Has Anyone Ever Seen a Ghost??

Guest Prince William

Yeh at my parents old flat in Edinburgh. A woman who died whilst living there was known to walk up and down the hall, I would regularly see her in the corner of my eye moving past the living room door, which was frosted glass.

Mrs Robertson she was known to be.

There's a few good clips on you tube. These are my favourites.

The second one is similar but way better, watch it...

Posted this on the old JKB forum but hey ho, it's my only real experience.

Never ACTUALLY seen a ghost, but definately experienced one!

I was on an insurance induction course at Warwick University about 3 years ago now and it was the last night of the course, as per usual we all had a few beers (not much else to do on these courses ;)) and we were a tad tipsy :P

I got back to my room around 1am ish and decided just go straight to bed rather than home in on the 10 minute porn preview that you get in these places. I remember the bed being tight to the wall, and the reason I remember this is because I struggled to pull the covers over because the bed was SO tight to the wall.

The bed was huge, and very heavy to move, and not on castors, however I quickly fell asleep due to the nature of the beery evening. I woke up in the morning having barely moved, the covers still in much the same position than when I crashed out, but something wasnt quite right, there was a foot wide gap between my bed and the wall! :scared:

Now either I had incredibly bad wind from the night before, or some erm, thing, had moved my bed during the night, all I know it that it was not me!!

Anyway this really had me thinking as to how the hell my bed could move when it was so heavy, and I hadnt even been up for a slash during the night.

I then went for a shower (this is the part that freaked me out!) and thought nothing of it at first, however as I was washing myself with shower gel, I moved to the bottom of the bath tub away from the shower water to give myself a right good scrub, and then all of a sudden it was freezing at the bottom end of the bath tub, and the shower curtain had somehow managed to wrap itself around me. :1092:

I fought the wet curtain off me, and went back to the top of the bath back under the shower again to wash the shower gel off, but my ass which was facing south (and its a big ass) was bloody freezing! I then put my hand down to feel the temperature at the bottom of the bath, and my hand was at least a foot away from the shower curtain, and the curtain came out to meet my hand, and it was like it was trying to wrap itself around my hand, I then pulled my hand back (really doubting my sanity at this point) and the curtain went back to normal at the side of the bath, so I tried it again, and the same thing happened :eek::eek::eek:

Well thank the ferk I have no damn hair to wash because it would have been left, I almost fell outta the bath trying to get out, threw my clothes in my bag, chucked a pair of the first trousers I could find on, and got the hell outta that room as soon as possible, absolutely keekin ma pants! :runaway:

I went to a toilet further up the hallway and dressed myself properly, the proceeded to hand my keys into the front desk and told them I wasnt going back in there because of strange goings on, and they laughed, as if they knew something, hmmm.

I mentioned my experience to the trainer at the breakfast table, and he asked which room I was in, I said I was in room 415 and he said that the exact same thing had happened to him when he stayed in that room also, and that people have had experiences all the time in rooms 410 - 425, and it turns out that a local historian was in a few weeks before and had informed them that the part that was supposedly haunted, was built on an old row of gallows used for hanging people which dated back to the 1700's.

No wonder the hotel staff were laughing :evilno:

There's a few good clips on you tube. These are my favourites.

The second one is similar but way better, watch it...

they are probably faked but the second one put a shiver down my spine. I think there could be something, find the whole ghost thing fascinating (except for orbs, they seem to be the most dull ghosts possible.) Thing it all stemmed from that old ITV program Strange but True (great program with Michael Aspen and shame they cancelled it.)

For me you cant trust any footage of a ghost that is videoed or caputred on camera as it is just so easy to fake these days it makes it unlikely. Still great seeing the attempts.

Never seen a ghost, in mixed views whether I would want to. But be interested also in other peoples experences.

Swear i saw one in my gran's house when i was younger.

Chasing my brother round the house (as you do) and saw something move in front of me so turned round to run the other way thinking it was him, only to run straight into him.

Turned round again and there was nobody where i had seen something move and nobody it could have been.

Can't say it scared me particularly, was just a bit odd.

Legend Claws

My Dad used to own and run a business from Slateford House (the big white building at the roundabout) and there were repeated stories from previous owners about ghosts. There was allegedly a woman ghost who looked after all the people in the building once the sun went down. The cleaner approached my Dad twice, once to say she had been walking down the stairs and tripped and just as she was about to hit the ground somebody pulled her back onto her feet! The second time she was all alone and making a cup of tea, she was boiling the kettle and went away to finish dusting a room, on her return to the kitchen the cup of tea had been completed with sugar and all!!! It was a really creepy building at night and I used to have great fun there when young.

