"Ambition and clowns drove Robbie south"

redm

Whilst that may be the current reality, it's a defeatist attitude.

If the Cthro/Mcphee partnership comes into being it confirms that we are prepared to do things differently.

It's been decades since at team outside Glasgow won the league. The old way of thinking has not been successful. Maybe a fresh way of thinking might be

At some point in time a team that's not not Celtic or Sevco WILL win the league.

We could do it of course but it would be a miracle, and probably one-off, season unfortunately. Us beating Celtic to the title would be a bigger shock than Leicester winning the EPL.

The financial gulf between us and them is wider than between Leicester and the top EPL teams and that is already looking like a one-off shock result.

That's being realistic not defeatist.

• Replies 147

Ambition = money thesedays.

Otherwise why be a banker say instead of a doctor. Or a general assistant on an oil rig instead of working in a profession onshore for half the money.

Same in football. Better wages, better (in theory which relies on a degree of success) chance of progression

Yep.  It's a regrettable turn of events when a leading Scottish club has less money than a League One side with 7-8,000 turning up for games.  But we are where we find ourselves, I guess.

It's a regrettable turn of events when someone moving from a leading Scottish club to a League One side with 7-8,000 turning up for games is regarded as being driven by ambition.

"IF" it were to work out for him down there, he will receive a lot more attention than anything, other than winning the league, would ever get him from our set-up. Sad but true.

I hope he does well, but as you are saying, MK Dons???

Yep.  It's a regrettable turn of events when a leading Scottish club has less money than a League One side with 7-8,000 turning up for games.  But we are where we find ourselves, I guess.

English football offers the potential to progress from League One to the EPL though and MK Dons looks as good a platform as any. Look at Bournemouth. I remember people scoffing when Ryan Fraser left Aberdeen for them in League One and he's now winning games for them against Liverpool.

Never heard of the guy, but he turned that game completely around.

Ambition = money thesedays.

Otherwise why be a banker say instead of a doctor. Or a general assistant on an oil rig instead of working in a profession onshore for half the money.

Same in football. Better wages, better (in theory which relies on a degree of success) chance of progression

Probably more likely they did not have five A's in their highers (assuming they ever wanted to be a doctor) rather than money although junior Dr's aren't exactly on the breadline. Add to that the % of bank workers who are not paid extremely well massively outweighing those who are tells me you don't know what you're talking about. One of Robbie's factors for leaving was they (MK Dons) would put him in a better position for the next move up the ladder in England than remaining at HMFC. And, when you look at the value of transfers between English clubs against those from Scotland to England it's easy to see why he thought that.

Its a tad embarrassing to see some Hearts supporters siding with the ramblings of a slavering Hibs cretin like Smith over the opinions of other Hearts supporters.

Going on to use the words of said Hibs cretin in a bid to 'get it up' other supporters of their own club is even more so.

Its a tad embarrassing to see some Hearts supporters siding with the ramblings of a slavering Hibs cretin like Smith over the opinions of other Hearts supporters.

Going on to use the words of said Hibs cretin in a bid to 'get it up' other supporters of their own club is even more so.

According to Robbie Neilson, it was Sir Alex Ferguson who advised him the move was the right thing to do. Alex Smith sounded him out about it and SAF replied that it was a good move. The main reasons appear to be that MK Dons are a stable club with ambition, nobody moves from the Scottish Premiership straight to the English Premier League and that after a bit of research on their owner and ambitions, they can help Robbie get to where he wants to be; the EPL.

In saying that, Robbie I am sure has a lot more style and class than to whine in the press about the stupidity and arseholery of a few of the fans he is leaving behind, be they plane hirers, thick neds or just Internet Mourinhos.

His reasons for moving I can accept. They make sense. I just hope the new guy is not subject to the same counterproductive keech as he was.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/robbie-neilson-sir-alex-told-me-to-leave-but-i-won-t-raid-hearts-1-4308802

According to Robbie Neilson, it was Sir Alex Ferguson who advised him the move was the right thing to do. Alex Smith sounded him out about it and SAF replied that it was a good move. The main reasons appear to be that MK Dons are a stable club with ambition, nobody moves from the Scottish Premiership straight to the English Premier League and that after a bit of research on their owner and ambitions, they can help Robbie get to where he wants to be; the EPL.

In saying that, Robbie I am sure has a lot more style and class than to whine in the press about the stupidity and arseholery of a few of the fans he is leaving behind, be they plane hirers, thick neds or just Internet Mourinhos.

His reasons for moving I can accept. They make sense. I just hope the new guy is not subject to the same counterproductive keech as he was.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/robbie-neilson-sir-alex-told-me-to-leave-but-i-won-t-raid-hearts-1-4308802

correct.

