forest management. 

Global warming yep but you can help yourselves too. 

Hail the felon President.:10900:

Edited by The Real Maroonblood