robbo

superjack

sorry folks , i'm a bit pished , and would love to see some videos of the wee man in action.

can anyone help me please?

Sorry, pissed aswell but this seems like the appopriate thread to post... I was in Portugal.. Cannae mind the year (90's)and we were playing Celtic in the cup. Anyway it went into extra time( or the very last mins of normal time) and my dad turns to me ( with the bar being loaded with the celts) dont worry.. wee robbo will do it

.. sure enough some mins later he hammered in what proved to be the winner and get us through, would love it if anyone has this uploaded... one of my favourite times being a Jambo abroad.

Daz, League Cup 1/4 final at Tynie in 96 the game where Andy Thorne played and Gary Naismith was a stand out in only his 2nd or 3rd game?

Narrative Arc

No words, no poetry, no retrospective visuals can relate how much this little man made us felt at time. So if you were born later, it is just unfortunate. No nose rubbing intended etc. Sorry friend, them's just the breaks. Trust me, when it came to playing that lot his name was 'Mr Formality' ( ps pished as well).

ps my favourite robbo goal against them was at Empty Road. Goram hand a bandage on one of his hands. they has been leading 1-0, (i can't remember who equalised), then The man himself hit a freekick from about 20 yards ( to use hobo terms... down the slope). Goram (the so called goalie), got nowhere near it. And as already stated.... formality 1-2 . the nights out i have had because of that little man, will never be forgotten. god bless all his descendants. ( and the bevvy)

Remain Nameless

No words, no poetry, no retrospective visuals can relate how much this little man made us felt at time. So if you were born later, it is just unfortunate. No nose rubbing intended etc. Sorry friend, them's just the breaks. Trust me, when it came to playing that lot his name was 'Mr Formality' ( ps pished as well).

ps my favourite robbo goal against them was at Empty Road. Goram hand a bandage on one of his hands. they has been leading 1-0, (i can't remember who equalised), then The man himself hit a freekick from about 20 yards ( to use hobo terms... down the slope). Goram (the so called goalie), got nowhere near it. And as already stated.... formality 1-2 . the nights out i have had because of that little man, will never be forgotten. god bless all his descendants. ( and the bevvy)

The free kick was the equaliser, Robbo went on to score the winner with a header minutes into the 2nd half!

Remain Nameless

Forgot to add, his best goal against them, was his first 2nd September 1983!

alicante jambo

Ill never forget the wee man he will always be a legend.Me and my mate carried him into his pub in 98 on our shoulders on the sunday pity it didnt work out with the managers job at tynie but we can forgive him for that.Its never over till the fat striker scores.Andy thorne didnt he play just for that game im sure wee robbo scored with a free kick.

I consider myself immensely privileged that I saw the whole career of John Grant Robertson and I'll love him until the day I die.

Denny Crane

Didn't know being pished stopped you from logging onto Youtube :rolleyes:

Ill never forget the wee man he will always be a legend.Me and my mate carried him into his pub in 98 on our shoulders on the sunday pity it didnt work out with the managers job at tynie but we can forgive him for that.Its never over till the fat striker scores.Andy thorne didnt he play just for that game im sure wee robbo scored with a free kick.

Thorne played against Motherwell on the Saturday but didn't perform to well so we parted ways

Robbo's goal was a sweety, ball over the top to Neil McCann in the left channel in behind the Celtic defence he cuts it across the edge of the 18 yard box, Robbo had got there a fraction too early so had to check himself and let the ball bobble across him before hitting a half volley which flew past (just over his hands iirc) a full stretch Gordon Marshall

It was a difficult ball to hit first time but the wee man made it look so easy

Thorne played against Motherwell on the Saturday but didn't perform to well so we parted ways

Robbo's goal was a sweety, ball over the top to Neil McCann in the left channel in behind the Celtic defence he cuts it across the edge of the 18 yard box, Robbo had got there a fraction too early so had to check himself and let the ball bobble across him before hitting a half volley which flew past (just over his hands iirc) a full stretch Gordon Marshall

It was a difficult ball to hit first time but the wee man made it look so easy

i was watching that quarter final game in bannermans(we were at an ale tasting night for the brewery)

with the pub being owned by a fellow jambo , there was a wee portable behind the bar with the game on.

what a night that was , free beer and seeing us do the mhanks over.

