Recommend a tv series

Posted
On 21/07/2024 at 13:56, superjack said:

I've just seen a trailer for those about to die. Looks really good. Anyone watched any of it yet?

I've got 1 more episode of supacell to go, then onto the new series of vikings valhalla, probably go onto those about to die after that.

On 21/07/2024 at 14:02, Tazio said:

I watched the first couple last night. Not groundbreaking but entertaining enough. It took me a few minutes to retune my brain to ignore the very obvious CGI on the big shots of the city and suchlike. 

I found the editing really annoying in the first episode, it's cut like a comedy show cutting quickly between each scene as they tried to throw lots of characters and information at you.

Warmed up by the 3rd episode, it's decent but not as gripping as game of thrones, vikings etc  but watchable 

• Replies 10k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Tazio

• Carl Fredrickson

• Ray Gin

Posted
On 21/07/2024 at 13:56, superjack said:

I've just seen a trailer for those about to die. Looks really good. Anyone watched any of it yet?

I've got 1 more episode of supacell to go, then onto the new series of vikings valhalla, probably go onto those about to die after that.

On 21/07/2024 at 14:02, Tazio said:

I watched the first couple last night. Not groundbreaking but entertaining enough. It took me a few minutes to retune my brain to ignore the very obvious CGI on the big shots of the city and suchlike. 

I found the editing really annoying in the first episode, it's cut like a comedy show cutting quickly between each scene as they tried to throw lots of characters and information at you.

Warmed up by the 3rd episode, it's decent but not as gripping as game of thrones, vikings etc  but watchable 

Posted
1 hour ago, Bozi said:

59 minutes ago, Bozi said:

58 minutes ago, Bozi said:

I’m not sure you’re the person to be critiquing editing. 🤣🤣

Posted
2 hours ago, Tazio said:

I’m not sure you’re the person to be critiquing editing. 🤣🤣

Site kept crashing earlier, now I know why 😂

Posted
20 hours ago, Tazio said:
  Hide contents

Vesuvius seems to have got hellish close to Rome. 

Needed for plot purposes in three (historical) months time presumably.

Posted

Wathed the finale of PRESUMED INNOCENT last night with Jake Gyllenhall and **** me that was brilliant.

Great series.

Posted
2 hours ago, AndyNic said:

Wathed the finale of PRESUMED INNOCENT last night with Jake Gyllenhall and **** me that was brilliant.

Great series.

Really enjoyed it 👍

Posted

Watched The Jetty. Bit too preachy for my liking.

Posted

Supa Cell

Decent 

Posted

5 episodes into series 4 of The Boys and it hasn’t half gone downhill.

really enjoyed the first 3 series as well

Posted
1 hour ago, 1971fozzy said:

5 episodes into series 4 of The Boys and it hasn’t half gone downhill.

really enjoyed the first 3 series as well

Aye the quality has taken a nose-dive.

Posted

House of the Dragon remains solid in Season 2.

Some people are moaning at the lack of action but this is, at heart, a political thriller and not an action show.

Some solid writing and great acting performances keep it gripping enough with just enough gore to keep the proles happy.

Posted

Eric (Netflix)

Benedict Cumberbatch stars as an alcoholic puppeteer whose 9 year old son disappears. Decent.

Posted

Steve Van Zandt -Disciple

Watch it on NOWTV last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Some life he has had. 

Mark_Mywords
Posted

Suspect on CH4.  Far fetched pish.  I'm trying to work out why I watched the whole series.

Posted
29 minutes ago, Mark_Mywords said:

Suspect on CH4.  Far fetched pish.  I'm trying to work out why I watched the whole series.

It's meant to be good shows 

Posted
On 25/07/2024 at 12:08, AndyNic said:

Great series.

I've watched this over the last few nights. Very good.

Posted

I have the three months trial of Apple TV so watching as much on that as I can, started Slow Horses last night and looks bloody good 

Posted
7 hours ago, Bozi said:

I have the three months trial of Apple TV so watching as much on that as I can, started Slow Horses last night and looks bloody good 

Slow Horses is feckin brilliant.

Posted

Anybody watched A Touch of Cloth?

watched one episode last night. Thought it was very funny. You need to really keep an eye on what is going on in the background of scenes too. 

Posted
10 minutes ago, Canscot said:

Anybody watched A Touch of Cloth?

watched one episode last night. Thought it was very funny. You need to really keep an eye on what is going on in the background of scenes too. 

Yeah it's brilliantly silly, Charlie Brooker should be a national treasure 

Posted
1 minute ago, Bozi said:

Yeah it's brilliantly silly, Charlie Brooker should be a national treasure 

I thought so too. Will continue binging it then. Surane Jones😍

Posted

House of the Dragon.

Season One was great. A tense, intelligent political thriller. With dragons.

Season Two, however, was seemingly just an 8 episode trailer for Season Three, which is two years away.

A very rapid fall in quality.

:what:

Posted
49 minutes ago, Cade said:

House of the Dragon.