The nearest I've come is the 10,000 ghost-like undead creatures I saw at the last derby game at Fester Road. :sad:

Legend Claws

I was on an insurance induction course at Warwick University about 3 years ago now and it was the last night of the course, as per usual we all had a few beers (not much else to do on these courses ;)) and we were a tad tipsy :P

I got back to my room around 1am ish and decided just go straight to bed rather than home in on the 10 minute porn preview that you get in these places. I remember the bed being tight to the wall, and the reason I remember this is because I struggled to pull the covers over because the bed was SO tight to the wall.

The bed was huge, and very heavy to move, and not on castors, however I quickly fell asleep due to the nature of the beery evening. I woke up in the morning having barely moved, the covers still in much the same position than when I crashed out, but something wasnt quite right, there was a foot wide gap between my bed and the wall! :scared:

Now either I had incredibly bad wind from the night before, or some erm, thing, had moved my bed during the night, all I know it that it was not me!!

Anyway this really had me thinking as to how the hell my bed could move when it was so heavy, and I hadnt even been up for a slash during the night.

I then went for a shower (this is the part that freaked me out!) and thought nothing of it at first, however as I was washing myself with shower gel, I moved to the bottom of the bath tub away from the shower water to give myself a right good scrub, and then all of a sudden it was freezing at the bottom end of the bath tub, and the shower curtain had somehow managed to wrap itself around me. :1092:

I fought the wet curtain off me, and went back to the top of the bath back under the shower again to wash the shower gel off, but my ass which was facing south (and its a big ass) was bloody freezing! I then put my hand down to feel the temperature at the bottom of the bath, and my hand was at least a foot away from the shower curtain, and the curtain came out to meet my hand, and it was like it was trying to wrap itself around my hand, I then pulled my hand back (really doubting my sanity at this point) and the curtain went back to normal at the side of the bath, so I tried it again, and the same thing happened :eek::eek::eek:

Well thank the ferk I have no damn hair to wash because it would have been left, I almost fell outta the bath trying to get out, threw my clothes in my bag, chucked a pair of the first trousers I could find on, and got the hell outta that room as soon as possible, absolutely keekin ma pants! :runaway:

I went to a toilet further up the hallway and dressed myself properly, the proceeded to hand my keys into the front desk and told them I wasnt going back in there because of strange goings on, and they laughed, as if they knew something, hmmm.

I mentioned my experience to the trainer at the breakfast table, and he asked which room I was in, I said I was in room 415 and he said that the exact same thing had happened to him when he stayed in that room also, and that people have had experiences all the time in rooms 410 - 425, and it turns out that a local historian was in a few weeks before and had informed them that the part that was supposedly haunted, was built on an old row of gallows used for hanging people which dated back to the 1700's.

Christ that is quite a tale!

"Wooooo! Woooo!"

Aye, whatever, give it a ****g rest will ye, I'm trying to sleep. Ghosts are a bunch of attention seeking mugs.

I have seen several ghosts, the tooth fairy, santa claus, 3 leprechauns, an elf, an orc, many flying pigs and also God.

It's the drugs mate.:)

Heh heh, I wish it was mate, least I could blame summat then.

I came home with a touch of the Callum Elliots (something had put a major dose of the willys up me)

I would say I don't believe but my sister told me a story a few months ago that did freak me a wee bit.

Her pal was round with her 5 year old daughter. The daughter was playing in the hall.

My sister says the wee girl came running in to the living room and when she asked her what was wrong the girl said a woman had told her to get out of her house (the woman who previously owned the house hung herself in the house). My sister took the wee yin to the hall and showed her nobody was there, she even opened the front door, closed it and said 'see, there's no woman here'

To which the wee lass replied, 'Don't tell lies, she's standing right next to you' :eek:

I think my sister was back in the living room before the kid was.

If you put a bed next to the wall, lie on it and roll towards the wall until you are right against it, if you are pushing hard enough against the wall then the bed will move - as long as it has wheels on it. You don't even have to be particularly heavy for this to happen. - You were lucky you didn't fall right through! You must have rolled back just before the critical moment.

The shower curtain will naturally be attracted to our hand if it is charged with static electricity. Like when you stick balloons to the ceiling at a kids party.

Gimme an H...
If you put a bed next to the wall, lie on it and roll towards the wall until you are right against it, if you are pushing hard enough against the wall then the bed will move - as long as it has wheels on it. You don't even have to be particularly heavy for this to happen. - You were lucky you didn't fall right through! You must have rolled back just before the critical moment.

The shower curtain will naturally be attracted to our hand if it is charged with static electricity. Like when you stick balloons to the ceiling at a kids party.

So Johns a big fat liar!!;)

Has Anyone Ever Seen a Ghost??

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just wondering.. please share your expierinces

Nobody's ever seen a ghost.

Nor the Loch Ness Monster, before anyone asks.

