Whisky

I'm getting to the age when a man should cultivate more mature pastimes. Not quite at the bird watching stage yet but I've been making an effort recently to appreciate whisky. Got my beginner self a bottle of Balvenie Doublewood and an Aberlour 10 ('cause it was cheap). What else would JKB recommend?

Cardu. Johnnie Walker Blue Label (if yer minted). Lagavulin

Not minted. Seen Cardhu mentioned before though. Thanks.

Just try different ones, and if you like one 'style' try others of similar style.

E.g Speysides are different from Islay's which are different from Lowland etc.

There should be no hard and fast rules* just than try and decide what you like for yourself and don't be overly influenced by what others say.

If you can try and visit a distillery or two and also try and go to a whisky tasting evening.

*Well apart from no coke!

Caedenheads (sp?) in the Royal Mile is a great wee shop that will allow you a sample or two - and trust may, they aint mean with their measures!

One of the guys who work in the shop recommended a 21 year old North British grain whisky and it is the most amazing drink I have ever had. Sadly there are no 21 year old lefts but still a few 18 year olds...... :uhoh2:

Whisky is all about your own pallet and one persons recommendation you may find vile. I would recommend sampling as many and as wide a variety as possible to allow you to know where your tastes lie :2thumbsup:

Should add that I got into whisky after a tour of the Glenkinchie distillery. Nice light taste and very easy to drink... Would also recommend the Springbank distillery tour at Campletown. Fortunately there is an Indian restaurant nearby to help sober you up.

Just try different ones, and if you like one 'style' try others of similar style.

E.g Speysides are different from Islay's which are different from Lowland etc.

There should be no hard and fast rules* just than try and decide what you like for yourself and don't be overly influenced by what others say.

If you can try and visit a distillery or two and also try and go to a whisky tasting evening.

*Well apart from no coke!

Good advice.

Is Pepsi okay? :)

Got a Bowmore for Fathers Day and a Glenmorangie for my birthday. Both fine by me. Best thing is trying everything to find what you like!

His name is

Was up North a month ago and thought I should try some whisky, had a wee glenchinchie 10 yr old in the hotel, it was quite smooth and drinkable. Then did the glenmorangie tour in Tain and had the 10 yr old, again quite good

Isle of Jura I have always liked and bridges the gap between Highland or Speyside and the island malts of you don't like the peat. Glenfarclass is my favourite speyside and MacAllan a close second.

just finished doing a job for a 50 year old balvenie. done a job for them 2 year ago also.another 50 year old. don't quote me but they were either 20k or 4ok a bottle

Isle of Jura I have always liked and bridges the gap between Highland or Speyside and the island malts of you don't like the peat. Glenfarclass is my favourite speyside and MacAllan a close second.

My laddie got me a bottle of 10 year old Jura Origin which was lovely, now got a bottle of Jura Superstition which I'm looking forward to trying.

Highland Park with just a splash of water and definitely no ice.

12 year old is the commonest but the 18 is a treat.

Stuart Lyon

Tesco's highland malt and their Tayside malt are excellent value for money. Currently ?21 a bottle.

Not something I drink.

But curious as to why folk add water?

Genuinely clueless.

Pete Seeger

Glenfarclas is nectar. Beautiful malt.

Personally I stick to the islands but that's because of my smokey palette. Just try different regions and see what you like but I'd recommend staying away from lowland and Campbeltown.

And try to get someone to take you to the whiskey society on leith.

Pete Seeger

Not something I drink.

But curious as to why folk add water?

Genuinely clueless.

Any more than a cubes a waste of a nip.

Bugsy Siegel

Adding a dash of water unleashes the flavour and you can taste it better. Some folk don't bother adding water it's an each to their own thing.

Pete Seeger

Adding a dash of water unleashes the flavour and you can taste it better. Some folk don't bother adding water it's an each to their own thing.

:what:

ArcticJambo

I recommend that in a year's time you send me whisky and I'll send you iceberg ice. Deal? :D

Glenfarclas is nectar. Beautiful malt.

Personally I stick to the islands but that's because of my smokey palette. Just try different regions and see what you like but I'd recommend staying away from lowland and Campbeltown.

And try to get someone to take you to the whiskey society on leith.

Anything from Glenfarclas is indeed nectar.

But you're doing Campbeltown a great disservice. Both Springbank and Longrow are excellent. I also like Glenkinchie (from Pencaitland).

And did I mention that I have an unopened bottle of 1937 Macallan in the booze cabinet?

Anything from Glenfarclas is indeed nectar.

But you're doing Campbeltown a great disservice. Both Springbank and Longrow are excellent. I also like Glenkinchie (from Pencaitland).

And did I mention that I have an unopened bottle of 1937 Macallan in the booze cabinet?

Well, I'm tempted to run out and get a Glenfarclas tomorrow.

How did you end up with the Macallan?

Well, I'm tempted to run out and get a Glenfarclas tomorrow.

How did you end up with the Macallan?

It was my Dad's. He bought it in the 1970s - for ?14 - and just kept it. It's worth thousands now. I've also got a bottle of 1956 Talisker. I'd quite like to get into buying and selling whisky. It has to be better than working for a living.

?14. :lol: A quick web search shows it could be worth over ?15,000. Well played.

It's a Gordon and McPhail bottling rather than a distillery bottling, so unfortunately you can probably divide that by three. Not complaining, though.

I did see a bottle of 1937 Macallan going for ?15,000 in the whisky shop at the very wonderful Vinopolis in London last year. I love specialist whisky shops. There's a great one over in Inveraray, and some of the shops in the Royal Mile are not bad.

Creepy Lurker

:what:

Refusing to dilute whisky and looking down on those who do is a 'wannabe connoisseur' type thing, IMO. It's actually recommended by many experts.

I work in a whisky shop just now, and the one I usually recommend to beginners is Glenkinchie. It's mild and a bit sweeter than most but still good quality and has a nice spicy finish. Otherwise it's really about trying a few and finding what you like. Beside those already mentioned a couple which are maybe not so well known that I often recommend are Tomatin and Tullibardine.

Pete Seeger

Refusing to dilute whisky and looking down on those who do is a 'wannabe connoisseur' type thing, IMO. It's actually recommended by many experts.

I work in a whisky shop just now, and the one I usually recommend to beginners is Glenkinchie. It's mild and a bit sweeter than most but still good quality and has a nice spicy finish. Otherwise it's really about trying a few and finding what you like. Beside those already mentioned a couple which are maybe not so well known that I often recommend are Tomatin and Tullibardine.

I'm by no means a connoisseur and I've maybe came across wrong on this thread. I just like a nip. I I just don't see the point in diluting malt whiskey unless it's cask strength. You lose the main flavours of the whisky and the cask by diluting it and maybe I am being snobbish but I want to drink and taste it as it's supposed to be.

I've never had tomatin but tullibardines not for me although I'm not actually sure which one I tried.

I'd imagine it'll have been mentioned further up but Jura would be a decent starting place for most. It's inoffensive and very enjoyable.

Jura origin is a smashing begginers malt. It's my favourite session whisky if I feel like opening a bottle and there's a good chance I'll be finishing it.

Otherwise I'm right in to the Bunnahabhain .

The 12yr old is bloody good, the 18yr old is sublime, and if you're lucky enough to get a cask strength down at the whisky society in Leith (number 10 on the bottle) then there's simply nothing better.

It's all down to personal taste though so just get wired in - and the cask strengths generally do need a splash of water. I like to add a wee drop bit by bit and taste the whisky changing as we go.

Marvellous stuff.

Marvellous.

Re adding water - the whisky tasting events I have attended have always explained that when whisky is poured into a glass the liquid forms a seal. A drop of water will break the seal and let the flavour expand. Pish was the response the first time i heard this.

The host asked us to taste an as yet unknown whisky and describe the flavours. He then added a single drop of water to each glass and asked us to describe the flavours again. He got a lot more feedback after a drop of water was added.

I now always add a drop of water to every nip

The only time I dilute whisky is if I have tried something new and not enjoying it too much. Sometimes it helps diluting it to get it down :toilet:

I really like a wee whisky. Particularly a glenfiddich.. unfortunately it doesnt like me! Its infuriating as id love to be able to discuss different malts etc...

For some reason im fine with rum though. Had a few nicer bottles over the years like Pussers (pushin 60%vol but didnt taste it!)...

Back to the whisky.. i think ill try a glenfarclas as recommended above. Sounds more like the lighter NOT PEATY drop i might enjoy. Cant stand peaty malts. Used to work in Halls and it just reminds me of the bacon smoker. It stank.

Im a bit of a pleb in whisky terms. Love it and in nearly half a century have only bought one bottle that was not eminently drinkable. That was in the USA . Buy blended as best VFM and but will drink malts if given to me. My main concern is the mixer I Use. Normally American Ginger Ale or good lemonade. Hate The ultra ginger Canada Dry.

Heresy? Dont give a toss. Love Scotch.

Im a bit of a pleb in whisky terms. Love it and in nearly half a century have only bought one bottle that was not eminently drinkable. That was in the USA . Buy blended as best VFM and but will drink malts if given to me. My main concern is the mixer I Use. Normally American Ginger Ale or good lemonade. Hate The ultra ginger Canada Dry.

