We are treating derbys like its a normal game

mellors1874

That is one win out of 7 against a poor Hibs under the DOF'S tenure.

I presume you are ignoring his record when he was manager? Just making up the stories to suit your agenda?

• Replies 102

Give it a rest you ffs!!!

Constantly on at levein but you stood next to him getting your photo taken like a wee mouse!!

Big man on an internet eh, you wouldn't say boo to the man.

He's right though.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Add in his time as manager and and it's 9 wins out of 28. 6 losses in 28. Add in his playing record and it's 36 wins out of 86, only 15 defeats in 86 matches. He has probably been on the winning side in Edinburgh derbies more than times than any other Hearts connected person in our entire history. And your point is?

Put like that, won 9 lost 6 in 28 doesn't look so great.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

yes, it's all Leveins fault, as usual.

He's the man in charge of the football department. I'd have thought the performance of the team was well within his remit.

Really? Must be the only one then seeing he was hooked at half time for being so out of his depth against a team that plays in the league below us. The boy is another Osh.

3.5 year deal as well. No incentive to work hard and do well

Get it stopped hearts

Thats about 5 to 6 games vs this mob we have lost the battle out there

That today was slow paced and hibs wanted it more

Thats unacceptable

No we aren't!

maroonnicky63

Has anyone else noticed that the worst offenders these days seem to be home grown players like Walker and Nicholson?

They completely **** off when playing Hibs as if they don't want to pump their wee pals like Cummings.

ha ha ha total shite from a shite fan , what game did you watch. It was a poor game  nothing at all to do with home grown talent, go and get something to moan at properly instead of coming on here with such stupid throw away comments , the 2 '' home grown talent'' didn't play any better or any worse than anyone else. IT WAS A POOR GAME ALL ROUND , GET OVER IT

Trapper John McIntyre

Too many of our players go missing when it gets tough. Maybe we just don't have the players for the grind of playing on days like today.

Walker and Nicholson are fly-weights when it gets physical. They're always posted missing. When you compare them to someone from the past like like wee John Colquhoun, none of the two of them are fit to lace his boots.

We need one or two hard nuts ala Brellier to dig us out.

We're powder puff at the moment.

Lucille's Thirsty

It's something we've done when Neilson came in and don't know what the man said or did but you can see it's sticking,we've lost two derbies in the last 6 whilst 4 have been draws and you saw the Hibs support they were delighted at getting a replay that's how small time they are and we need to start putting them back in their place.

I presume you are ignoring his record when he was manager? Just making up the stories to suit your agenda?

I didn't blame Levein, just highlighted a fact that seems to have hit a raw nerve with some.

Since he became D.o.F he has presided over 1 win in 7.

He is not here as a player or manager right now btw.

Since he became D.o.F he has presided over 1 win in 7.

He is not here as a player or manager right now btw.

So what effect can the DoF have on the last 7 games v Hibs? He isn't involved in day to day team matters. You have lost me now.

In recent derby matches I get a real sense that the Hibs fans are increasingly confident, as are their management (both Stubbs and Lennon), whereas we seem to be nervous and not particularly optimistic. These things go in cycles but I really hope we can address this soon and destroy them at ER.

So what effect can the DoF have on the last 7 games v Hibs? He isn't involved in day to day team matters. You have lost me now.

I never said any of the above. I said we have won 1 out of 7 in his time as D.o.F., that fact seems to have hit a nerve.

Let's hope it is 2 out of 8.

Thought Police

not really getting mate are you? Did you think we looked likely to win as the game went on?

Hibs are average but sometimes average teams who have a gameplan and have players running themselves into the ground come away with a result when the opposition can't handle a bit physicality.

Hearts weren't convincing and they'll(H1b5) play the same way at Fester. It's therefore down to how we deal with that and try to impose ourselves.

So I don't get how they were better than us?

What dire reading this thread is. Neither team won. Both defences dominated. Both midfields struggled. All strikers were chasing shadows. It was a dire draw on a terrible pitch. Nothing more, nothing less.

So I don't get how they were better than us?

I never said they were. I said we hardly looked convincing.

Excluding the goals is was almost a carbon copy of last years game. We fell away in the 2nd half, don't you see that as slightly concerning?

We've not done enough to win today. A workmanlike Hibs got a replay and their tails are now up.

If a bit fight is all they have to show to ruffle a supposed better Hearts team then that doesn't send the right signal to the support.

I didn't blame Levein, just highlighted a fact that seems to have hit a raw nerve with some.

The fact is that since Levein arrived we got back into the top league at the first attempt, with a 3rd place finish to boot when we got back, and Hibs are still down there.

Would rather that than a couple more derby wins.

The fact is that since Levein arrived we got back into the top league at the first attempt, with a 3rd place finish to boot when we got back, and Hibs are still down there.

Would rather that than a couple more derby wins.

Wouldnae mind a Scottish Cup as well in that time.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer

Dangerous to surrender the initiative in a derby fixture, which we did for no apparent reason in the Championship season. As you say and as we're finding to our cost, it's extremely difficult to wrest it back.

100% agree

work to be done and has to be a main objective in the replay (obviously) and next season assuming they come up

they didn't nick it today though which they might have done a few weeks or months ago. even although they didnt create almost anything our improved defence showed up well today, looked much less likely to give them a cheap goal and an undeserved result

Apart from a draw the most disappointing thing for me today was the atmosphere. Drowned out by Hibs. Embarrassing.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer

You need to win the battle though. That's something we did consistently in the past. Then the quality comes through. Right now we are losing the battle and the only reason we didn't get beat today is we have better players than them. But keep playing like that and they will get a chance and score, just as they did last season.

robbo, jc, levein etc played in plenty games exactly like todays

in fact they got totally outplayed in some but more often than not dug-out at least a draw 

Ah good old Gambo logic :lol: Every bad result is Levein's fault.

