St Paddy's Day

Locky

I have (protestant) friends in Northern Ireland who celebrate St Paddys Day, it doesnt make you less of a good proddie to celebrate a national day.

It isn't a national day though.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

• Replies 264

• MacDonald Jardine

• i8hibsh

• aussieh

Sitting in the Royal Mile Tavern just now.

The amount of these stupid hats is mind numbing.

Try having a drink and enjoying yourself rather than being upset by some hats ffs.

Bowmans_Boot

It isn't a national day though.

I consider St Andrews Day as Scotlands national day. As do many, many more.

Nothing authoritarian about it.

I'm just making the point there's a historical reason why St Andrew's day isn't celebrated in the same manner as others.

In an increasingly secular society I see no reason to change that.

Who's the saint of the high kirk , MJ? Edited by aussieh

St Patrick's day is a recognition of Irishness........ As someone who,s family were mayo and Donegal.

Being Irish is like being Scots...... A Tory nightmare,

St Patrick's day is a recognition of Irishness........ As someone who,s family were mayo and Donegal.

STFU and drink.

Bollocks we should.

We are (or were) a Presbyterian country.

Stick your saints' days.

Bollocks to Presbyterianism too. We're by and large a secular country now except for the old codgers.

We have a proud history of important historical scientific figures who we can celebrate instead.

Edited by Ray Gin

Bollocks to Presbyterianism too. We're by and large a secular country now except for the old codgers.

We have a proud history of important historical scientific figures who we can celebrate instead.

Scotland has 0.1 of the worlds population with 1% of the worlds published research. And we still can't put ourselves down.

I consider St Andrews Day as Scotlands national day. As do many, many more.

Of course it is!

Load of pish.

Looking forward to the neighbours having their annual paddy's night party and making an absolute racket. :seething:

As predicted, the arseholes are having a party and making an utter racket. Sounds like there are about 30 folk round. The upstairs neighbours are also at this year for a double whammy.

St Paddy GTF

Edited by Ray Gin

Ah, the tartan version of the old Sinn Fein adage ?England?s difficulty is Ireland?s opportunity?! 

Although I agree that it is a bit cringey seeing people out in town in ridiculous hats and drinking Guinness despite having zero connection with Ireland, does it really matter? If people are out enjoying themselves and not causing bother then good on them. Also, it provides a bit of a boost for the pubs etc.

What pisses me off about St Patricks Day is just how widespread it is. I know there's a big global Irish diaspora but there's also a large Scottish diaspora too yet our culture isn't celebrated the world over and is barely celebrated in our own country.

There is a Tartan week here in NYC every year. Shows, movies, etc. Bit more cultured than the Irish thing. 

It's only a joke, MJ, settle down.

How many times do you have to tell the same joke though?

Tiresome.

How many times do you have to tell the same joke though?

Tiresome.

Funnier than your lame username. Bonnet.

More nonsensical drivel.

You mean like Scots pretending to be English by voting no or Tory? Weirdos

Every thread!

I asked one of the twats if he would be celebrating St George's day as well ...........

The silence was defeating and he's a vermin fud into the bargain so feck him, feck the plastic Paddies and :fth:

All well and good.

But a bit of a woosh moment I feel,...Champ.

Bollocks we should.

We are (or were) a Presbyterian country.

Stick your saints' days.

are you for real?

Seems from reading a few comments some people in Ireland are a bit embarrassed its become associated with drunkeness.

Is that not what the Irish do best, whoops forgot, murder torture and mayhem is their specialty, cuddly leprechauns my erse

Seems from reading a few comments some people in Ireland are a bit embarrassed its become associated with drunkeness.

Well we could always celebrate their easy-going approach to different religions.

Sad - really sad

Is that not what the Irish do best, whoops forgot, murder torture and mayhem is their specialty, cuddly leprechauns my erse

Freedom fighters?

• 11 months later...
On 3/18/2017 at 00:21, Ray Gin said:

As predicted, the arseholes are having a party and making an utter racket. Sounds like there are about 30 folk round. The upstairs neighbours are also at this year for a double whammy.

St Paddy GTF

Probably same again this year Ray.

Edited by Morgan

The hijacking of St Patricks day by Guiness has to be one of the world greatest marketing strokes of all time.

Arseholes the world over falling for "the craic".

6 minutes ago, been here before said:

The hijacking of St Patricks day by Guiness has to be one of the world greatest marketing strokes of all time.

Arseholes the world over falling for "the craic".

16 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The great day is almost upon us :rolleyes:

Dig out the felt hats.

Thanks for the warning.

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Thanks for the warning.

My duty.

Sensible folk need to know to keep off the streets and out of the bars whilst these hilarious japesters delight all and sundry with there rapier sharp wit and legendary craic.

4 minutes ago, Barack said:

Imagine if England beat them in the rugby, to deny a Grand Slam. 

::greggy:

Now, there's a good reason to support England.

:greggy:

35 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Absolute NAP.  :seething:

You can’t get angry though. They’re such fun people and everyone loves them don’t you know?

One of the busiest days in the town centre...kerching:D

Also the day that I seen one of the most ludicrous things  in all the years I’ve been driving taxis. A guy and a girl in full view were doing it against the wall in the cowgate whilst the rest of the street (a hell of a lot of people) were cheering them on and they weren’t bothered in the slightest.

On 14/03/2017 at 14:22, Locky said:

Probably covered in the Seethe thread somewhere but thought it deserves its own.

Why the **** do people make such a big deal about this? I'm talking people who've not even got a hint of Irish in them, planning nights out and St Paddy's themed parties.

I'm part Irish myself, and I couldn't give a toss. We don't even celebrate our own day.

Its the worst. 

Yaaay lets wear green, party & get pist. 

They dont even know when St.Andrews day is. 

27 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

One of the busiest days in the town centre...kerching:D

Also the day that I seen one of the most ludicrous things  in all the years I’ve been driving taxis. A guy and a girl in full view were doing it against the wall in the cowgate whilst the rest of the street (a hell of a lot of people) were cheering them on and they weren’t bothered in the slightest.

Were they wearing green felt hats?

If so, that would be enough for it to be ‘a right good laugh’.

To be sure.

Blarney stone my erky.

18 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Its the worst. 

Yaaay lets wear green, party & get pist. 

They dont even know when St.Andrews day is. 

It’s pathetic PJ.

Why do they do it?

The day where the dregs of society arise from their Nandos and TOWIE enduced coma to flood the city with arseholery and borderline-cagefight-worthy drunken thuggery. It's okay though because it's all "craic" and "baaantz".

struggling to get "the seethe"

people out having a beer and  a laugh

join in or don't

who cares

1 hour ago, Barack said:

Should’ve taken her somewhere private.

Say...up a back passage?

:oohmatron:

As you say :oohmatron:

15 minutes ago, His name is said:

I might bring a tricolour to the game to celebrate 

That’ll go down well :lol:

3 hours ago, Barack said:

Should’ve taken her somewhere private.

Say...up a back passage?

:oohmatron:

I've seen that happen, and it was in the Cowgate as well, Niddry St South I think. :D You wouldn't get that sort of dross in the Canongate..

2 hours ago, His name is said:

I might bring a tricolour to the game to celebrate 

St Patrick was English though..

St Patricks Day.

Guinness and those giant green hats.

People pretending to care about it so they can get drunk.

People getting drunk and violent then excusing it as "good bantz".

Americans desperately tracing their family history for a miniscule connection to absolutely anything Irish.

giphy.gif

1 hour ago, LesJambes said:

St Patrick was English though.

Good excuse for a UJ then (not that we need one). Drying my teatowel right now, got it prepped and ready and just about to go over "Fathers Advice".

Edited by peter_hmfc

10 hours ago, peter_hmfc said:

Good excuse for a UJ then (not that we need one). Drying my teatowel right now, got it prepped and ready and just about to go over "Fathers Advice".

as St Patrick's Saltire is an integral part of the Union Flag that would be quite apt mate!

:greggy: