To hibs.net - here is how we're feeling tonight

wentworth jambo
24 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Maybe Hibs should have a go at ice hockey? They're certainly nae good at football... 

Boyle can't stand up on grass...imagine him on ice !!!

• Replies 10.1k

• Sooks

• martoon

• maroonlegions

• Wee Mikey

hereford_hearts
28 minutes ago, Turkishcap said:

The Edinburgh Capitals would skud them.

At football I assume? 

Turkishcap
1 hour ago, hereford_hearts said:

At football I assume? 

Both!

Jim_Duncan
2 hours ago, Turkishcap said:

The Edinburgh Capitals would skud them.

That’s ’Playoff trophy winning’ Edinburgh Capitals…

Turkishcap
1 minute ago, Jim_Duncan said:

That’s ’Playoff trophy winning’ Edinburgh Capitals…

And hopefully Scottish cup ,good double

Make that a treble if we pull it off

Edited by Turkishcap

2 hours ago, Sooks said:

Had to laugh at the “ Hibs will have the final veto “ bit ………… lets just see what that looks like in reality shall we :D 

Final Veto is the modern day turn the fax machine off. 

They are basically us in 2009 except without the potential for trophy’s as their club sporting success will be measured in players sales not League position.

Jim_Duncan
3 minutes ago, Turkishcap said:

And hopefully Scottish cup ,good double

Make that a treble if we pull it off

Indeed. Can’t make it to Dundee on Saturday night but was good to see them beat Kirkcaldy last Sunday and lift the trophy. Hopefully go one better next year and win the league. 

ShedBoy
2 hours ago, Sooks said:

Had to laugh at the “ Hibs will have the final veto “ bit ………… lets just see what that looks like in reality shall we :D 

The fact they felt they had to include that is worrying in itself.

Not for us though.

**** them 🤣

AllyjamboDerbyshire
1 minute ago, ShedBoy said:

Not for us though.

**** them 🤣

Very much this. To be in any way reassuring to Hibs supporters it should have read, 'the Hibs manager (whoever that might be) will have the final say on any signings', and, remember, Foley has a bigger say in what the 'club' might veto - or not - than the whole of the Hibs support does - for the shareholders are the club, and Foley and his mates on the board are far and away the major shareholders. Foley won't stand for anything that vetoes his plans (for himself and Bournemouth) and the Gordons won't stand in his way.

Finlay James
15 hours ago, Rods said:

Recruitment involving Bournemouth and big whoops they have a semi successful Ice Hockey team.

Hopefully they bring in the experience they have from Lorient that’s went well. 

This is looking even worse for hibs popcorn time.

IMG_0654.png

Mates of mine who are Hibbys are seeing right through all of this and recognise they are in serious bother.  They’ve sold their soul and for a club that already struggles to attract fans through the gate, very soon they will just become another Livi.

ooft - the good news stories keep on coming this week. Hibs and The Rangers have really provided some genuine joy this week. It is a delight to witness.

TheBigO
1 hour ago, Rods said:

Final Veto is the modern day turn the fax machine off. 

They are basically us in 2009 except without the potential for trophy’s as their club sporting success will be measured in players sales not League position.

How's that any different.  Hibs have for many years measured success in terms of player sales.  We'd always rather keep our good players, they crow about how good they are at selling them.  Would Shankland still be at Hibs?  No chance.

1 hour ago, TheBigO said:

How's that any different.  Hibs have for many years measured success in terms of player sales.  We'd always rather keep our good players, they crow about how good they are at selling them.  Would Shankland still be at Hibs?  No chance.

It’s been there comfort blanket maybe but it’s now practically the clubs point for existing. 

The whole Veto point is making me laugh why was that even needed to be mentioned.

Haha EEN running a story that hibs have 4 players in the most valuable bottom six XI 

Talk about scrapping the barrel for a positive story .

TheBigO
39 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Haha EEN running a story that hibs have 4 players in the most valuable bottom six XI 

Are Dhanda, Spittal and Penrice in the XI?

2 minutes ago, TheBigO said:

Are Dhanda, Spittal and Penrice in the XI?

Just Penrice valued at under 400k ,Youan is valued at 1.45m 😆 

EEN as cringey as those 'twin' bursds in their dougray season ticket promo :smuggy:

48 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

More to the point, Rubezic being worth >£1M is blasphemy. 

TheBigO
24 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Ooft! Take it they're taking it from some bullshit website like transfer market?

