Malt Whisky

Banjoheed

I enjoy Highland Park.

The best malt I ever had was a bottle of cask strength Linkwood from the Scottish Malt Whisky Association, and when I say best, it was outstanding; truly outstanding.

Indulging in a wee dram and wondered what everyones favourite Malt Whisky is?

Mine is probably Ardbeg.

Hardcore!

Mine is probably one of Bowmore, Scapa or Linkwood. Might just have to go and pour one just now!:booze:

I enjoy Highland Park.

The best malt I ever had was a bottle of cask strength Linkwood from the Scottish Malt Whisky Association, and when I say best, it was outstanding; truly outstanding.

Funny you should say that. That's probably the finest one I've ever tasted too! Got it when I joined the society and still never tasted one quite as good...

I have a lovely bottle of Glenfiddich Solera Reserve, which I am enjoying.

I don't have a singel favourite, but generally prefer Islay malts.

My top five, in no order, would be : Laphroig, Ardberg, Highland Park, Bowmore and Tomintoul.

Is it weird for a 19 year old to like whisky? My mates seem to think so but then they think JD is a proper whisky and that Fosters and Carling are quality 'beers'. Idiots.

My top five, in no order, would be : Laphroig, Ardberg, Highland Park, Bowmore and Tomintoul.

Is it weird for a 19 year old to like whisky? My mates seem to think so but then they think JD is a proper whisky and that Fosters and Carling are quality 'beers'. Idiots.

Nah man I'm only 23, no shame in it. I harbour ambitions of working in the trade one day aswell.

Btw, JD is great with coke! Fosters and Carling though...naw.

Oh aye, JD and coke is my drink of choice when I'm out on the slash, how my mates can compare straight JD to a malt and think it is superior is beyond me though.

The cheap own brand whiskies from the supermarkets aren't too bad, obviously no as a good as one of the proper ones, but no bad for the price.

Think I'm gonna crack open my bottle of Glenfiddich now.

WooooHoooo

My specialist subject (I do work in the trade)

Macallan Gran Reserva (Best whisky ever, made by a mate of mine who's a Jambo) Hard to find nowadays but if you do well worth the ?200+ you'll pay for a bottle. (Its not for sharing!!)

Highland Park 18 - Spectacular

Any of the Ardbegs (I like Uigedhal but thats proper hardcore) I was lucky enough to get a bottle of 77 from a mate.

Macallan 10 as an everyday dram along with standard ardbeg when you need peat.

Auchentoshan 3 Wood - another tasty treat

Bow Bar is a favourite night out as is the SMWS

I lie some of the Springbank malts (from Cadenheads in the High Street) but my fav is a 21 year old cask strength bottle of North British - next to Tynie!

Wow there's some serious connoisseur whiskies and some very educated palates!

My everyday favourite is The Macallan although I won a bottle of Old Pultneys in the Sunday Herald a while ago and it was very nice indeed.

The best I ever tasted was a cask strength Rosebank at the Vaults (Scotch Malt Whisky Society) on my 18th birthday! It's quite hard to find, but I bought a bottle of it at the Falkirk Wheel last year and it was nowhere near as good as I remember.

My father once told me that there are no bad whiskies, only degrees of good, but then he turned out to be raging alcoholic and I don't think he ever tried Crawford's Three Star either.

WooooHoooo

My specialist subject (I do work in the trade)

Macallan Gran Reserva (Best whisky ever, made by a mate of mine who's a Jambo) Hard to find nowadays but if you do well worth the ?200+ you'll pay for a bottle. (Its not for sharing!!)

Highland Park 18 - Spectacular

Any of the Ardbegs (I like Uigedhal but thats proper hardcore) I was lucky enough to get a bottle of 77 from a mate.

Macallan 10 as an everyday dram along with standard ardbeg when you need peat.

Auchentoshan 3 Wood - another tasty treat

Bow Bar is a favourite night out as is the SMWS

I would disagree on that one. Bowmore Black. ?1000 a bottle, long gone, damn tasty :thumb:

I used to work in the trade, and it's amazing the things you (ahem) drop sometimes :P

15 year old Springbank, Ardbeg and the Balvenie Doublewood. Highland Park rates highly too.

I've got a stack of malts at the moment.

christhejambo

Like most Islay malts. My favoutites are prob Tallisker, Lagavulin, Ardbeg, Laphroig and Bruichladdich. Got given a bottle of Lagavulin 25 for my 21st last year, which is prob the best i have ever tasted personally :dribble:

I would disagree on that one. Bowmore Black. ?1000 a bottle, long gone, damn tasty :thumb:

I used to work in the trade, and it's amazing the things you (ahem) drop sometimes :P

hahahaha

I was working at York Whisky Festival last year and somehow an unfinished bottle of 25 year old Bowmore fell into my bag at the end of the day.

SMWS have a offer on this year, every tuesday night they have a 40 year old for the price of a 10 year old

Bruichladdich :)

One of my favourites, though I'm not the biggest whisky drinker. My father in law works in the distillery, so there's always a bottle in the house when we go over to visit. Ardbeg's good, also, and if you're ever in Islay, the restaurant at the distillery is wicked!

currently working through a bottle of 21 year-old Dalmore, it's absolutely superb.

Dalwhinnie is a good 'un as is Glenkinchie.

My favourite malt is Auchentoshan.

My favourite Irish Whiskey is Clondarf. Really strange 3 bottles on top of each other - each getting tastier until you reach the bottom.

Not really a connoisseur so your standard malts like Macallan, Glenmorangie do for me.

I do like Glenfiddich and also I think there is one called Glen Grant which is nice.

Not a big fan of the Islay malts but ironically when it comes to a blend I like Black Bottle.

Again not a malt but I think there should be a special mention for J&B.

