Downloading Speeds - Need Advice

Jamie_the_Jambo

Jamie_the_Jambo

Im new to downloading and I am using uTorrent and piratebay.

My download speeds are pitifully slow. I read that people were getting mega fast downloads so Im doing something wrong? How can I improve my download speeds?

Also can you explain what seeds and peers are ?

Thanks

Jamie

dodethejambo

The speed of your download would depend on how many people your are seeding from & what speed your internet is.

There is a way to improve your download speed im not sure what it is, but someone will point you in the right direction

Seeds = people who have the full download you are after (the more the merrier)

Peers (leechers) = people who have part of download you are after

Jamie_the_Jambo
The speed of your download would depend on how many people your are seeding from & what speed your internet is.

There is a way to improve your download speed im not sure what it is, but someone will point you in the right direction

Seeds = people who have the full download you are after (the more the merrier)

Peers (leechers) = people who have part of download you are after

I have broadband over a wireless router. The files Im downloading have plenty seeds etc but the download is a dog. Best Ive had is 50kb/sec. Maybe uTorrent is set up wrong and needs tweaked ?

Help appreciated.

Jamie

Bordeaux 03

There are simple things you can do like downloading one file at a time, if you have say 3 files downloading then the bandwidth will be split between those 3 thus taking longer. Try to limit the amount of internet windows you have open but most importantly play around with your security/firewall settings as this is most likely to be causing the problem.

Jamie_the_Jambo
The wireless won't be a problem. What speed is your internet?

If I hover over my connection icon it says 56Mbps.

Jamie_the_Jambo