Kyle out for Season

Mad Dog Frazer

currrnt bun reporting theyre coming to the end of the line with Kyle and trying for a quick fix and looking likely his groin injury will need surgery

As i said before and was shot down in flames, i would have been astonished if Kyle played again this season. The type of injury he is reported to have is horrendous and requires 6 months at least rest and recovery. I hope he is back for start of next season.

You and me both Jamie!!!!

I am curious how its taken 3 months to reach this decision. We must have the most incompetent medical team of any half-decent football team. If we leave it up to them then he will be lucky to be back for Christmas, never mind next season.

Look what they have done with Andy Driver as another example - out for god knows how long, and didn't look anything like the player in the games he played recently.

I am curious how its taken 3 months to reach this decision. We must have the most incompetent medical team of any half-decent football team. If we leave it up to them then he will be lucky to be back for Christmas, never mind next season.

Look what they have done with Andy Driver as another example - out for god knows how long, and didn't look anything like the player in the games he played recently.

Shocking.

You're at least consistent I'll give you that.

It's taken this long due the fact that despite visiting several specialists the type of injury he has is very difficult to pinpoint.

As someone pointed out it's similar to what happened with Colin Cameron.

What they have "done" with Driver is get a player back to full fitness despite several unavoidable setbacks.

He doesn't look like the player he was yet due to the fact he clearly is in need of a few games to get his match fitness up to scratch.

But don't let any of these "facts" get in the way of you having a dig at the back room set-up at the club.

If Kyle's injury is similar to Mickey's, does big Gilles still have the phone number for that specialist in France? rolleyes.gif

We don't have a "medical team" that deals with injuries beyond the simplest of strains. Players with significant injuries are referred to specialists. Specialists no doubt vary in quality but I doubt the ones we refer players to are of a much different standard - they may indeed be the same people - from those other clubs use. The other thread on Kyle's injury, still on the first page, contains some words from the horse's mouth and also refers back to a similar difficulty Kyle had in identifying a problem with his hip at Sunderland.

That Kyle is subject to long term injuries can come as a surprise only to JKB drama queens.

Yea its a blow but I'm glad its happened now when we are only a few wins away from securing 3rd rather than early in the season. It shouldn't make much difference to our final position

Get well soon kev.

Half expected him to be out for a longer period at some stage in the season, Hearts, as usual, have no vision and should have signed a couple of players on loan 'til the end of the season in the January transfer window, other SPL clubs have! They've worked with Kyle at Killie, they, more than anyone should've realised this potential problem and done something about it, most folk would've realised this but, that's He'rts for you.

Shocking.

Nope, it was a fair assessment.

So, you think Hearts were playing an unfit player in first team matches (including a start on that pitch at Pitoddrie) that did matter in order to give him match practice? I think that is crazy.

currrnt bun reporting theyre coming to the end of the line with Kyle and trying for a quick fix and looking likely his groin injury will need surgery

It's The Sun, mind - might no' be true! Any other sources?

So, you think Hearts were playing an unfit player in first team matches (including a start on that pitch at Pitoddrie) that did matter in order to give him match practice? I think that is crazy.

What I thought was shocking is that you were surprised he hasn't looked the same player since he returned from his lengthy time out.

He had a couple of starts and 3 sub appearances ffs.

You're at least consistent I'll give you that.

Consistent in what way?

You are consistent on trolling on this board on certain issues of a pro-Rangers persuasion. Not surprised to see you trying to get a dig in here, and I'm just going to ignore you as your views are completely irrelevant and out of date.

Francis Albert, however, makes a reasoned argument, which I am happy to accept.

Given the size Kyle is, he will always be susceptible to injuries.

Hopefully it will get sorted out for next season - and that JJ will have better back up options by then too. The likes of Obua and Elliot are not up to the job.

He's barely kicked a ball in over a year and a half and you are expecting to be the same player straight away?

Consistent in what way?

