US Open

The Merse

US open gets going today :)

Hard enough to wangle watching all the football, going to be an extra challenge to get the golf in on top of that, bursd will be :seething:

So, any tips for this then?

Going to put some bets on just now but really don't know who to go for, course is supposedly one of the hardest layouts they've ever had.

Arnold Rothstein

US open gets going today :)

Hard enough to wangle watching all the football, going to be an extra challenge to get the golf in on top of that, bursd will be :seething:

So, any tips for this then?

Going to put some bets on just now but really don't know who to go for, course is supposedly one of the hardest layouts they've ever had.

DJ is just back from injury and won last week so i would expect him to be in the mix. Not sure of odds.

He's 25/1 with Sky Bet.

I've stuck on the following so far.

Dustin Johnson - ?2 at 25/1

Bubba Watson - ?3 at 45/1

Martin Laird - ?1 at 100/1

Oosthuizen - ?2 at 55/1

Garrigus - 50p at 200/1

Colsaerts - ?1 at 150/1

Coetzee - 50p at 250/1

i think it's a real shame that paul lawrie decided to bypass the US open. he's still in great form and has the accuracy and patience required to stay in the hunt on a brutal course like that. it's a real test of endurance and he's got the attributes.

I couldn't see his name in the betting and wondered why he wasn't playing.

So he's just decided not to play it? Did he give a reason?

It'll be an American winner. Duffner or Kuchar will be there or thereabouts.

Hopefully woods is in 'spraying it about' mode :)

I couldn't see his name in the betting and wondered why he wasn't playing.

So he's just decided not to play it? Did he give a reason?

he was certainly able to enter but i think he said he was giving it a miss to play in other events with a view to earning more ryder cup points. that's his target and i suppose it's fair enough. the US open would also have counted to ryder cup standings though.

It'll be an American winner. Duffner or Kuchar will be there or thereabouts.

Hopefully woods is in 'spraying it about' mode :)

yep. i think it's always been an american winner at olympic club. it's a staggering course. can't see woods or farmer phil being in the mix. both are too erratic to survive on that track.

Got pounds on:

Bubba Watson

Paul Lawrie (who I realise has pulled out :sob: )

Thomas Bjorn

Adam Scott

Hunter Mahan

Hopefully I can make it 2 out of 2 in the majors :verysmug:

i think it's always been an american winner at olympic club. it's a staggering course. can't see woods or farmer phil being in the mix. both are too erratic to survive on that track.

Aye 4 days of keeping it on the short stuff then putting on glass will sort the wheat from the chaff.

Is it another 7,000 odd yard course this time?

Pete Seeger

Martin Laird 100/1 - ?5

Angel Cabrera 250/1 - ?2

Bubba Watson 45/1 - ?5

Hunter Mayhan 35/1 - ?5

Adam Scott 35/1 - ?5

That's 5 guy's guaranteed not to win.

Sergio Garcia

Sergio Garcia at 40s (Surprise Surprise)

Zach Johnson at 40s

Francesco Molinari 80s

Carl Pettersson 100s

Going with Ladbrokes as they are paying 6 places

Sergio Garcia

After watching Rory last week not playing well and still getting into contention the 20s for him are appealing as well.

My 3 potential bets are

Kuchar - 28/1

Mahan - 33/1

Bradley - 66/1

I read that he's still suffering with his shoulder injury.

Similar reason to my own...

Had a small interest on these 3 outsiders:

Jonathan Byrd 66/1

Aaron Baddeley 100/1

DA Points 200/1

Gives you 3 to cross off your list.

Bubba Watson having a hilarious day - 6 over after 12 :rofl:

The course looks magnificent.

It looks like a proper golf course. Trees, fairly tight fairways and nice thick, lush green rough.

Hats off to the USGA for the way they set up their Open courses.

It looks like a proper golf course. Trees, fairly tight fairways and nice thick, lush green rough.

Hats off to the USGA for the way they set up their Open courses.

Yep, the US Open is my favourite major because it is such a test of everything in a player's locker. Just looks the part as well.

Tiger has won a couple of PGA events so far this season, nearly back to his best and has got off to a decent start. I can't see past him for this one.

Good to see Kevin Na keeping up with the group in front!

20 minute delay on the tee for Woods and Phil down.gif

The septics need to take a leaf out the European Tour's book and start docking strokes for slow play.

Tiger has won a couple of PGA events so far this season, nearly back to his best and has got off to a decent start. I can't see past him for this one.

In the lead now.

Bubba Watson having a hilarious day - 6 over after 12 :rofl:

At least I RAKED IT IN from his big win earlier this year :smugger:

Gonna get bugger all this time though :sob: :sob:

1339831203[/url]' post='2981690']

How is that wee 14 year old getting on? Papped out?

9 over after the first day no idea how he got on yesterday. Started horrendously on the killer first 6 holes but then went on to score pretty well.

Does anybody know of any pubs that will be open late to show this tomorrow night?

Guessing it's not a big enough draw but worth asking....

Sportsters on Market Street? Doubtful tbh, but worth a shot. Is that sports bar on Grassmarket gone now? That used to stay open late for all that kind of stuff.

9 over after the first day no idea how he got on yesterday. Started horrendously on the killer first 6 holes but then went on to score pretty well.

Had a 77 for +16.

<br /><br />

<br />

<br />

Had a 77 for +16.<br />

<br /><br /><br />

The 17 year old is doing well though only 4 off the lead after day 2.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

Does anybody know of any pubs that will be open late to show this tomorrow night?

Guessing it's not a big enough draw but worth asking....

Sure you will get it in a casino.

I hate Colin Montgomery.. every single sentence references the ryder cup .. the man is truly a fud

Monty is a fantastic commentator, makes it interesting with his little anecdotes

Yep, think he's great as well.

Loving this tournament now - G Mac and Westwood looking tremendous. Would love one of them to win it. For betting purposes, Mahan and Dufner to finish top 5 please :)

Rudi Skacel

Furyk winning, the only man not over par.

This is why i really love the US Open because a birdie actually means so much more.

No sooner have I posted that G Mac is looking strong than he pops one in the bunker :lol:

Commentator's curse.

Love the test in the US. As you say a birdie means a massive jump up the leaderboard, and a par round is a superb result. Really like that about it, it can be a bit boring watching folk dominate a course too much. (I do realise that McIlroy destroyed the US Open last year with a pretty massive score, but that's not that usual)

I like the US Open as well. Means there's a lot more thought going into each shot rather than just drive the ball and hit the green. Seems like a greater test to see who is the best golfer.

Would be delighted to see Shagger back winning majors so I'll be rooting for him.

No sooner have I posted that G Mac is looking strong than he pops one in the bunker :lol:

Commentator's curse.

Love the test in the US. As you say a birdie means a massive jump up the leaderboard, and a par round is a superb result. Really like that about it, it can be a bit boring watching folk dominate a course too much. (I do realise that McIlroy destroyed the US Open last year with a pretty massive score, but that's not that usual)

Completely agree, watching someone win a tournament with ridiculous under par scores where birdies are the expectations rather than well earned rare scores makes this brilliant viewing. Going to be a tremendous last day where a huge amount of players are in contention, multi-player play off could be on the cards.

Naecups1902

It's about who doesn't make mistakes,tonight I think, nobody is going to come in with a daft 66/67 so just have to be patient.

I can't see myself staying awake.

The good thing is t woods is out of contention completely which means my viewing is not spoiled by ersehole rednecks screaming at his ball everytime he plays a shot.

Good luck to lee Westwood especially.

Tiger finished as a major force in the game i think.5 over after 5 holes today and now 9 over altogether.Young 17yr old is doing well though only 2 off the lead now but just landed in the bunker at the 3rd.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

Naecups1902

I agree but gets far too much air time for my liking but you still get all the ring pieces following him

Naecups1902

Agree also about the young felly, 2 great pars to start with, poor tee shot at 3rd but what a prospect