Season One was great. A tense, intelligent political thriller. With dragons.

Season Two, however, was seemingly just an 8 episode trailer for Season Three, which is two years away.

A very rapid fall in quality.

:what:

Confirmed that season 4 will be the last.

Posted

Dark Matter.

Alternate reality sci fi show.
An interesting premise, some decent writing and good performances.
Just don't think too much about it and you'll be able to gloss over all the holes in the internal logic.

7/10

Posted

I've started rewatching Atlanta after spotting it on Disney+ and realising I've not seen the 4th season. 

Love this comedy-drama; weird and quirky humour that's up my street. Donald Glover (Childish Gambino) stars as a skint bloke who becomes the manager of his cousin after he releases a surprise hit rap single. The show is about their attempts to break in to the industry and the mental characters they need to deal with along the way.

Posted
On 01/08/2024 at 18:51, rudi must stay said:

It's meant to be good shows 

It's good to recommend not to bother watching shit shows,too.

Posted
On 30/01/2024 at 11:37, Malinga the Swinga said:

Enjoying Kleo on Netflix. Set during unification of Germany and is about Stasi assassin trying to figure out who betrayed her and why.

Has humourous undertone once you get past the killings.

Season 2 is on Netflix now. I've just finished it and it's still pretty enjoyable. Teases a Season 3 as well, although it could just finish here and be enough of an end (ie. no really big cliffhangers in Season 2 finale).

Posted
On 06/08/2024 at 23:07, Sooperstar said:

Confirmed that season 4 will be the last.

Would imagine so , the book died pretty quickly after the current characters of the show died too.

Loved Season One. Season Two less so, perhaps after getting bored and reading the book I had ruined most of it but the big episodes didnt really deliver. Daemon was wasted in Season 2, as soon as a show starts doing dream sequences its doomed. Actually enjoyed the final episode, but the full season did just work to build up the next and after finding out thats a two year wait..

Posted

Arsenal All Or Nothing on prime 

Posted
16 hours ago, rudi must stay said:

Arsenal All Or Nothing on prime 

Spoiler alert.Nothing.

Disser Pointon
Posted

Best interests on iplayer has been good, got 1 episode left. Martin Sheen never disappoints, terrific actor, and I like Sharon Horgan as well.

Posted
3 hours ago, Disser Pointon said:

Best interests on iplayer has been good, got 1 episode left. Martin Sheen never disappoints, terrific actor, and I like Sharon Horgan as well.

You mean Michael Sheen

Disser Pointon
Posted
49 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

You mean Michael Sheen

DOH, yes!

maltese jambo
Posted

The almighty Johnsons

Posted

Uninterrupted's Top Class Tennis on prime 

Posted

Finally finished the brothers sun. I wasn't sure at first, glad I persevere though as I really enjoyed it. 

Wad also watching house of the dragon at the same time, the old fashioned way, 1 episode per week. Again, really loved it. My only gripe being I need to wait 2 years for series 3.

Finally got round to start watching vikings valhalla. I'll probably have that finished by the weekend.

Posted

American Murder : Lacy Peterson

On netflix 

Posted

Just finished the jetty on iplayer. What an amazing programme that was. 

Posted

Time Bandits has finished its run.

Overall a nice little bit of fun, broken up into easily digestible little pieces of 25 minutes each.

Some jokes miss, some jokes hit, but being a Taika Waititititititi project, the jokes are one every 5 seconds so you can just ignore the bad ones.

Ends on a bit of a cliffhanger but if it gets cancelled then at least the ending acts a sort of prequel for the original Terry Gilliam film.

I know it's yet another "remake/sequel/prequel/reimagining/updating for modern audiences/whatever" project from a creatively bankrupt western entertainment industry but this is far from the worst offering in the last few years.

Worth a watch after a few wee bevvies.

Kids will lap it up.

7/10.

Posted

Started watching Bad Monkey on Apple TV. The usual Carl Hiaasen seedy Florida detective type thing. Lots of good characters and doesn’t take itself too seriously. 

Posted

Anybody watched Let the right one in TV series.

Loved the book and the films.

Posted

Finally getting round to Shogun. 3 episodes in and really enjoying it.

Posted

I’ve been watching Wyatt Earp And The Cowboy War on Netflix. Pretty interesting if you enjoy westerns and a lot more depth than the ones I’ve seen about them before. 

Posted
On 16/08/2024 at 13:23, Disser Pointon said:

Excellent.  Sheen and Horgan are really good.

Posted
On 23/08/2024 at 16:21, benny said:

Anybody watched Let the right one in TV series.

Loved the book and the films.

I've not watched it, so can't advise, but loved the book and films too. I never bothered watching the TV series when I noticed it had been cancelled after one season.

Posted

finally got around to watching the last series of the umbrella academy. decent final series but disappointed in the ending

Posted

Been binge watching Naked and Afraid on discovery Plus. 
I know a lot is staged but I’m addicted. 
The castaway series had a guy the double of Craig Halkett 😂