I'll put my chuckies on the table here and state with 99.999999% certainty that Yan Dhanda will have a more effective season next season than Elie Youan.  And I will value him at one squillon pounds.

Gorgierools
1 hour ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Costa Rican blats. Definitely not GBP

DesertDawg
20 hours ago, Rods said:

Recruitment involving Bournemouth and big whoops they have a semi successful Ice Hockey team.

The hockey team was built solely on money.  After building the stadium on the site of the Monte Carlo hotel on the Las Vegas Strip, with plenty of Las Vegas council and casino  financial support, they bribed the best goaltender (the critical player in hockey) in the NHL to play for them and act as a lure for a squad of other very highly paid mercenaries to join their squad. 

That they came close to winning the Stanley Cup in their first season, losing only to first time winners, after more than forty years in the NHL, the Washington Capitals in the final play-off series proved that the scheme could work.  They finally won the trophy after 5 years of trying in 2023 and have, one way or another, built a profitable enterprise which has been followed by the NFL, Formula One Grand Prix racing on the Strip and, from next year, Major League Baseball with their new stadium on the site of the historic Tropicana Hotel, also on the Strip.

The TV money in the English Premier League makes the investment in Bournemouth another potentially lucrative proposition but that doesn't translate to the SPFL apart from, maybe, regular European group stage participation, which is probably beyond a club the size of Bournemouth in the Premier League or L'Orient of Brittany in the French League Un.    

Quite how this model fits the Easter Road investment though, I have no idea. 

5 hours ago, ShedBoy said:

Not for us though.

**** them 🤣

Precisely 

2 hours ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Penrice is out of contract soon, vastly reduces a transfer value of a player.

I think hibs paid a lot of money for Youan,  maybe £900k is a season a go and he's got 2 years left on his contract. 

trotter
On 17/04/2024 at 11:29, Mr Sifter said:

When I think of Pat Nevin, I think of the CIS semi at Hampden v Rangers (Barry Ferguson basketball game 🙄). Nevin was on telly duties. Cue the halftime chat between him and John Collins, which was taking place in a temporary studio situated in the Hearts end. Was it right that many of us got on each others shoulders so we could bang on the window and shout obscenities at Nevin and Collins? No for me to say…but Nevin was ****ing raging 🤣🤣

Watched it back on TV and to be fair Collins smirked his way through it all, whilst Nevin started his half time analysis by having a dig at Rock Steady Security for their lack of protection 🤣🤣🤣

Still haven’t decided to this day whether Nevin is a good guy who can sometimes be a dick…or a dick who can sometimes be a good guy 🤔

IIRC correctly, he came on here to personally apologize after his son (who he revealed was/is on the spectrum) came on and started launching insults left, right and centre. He didn't have to do that.

Nevin = good guy in my book. Keeps criticism to where/when it's due, and doesn't appear to have any agenda/axe to grind with us.

1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said:

I think hibs paid a lot of money for Youan,  maybe £900k is a season a go and he's got 2 years left on his contract. 

depreciated faster than a Tesla becuase he’s absolutely guff. 

db211833
1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said:

If the site took contract end dates into account then Penrice would be zero. He cannot be bought as we are not in any tranfer window and he has 5 games of his contract left. I think the site they use is just garbage, it has Lewis Miller at 675000. And Boyle isn't far away from Shanks valuation.

7 minutes ago, trotter said:

IIRC correctly, he came on here to personally apologize after his son (who he revealed was/is on the spectrum) came on and started launching insults left, right and centre. He didn't have to do that.

Nevin = good guy in my book. Keeps criticism to where/when it's due, and doesn't appear to have any agenda/axe to grind with us.

And ended up agreeing to do a 5-1 gesture on Sportscene 😄

Mr Sifter
12 minutes ago, trotter said:

I remember that actually 👍🏼

Kalamazoo Jambo
5 minutes ago, Stupid Sexy Flanders said:

And ended up agreeing to do a 5-1 gesture on Sportscene 😄

IMG_2102.jpeg

trotter
8 minutes ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

IMG_2102.jpeg

So he did!

Did we not agree to a donation to a charity of his choice (maybe autism-related) in return?

1 hour ago, DesertDawg said:

The hockey team was built solely on money.  After building the stadium on the site of the Monte Carlo hotel on the Las Vegas Strip, with plenty of Las Vegas council and casino  financial support, they bribed the best goaltender (the critical player in hockey) in the NHL to play for them and act as a lure for a squad of other very highly paid mercenaries to join their squad. 