Probably more likely they did not have five A's in their highers (assuming they ever wanted to be a doctor) rather than money although junior Dr's aren't exactly on the breadline. Add to that the % of bank workers who are not paid extremely well massively outweighing those who are tells me you don't know what you're talking about. One of Robbie's factors for leaving was they (MK Dons) would put him in a better position for the next move up the ladder in England than remaining at HMFC. And, when you look at the value of transfers between English clubs against those from Scotland to England it's easy to see why he thought that.

Robbie had and has ambition, he'll do well, not stellar, much as his playing career, limited ability for the high level he managed to play at, tenacity and effort application saw through.

As it will in his management career, he's a grafter, who does not suffer fools gladly. Not innovative or original, so will always be at a certain level.

I think we were entertaining year one, frustrating year 2, this season - all too often we've not been in the least bit entertaining.. we have opened up the last 3/4 games.. however the start of the season was very poor

This seems diametrically at odds with what has happened this season.

Once the league started this season we had a run of games where we played good attacking football but just couldn't get the goals.

It was as close to an agreed view as you can get on here that we were all over teamsbut not scoring.

Then the last 6 games things have gone a 'bit last season' in which time we beat rangers and have drawn 3-3 and 2-2 twice respectively.

I repeat that high scoring draws are not not entertaining - they are, however annoying and shite results against bottom 6 teams.

So it was the right time for him and Sir Alex had already told him he needed to move to further his career, but......

It was down to a select few who drove him out :rofl:

The same posters are consistent I'll give them that [emoji23]

Like I said before, if he can't handle murmurings or discontent from supporters then coaching/management really isn't the job for him.

Bring Back Paulo Sergio

So it was the right time for him and Sir Alex had already told him he needed to move to further his career, but......

Like I said before, if he can't handle murmurings or discontent from supporters then coaching/management really isn't the job for him.

Feeling under rated and being under pressure is two completely different things.

Did I miss the article from a Aiden Smith on how his beloved hibs fans drove wee pat out the door and were relegated as a result by appointing the old firm media darling Terry Butcher. Did I miss his article of how old firm media darling stubbs failed at hibs and how old firm media darling lennon is struggling to get any day light between hibs and the rest in the championship again. Or do I just have to read pish and wind about us from him...total *****

That's where I'm at with him. He has done some very decent articles on ex-Hearts players before. As for this piece, It actually started off quite well, and to be fair to him he says he repeatedly asked Robbie for interviews which were politely declined, so he's limited to speculation to some extent.

However, he just can't help himself with his Hibbishness, and crowbaring in a reference to 7-0 is just embarrassing. Not offensive, just embarrassing.

which happened almost 44 years ago!

I've no idea how old AS is but looking at his picture I'd guess he's in his 40's so why go on about a game he most probably wasn't at? 

The writer didn't say it was the only reason, it was one among many. The loud minority doing stunts to try get Neilson to go were hard to ignore when they hire planes and stick up bedsheets in the city centre, as pathetic as it is.

The point I got from the article was of all the things to protest and hire planes for in Hearts' history, Neilson was hardly worthy of it.

The writer didn't say it was the only reason, it was one among many. The loud minority doing stunts to try get Neilson to go were hard to ignore when they hire planes and stick up bedsheets in the city centre, as pathetic as it is.

The point I got from the article was of all the things to protest and hire planes for in Hearts' history, Neilson was hardly worthy of it.

Is it harsh to suggest there was hardly a backlash to these protests, in the form of massive vocal support for Robbie?

I'm not suggesting "We Love Robbie" bedsheets but vocal support at the games?

Is it harsh to suggest there was hardly a backlash to these protests, in the form of massive vocal support for Robbie?

I'm not suggesting "We Love Robbie" bedsheets but vocal support at the games?

"One Robbie Neilson!" heard on occasion. I enjoyed that. :)

Article about Neilson, but waxing lyrical about 0-7 and the cup

Boring hubs welt

Spot on. An obsessed slaver.

I haven't read the article and I don't intend to tbh. Someone on here said (not sure it fact) that he AS handy actually spoken to Robbie. If true then what a crock of shit! Like I said, I read it on here (must be true) [emoji3]

Robbie wasn't the first to have planes with banners fly over and he won't be the last. Like it or not it's part n parcel of the modern day supporter.

ginger jambo98

I've no idea how old AS is but looking at his picture I'd guess he's in his 40's so why go on about a game he most probably wasn't at? 

He's 57, I was in his wee brother's class at Primary School (his bro was a Celtic fan !!)

Hey Mr Aidan Smith who said this:

"Sir Alex told me to go down south"

Stick that in your rag ya radge !

Going on to use the words of said Hibs cretin in a bid to 'get it up' other supporters of their own club is even more so.

Absolute riddy from guys who get a hard on for mediocrity. I guess that's why they like Aiden Smith. And Robbie's record against Hibs come to think of it.

If you think the last 2.5 seasons have been mediocre you're not going to have much fun as a Jambo.

I haven't read the article and I don't intend to tbh. Someone on here said (not sure it fact) that he AS handy actually spoken to Robbie. If true then what a crock of shit! Like I said, I read it on here (must be true) [emoji3]

Robbie wasn't the first to have planes with banners fly over and he won't be the last. Like it or not it's part n parcel of the modern day supporter.

No. He stalked him and robbie slung him a deefy. Smith incorporates this into his article of fantasy. He should stick to hibs I think the old woman in the pie stand still gives him exclusives!

If you think the last 2.5 seasons have been mediocre you're not going to have much fun as a Jambo.

You got the name of a team from last season that we finished above that you're happy to accept finishing behind? World beaters like Ross County or Hamilton perhaps?

From that EEN article:

Those players won?t be from Tynecastle, even though he would love to take certain ones to England. ?I can?t afford them, to be perfectly honest,? he laughed. ?Hearts have some good players and if I could take them, I would. They?re too expensive. Arnaud Djoum is phenomenal, Bjorn Johnsen, John Souttar, Jamie Walker, Callum Paterson. These guys are going to cost ?1million and ?2m. We?re not in that market.?

Robbie may be talking out his erse here, but if anyone is listening he's pumping up the market on these guys, putting cash in Hearts' bank account in the end.

PHM

He'll be closer to 60, he was 2 years below me at Broughton Secondary I'm 62.

I usually fly when I head south, but if I ever catch a bus in future, it'll be 'Ambition and Clowns', that take me.

Darth Sidious

According to Barry the Crab on Sportsound last night.  Neilson couldn't work under a Director of Football like Levein.  That was the reason he left.  Don't think he thinks Cathro can do much either.

On a side not.  Donald Park was very happy and complimentary with the appointment.

According to Barry the Crab on Sportsound last night. Neilson couldn't work under a Director of Football like Levein. That was the reason he left. Don't think he thinks Cathro can do much either.

On a side not. Donald Park was very happy and complimentary with the appointment.

Wee Bazza just making things up? I hope someone in the studio asked him to explain how he came to this conclusion?

correct.

Is that the same leech that our new head coach himself has come out with?

He'll be closer to 60, he was 2 years below me at Broughton Secondary I'm 62.

yep - pretty sure he was mates with guys a year younger than me who I played footie with at uni - would make him 59

Clearly it's an easy life being a journalist rather than doing a proper job then. 

At the end of the day, in football you have to take the move when your stock is high. Otherwise suitors just think you aren't interested so move on. This is why CP will also leave - I just hope we can find a Naysmith mechanism to get a good fee, as it would be better for Calum (Young players get into sides when the investment is in form of a transfer fee). Freebies go straight to the bench or development team as a certain LB/CB is finding in the north east...

Is that the same leech that our new head coach himself has come out with?

Cathro hired the plane and photoshopped his new bosses' heads on to pornographic material? Bloody hell, he really is a "risky" appointment. Quite clever of him to undermine his predecessor by pinning soiled bedsheets to bridges and making up shite nicknames for him too. Frankly, I'm starting to agree about him being a genius... He must have been hopping on late night trains from Newcastle like some sort of Banksy type character.

:wow:

It was shite football managment that drove Robbie south ... THE END.

You escaped?

Robbie went down to test himself in the English leagues and hopefully work his way up to the EPL.

That's it.

Nobody drove him away, be it from our fans or inside the club.

This Hibs erse can dae one.

Robbie went down to test himself in the English leagues and hopefully work his way up to the EPL.

That's it.

Nobody drove him away, be it from our fans or inside the club.

This Hibs erse can dae one.

Pretty much this.

I couldn't help noticing Sky Sports News coverage of this last night - about 30 seconds of Cathro being appointed our manager, and a good 5 minutes on Robbie getting the MK Dons gig.

Says all we need to know about British football, and probably why our managers and players always look south.

glastonbury jambo

You escaped?

i was banned for that whole VLAD affair ...shhh dont talk about it , but now im back and its great YYYAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSS CATHRO!!!

Never knew Kris was involved in Robbies departure.

Best bit about the "brutal" Locky sacking was that this wankstain never got to play for our great club