Team for Saturday v Motherwell

Saturday is a must win for us and given our defensive frailties i think JJ needs to go back to basics when it comes to our defending, But on the other hand we are at home and with a big crowd looking likely we will have to attack!! Also Rudi starting is a must, if he is ok for the bench then he is ok to start probably at the expense of Calum, but i would give him a run out in the 2nd half. (our best form of defence it seems just now unbelievably!!)

My team would be...

KELLO

JONSSON RB

BOUZID CB

MCGOWAN CB

J.THOMSON LB

TEMPLETON LM

RUBEN DM

STEVENSON CM

SUSO RM

SKACEL AM

KYLE CF

Bench: Balogh, C. Elliott, S. Elliott, Driver, Jonsson, Barr, Mrowiec,

As long as it features Kello, Stevenson, Suso & Kyle I'll be content. I'm completely amibivalent about the rest of them after last night. 'Cept maybe Temps, I'll let him off the hook on the basis that there's only so much clattering one wee person can take in the space of 90 minutes.

I'm dying to see Skacel play, goes without saying really, but it won't surprise me if he doesn't. In short, I'm not getting my hopes up.

As long as it features Kello, Stevenson, Suso & Kyle I'll be content. I'm completely amibivalent about the rest of them after last night. 'Cept maybe Temps, I'll let him off the hook on the basis that there's only so much clattering one wee person can take in the space of 90 minutes.

I'm dying to see Skacel play, goes without saying really, but it won't surprise me if he doesn't. In short, I'm not getting my hopes up.

kello

barr

bouzid

mcgowan

johnsson

suso

stevenson

pala

temps

kyle

elliot

we need to tighten up in the full back positions and the centre halfs will improve from there by not getting dragged out position so much. putting barr out there and johnsson would be a start as palas no got a scoob out there and thompson has been struggling defensively

Kello

J.Thomson Bouzid Mroweic Palazuelos

E.Jonsson R.McGowan

Suso Stevenson Skacel

K.Kyle

Subs: C.Elliot, S.Elliot, D.Templeton, D.Barr, S.Robinson, M.Park, A.Driver.

I'd go for the following to beat a stuffy Motherwell side...

Kello

J. Thomson Bouzid McGowan Palazuelos

Jonsson

Suso Templeton

Stevenson

Kyle C Elliot

Subs: Obua, Black, Mrowiec, Balogh, Skacel, Barr, Novikovas, Glen.

Motherwell have been anything but stuffy under first McGhee and now Brown. The thought of their midfielders and strikers angling runs in behind our "defence" is already giving me sleepless nights.

..............Kello............

J.Thomson Mroweic Bouzid Eggert

...........Ruben...............

Suso.....Stevenson........Temps

........Elliot..Kyle...........

Subs : Balogh, Barr, McGowan, Obua, Skacel, Novikovas, Elliott

Drop the backline back a bit cause they are too high and are getting opened up far to easy. Motherwell are a good side and will do the same if we can't defend.

Kello

J.Thomson (if fit) - Jonsson - Bouzid - Ruben

Mrowiec

Templeton - Skacel - Suso

Elliot

Kyle

Have to agree with jambopete looks well balanced..... Im no bothered as long as we win which i think we will. Get hearts on your coupon :whistling:

Kello

Barr

Jonsson

Bouzid

Palazuelos

Mrowiec

Suso

Skacel

Templeton

Kyle

C Elliot

C.Thomson will be suspended, right? So I reckon the team to start will be:

Kello

J.Thomson - Jonsson - Bouzid - Palazuelos

Suso - Stevenson - Black/Mrowiec - Templeton

Kyle - Calum Elliot

Subs:

Skacel for Black/Mrowiec or Templeton

Stephen Elliott for Calum

Obua for Temps? Glen for Kyle?

C.Thomson will be suspended, right? So I reckon the team to start will be:

Kello

J.Thomson - Jonsson - Bouzid - Palazuelos

Suso - Stevenson - Black/Mrowiec - Templeton

Kyle - Calum Elliot

Subs:

Skacel for Black/Mrowiec or Templeton

Stephen Elliott for Calum

Obua for Temps? Glen for Kyle?

Meh he he. Naw.

Kello

J.Thomson Barr Bouzid Jonsson

Suso Mrowiec Stevenson Templeton

Kyle C.Elliot

Subs: Balogh, C.Thomson*, McGowan, Palazuelos, Skacel, Robinson, S.Elliott

I realise I'll probably get stick for selecting Barr at CH, so I'll explain. I understand he had an absolute shocker last night but I honestly don't think chopping and changing the centre-backs in every game is helping. We don't have many options at the moment so I think the best thing to do is let Barr and Bouzid try to formulate an understanding. If we're still shocking at the back in a few games time then it's time for a change. I think those full-backs will give us more solidity.

* - Suspended?