What was CL's record like as a player and manager against Hibs?

Ah good old Gambo logic :lol: Every bad result is Levein's fault.

What was CL's record like as a player and manager against Hibs?

Where did I say it was Levein's fault?

Is his role as player or manager now?

It needs the local guys in the team to impress on the new guys that the game is played at 100 miles an hour and no prisoners are taken.

Rudi5kaceldream1ng

It's something we've done when Neilson came in and don't know what the man said or did but you can see it's sticking,we've lost two derbies in the last 6 whilst 4 have been draws and you saw the Hibs support they were delighted at getting a replay that's how small time they are and we need to start putting them back in their place.

Haha are you blaming Robbie for today? We were pish,yes but certainly not stylegods fault. We are inconsistent though which is maddening. To dismantle a team in our last game at tynecastle and then put that performance in...

Arthur Mitchell

Gutless. Bullied all over the pitch. Lost every tackle and they won every second ball. We missed Kitchen big time.

Our wingers were ineffective, providing no service to Goncalves who was isolated and being marked out the game by McGregor and Forster. Tziolis tried to get on the ball but conditions were poor and Keatings was obviously tasked to buzz about him and not let him play.

Now these new guys know what to expect from the wee team, they'll run all day and make it hard to play, but they have zero ability. I expect a much improved performance in the replay, I'll be ****ing furious if we go out to this mob.

It needs the local guys in the team to impress on the new guys that the game is played at 100 miles an hour and no prisoners are taken.

Unfortunately our local boys were two of the worst performers/triers.

Strange as I seen Avlonitis win about 15 headers with my own eyes...

You must be ****ing joking :lol:

They won around 75% of the headers today.

yep gambo is right on that one.

I don't buy the only 'local guys' get the Derby therefore we need more local guys.

It's an odd scenario - yes it is a different type of game but then it should still be a game that the better team (Hearts) should win no matter how Hibs approach it.

I think the reality is, whether we like it or not, that here has been a bit of a momentum shift.

Not that Hibs now go out thinking they will win, but it is clear that they don't go out thinking they will probably lose - as they did up until 2012/2013.

If we are being honest we won a shed load of games this century where the teams were evenly matched because Hibs had no bottle whatsoever.

I remember Ryan McGowan being quoted a couple of years ago saying From day one, we were told that we do not loose to Hibs. Obviously changed under the new regime

maroonnicky63

I wont read a better post than this today.

Sam and Jamie lack a pair of balls when its scrappy.

stop talking utter shite, walker and nicholson were no worse than any other players on the park , it was a poor game simple as that. Thats what gets me on here people like you who come on here and individually pick on certain players. Walker has been playing very well lately and has been a class act as far as I am concerned , nicholson has come back from a 4 month injury and is getting back to fitness and you have the Gaul to pick on these two.Get a life and realize that some times you just get a bad game and that was a bad game yesterday where no player hearts or hibs were anything special

So all the JKB "experts" that told us it was Neilsons fault in previous derbies have now come to the conclusion it's Levein's !!!!

A man that hardly ever lost a derby as a player or a manager

maroonnicky63

Get it stopped hearts

Thats about 5 to 6 games vs this mob we have lost the battle out there

That today was slow paced and hibs wanted it more

Thats unacceptable

if hibs wanted it more they would have won it , it was a poor game that's all , have you never seen one before , last year was changing the tactics at half time when were strolling the game so that was down to the manager not the players. Its about time some of you got of the players back for a change. Very poor game but that's all it was , seen a thread on here blaming the 2 local lads Walker and Nicholson absolute joke picking 2 players from a game where no one played well at all

OMG this place is getting worse

I was taking the utter piss but sadly some people will believe this is a genuine option.

SOS to Gary Locke for Wednesday week. This dressing room needs you.

i get this, Lockie is a derby specialist in motivation, could we not hire him as a consultant for these games,

We are lacking guts against Hibs since he left the club

i get this, Lockie is a derby specialist in motivation, could we not hire him as a consultant for these games,

We are lacking guts against Hibs since he left the club

because of course that wouldn't undermine cathro

There is nothing wrong with treating it as a normal game, Paulo Sergio always said that, and he won every game against Hibs.

Oh aye. And of course he had a team chock full of players like Black, McGowan, Skacel, Webster and Zaliukas who treated it like "just another game" too.

So are you saying that his player disobeyed his orders?

Wait now. You're suggesting the players I mentioned above treated the Hibs game the same as any other because of something Sergio might have told a journalist? This place...

OK, you win. A derby meant no more to Rudi Skacel than any other fixture.

Wait now. You're suggesting the players I mentioned above treated the Hibs game the same as any other because of something Sergio might have told a journalist? This place...

OK, you win. A derby meant no more to Rudi Skacel than any other fixture.

Exactly. A manager gauges his players, gets to know them.

PS was probably playing it down to temper the players a bit knowing their natural aggression to the fixture takes hold anyway, trying to find the balance with focus.

I remember Gary MacKays story of being given an aspirin by Sandy Jardine at training the day before his second Derby but told him it was a sleeping tablet. MacKay couldn't sleep before his first Derby and didn't play well.

SJ was trying to calm him down , trick of the mind and showed MacKay that he can actually control his emotions but still give the right level of performance.