You are consistent on trolling on this board on certain issues of a pro-Rangers persuasion. Not surprised to see you trying to get a dig in here, and I'm just going to ignore you as your views are completely irrelevant and out of date.

Francis Albert, however, makes a reasoned argument, which I am happy to accept.

Consistent in your negative view on most things Hearts related.

Please should examples of where I've been supportive (or "trolling" as you put it) of anything pro-hunsblink.gif

You are more than entitled to see my views as irrelevant but I'm not sure how you come to the conclusion that they are "out of date", please explain.

What I thought was shocking is that you were surprised he hasn't looked the same player since he returned from his lengthy time out.

He had a couple of starts and 3 sub appearances ffs.

My views on the Driver situation was that:

- He is a winger/forward player whose role is to create and/or score goals.

- He looked well short of match fitness (perhaps being too heavy due to too much muscle) and couldn't get forward of the midfield. The pricetag on his head is as an attacking player, and he needs to be played in that role or not at all. He was completely ineffective in the games he played.

If the reasons for those were match fitness, we should have kept in playing friendlies until he is ready.

- He looked well short of match fitness (perhaps being too heavy due to too much muscle) and couldn't get forward of the midfield. The pricetag on his head is as an attacking player, and he needs to be played in that role or not at all. He was completely ineffective in the games he played.

If the reasons for those were match fitness, we should have kept in playing friendlies until he is ready.

After a handful of matches in a year this was always going to be the case.

Friendlies are not as good as taking part in proper matches and JJ is obviously using our comfy position to give Driver some game whilst also giving other a rest.

I think you are being critical just for the sake of it.

I think he sees himself as more "controversial" rather than critical laugh.gif

And then what? Have people complaining about him not getting played in the first team?

As has been said, Driver hasn't played in 18 months. How anyone can expect him to instantly be the player he was before is nothing short of lunacy, something that is in abundance on here.

As for Kyle, I'm not overly surprised. He's clearly got a recurring problem with his groin/hip or whatever it is and until this clears up we're always going to have him in and out the squad. Better to have it sorted now than aggravate it and cause him to be in and out the squad like a yo-yo.

He'll never be ready if he's playing a few diddy friendlies a month, will he?

No substitute for competitive matches.

Hopefully it will get sorted out for next season - and that JJ will have better back up options by then too. The likes of Obua and Elliot are not up to the job.

Assuming the rumours re Taouil & Diamond are correct, that still leaves us searching for that elusive playmaker AND of course back-up for Kyle. I suppose JJ being allowed to sign all of the above hinges on us moving on a similar amount of players. Bouzid looks a dead cert, probably Ruben. Obua's contract must be up, what about Elliot?

I reckon Templeton's form and Driver's low profile as he returns from injury should see us keep both, what about Wallace tho? I'd hate to see JJ start the season looking for a left-back.

Disser Pointon

Assuming the rumours re Taouil & Diamond are correct, that still leaves us searching for that elusive playmaker AND of course back-up for Kyle. I suppose JJ being allowed to sign all of the above hinges on us moving on a similar amount of players. Bouzid looks a dead cert, probably Ruben. Obua's contract must be up, what about Elliot?

I reckon Templeton's form and Driver's low profile as he returns from injury should see us keep both, what about Wallace tho? I'd hate to see JJ start the season looking for a left-back.

The Diamond rumour is p@sh, JJ has never shown any interest in him and is unlikely to.

You've consistently poured cold water on this rumour.

Do you know something or are you just (like me) thinking it's purely paper talk.

Genuine question, no "sources" need be revealed wink.gif

Yea its a blow but I'm glad its happened now when we are only a few wins away from securing 3rd rather than early in the season. It shouldn't make much difference to our final position

Get well soon kev.

Precisely. Given the kind of league season we've had (a very good one), the fact that the teams below us are not likely to catch us and we're not likely to catch the two ahead of us means that the pressure has largely gone. Kyle needs to be given time to get this sorted out rather than having us rush him back when he's not ready.

If we were still in the Cup, though, I'd be all for putting him out there on crutches if necessary ...

The thing that gets me is that there are some posters on this thread who have rarely popped their heads above the parapet during the undefeated run, yet the minute we get one bad result there they are back with a vengeance, posting doom and gloom several times every day.

I've no problem with downbeat posts where they are merited, but if some people can't acknowledge the good as well as the bad I personally find it hard to treat their opinions with anything other than a pinch of salt :ermm:

Kyle needs to be given time to get this sorted out rather than having us rush him back when he's not ready.

I would say this is exactly what the club are doing but there's still plenty on here who are quick to have a dig at the management over this

After a handful of matches in a year this was always going to be the case.

Friendlies are not as good as taking part in proper matches and JJ is obviously using our comfy position to give Driver some game whilst also giving other a rest.

Admit it DH, you had fun typing that one, didn't you? :lol:

Only a Game

I'd hate to see JJ start the season looking for a left-back.

Me too. It took long enough to dawn on him that we needed a left back THIS season. Mind you he was terribly busy signing journeyman central midfielders.

On Kyle. I think I posted in the second week of January stating he was out for 6 weeks and would need an operation. Thats what he was told at the time. Not sure what happened to change the course of action taken but on first look, it seems to be a monumental feck up not to go straight for an operation that he was told he needed in the first place and still needs.

On Driver. We're not going to see much from him this season. He needs to lose some of that bulk before he'll be anything like his optimum best. Fixable but he's been out for an awfy long time and I fear for him.

I'd hate to see JJ start the season looking for a left-back.

I hope he's looking for a right-back, tbh.

It really makes you wonder why Man U sent Rio Ferdinand up to our medical team, doesn't it?

Me too. It took long enough to dawn on him that we needed a left back THIS season. Mind you he was terribly busy signing journeyman central midfielders.

On Kyle. I think I posted in the second week of January stating he was out for 6 weeks and would need an operation. Thats what he was told at the time. Not sure what happened to change the course of action taken but on first look, it seems to be a monumental feck up not to go straight for an operation that he was told he needed in the first place and still needs.

On Driver. We're not going to see much from him this season. He needs to lose some of that bulk before he'll be anything like his optimum best. Fixable but he's been out for an awfy long time and I fear for him.

You have posted essentially what I said. There seems to be conflicting reports that Kyle was diagnosed with a groin problem and needed an operation back in January, yet its worrying they have wasted two and a half months and not got to the bottom of the problem. I used to think it was only Rangers that had problems getting players back from injury.

Unlike some on this thread I have been working and not had the chance to respond to the personal abuse aimed my way.

The drama queens on here need to get a grip on reality. Any form of criticism of things at Hearts results in a clique ganging up on a poster, resulting in a predictable patter of facepalms, dismissive remarks, and blatant personal abuse.

Two of the clique appear on many a thread - one who prefers to use avatars of ex-Rangers players and thinks he is a comedian, and another who pretends not to support them. The latter poster saw this thread as an oportunity to point score as he has been owned on many a thread where he has outlined his hatred for our national team.

This board has gone right downhill.

It really makes you wonder why Man U sent Rio Ferdinand up to our medical team, doesn't it?

What are you talking about? It is Kyle who does not want the operation, our Physio has said he needs the op but Kyle will not accept that and keeps trying to find an alternative.

He had the same problem last year at Killie and I cant really fathom out why JJ and BB are letting him piss about.

He lost a lot of games at Killie with the same problem and would not have the op then either.

Have a look back at how many games he missed for them last season.

I don't think he has been 100% fit since he came back to Scotland and would love it if he just had the op and got himself ready to participate in his first real pre-season for some time.

Then I think he could be an even better player than he has been for us so far since he joined.

What are you talking about? It is Kyle who does not want the operation, our Physio has said he needs the op but Kyle will not accept that and keeps trying to find an alternative.

He had the same problem last year at Killie and I cant really fathom out why JJ and BB are letting him piss about.