Kello

J.Thomson Barr Bouzid Jonsson

Suso Mrowiec Stevenson Templeton

Kyle C.Elliot

Subs: Balogh, C.Thomson*, McGowan, Palazuelos, Skacel, Robinson, S.Elliott

I realise I'll probably get stick for selecting Barr at CH, so I'll explain. I understand he had an absolute shocker last night but I honestly don't think chopping and changing the centre-backs in every game is helping. We don't have many options at the moment so I think the best thing to do is let Barr and Bouzid try to formulate an understanding. If we're still shocking at the back in a few games time then it's time for a change. I think those full-backs will give us more solidity.

* - Suspended

I get where you are coming from and agree chopping and changing the central defence is not a great idea. Although there has to be a point where a performance falls below a certain level and a player has to be dropped. I am in 2 minds about Barr playing on Saturday but would tend to agree with what you have said.

Kello

J.Thomson (if fit) - Jonsson - Bouzid - Ruben

Mrowiec

Templeton - Skacel - Suso

Elliot

Kyle

Decent choice, but I can't see Barr dropped unfortunately.

Dr. Sheldon Cooper

If Skacel starts, then I expect something along the lines of:

Kello

Barr Jonsson Bouzid Skacel

Suso Stevenson Mrowiec Templeton

Kyle Elliot

Subs: Balogh, J Thomson, McGowan, Palazuelos, Novikovas, Obua, Elliott.

Not ideal playing Skacel at left back but I feel after the last few games, Palazuelos is not a full back and that we need somebody in there who will the challenge the winger then have the ability to break forward in a similar way to Wallace, and I think that Skacel would be the ideal person to do that for us.

The team that I would pick is....

Kello

J.Thomson, D.McGowan, Jonsson, Park

Suso, R.McGowan, Stevenson, Templeton

Kyle, Elliot

Bench; Balogh, Bouzid, Mrowiec, Palazuelos, Skacel, Robinson, Glen

The team I expect to see

Kello

J.Thomson, Jonsson, Bouzid, Palazuelos

Suso, Mrowiec, Stevenson, Templeton

Kyle, Elliot

Kello,

J. Thomson, McGowan, Mrowiec, Park,

Suso, Stevenson, Skacel, Templeton,

Kyle, Elliot,

That's what I would pick, not a fecking chance in hell JJ will agree though.

Kello,

Kyle, Elliot,

Almost exactly the team I was gonnae post, but with Eggert at LB.

Fairly gung ho line up, tho' - not a hope in hell!

Is Jason Thomson fit?

Almost exactly the team I was gonnae post, but with Eggert at LB.

Fairly gung ho line up, tho' - not a hope in hell!

Is Jason Thomson fit?

I'm assuming so, he was on the bench at both Celtic Park and Inverness if memory serves me correctly.

Every game is a "must win" game in a sense but i don`t think its a "must win" as if our season depends on it....a wee bit dramatic there i think.

Time to take stock of our problems in defence, attacking wise we are on the boil so there`s no pressure on Hearts as such.

A good determined outlook on the game(from the start and all the way through to the 95th minute!) with the players really focused to keep up the good form and take pride in that. If we do this we`ll win. :thumbsup:

Rudi close to starting.....

Major boost to get fans right up for match imo.

You don't think that could be marketing ploy to increase ticket sales for Saturday then? Sure I read JJ saying he might be a couple of weeks away. Don't get me wrong I hope he is on the bench on Saturday.

dropping Clum for Skacel wont be popular around here i feel.

Never ever thought id utter words to that effect

Agreed. I'd leave Skacel out and give him the second half. Suso is finally hitting a bit of form :thumbsup:

Kello

J Thomson Bouzid McGowan Obua

Suso Stevenson Ruben Temps

Elliot Kyle

Kello,

Kyle, Elliot,

That's cos it's suicide.

Mcgowan and Mrowiec never played 1st team CB before.

Park is just coming back from a really bad injury and he's never played before - just sticking inexperienced players in defence at the same time is not the answer.

Skacel is just back and not totally match fit and that midfield is way too attack minded, and other than Kyle there are no leaders in that team.

All in all we'd get so gubbed.

Kello

JT Barr Bouzid Jonsson

Suso Stevo Pali Temps

C. Elliot Kyle

Subs: Balogh, Mrowiec, Black, Novi, Glen, Skacel, S Elliott

Bet Craig Brown wishes some on here were picking the team! I would feel very sorry for McGowan if he got picked. How often has he played central defence lately.

Got to stick with Barr or bite the bullet and put Zal back in. Plus if Skacel is fit I would play him and put Templeton on the bench (quite like him but if Skacel has still got it he is better and Suso deserves to keep his place)

That's cos it's suicide.

Mcgowan and Mrowiec never played 1st team CB before.

Park is just coming back from a really bad injury and he's never played before - just sticking inexperienced players in defence at the same time is not the answer.

Skacel is just back and not totally match fit and that midfield is way too attack minded, and other than Kyle there are no leaders in that team.

All in all we'd get so gubbed.

Kello

JT Barr Bouzid Jonsson

Suso Stevo Pali Temps

C. Elliot Kyle

Subs: Balogh, Mrowiec, Black, Novi, Glen, Skacel, S Elliott

Right, so we'll continue to play central defenders that are utterly pathetic, just because they have played before. :blink:

Again, we need someone who is a recognised left back, Matthew Park is the only available option I'm afraid. I'd like to think we can agree the Ruben is not a defender.

And I don't think it's too attack minded, Stevenson should be dropped back into a position he is comfortable with, even last night I'm convinced he was too far up the pitch. As for Skacel, I can see your point, but don't think there is anyone else better for the job, and he will give everyone in the stadium a massive lift.

maroonedinbriz

I can't understand the number of people who want Barr and Bouzid retained as central defenders. They are so bloody slow you don'

't need to be a good player to play against them, just reasonably paced.

temps got a lot of rough treatment at the inverness game as well!!

Right, so we'll continue to play central defenders that are utterly pathetic, just because they have played before. :blink:

Again, we need someone who is a recognised left back, Matthew Park is the only available option I'm afraid. I'd like to think we can agree the Ruben is not a defender.

And I don't think it's too attack minded, Stevenson should be dropped back into a position he is comfortable with, even last night I'm convinced he was too far up the pitch. As for Skacel, I can see your point, but don't think there is anyone else better for the job, and he will give everyone in the stadium a massive lift.

I'm not saying Park/Mcgowan/Mrowiec shouldn't get a game at some point in defence but it would be mad playing them all at the same time, I feel.

No more mad than playing Barr, Bouzid and Ruben again, though.

The Establishment

I think changes have to made at the back, even just to buck some people's ideas up.

I'd go with

Kello

J Thomson Bouzid R MacGowan Palazuelos(Last chance there)

Suso Stevenson Jonsson Templeton

Kyle C Elliot

Subs

Balogh, Skacel, Obua, Mrowiec, Barr, S Elliot, Novikovas

Gk: Kello

RB: Barr

CB: Bouzid

CB: Jonsson

LB: J.Thomson

LM: Templeton

RM: Suso

CM: Stevenson

CM: Black

CF: Kyle

CF: C.Elliot

Subs: Balogh, S.Elliot, Skacel, Palazuelos, Novikovas, Obua, Mrowiec

When we have 2 available, JJ will always play 2 upfront at Tynie.

Kello

Barr Eggy Bouzid Pala/JT

Suso Stevo Morwiec/McGowan Temps

Elliot Kyle

Bench: Balogh; Pala; Mrowiec; Novi; TheBigO; Elliott; Rudi

Pretty sure Jim would go for Pala and Mrowiec but I'd prefer to see Jason at LB and McGowan in the midfield for this one.

When we have 2 available, JJ will always play 2 upfront at Tynie.

Kello

Barr Eggy Bouzid Pala/JT

Suso Stevo Morwiec/McGowan Temps

Elliot Kyle

Bench: Balogh; Pala; Mrowiec; Novi; TheBigO; Elliott; Rudi

Pretty sure Jim would go for Pala and Mrowiec but I'd prefer to see Jason at LB and McGowan in the midfield for this one.

Pala will get murdered by Humphrey. JT or Jonsson it has to be.....

That's my thoughts too. Above team is a mixture of what I want and expect. I hope he plays JT there

dropping Clum for Skacel wont be popular around here i feel.

Never ever thought id utter words to that effect

Sounds good to me

Napoleon  Wilson

Kello

J.Thomson Barr Bouzid Palazuelos

Suso Jonsson Stevenson Templeton

Kyle Elli

Yeah this should be the team, 4 4 2 get right at them

It still amazes me that people would continue with Pala at LB and with Eggy/Stevo in the middle? Have they not seen the last 2 games? in both we played much better when Jonsson went to full back and Mrowiec came into midfield. If Mrowiec is needed at CB then surely it would make more sense to have Eggy at LB and Pala in midfield?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - KELLO

D.BARR - E.JONSSON - I.BOUZID - J.THOMSON

- - - - - - - - - - - - R.PALAZUELOS

S.SANTANA - - R.STEVENSON - - D.TEMPLETON

- - - - - - - - - - - C.ELLIOT - K.KYLE

SUBS: J.BALOGH, R.McGOWAN, R.SKACEL, I.BLACK, D.OBUA, S.ELLIOTT, A.MROWIEC

I did a wee experiment:

I am honestly struggling to think of a decent line up for our next game.

I decided to pick our best eleven players, based on form and availability, so that I could pick a team from that.

I didn't quite manage eleven players, and none of the players I picked were defenders! :blink:

I would go for:

Kello

Barr

Jonsson

Bouzid

Palazuelos

Mrowiec

Suso

Skacel

Templeton

Kyle

C Elliot

Replace Barr with, well just take Barr out, play with 10 and that team is spot on