That they came close to winning the Stanley Cup in their first season, losing only to first time winners, after more than forty years in the NHL, the Washington Capitals in the final play-off series proved that the scheme could work.  They finally won the trophy after 5 years of trying in 2023 and have, one way or another, built a profitable enterprise which has been followed by the NFL, Formula One Grand Prix racing on the Strip and, from next year, Major League Baseball with their new stadium on the site of the historic Tropicana Hotel, also on the Strip.

The TV money in the English Premier League makes the investment in Bournemouth another potentially lucrative proposition but that doesn't translate to the SPFL apart from, maybe, regular European group stage participation, which is probably beyond a club the size of Bournemouth in the Premier League or L'Orient of Brittany in the French League Un.    

Quite how this model fits the Easter Road investment though, I have no idea. 

Yeh I heard about the Ice Hockey team and new franchises getting MVP from other teams or something like that. There is definitely none of that in Football and recently they have lost the DOF that held things together at Bournemouth. Big season ahead on the football front world class sporting group. 

Lucky with Ice Hockey, No major decisions made in football terms yet at Bournemouth, Lorient going backwards and a “review” pending at Hibs.

Down the pan with the BK group taking Hibs with them. It’s not like emotional attachment is going to stop them shafting hibs lol 

Kalamazoo Jambo
3 minutes ago, trotter said:

So he did!

Did we not agree to a donation to a charity of his choice (maybe autism-related) in return?

Yeah, we raised over a thousand.

Janbo1874
5 minutes ago, Kalamazoo Jambo said:

Yeah, we raised over a thousand.

Remember it well.

I donated £15.51.

trotter

That was one of the more bizarre events that happened on here. First the abuse, then the 'oh shit, that's actually Pat Nevin posting', then the charity and 5-1...

Nevertheless, I'm calling it: Pat Nevin = good guy

Kalamazoo Jambo
1 minute ago, trotter said:

Absolutely :thumbsup:

2 minutes ago, trotter said:

That was one of the more bizarre events that happened on here. First the abuse, then the 'oh shit, that's actually Pat Nevin posting', then the charity and 5-1...

Yeah I've always thought he was a good sort

2 hours ago, Bazzas right boot said:

All that is well and good , but the fact he is not particularly good makes these sort of valuations ridiculous 

20 minutes ago, Sooks said:

All that is well and good , but the fact he is not particularly good makes these sort of valuations ridiculous 

After Doig went for £3.6m from hibs then £6m, nothing surprises me anymore. 

I expect hibs to get decent money for Youan, not a vast fee but a decent fee.

Hungry hippo
32 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

After Doig went for £3.6m from hibs then £6m, nothing surprises me anymore. 

I expect hibs to get decent money for Youan, not a vast fee but a decent fee.

3.6m EUR

jimbojambo
2 hours ago, kingantti1874 said:

depreciated faster than a Tesla becuase he’s absolutely guff. 

I think Naismith would make him into a player. 

46 minutes ago, jimbojambo said:

Very good interview on the standard from naisy. #1 attribute he wants is characters. 

and that’s why we wouldn’t sign him.  Acknowledge he has the attributes though 

Death by a thousand cuts about to commence. 

🍿🍿🍿

The slow but unavoidable dawning of the truth on the majority of ostriches this summer will be moistening.

1 hour ago, jimbojambo said:

59 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Very good interview on the standard from naisy. #1 attribute he wants is characters. 

and that’s why we wouldn’t sign him.  Acknowledge he has the attributes though 

Oda is at least as good and has more grit about him 

6 hours ago, Hungry hippo said:

3.6m EUR

Point stands.

wee team paid €580K for youan, around £500K

Ronald Villiers
21 hours ago, Batistuta87 said:

Maybe Hibs should have a go at ice hockey? They're certainly nae good at football... 

If they cannae play football there's not a hope in hell they'll crack hockey.  Even if they tried they'd always be the wee team in Edinburgh at hockey aswell.  What about half the team take up diving and the rest hammer throwing.

leipzig76
16 hours ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

EEN as cringey as those 'twin' bursds in their dougray season ticket promo :smuggy:

When that video first appeared the pain of appearing in it in Dougray Scotts' face was obvious (bit like his wee interview after the 5-1)  Cringe wise I just could never watch that again.I wonder how many folks were encouraged to get season tickets after watching it.