Well done to the lassies.

How do they find the time to play football what with all the dishes and ironing which need doing? Incredible*

*Not to be taken seriously.

My son and his pals were quite impressed they were having a kickabout at the school and realised Hearts were about to play so stayed to cheer the lassies on!

Who cares?

I really hope Hearts aren't putting any of our money into this pish.

Well done and good luck to them. Also well done to whoever decided on the "Hearts Women" name rather than using the rather twee "Ladies" title. "Get stuck in Ladies" just wouldn't work.

To be fair they did get humiliated by Glasgow City a few weeks ago.

18 - 0 was the final score! How is that even possible.

To be fair they did get humiliated by Glasgow City a few weeks ago.

18 - 0 was the final score! How is that even possible.

ladies football is a funny game, and some of it can be akin to the mens game in its early days when huge scores were not unusual (36-0 was a famous score that Arbroath beat a team by.) I watched Hearts U19s beat St Cuthbert 18-0 at Tynecastle last season and it is just fairly regular goals all through the match. It is a tough result for them but they were playing the best team in Scotland, Hearts ladies were only created just over a season before but the team they were before (they effectively changed the name of a team) had just got promoted from the third tier of the ladies game. What was more of note was that they got to the quarter-finals of the Scottish cup. The more established the team become the lower scores likes this will become against the big teams.

Well done and good luck to them. Also well done to whoever decided on the "Hearts Women" name rather than using the rather twee "Ladies" title. "Get stuck in Ladies" just wouldn't work.

I disagree FA. Always thought that "Ladies" was much more sophisticated and refined. Most female's teams call themselves "Ladies" with the honourable exception of Doncaster Belles. I think "Women" sounds vulgar and common and we shouldnt call ourselves that (even if its true).

I suppose I should be pleased its not "Hearts Bursd"

dry.gif

GC

Who cares?

I really hope Hearts aren't putting any of our money into this pish.

Women's football is currently the quickest growing sport in the UK.

Wouldn't make business sense not to have a look in at the moment.

Women's football is currently the quickest growing sport in the UK.

Wouldn't make business sense not to have a look in at the moment.

If by some miracle womens football actually becomes a profitable business, it wont be for about another 40 years. The standard is genuinely worse than pub football level.

Waste of time.

Girls football is not a sport of any standing whatsoever and I do not care one jot about their progress.

A Hearts "care in the community" move IMO.

Had a look at the link. We have other stories about this team on our web page. I can only guess that the writer of this story picked the picture to match his first line. ;)

Woman's football is utterly pointless.

The standard is embarrassingly bad.

I don't know why Hearts bother.

Re: the Glasgow City defeat

City are a division higher than Hearts (ie. top flight) and have won it the last three years (it is usually between them and Celtic Ladies) and have gone acquitted themselves well (as an unpaid amateur outfield - who albeit train five nights a week) in the European Champions league where they face some teams from countries who operate a full-time structure (Germany for example). So a thumping of Hearts was not to be expected and City may well go on to win that cup competition they faced our ladies in. Besides, look at City's results this season and have a look at what they did to Kilmarnock - doesn't bear thinking about.

Woman's football is utterly pointless.

The standard is embarrassingly bad.

I don't know why Hearts bother.

I haven't read any other posts in this thread, and apologies to my female chums, but really - this is bang on the cash.

I'll start supporting female football when there's a male menstruation XI.

I think there are some pretty narrow minded views on this thread. While the standard, at this stage, may not be great there is no reason why there shouldn't be an outlet for womens football. Many young girls, including my 8 years old daughter, are taking up football and knowing that the big football clubs have womens teams gives them something to aspire to.

There are a lot of men, myself included, who are playing competitive football at a pretty poor standard, that doesn't mean its pointless.

I like the thought of Hearts adopting a "sporting club" approach that is seen on the continent with many big clubs. For example Barcelona have football, basketball, swimming and hockey teams, amongst others. Its a great way of getting the whole community involved and getting the club name/brand known.

I think Hearts are one of the more progressive clubs in Scotland with great community programs and I think branching into womens football is another positive step.

I think there are some pretty narrow minded views on this thread. While the standard, at this stage, may not be great there is no reason why there shouldn't be an outlet for womens football. Many young girls, including my 8 years old daughter, are taking up football and knowing that the big football clubs have womens teams gives them something to aspire to.

There are a lot of men, myself included, who are playing competitive football at a pretty poor standard, that doesn't mean its pointless.

I like the thought of Hearts adopting a "sporting club" approach that is seen on the continent with many big clubs. For example Barcelona have football, basketball, swimming and hockey teams, amongst others. Its a great way of getting the whole community involved and getting the club name/brand known.

I think Hearts are one of the more progressive clubs in Scotland with great community programs and I think branching into womens football is another positive step.

Good stuff mate.

If I have daughters then i want them to get involved in sports and I would love it if they could aspire to one day play for a team that is connected with Hearts. I don't know why some people have such a problem with it, it is not as if it is set up to replace men's football... i think it is a great move by Hearts and I want them to keep progressing.

Don't understand why it is so obviously offensive to some folk.

Good stuff mate.

If I have daughters then i want them to get involved in sports and I would love it if they could aspire to one day play for a team that is connected with Hearts. I don't know why some people have such a problem with it, it is not as if it is set up to replace men's football... i think it is a great move by Hearts and I want them to keep progressing.

Don't understand why it is so obviously offensive to some folk.

Because there are loads of 20 year old students on kickback with MASSIVE alter ego's.

Spot on!

A few of them -though sometimes quite amusing- are so far up their own erses, I am surprised they do not need to use sat-navs to brush their teeth. :ermm:

My issue is quite simple really.

Hearts better not be wasting funds that could be used to actually better our proper football teams on silly wee lassies with unbelievably pish tekkers. We are 30 million in debt, ken?

I'm not 20 nor do I have an alter ego. Probably am a bit up my arse though.

My issue is quite simple really.

Hearts better not be wasting funds that could be used to actually better our proper football teams on silly wee lassies with unbelievably pish tekkers. We are 30 million in debt, ken?

I'm not 20 nor do I have an alter ego. Probably am a bit up my arse though.

A few issues here...

*As far as I am aware, there are no HMFC funds going towards them and they use last season's strips with their own sponsors.

*We congratulate ourselves on our community work all the time, why should this be any different, much rather lassies from the area were partaking in the national sport than appearing on late night cops with cameras shows like wee neds.

*Why should they not be allowed to play competitive sport like their male counterparts?

*Surprised you are not about 20.

*You do have an alter ego.

*You are very up your own erse. :thumbsup:

If by some miracle womens football actually becomes a profitable business, it wont be for about another 40 years. The standard is genuinely worse than pub football level.

Waste of time.

A pint of bitter please. 'er indoors. Et cetera.

Women's football ain't so bad. Hibs ladies (crackhoors) used to train on the astro my team used directly after us. One night they were having a bounce game against Mussy Windsor u21s and a few of us hung around to watch it.

The Windsor, as at all age groups, were a top team at that age group and the ladies held their own against them. No doubting the lads were maybe holding back a little, not wanting to be the guy that nails a girl (ooopsie, fnar, missus and so on) but still, the girls knocked the ball around quite nicely and I was pretty happy i wasn't playing against them. A look at reent World Cups etc, would show you some pretty skillful players. Goalies are still shan though.

And before you ask, yes I did thrash myself silly that night. I really like Mussy Windsor u21s to be fair.

Anyway, I think the Hearts Women are self funded mostly - they have different sponsorship etc. I think they use our name and get a bit of access to our facilities and links within the game, but I'm not sure much else. Could be wrong - maybe one of the girls or coaches is a member on here and could set that straight....?

the girls knocked the ball around quite nicely and I was pretty happy i wasn't playing against them.

This may shock you but I have watched games before and I'm well aware what the standard of female football is like. Utter pish.

A pint of bitter please. 'er indoors. Et cetera.

Women's football ain't so bad. Hibs ladies (crackhoors) used to train on the astro my team used directly after us. One night they were having a bounce game against Mussy Windsor u21s and a few of us hung around to watch it.

The Windsor, as at all age groups, were a top team at that age group and the ladies held their own against them. No doubting the lads were maybe holding back a little, not wanting to be the guy that nails a girl (ooopsie, fnar, missus and so on) but still, the girls knocked the ball around quite nicely and I was pretty happy i wasn't playing against them. A look at reent World Cups etc, would show you some pretty skillful players. Goalies are still shan though.

And before you ask, yes I did thrash myself silly that night. I really like Mussy Windsor u21s to be fair.

Anyway, I think the Hearts Women are self funded mostly - they have different sponsorship etc. I think they use our name and get a bit of access to our facilities and links within the game, but I'm not sure much else. Could be wrong - maybe one of the girls or coaches is a member on here and could set that straight....?

giggle...

A few issues here...

*As far as I am aware, there are no HMFC funds going towards them and they use last season's strips with their own sponsors.

*We congratulate ourselves on our community work all the time, why should this be any different, much rather lassies from the area were partaking in the national sport than appearing on late night cops with cameras shows like wee neds.

*Why should they not be allowed to play competitive sport like their male counterparts?

*Surprised you are not about 20.

*You do have an alter ego.

*You are very up your own erse. :thumbsup:

As far as I am aware = I don't have a clue.

Fair enough though Mothy, look forward to seeing your daughter in her Hearts strip. :thumbsup:

As far as I am aware = I don't have a clue.

Fair enough though Mothy, look forward to seeing your daughter in her Hearts strip. :thumbsup:

Cheeky Kent. :thumbsup: ... With mine and Mrs Moth's genes she would be way out of your league buddy.

On a serious note though, I only posted the topic as I think it is important to the club to have community initiatives and IF I do have any lassies I think it is great that they could aspire to play in a team that is associated with Hearts.

Any time I post something about their progress from the site the thread always becomes the same tired arguments about the general subject rather than commenting on the actuall story.

Any sports team with a connection to our club will get my support... Dinnae think i will be attending too many games or anything but i think that as a part of Heart of midlothian, they deserve a wee mention when they are doing well.

This may shock you but I have watched games before and I'm well aware what the standard of female football is like. Utter pish.

Fair enough. Sorry.

Women playing football is wrong wrong wrong.

Next we know we will be giving woman the right to bloody vote..............

I recently found myself in a game in which a couple of girls - who played at a high ladies' standard - played.

I ripped the actual pish out of them without breaking out of a jog. And I play at low Monday night fives standard. Makes you proud to be a man. :thumbsup:

Darwin - 1, Trying To Pretend Women Can Play Despite Not Having The Raw Goods - 0

Reminds me of when Andy Murray said that Serena and Venus would be lucky to break the top 1000 in the men's rankings. Henman and McEnroe didn't even bother to try and argue. Just nodded and mumbled, "Glad you said that, not me".

Jeebus Thommo,

You can put the pint and the porn down mate! Noones questioning your man-hood fella'! Crikey some folk are easily threatened, did you honestly think that there was a danger of Hearts fans drifting away from the team in droves to watch the women's game? :D

They're not in competition with HMFC, they are a seperate entity altogether and as such there is really no need for the ****** waving, noone is suggesting they are of the same standard as SPL level... Dinnae act so insecure. ;)

Honestly, some folk are so easily threatened it is worrying!

Mothy, we get it - you're a sensitive new man and all the women on here are now gagging to hear your views on post ironing feminism.

Women's football however is still pish.

IJ,

Sheesh buddy, I'll do me best but'll need to go some distance to catch up with you... You've just stepped up as spokesperson for "all the women on here"...

Now go away, I need to get back to my pirate copy of 'Made in Dagenham'.

Jeebus Thommo,

You can put the pint and the porn down mate! Noones questioning your man-hood fella'! Crikey some folk are easily threatened, did you honestly think that there was a danger of Hearts fans drifting away from the team in droves to watch the women's game? :D

They're not in competition with HMFC, they are a seperate entity altogether and as such there is really no need for the ****** waving, noone is suggesting they are of the same standard as SPL level... Dinnae act so insecure. ;)

Honestly, some folk are so easily threatened it is worrying!

I agree, it always amazes me some guys attitudes towards women's football and it does as sound like for some reason they are threatened by it.

Ps: serena would be in the top twenty in mixed sex pro-tennis.

Serena and Venus actually played (1 Set each) a Dutch journeyman Pro early in their careers. He was ranked 300+ I think. He won both sets ridiculously comfortably.

Bistokid,

Please see winking smiley, just felt a wee bit argumentative. I expected more of a response from the er... Fragile? Egos with that one.

I think that Mothy and JiG sometimes have problems identifying the location of tongues in one's mouth.

It's the only explanation for thinking that I would actually come on a forum and genuinely boast about being better at football than a girl. :vrface:

PS. The Dutch player was ranked 350 the month after playing them, and done them 6-1, 6-2 (Venus took 2 games). WOMEN - KNOW YOUR LIMITS.

The cheek of it...

(In the spirit of the puntastic Penney thread) ;)