Heresy? Dont give a toss. Love Scotch.

Nothing wrong with a blend at all. In fact, some of the deluxe blends are immense (imo) especially J&B.

As for being a pleb, nothing wrong with mixers at all either. I tend to drink my whisky (blend or malt) with ice in it. I understand the coldness of the ice reduces the flavour, but that's the way I like it.

Please yourself, not the chattering classes!

Creepy Lurker

I'm by no means a connoisseur and I've maybe came across wrong on this thread. I just like a nip. I I just don't see the point in diluting malt whiskey unless it's cask strength. You lose the main flavours of the whisky and the cask by diluting it and maybe I am being snobbish but I want to drink and taste it as it's supposed to be.

I've never had tomatin but tullibardines not for me although I'm not actually sure which one I tried.

I'd imagine it'll have been mentioned further up but Jura would be a decent starting place for most. It's inoffensive and very enjoyable.

Diluting it releases some of the flavour imo, the ethanol locks it in otherwise. I'm not talking huge amounts, though; it should be a few drops in most cases.

I really like Tomatin's Cu Bocan if you're interested, and tend to recommend the Tullibardine 228 Burgundy cask finish. Not saying these are better recommendations than the others on this thread (agree with most posted so far), just a wee bit less well known.

Nothing wrong with a blend at all. In fact, some of the deluxe blends are immense (imo) especially J&B.

As for being a pleb, nothing wrong with mixers at all either. I tend to drink my whisky (blend or malt) with ice in it. I understand the coldness of the ice reduces the flavour, but that's the way I like it.

Macallan 12 or 18 years old any day of the week, smooth rich and chocolatey.

If you are looking for something with a little bit of a kick go for a Glenfarclas

Or a peaty one that sells well in the bar is the Laphroaig (Isla), personally I hate it, reminds me of TCP.

I am not particularly a lover of Glenfiddich, but I had a 30 year old bottle for Christmas, needless to say it did not last until new year.

For a Blended whisky Ballantines is a good shout.

TheMaganator

Agreed with pleasing yourself.

I went to a whisky tasting at the SMWS and the whisky expert there encouraged you to add water - and not just becasue they are cask strenth.

The way he explained it to us was that when you pour a whisky a thin film forms on the top of the liquid in the glass - he likened it to when you see a film of oil on the top of water. To break that open and truly release the flavour you need to add water - he said.

Creepy Lurker

I'm quite enjoying Monkey shoulder just now...anyone else tried it ?

Not a fan of the self-consciously trendy marketing, but it's good stuff. Pretty unusual to find a blended malt. One of the best whiskies for mixing (it's made with that in mind).

Angry Haggis

Was in the Whisky Society in Leith last week to meet some people from work who are members.

They had whisky - I had a pint of something or another, just stayed for one drink as we were heading off to watch the WC semi final.

Not a massive whisky person me. When i do take a nip, I insist on a wee ice cube popped in.

What's your problem?

Nothing wrong with mixers in your whisky aye?

:muggy:

A 21 year old malt covered in cola aye?

As has been said a number of times, it really is all up to personal taste.

I like Glenmorangie; sometimes I add half-a-teaspoonful of water, usually I don't.

My daughter likes Dalwhinnie, my son-in-law likes Lagavullan, neither of them adds water. My wife is teetotal ... every family has a black sheep!

For blended whisky, I prefer Famous Grouse or J&B, always on the rocks.

Nothing wrong with mixers in your whisky aye?

:muggy:

A 21 year old malt covered in cola aye?

If that's what tastes best for an individual who are you or I to tell them that it is "wrong"?

I can't stand bananas, for example, but does that mean that no one else should eat them?

Aye bash on then making fine, aged whisky produced by experts, for years, taste like sugar.

Cheap shite like Scottish Leader, bash on with flavours.

But a proper single malt? Off yer rocker.

Fine wine?

Aye bash on then making fine, aged whisky produced by experts, for years, taste like sugar.

Cheap shite like Scottish Leader, bash on with flavours.

But a proper single malt? Off yer rocker.

Well I'm one of those 'experts', and couldn't give a toss how people drink it, as long as they keep paying my wages...

As for current favourites, for mainstream stuff, I'm quite enjoying Glen Ord, Benriach and Aberlour A'Bunadh at the moment. For something a bit more special, the Japanese Hibiki is lovely, as are most of the Adelphi bottlings.

Never cared for Jura or Macallan too much though, far too sulphury and heavy for my palate. And sadly, the Highland Park's gone right downhill recently.