I think I remember it was the case that Jim Farry had complained that Hearts had maybe overcome the system unfairly specifically for the League Cup tie against Celtic. Remember we had 4 players suspended after the nonsense at Ibrox on the Saturday. To head Farry off at the pass, Hearts played Andy Thorn again on the Saturday, before wishing him all the best and thanking him. This was to show that we had been serious about the possibility of signing him permanently in the first place, when we clearly hadn't.

Daz, League Cup 1/4 final at Tynie in 96 the game where Andy Thorne played and Gary Naismith was a stand out in only his 2nd or 3rd game?

Aye I think thats the one, thanks for saying what the match was I managed to get the Highlights from youtube :thumbsup:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn-u6YDLYAc

I consider myself immensely privileged that I saw the whole career of John Grant Robertson and I'll love him until the day I die.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

I had my appendix out about 12 hours after robbo scored the 92nd minute goal at fester. Brightened up a day of total agony

Remain Nameless

That match report is prescient read paragraph 6.

Sums it up brilliantly!

I was a day out, memory must be fading, I was only 15 at the time though!

Hearts Heritage

Sums it up brilliantly!

I was a day out, memory must be fading, I was only 15 at the time though!

After 15 years of watching us get 'horsed' in Derbies You got the feeling that something had changed.

4 months later I moved down south so missed most of them.

The Robbo Years

1983-09-03 Sat Hearts 3-2 Hibernian L Premier 19206 Robertson;Robertson;Bone; [Ralph Callachan;William Irvine;] link--->

1983-11-05 Sat Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L Premier 21281 Robertson; [bobby Thomson;] link--->

1984-01-02 Mon Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 23499 Park; [William Irvine;] link--->

1984-04-21 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 17437 link--->

1984-08-25 Sat Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L Premier 16724 Levein;OConnor; [Paul James Kane;] link--->

1984-10-27 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L Premier 20156 link--->

1985-01-01 Tue Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L Premier 18925 Mackay;Clark; [William George Jamieson;] link--->

1985-04-02 Tue Hearts 2-2 Hibernian L Premier 17814 Robertson;Clark; [Joseph McBride;Joseph McBride;] link--->

1985-08-31 Sat Hearts 2-1 Hibernian L Premier 17457 Colquhoun;Clark; [Gordon Scott Durie;] link--->

1985-11-09 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 19776 link--->

1986-01-01 Wed Hearts 3-1 Hibernian L Premier 25605 Jardine I;Robertson;Clark; [Colin Harris;] link--->

1986-03-22 Sat Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L Premier 20756 Clark;Robertson pen; [steven J Cowan;] link--->

1986-08-30 Sat Hibernian 1-3 Hearts L Premier 20714 Clark;Jardine I;Robertson; [Joseph McBride;] link--->

1986-11-01 Sat Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 22178 Mackay G pen; [Joseph McBride;] link--->

1987-01-06 Tue Hibernian 2-2 Hearts L Premier 22928 Colquhoun;Colquhoun; [George McKinlay Cassidy J McCluskey;Michael Graham Weir;] link--->

1987-04-04 Sat Hearts 2-1 Hibernian L Premier 19731 MacDonald;Clark; [MacDonald og;] link--->

1987-08-29 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 24496 Robertson; link--->

1987-10-17 Sat Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L Premier 23390 Robertson; [Edward Skillion May;Paul James Kane;] link--->

1988-01-02 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L Premier 28992 link--->

1988-03-19 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 20870 link--->

1988-08-27 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 23760 link--->

1988-11-12 Sat Hearts 1-2 Hibernian L Premier 23062 McPherson; [Paul James Kane;Steven Archibald;] link--->

1989-01-04 Wed Hibernian 1-0 Hearts L Premier 27219 [Edward Skillion May;] link--->

1989-04-01 Sat Hearts 2-1 Hibernian L Premier 22090 Bannon;Robertson; [Keith M Houchen;] link--->

1989-08-26 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 22731 Musemic; link--->

1989-11-04 Sat Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L Premier 19104 Bannon; [steven Archibald;] link--->

1990-01-01 Mon Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L Premier 25224 Robertson pen;Robertson; link--->

1990-03-31 Sat Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L Premier 17373 Robertson;Robertson; [Michael Graham Weir;] link--->

1990-09-15 Sat Hibernian 0-3 Hearts L Premier 19813 Robertson;Levein;Robertson; link--->

1990-11-24 Sat Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 19004 Berry; [Keith M Houchen;] link--->

1991-01-02 Wed Hibernian 1-4 Hearts L Premier 13601 McKinlay;McPherson;Mackay;Levein; [MacKay Gary og;] link--->

1991-03-23 Sat Hearts 3-1 Hibernian L Premier 14221 Levein;Wright;Robertson; [Joseph Tortolano;] link--->

1991-08-31 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L Premier 22208 link--->

1991-11-02 Sat Hibernian 1-1 Hearts L Premier 19831 Robertson; [Keith Arthur Wright;] link--->

1992-01-01 Wed Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 20358 Ferguson I; [Thomas McIntyre pen;] link--->

1992-03-21 Sat Hibernian 1-2 Hearts L Premier 14429 Gordon Hunter og;Ferguson I; [Michael Graham Weir;] link--->

1992-08-22 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 15937 link--->

1992-11-07 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 17342 Baird; link--->

1993-01-02 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 21657 link--->

1993-03-20 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 13740 Robertson; link--->

1993-08-21 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 17283 Johnston A; link--->

1993-10-30 Sat Hibernian 0-2 Hearts L Premier 18505 Colquhoun;Colquhoun; link--->

1994-01-12 Wed Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 24139 Millar; [Keith Arthur Wright;] link--->

1994-02-20 Sun Hibernian 1-2 Hearts SC 20953 4th Robertson;Foster; [Keith Arthur Wright;] link--->

1994-04-30 Sat Hibernian 0-0 Hearts L Premier 14213 link--->

1994-08-27 Sat Hearts 0-1 Hibernian L Premier 12371 [Gordon Hunter;] link--->

1994-10-29 Sat Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L Premier 13622 Robertson pen; [Darren Jackson;Michael Andrew Martin O'Neill;] link--->

1995-01-18 Wed Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L Premier 12630 McPherson;Millar J; link--->

1995-05-06 Sat Hibernian 3-1 Hearts L Premier 7122 Hagen; [Michael Graham Weir;Keith Arthur Wright;Kevin Patrick Harper;] link--->

1995-10-01 Sun Hibernian 2-2 Hearts L Premier 12374 McPherson;Robertson; [Graeme Still Donald;Patrick David McGinlay;] link--->

1995-11-19 Sun Hearts 2-1 Hibernian L Premier 12074 Millar;Robertson pen; [Christopher Robert Jackson;] link--->

1996-01-01 Mon Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L Premier 14872 Pointon; [Kevin Patrick Harper;Michael Andrew Martin O'Neill;] link--->

1996-03-16 Sat Hearts 1-1 Hibernian L Premier 14923 Mackay; [Andrew James Dow;] link--->

1996-09-28 Sat Hibernian 1-3 Hearts L Premier 14217 Cameron;Cameron;Robertson; [Darren Jackson pen;] link--->

1996-11-16 Sat Hearts 0-0 Hibernian L Premier 15129 link--->

1997-01-01 Wed Hibernian 0-4 Hearts L Premier 15749 Robertson;Hamilton;Cameron;Hamilton; link--->

1997-03-15 Sat Hearts 1-0 Hibernian L Premier 15136 McCann; link--->

1997-08-30 Sat Hibernian 0-1 Hearts L Premier 15565 McCann; link--->

1997-11-08 Sat Hearts 2-0 Hibernian L Premier 16739 Robertson;Quitongo; link--->

1998-01-01 Thu Hearts 2-2 Hibernian L Premier 17564 Fulton;Fulton; [Andrew Francis Walker;Patrick David McGinlay;] link--->

1998-04-11 Sat Hibernian 2-1 Hearts L Premier 15530 Robertson; [barry Lavety;Kevin Patrick Harper;] link--->

it's a sad fact of life that we will never have a player that good for that long again. It's never quite been the same for me since he left.

Tasavallan

That match report is prescient read paragraph 6.

Stuart Gauld at RB? I assume he was playing due to Kidd's unavailability. I do not recall Gauld having too many games after this.

As for Robbo, my 7 year old son is named after him. I saw Robbo's first game, I saw his last and many twixt and between. I doubt I will ever see anyone in a maroon jersey whom I admired so much as the wee striker.

Hearts Heritage

it's a sad fact of life that we will never have a player that good for that long again. It's never quite been the same for me since he left.

And we only had him for that long because his stint with Newcastle failed . There's an alternate universe where we view Robbo like Willie Wallace and say how many would He have scored had he stayed ?