He lost a lot of games at Killie with the same problem and would not have the op then either.

Have a look back at how many games he missed for them last season.

I don't think he has been 100% fit since he came back to Scotland and would love it if he just had the op and got himself ready to participate in his first real pre-season for some time.

Then I think he could be an even better player than he has been for us so far since he joined.

I think you might have got the wrong end of the stick! Obviously, the Irony Age has passed along with the Age of Reason!

It was an ironic comment against those having a go at our medical team.

You have posted essentially what I said. There seems to be conflicting reports that Kyle was diagnosed with a groin problem and needed an operation back in January, yet its worrying they have wasted two and a half months and not got to the bottom of the problem. I used to think it was only Rangers that had problems getting players back from injury.

Unlike some on this thread I have been working and not had the chance to respond to the personal abuse aimed my way.

The drama queens on here need to get a grip on reality. Any form of criticism of things at Hearts results in a clique ganging up on a poster, resulting in a predictable patter of facepalms, dismissive remarks, and blatant personal abuse.

Two of the clique appear on many a thread - one who prefers to use avatars of ex-Rangers players and thinks he is a comedian, and another who pretends not to support them. The latter poster saw this thread as an oportunity to point score as he has been owned on many a thread where he has outlined his hatred for our national team.

Clique patter? Digs at posters who haven't even interacted with you on the thread? Ooft, your last sentence might not be that far off after all.

Who exactly is in your "clique" by the way? Just anyone who disagrees with you aye? Names, please.

Since your idea of "owning" someone is saying "Bowie's better than Dylan" by the way, I'll reserve judgement, champ. :thumbsup:

I think you might have got the wrong end of the stick! Obviously, the Irony Age has passed along with the Age of Reason!

It was an ironic comment against those having a go at our medical team.

Sorry, just getting a bit carried away with all these guys that are suggesting the problem lies anywhere but with Kyle.

Out of interest, seeing as the specialists he has seen are unable to pinpoint exactly where the problem is, what operation would you suggest he has.

Perhaps if you addressed these "clique members" by name rather than in riddles they might stop "ganging up" on poor little you.

To be fair, it seems a general sort of response to your post rather than just the work of a few clique members.

Your point re criticism of Hearts would be so much more credible if you (or any of us) actually knew the real reasons behind the delays/surgery decisions etc. However, we don't. We're simply making assumptions based on what we've seen, what we've read, and what we think we know about fairly complex sporting injuries. The difference is that while others are waiting to find out the facts, you're jumping the gun and wading in with pretty damning and perhaps entirely unjustified criticism of both the club and our players....and you wonder why people don't react so well?

As for Kyle perhaps being out for the remainder of the season, I can't honestly say that would surprise me at all. I think I pretty much gave up on getting him back a few weeks ago. I'm not going to get upset about things that we can't do anything about - it's not as if the club are sending our injured players off to cheap backstreet butchers so there isn't really anything to get upset about in the first place. It's just bad luck.

They've also mentioned umpteen times that bringing back Andy Driver was going to be a very slow process so again, no shocks there.

Kevin had his operation last night and has said all going well he would love to be involved against Hibs in a few weeks, all going well and he is hopefull

That sounds very positive

We have missed him badly - not just for his play but for his winner's attitude and infectious enthusiasm

thanks

:pleasing: if true

Aha, I remember you... :)

Good news indeed. Particularly good to hear that the op would appear to mean a fairly quick recovery time too. Thanks weemok.

Good stuff. :thumbsup:

Would love to see him back for the vermin.

fingerscrossed.jpg

The problem is that there are some posters, both on this thread and on KB in general, whose glass isn't so much half-empty as they have drunk the very last drop from it and they get angry because it doesn't refill by itself.

Compared to scraping into the top six at the last game before the split last season (ahead of a newly promoted team at that!). I think we've come on a bit since then although I do accept a bit more progress in the cups would have been welcome but one bad result when our targetted league position is in the bag this early is a bit OTT :ninja: