IS DALRY THE NEW WEST END  

1 member has voted

1. 1. IS DALRY THE NEW WEST END

• Yes - Of course it is
    • No - not on your nelly
    • mibis aye mibis naw
    • could be one day in the future

Era Macaroons

As Auld Reekie develops and grows streets change character, boundaries re-adjust, areas regenerate.

Has Dalry become the new 'West End'....does the West end stop at Rutland? does it stop at Haymarket? or has it crept up Dalry all the way to the Balmoral pub?

Ive been pondering over some of the changes in Dalry over the last few years, such as ............

Chic restaurants fill the void left by naff cafes.

Permit holder parking is now in place right along Dalry's sidestreets

Foutainbridge 'leisure complex' a mere hop skip jump through the subway

Huge regeneration of new build flats running all the way along Duff st (behind Somerfields and paralell to Dalry Rd)

A large variety of shopping available, not drowning in charity shops or beauty salons.

24 hour petrol station (now a novelty to have one)

victorian swimming baths still in use

the Balmoral (pub) revamped

the clock (hellhole pub) knocked down and replaced by Lidl.

possible development of the car park opposite dianes pool hall constantly on the go.

I think I might have just convinced myself !! lol....:confused:..what d'ya reckon?

IS DALRY THE NEW WEST END?

I have noticed that all the punters in the Dickens bar have started to lift there pinkies when drinking ,and the old wasted guy with the beard was sporting a tie the other day.

The bar is also offering a choice of wines red or white.

so yes you could be right.

Imo the West End stops at Haymarket.

Dalry has improved in recent years, but imo it still has a long way to go.

Era Macaroons
I have noticed that all the punters in the Dickens bar have started to lift there pinkies when drinking ,and the old wasted guy with the beard was sporting a tie the other day.

The bar is also offering a choice of wines red or white.

so yes you could be right.

haha yes Dickens was a thorn amongst the roses of my thoughts

According to the taxis, parts of Dalry are classed as City Centre!

Edinburgh's CBD is growing and due to its proximity Dalry will become/is becoming part of it. You could argue that Tollcross, for example is City Centre due to this growth too.

The regeneration of Haymarket will impact on Dalry as well so all in all as the city centre grows so areas currently on the periphery, such as Dalry, will be consumed into this new centre.

As it is to the West of the centre it could eventually be argued that it is the West End.

Era Macaroons
According to the taxis, parts of Dalry are classed as City Centre!

I always thought was west end OF the city centre anyway

Edinburgh's CBD is growing and due to its proximity Dalry will become/is becoming part of it. You could argue that Tollcross, for example is City Centre due to this growth too.

The regeneration of Haymarket will impact on Dalry as well so all in all as the city centre grows so areas currently on the periphery, such as Dalry, will be consumed into this new centre.

As it is to the West of the centre it could eventually be argued that it is the West End.

I concur comrade

Era Macaroons
Another Dalridian, i presume.

Upper or lower?

I was away to look up my dictionary there....until the penny dropped

I am an upper West Ender;)

Another Dalridian, i presume.

Upper or lower?

He's of the Lower variety.

But we are all Dalridians...;)

I was away to look up my dictionary there....until the penny dropped

I am an upper West Ender;)

Wheest.

Upper = Haymarket

Lower = further out of the town.

You are perhaps middling, erring on the lower imho.;)

Era Macaroons
Wheest.

Upper = Haymarket

Oh its just so difficult to decide...can i just give u my postcode? EH11 2HT:dribble:

I'll settle on Middling then

Wheest.

Upper = Haymarket

Upper Dalry would be the equivalent of London?s Knightsbridge.

Lower Dalry would be Belgravia.

But we are all Dalridians. :food-smiley-004:

Upper Dalry would be the equivalent of London?s Knightsbridge.

Lower Dalry would be Belgravia.

But we are all Dalridians. :food-smiley-004:

Hahahaha

Excellent!

:cheers:

Era Macaroons

hoi...just spotted this......from u of all people.....Mr Animal Farm;)

and Leith's the new Rio......

Personally if I say West End I certainly dont mean Dalry. I used to live there and its pretty grotty.