Ghosts, like a lot of other superstitious nonsense, were invented as an explanation long before scientists had got round to explaining natural phenomena which we nowadays take for granted (e.g. static electricity) - except for those moments when we're badly hungover, paranoid through drug abuse or unnerved by being in unfamiliar surroundings.

Never seen a ghost, but open to the suggestion there are such things. Similarly, can quite easily believe it is merely your mind tricking you.

This reminds me of that old joke:

There was a seminar on "Psychic Phenomena" going on, when the speaker decided to involve the audience. He first asked, "Everyone who has ever seen a ghost, please stand up." Well, nearly the entire audience stood up.

He then asked, "Everyone who has ever had a close encounter with a ghost, please remain standing." About 2 dozen people were still standing.

He then asked how many people had been in the same room as a ghost and 6 people stood up.

"Next, stay standing if you've ever touched a ghost..." he said, and two people sat down.

"Finally," he asked, "Anyone who has ever had SEX with a ghost, please remain standing." Everyone sat down except this one man.

When the speaker demanded if he had REALLY had sex with a ghost, the guy replied, "Oh sorry, I misheard you! I thought you said GOAT."

Well, me and the mrs ran a pub in Cumbria where there were several strange happenings!

Having a fear of the unknown I didn,t want to believe that they existed but a few things made me change my mind, and no it wasn,t the Guinness!

Juke-box and bandits that would turn themselves on during the night (yes they had been turned off)!

A bedroom that would not warm up and wouldn,t allow men to open the door during the night (no probs for women tho)!

Daughter who was 3 at the time, having a rather one sided conversation whilst in the bath. When I asked her who she was talking to, she told me that a lady with funny hair had came in with a wee boy and she was covering his eyes because she (daughter) had no clothes on!

Catching sight of someone out the corner of my eye going in the direction of the toilets, but when I checked they were empty! I told no one of this but our barman seen the same thing a few weeks later!

Strange, but there you go.

:confused:

when my son was two he went through a period when he was scared to sleep in his own room because a "man"was coming into his room.one night my wife sat in his room and talked to the supposed man and said that as he was scareing jonathan could he please leave,the "man" never returned.

months later i was putting a picture of my wifes dad up on the wall,(sadly he had died when my wife was in her teens)jonathan looked up at the picture and looked absolutely petrified"dad thats the man that used to come into my room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

when my son was two he went through a period when he was scared to sleep in his own room because a "man"was coming into his room.one night my wife sat in his room and talked to the supposed man and said that as he was scareing jonathan could he please leave,the "man" never returned.

months later i was putting a picture of my wifes dad up on the wall,(sadly he had died when my wife was in her teens)jonathan looked up at the picture and looked absolutely petrified"dad thats the man that used to come into my room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wow, thats just sent shivers through me! think i need a voddie, thank god theres some in the cupboard:rolleyes:

In all honesty i do believe in ghosts though

wow, thats just sent shivers through me! think i need a voddie, thank god theres some in the cupboard:rolleyes:

In all honesty i do believe in ghosts though

Aye. The stuff in my cupboard keeps on disappearing bit by bit with no rational explanation.

It's the spirit world at work...

'pologies.

Soldier ghost' caught on camera

Film footage of the ghost-like apparition

The group now plan to research the area's Roman history

A group of amateur film-makers believe they may have proof that ghosts really do exist after one of them caught something strange on camera.

George Gunn said he captured pictures of a ghostly apparition while out walking along a footpath in Outwood, near Wakefield, West Yorkshire.

Mr Gunn, a member of Outwood Community Video Club, said he thought the figure looked like that of a Roman soldier.

He said he had heard tales of ghosts being seen in the area.

But he added: "I still don't believe in them."

'Something peculiar'

The apparition appears to be still in the footage, but fades momentarily as two people jog through it.

Mr Gunn did not notice the figure until he reviewed his film later in the day.

Mr Gunn said: "I've had the camera for quite a while now and I have never had any problems with lighting or sun glare or anything like that.

"There is something peculiar about it."

Mike Hooley, who is also a member of the video club, said: "George rang me up and said: 'Do you believe in ghosts?'

"I said 'no' and I still don't but when I saw the film I was quite amazed really."

Members of the video club are now planning to do their own research into whether there were any Roman settlements in the area.

this is not a real ghost seen but the scariest dream I ever had. It must of been a year ago. I have had scary dreams before but nothing like this. I was sleeping and dreamt I was in a hall with lots of chairs. There was a woman talking about things and suddenly she talks about ghosts. As she talks she suddenly stops and points. In my dream I turn round and see this ghost moving down the hall but floating, it is a tall ghost with a moustache. Suddenly he turns and looks at me, and I wake up from the dream but I am so scared out of my wits it takes a good half hour to get back to sleep. I have never had any dreams like that (been shot and stabbed in my dreams before (they can be a bit weird)) But the sheer terror I felt when I woke up and there was a little for the next day, I have never experenced in my life.

chickalittle

not a ghost but my brother still swears to this day that he woke up one night when he was a teenager and there was an angel just hovering in his bedroom reading one of his books! We've ribbed him for years about what book the angel might have been reading from his collection (mind boggles!) but he's never budged and is still convinced that it was the real thing and not a dream.

