Pre-Derby boozing

Dunk-Section G

What is everybody doing? Bank Hotel/other hotel, or few beers at the grassy 'park' before the Bridge of Doom!?

Creepy Lurker

Looks like I'll be sober for this one, as I've got three essays due in the following week. Not happy with this development.

Marty McFly

Bank hotel for 9am, then down to scum land for a scotmid carry out and head to the park :)

Can't Hearts fans not wait for a pint untill after the game , it's a 12:45pm kick-off

What is it with the jakies in our support having to get tanked up before a derby , up and doon tae the bog and fans spouting a lot of single fish

for the whole match and they leave early to get back to the pub

I thought it was just a weejie thing .

Can't Hearts fans not wait for a pint untill after the game , it's a 12:45pm kick-off

What is it with the jakies in our support having to get tanked up before a derby , up and doon tae the bog and fans spouting a lot of single fish

You must be a great laugh.

Come to think of it where you in Zagreb? There was some numpty in front of me at the game that night who started arguing with me for being pissed off at Nade (in particular) for being woeful. The guy then suggested I should try not going to the pub before the game if I wanted to have an opinion.

MAJOR STEVE

Hopefully Dianes for 830ish hopefully, then the park or about 11 for a wee sing along!! lovee it

Dunk-Section G

Like it or not, people drinking makes for a better atmosphere. Sad state of affairs but it is true.

Think of all the early KOs which have poor atmospheres, no singing etc.

mahgrassyshoes

Like it or not, people drinking makes for a better atmosphere. Sad state of affairs but it is true.

Think of all the early KOs which have poor atmospheres, no singing etc.

Which park is this? I'm no too familiar with that end of town.

I was thinking Middleton's for a few pre-match drinks.

Dunk-Section G

I was thinking Middleton's for a few pre-match drinks.

The grass part at the end of Bothwell St just before the bridge.

Drinking time will be limited in Middletons considering the 12.45 KO.

Coney Island Baby

It's just before the bridge

WOW! Buzz Killington has arrived

Not everyone sings from the same hymn sheet..you may bebut you telling the guys who want to drink that it's wrong?it may lead tobutthis guy was a teetotalerwho also through a strop about stuff!!

Hearts of Vladland

Getting drunk makes you a 'jakie' deary ******* me, are you Guildford Jambo?

Diannes for 8.A few bottles of Vodka and coke made up for the taxi trip down :thumbsup:

The Maroon Won what the **** you on?

Exactly mate, total disgrace.

I'll be heading to the church first thing and then straight along to Easter Road.

Guest John Meurig Thomas

Our support is officially dead. I've seen it all now. :(

Diannes for 8.A few bottles of Vodka and coke made up for the taxi trip down :thumbsup:

The Maroon Won what the **** you on?

The taxi journey is about 15 minutes. :rofl:

The park is probably a good bet for a wee chant and a drink before . At least there will be plenty of support around if you dont have the courage to take on the bridge yourself sweatdrop.gif

I can't believe the number of folk getting excited about drinking on a small square of grass in the rain.

Got to say it isn't something that appeals to me.

Been checking out the long range weather forecast have we ? :whistling:

Dianes for opening, taxi at 12 to soak up some atmosphere :thumbsup:

Us too. Train from Bathgate to haymarket about 9 and up to Dianes.

I will be having a few beers before the game as I do before every other game

I'm not a jakey, I just happen to like a few pints with my mates before a game.

I also stay and watch 90 minutes and then spend some more time in the pub with the same friends.

You think it's a "weegy" thing, I'd call it a social thing

Perhaps you and Guldford Jambo could get together and share a nice cosy rug and a wee bag of sweeties while sitting and tutting about people enjoying their day out

I will be having a few beers before the game as I do before every other game

I'm not a jakey, I just happen to like a few pints with my mates before a game.

I also stay and watch 90 minutes and then spend some more time in the pub with the same friends.

You think it's a "weegy" thing, I'd call it a social thing

Perhaps you and Guldford Jambo could get together and share a nice cosy rug and a wee bag of sweeties while sitting and tutting about people enjoying their day out

A bit sensitive are you not , or are you in denial , a few pints before AND after the game , then a few more for the road ehh

no doubt you will be off to the classy Dianes pool hall for 9am , quality

hic hic

No wonder so many fans watch a completely different game through their beer goggles

You would be better just watching the game in the pub and spending your ticket money on more booze

A bit sensitive are you not , or are you in denial , a few pints before AND after the game , then a few more for the road ehh

hic hic

No wonder so many fans watch a completely different game through their beer goggles

You would be better just watching the game in the pub and spending your ticket money on more booze

mahgrassyshoes

hic hic

And would this be better for Heart of Midlothian over the course of a season?

hic hic

Your absolutley right,just get drunk all the time like your mammy!!!

hic hic

This may come as a shock to you but the vast majority of us are capable of enjoying a few drinks both before and after the match without getting legless.

As I said earlier it's known as socialising.

FYI I don't plan to go to Diane's Pool Hall, but whether I have one pint or one hundred is of no concern of yours.

I think you would be better watching the match at home and then you or any other wee sweety wife wouldn't need to be subjected to all these horrible normal people who happen to enjoy the whole social experience of attending a football match with their friends

hic hic

I call them my maroon tinted specs

hic hic

Are you going to the derby?

If so would you be as kind as to post your seat details? This would then enable those of us who you may be unfortunate enough to be stuck beside to return our current tickets to the ticket office in order to swap them for ones further away from yourself to avoid causing any offence.

Many thanks.

A concerned, tanked up, single fish spouting jakie.

Not just a wee bit of grass....an incredibly shit-filled piece of grass.It's a minefield standing about there on matchday.Not good!:down:

Drinking establishment of some description for me this time......and i might just tape two pint glasses to my eyes because there is a good chance i'll be slightly tipsy!:rolleyes:

Not just a wee bit of grass....an incredibly shit-filled piece of grass.It's a minefield standing about there on matchday.Not good!:down:

Drinking establishment of some description for me this time......and i might just tape two pint glasses to my eyes because there is a good chance i'll be slightly tipsy!:rolleyes:

Not where I'd go myself but it seems to be more a place for meeting up for the younger jambos and has been for many a year so if that's their preferred choice then let them get on with it and I'm sure the raised eye brow brigade have drunk outside at games but that'll be different though.

mulleted_jambo

The park is an easy option if you don't have much time.

Bus/taxi to Easter road, a few cans and a wee sing song. Saves trying to find a pub you can get into and spending ages getting served each time.

I'll probably go to the pub near my house then head to the park at about 12.

I agree :thumbsup::turned:

Talk about irony , it would appear that the most sensitive poster on this thread is TMO.

If so many Hearts ( Scottish football fans / all clubs ) need to go out in the morning for beers before a 12:45 kick-off then they have a big problem

Is football really that bad or is the booze so good ?

There's plenty of time after an early kick-off to go to the pub , the morning jakies just spoil football for everybody , What sort of role model Hearts fan do you want to set for the youngsters going to games ?

mahgrassyshoes

If so many Hearts ( Scottish football fans / all clubs ) need to go out in the morning for beers before a 12:45 kick-off then they have a big problem

Is football really that bad or is the booze so good ?

There's plenty of time after an early kick-off to go to the pub , the morning jakies just spoil football for everybody , What sort of role model Hearts fan do you want to set for the youngsters going to games ?

Please explain... make too much noise?

They pass wind a lot and spout verbal urine

What planet have you been on come on you must know the trouble it causes at football

If it's not bad enough that I get a hard time for drinking before work, now we're getting a hard time for drinking before the game. Sad times! :-(