BTW is Cardhu a malt or a deluxe as that is quite tasty too.

I also have a cask condition malt from the Whisky Society in Leith. Never really touch it as it is v.strong, but add a wee bit of water to release the taste.

A few years ago I worked in a hotel and was given Whisky Training, which was magic!

I remember the rep, from Old Pultney, telling a story about another distillery that was right on the coast. The celler of this distillery was underground and had a tendancy to flood when the sea got really rough. This meant that the casks were sometimes covered in water for a time until the celler could be dried out. Apparently you can taste the sea salt that had soaked through the barrell when drinking it. Can't remember which distillery it was now, does anyone have any idea?

ISle of Jura

Laphroig

currently polishing off a 30 year old Glenfiddich mmmmmm

Prefer the Island malts though

A few years ago I worked in a hotel and was given Whisky Training, which was magic!

I remember the rep, from Old Pultney, telling a story about another distillery that was right on the coast. The celler of this distillery was underground and had a tendancy to flood when the sea got really rough. This meant that the casks were sometimes covered in water for a time until the celler could be dried out. Apparently you can taste the sea salt that had soaked through the barrell when drinking it. Can't remember which distillery it was now, does anyone have any idea?

Old Pultney is up near Wick the most northanly mainland distillery, to answer another posters qustion Carhu is indeed a Malt also another nice malt to try is Edradour (Pitlochry) thhe smallest distillery in Scotland.

A cask strenght 25 yr old Tamdhu from the malt whisky society which belonged to my dad and was polished off by me and a mate on my 21st; resulting in me lying unconscious in the hall. That was one of the finest.

18 yr old highland park, leapfrog, glenmorangie and the macallan.

Highland Park 18 year old. :)

deffo, and sells at the airport for ?40 so doesn't break the bank, even full price ?59 is still good value.

a wee bit rougher but nice in its own way is Talisker 18yo.

Loving Yamazaki 18yo from Suntori, asked for it for Xmas but never got it, so will splash out at end of month, don't think it'll be any more than ?65.

Disapointed with Jura Superstition lately, ended up having it with hot lemonade when I had a cold, but it's not sacrillage if you don't enjoy it.

My father in law takes Auchentoshan with ginger ale, it's what he likes eh.

And it's very trendy in China to have realy good malts with crushed ice and green tea, depends what you like eh, I'm happy with a drop of water to bring the flavours out.

Had a great day out at the distilery in Pencaitland(Glenkinchie). Highly recomended.

Oban & Auchentoshan were good too.

Tobermory & Talisker are rubbish.

Probably an islay, they can have a really strong salty sense of the sea about them.

The Balvenie is my favourite, I have 9 different ones in my bar at the moment, am a memeber of Malt Whisky Society and enjoy many a fine night there aswell though.

BTW is Cardhu a malt or a deluxe as that is quite tasty too.

I also have a cask condition malt from the Whisky Society in Leith. Never really touch it as it is v.strong, but add a wee bit of water to release the taste.

Cardhu is a 12yr old malt, but is the backbone of many Johnnie Walker blends & deluxe varieties.( nice wee place to visit too) not a bad wee drop. Not a fan of Glenmorangie, Glenfiddich and the likes. My personal favourite would be Caol Ila, I like my whisky with a little kick.

Glenfiddich for me.

Was in a pub in the city centre and they never knew what to charge me for a nip of Glenfiddich 12 years old. Eventually they came back and said how does 1.50 sounds.

I hummed and ha'd and said done. Got the guys to stay there all night and tanned a good chunk of the bottle.

If you're ever up north and find yourself in Elgin, go to Gordon and MacPhail's shop in South Street> It is well worth a visit.

They buy and bottle single casks of most of the big whisky houses so you can pick up some really unusual whiskies. I bought a single cask Glenfarclas 105 about 5 years ago, it punched in at 52% ABV and was stunning and i'll be raiding there again in the spring on our annual motorbike tour!

:527:

I lie some of the Springbank malts (from Cadenheads in the High Street) but my fav is a 21 year old cask strength bottle of North British - next to Tynie!

I once spent Hogmanay pouring the contents of a bottle of green (yes, green) Springbank down my throat. Quite the most exquisite whisky I have tasted.

My favourites are probably no different from anyone else's: the Islay "Holy Trinity" of Lagavulin, Laphroaig and Ardbeg, plus Macallan, Glenfarclas and Highland Park. Of the "lesser" malts, I have an inexplicable liking for Fettercairn and Ledaig.

My father has a bottle of Macallan from 1937. Never yet managed to persuade him to open it.

Dont open it (unless your minted)

Your looking at about ?10k for that

was at a sampling last night, a 21 year old Jura and a 14 year old Scapa were quite nice. I usually like a Macallan, but keep Oban, Lagavulin, Bruichladdich and Bowmore in the house. Always keen to try a nice malt!

Dont open it (unless your minted)

Your looking at about ?10k for that

It's a Gordon and McPhail bottling - nothing special as far as I know. But your estimate sounds pleasingly higher than any he's had so far!

my dad is a huge malt fan and has many bottles including some very strong cask strength stuff from the society which he won't allow me to drink without water which to be honest don't think i could.

i have ardbeg,talisker,ben nevis, bowmore 25, bunnahabhain and caol ila in the house but my favourites are knockando and ancnoc which are paler and not as dark as the islay malts. i find these easier to drink and prefer them. my dad and i polished off 3/4 of a bottle of knockando one night between us after four or five beers and i did not even feel like i had been drinking the next day. great stuff and it does not make me violent although i know some guys who should not touch it.

Dallas Dhu is one of the best at SMWS. Currently not in stock though.

I like all of them, great with a wee dash of Irn Bru.