Pete Seeger

I don't want to beleive in ghosts because it should be like saying the tooth fairy is real. However I'm not so sure. We grew up in a house that was 300 years old and it was pretty creepy. My sisters geography teacher started telling ghost stories and without knowing we had moved to this house he started telling a story about it. Which put the sh**tters up the pair of us. But there were some experiences. My mum and sister once took the dog out for a toley and when they came back the key had been turned and the door was locked. I was the only one in the house and I sware to this day I din't lock it. My mum also once told me my grandfather had an experience when he was working in an old hotel rumoured to be haunted. He say's he heard a door open then smelt a strong smell of perfume then the room went cold,. Apparently he scattered pronto. That freaks me out because if you met my Grandfather you would realise he was the last person you would expect to make up some bull story about ghosts. Anyhow, don't suppose anyone will ever know. I've got the shivers thinking about these. :eek:

I would normally agree with you regarding the bed moving, but I never bloody moved all night lol! The sheets were barely ruffled and I didnt even get up for the loo. :confused:

As for the shower curtain, I could understand it if it happened all the way along the bath, however it only happened at the bottom end of the bath, although your static theory made sense. Also, the drop in temperature from the middle of the bath, to the bottom end of the bath was incredible, you really had to feel it.

Nope, I'm still sppoked BigC, you need to better than that mate ;)

So Johns a big fat liar!!;)

Hey, less of the liar! :D

I cant argue about the rest tho

When people talk about ghosts of dead relatives visiting them I often think back to my uncle dying just as I was entering my teenage years.

If he ever paid me a visit, it wouldn't have been a pretty sight.

Poor ****.

I remember another story too, not involving me, but a lassie I know in Gala.

I used to pal about with 2 sisters (kinda part of the teenage gang so to speak) who had just moved up from Flint in North Wales where their mum and dad had run a pub. They told me that one of the rooms in the pub was haunted, and after further research into it they had discovered that a chambermaid from over a hundred years ago had been hung at midnight on a certain date.

The chambermaid used to clean this certain haunted room apparently, and treasured this room as her pride and joy. I cant remember when the date was that she was hung, but every midnight on the date in question, plates would fly off the wall, and glasses and bottles would mysteriously smash, and it only ever happend once a year on this date.

I've no idea if it still happens or not but it was enough to make them give up the pub and move to Scotland.

Can't remember who, but there's a poster on JKB who used to work at Espionage who swears it's haunted. It was on the last ghost thread on the old JKB.

I would normally agree with you regarding the bed moving, but I never bloody moved all night lol! The sheets were barely ruffled and I didnt even get up for the loo. :confused:

As for the shower curtain, I could understand it if it happened all the way along the bath, however it only happened at the bottom end of the bath, although your static theory made sense. Also, the drop in temperature from the middle of the bath, to the bottom end of the bath was incredible, you really had to feel it.

Nope, I'm still sppoked BigC, you need to better than that mate ;)

I'm sure he'd rather not:eek:

Don't mess with the Mackenzie Poltergeist is all that I'll say on this subject.

:evilno::runaway:

Very true.

I've been on that tour twice, have interviewed a guide for an article and have read the book on the subject. That is one bad mutha.

Guest Tynie Bubbles
Very true.

I've been on that tour twice, have interviewed a guide for an article and have read the book on the subject. That is one bad mutha.

One of the funniest things I saw was a big guy at the end of the tour bemoaning that it was all 'power of suggestion' stuff and 'good acting' by the guide. Then his girlfriend asked him what the fresh scratch and blood on his neck was ... he was VERY keen to leave Greyfriars all of a sudden.

That book, 'The Ghost That Haunted Itself' is a good read.

Don't mess with the Mackenzie Poltergeist is all that I'll say on this subject.

:evilno::runaway:

Christ that tour is fecking scary. :eek:

Can't remember who, but there's a poster on JKB who used to work at Espionage who swears it's haunted. It was on the last ghost thread on the old JKB.

I mind that - not been to Espionage since I read about it.

Mainly because the place is a **** hole...but y'know.

I mind that - not been to Espionage since I read about it.

Mainly because the place is a **** hole...but y'know.

Ditto :rolleyes:

I was playing a video game once and a couple appeared on the screen, freaked me out it did!!!

Pacman_title_na.png

:confused: