JKBers Music Tastes

Alan_R

I've noticed over a number of threads that there seems to be a wide diversity of music tastes among kickbackers, as you would expect I guess. I've noticed at least one person with a Biffy avatar- good taste ;)

So post 5 bands that define your music taste:

-Biffy Clyro

-Reuben

-Muse

-Hundred Reasons

-Million Dead

(btw I do like some dance, pop, acoustic as well but they are easily my 5 favourite bands)

• Replies 106

-Mogwai

-Radiohead

-Arctic Monkeys

-Digitalism

-The Maccabees

5 bands that define my music taste:

-Rush

-Queen

-Meat Loaf

-Beach Boys

-Blondie

I've noticed over a number of threads that there seems to be a wide diversity of music tastes among kickbackers, as you would expect I guess. I've noticed at least one person with a Biffy avatar- good taste ;)

-Biffy Clyro

-Reuben

-Muse

-Hundred Reasons

-Million Dead

(btw I do like some dance, pop, acoustic as well but they are easily my 5 favourite bands)

Reuben are no more IIRC :(

Fantastic band.

My 5:

Bullet for my Valentine

Killswitch Engage

Rage Against the Machine

Enter Shikari

36 Crazyfists

From bands that are on the go just now.

1. The Who
  2. Led Zeppelin
  3. Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band
  4. Del Amitri
  5. Deep Purple & all the spin-offs (Whitesnake, Rainbow, Gillan...)

...or maybe AC/DC.

...or The Beatles.

... even the Stones.

but not Queen.

Tom Waits ain't a band but if he was, he'd be in that list.

...aargh!

And Big Country, they should be in my list of 5 along with all those other 8 bands...:confused:

ArmiyaRomanova

Six acts that have meant more to me than any others (though there are plenty) over the years.... led me in all sorts of different directions.

Tuxedomoon

Brian Eno

Coil

Fela Kuti

Can

The Residents (hence the sig)

Reuben are no more IIRC :(

I know mate, I was gutted when I heard the news. easily my favourite band ever. They are responsible for creating 3 of my all time favourite albums.

RIP =Reuben=

Sergio Garcia

-Ocean Colour Scene

-Oasis

-Stereophonics

-Strokes

-Verve

-Ocean Colour Scene

-Oasis

-Stereophonics

-Strokes

-Verve

not elvis then? ;)

-Mogwai

-Radiohead

-Arctic Monkeys

-Digitalism

-The Maccabees

I feel bad for not including The Smiths, The Beta Band, Ulrich Schnauss and Babyshambles as well....

Good wee thread this one!

The Comedian

-Doves

-Secret Machines

-I AM Koot

-The Ramones

-T Rex

Carl Spackler

Shooting from the hip and trying to be honest I'd say

Teenage Fanclub

Black Grape/Happy Mondays

The Smiths

Chemical Brothers

Oasis

That hardly scratches the surface though.

The Manics

Billy Talent

The Beatles

The Prodigy

Queen

amazing, I saw them at King Tutts which is tiny. It was intense- awesome gig! Good band.

Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band

The Levellers

Counting Crows

The Dave Crowder Band

Big Country

conn artist

in no particular order -

1. - rage against the machine

2. - daft punk

3. - arcade fire

4. - wu tang

5. - the whitest boy alive

could also name endless amount of dj's that i have seen over the years at pure, tribal function and the arches.

amazing, I saw them at King Tutts which is tiny. It was intense- awesome gig! Good band.

Good man :)

I saw them at the Garage a wee while ago, supported by Reueben incidentally.

Coldplay

Keane

The Killers

The Beatles

Michael Jackson

In no particular order.

Oh dear.

I don't want to get on your back incessantly like a few others have done, but Keane are the utter pits, a duller yet somehow more grating version of Coldplay.

FWIW, mines are:

- Joy Division

- Doves

- Oasis

- Supergrass

- Radiohead

Slightly biased towards one city but Manc bands have produced some music (there are many others from there I could have mentioned).

Sh*t i forgot Lynyrd skynyrd oh! feck i hate this thread:confused:

Me too damn, ah well, i,ll toss out the Rollers.

The Hold Steady

The National

Explosions In The Sky

Elliott Smith

Modest Mouse

Thats my five most played artists on Itunes so we'll go with them.

Massive Attack

DJ Shadow

Leftfield

Jeff Buckley

Isaac Hayes

How do you like 'em apples?

200milesfromgorgie
Oh dear.

I don't want to get on your back incessantly like a few others have done, but Keane are the utter pits, a duller yet somehow more grating version of Coldplay.

FWIW, mines are:

- Joy Division

- Doves

- Oasis

- Supergrass

- Radiohead

Slightly biased towards one city but Manc bands have produced some music (there are many others from there I could have mentioned).

you're right keane and coldplay are pish but come on....pot,kettle? :P:p:p

200milesfromgorgie
Pavement

Pixies

Boards Of Canada

Mogwai

LCD Soundsystem

-Mogwai

-Radiohead

-Arctic Monkeys

-Digitalism

-The Maccabees

you gotta love the young team. however if some of the numpties on here saw you mention 'mhogwai' as one of you top bands you could be accused of all sorts of nasties. but then again an lucky for us they all like r kelly and erm, gosh who else do these people like...kooks.

Bon Jovi

Nirvana

Beatles

Edvard Grieg

Gustav Holst

Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Elvis

Beach Boys

Bee Gees

The Quo

200milesfromgorgie

anyhoo

-Pearl Jam

-Buddy Holly

-Billy Bragg

-Harry Belafonte

-Weezer (first 2 albums)

oh and, beatles,dylan,willie nelson,cure, my morning jacket, band of horses, mogwai, part chimp, ...trail of dead, minor threat, husker du, talking heads, miles davis, john coltrane, armstrong, marvin gay, all motown, ***** with fire, arab strap, bouncing souls, devo, ramones, buzzcocks, new order, niel young, beach boys, jimi, led zep, sabbath, kiss, nirvana, metl banana, SFA, therapy? the who, flaming lips, bb king, hooker........

what a difficult one. ouch

you're right keane and coldplay are pish but come on....pot,kettle? :P:p:p

Remind me of my teens...

They're pish now but I maintain Definitely Maybe is one of the greatest albums ever released.

Bon Jovi

Nirvana

Beatles

Edvard Grieg

Gustav Holst

Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Elvis

Beach Boys

Bee Gees

The Quo

that's mighty similar to mine! although I'm not a big fan of the beatles and I'd probably add Cash to your list. :)

Stone Roses

Pink Floyd

Oasis

Happy Mondays/Black Grape

The Verve

Paul Weller

Naughty By Nature

Adam and the Ants

Dr Dre (Pre Eminem stuff)

Public Enemy

De La Soul

TBH I like lots of other stuff, a lot of obscure stuff that only people who are into that sort of music would appreciate. Love a lot of hip hop and garage stuff, and love old school dance music.

He said 5 bands ye silly buggers!

I have picked my 5 on the basis of covering my range of tastes - these are not necessarily my 5 favourite bands:

Pantera

Rage Against The Machine

Cypress Hill

Led Zeppelin

and of course the mighty.... Europe.

As well as plenty in between and some outwith.

He said 5 bands ye silly buggers!

I have picked my 5 on the basis of covering my range of tastes - these are not necessarily my 5 favourite bands:

Pantera

Rage Against The Machine

Cypress Hill

Led Zeppelin

and of course the mighty.... Europe.

As well as plenty in between and some outwith.

Good call, they others though :rolleyes:

Alexisonfire (I'm going to include Dallas Green's solo stuff in there too, even though it sounds entirely different)

Capdown

Jimmy Eat World

The King Blues

New Found Glory

I like a hell of a lot of other stuff too, varying from classical to thrash metal to drum 'n' bass, but those five probably define the type of bands I listen to the most.

-Million Dead

Have you ever listened to Frank Turner's solo album? Sorta folky, but it's brilliant.

Good call, they others though :rolleyes:

I only got into CH a couple of years ago but I can't get enough of it now.

Tbh man, I could listen to anything that was on your list and own albums by most of them. I've got pretty broad tastes but mostly listen to music along the lines I've stated.

I ****ing hate The Killers and other such homo bands though.