Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC

FC Twente

FC Rubin Kazan

AJ Auxerre

CFR 1907 Cluj

FK Partizan

M?K ?ilina

Bursaspor

The media's talking point is to see which of the top seeded teams gets drawn with Real Madrid. However the gulf between the top and the bottom 2 pots makes it extremely unlikely that Real plus A N Other (Pot 1) won't come through as the top two in their group.

If they're not grouped with Madrid, I can only see Ajax, Schalke and, possibly, Spurs making it out of the groups from the bottom 16.

I wait to be proved wrong but I expect the group stages to be a series of disappointingly stale ties between the 'big' names and a bunch of predictable results against the pot 3 & 4 teams with only one or two of the groups throwing up any form of nail-biting interest as it gets towards the 6th games.

Pot 1

FC Internazionale Milano

FC Barcelona

Manchester United FC

Chelsea FC

Arsenal FC

FC Bayern M?nchen

AC Milan

Olympique Lyonnais

Pot 2

SV Werder Bremen

Real Madrid CF

AS Roma

FC Shakhtar Donetsk

SL Benfica

Valencia CF

Olympique de Marseille

Panathinaikos FC

Pot 3

Tottenham Hotspur FC

Rangers FC

AFC Ajax

FC Schalke 04

FC Basel 1893

SC Braga

FC K?benhavn

FC Spartak Moskva

Pot 4

Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC

FC Twente

FC Rubin Kazan

AJ Auxerre

CFR 1907 Cluj

FK Partizan

M?K ?ilina

Bursaspor

The media's talking point is to see which of the top seeded teams gets drawn with Real Madrid. However the gulf between the top and the bottom 2 pots makes it extremely unlikely that Real plus A N Other (Pot 1) won't come through as the top two in their group.

If they're not grouped with Madrid, I can only see Ajax, Schalke and, possibly, Spurs making it out of the groups from the bottom 16.

I wait to be proved wrong but I expect the group stages to be a series of disappointingly stale ties between the 'big' names and a bunch of predictable results against the pot 3 & 4 teams with only one or two of the groups throwing up any form of nail-biting interest as it gets towards the 6th games.

I think you could be right, I said on the Sampdoria v Werder Bremen thread that I thought that would be the peak of the Champions' League excitement and I fear that I could be right.

Ideal group for Rangers :

Lyon

Panathinaikos

Rangers

Zilina

Group of Death for Rangers (My personal favorite :D ):

Inter Milan

Real Madrid

Rangers

Rubin Kazan

The Champions League is completely stale until the knockout rounds for me, then it really starts to hot up a bit and ties get tasty.

I'd love to see this group

Arsenal

Real Madrid

Rangers

FC Twente

That would just about guarantee the huns get papped out at the first hurdle :thumbsup:

Group of Death for Rangers (My personal favorite :D ):

Inter Milan

Real Madrid

Rangers

Rubin Kazan

That's pretty much the group I'd be hoping for although the mischief-maker in me would like it equally were Inter Milan to be replaced with Chelsea (assuming I'm allowed to mention them on the thread). Virtually an Old Firm tie :)

On balance, though, I prefer Inter as it keeps the great hunwashed out of London!

AC Milan

Real Madrid

Tottenham

Rubin Kazan

Would make for an entertaining group.

Tokyo Drifter

Rangers and Chelsea would be hilarious. So would Rangers and Man U. "Welcome back to Manchester, lads!" I don't think so.

Very strong groups from the looks of it. Can't wait. :thumbsup:

What time is the draw?

That's pretty much the group I'd be hoping for although the mischief-maker in me would like it equally were Inter Milan to be replaced with Chelsea (assuming I'm allowed to mention them on the thread). Virtually an Old Firm tie :)

On balance, though, I prefer Inter as it keeps the great hunwashed out of London!

I was torn between Chelsea and Inter tbh, but what swayed me is the potential "welcome" the Rangers fans would get in Milan :D

Very strong groups from the looks of it. Can't wait. :thumbsup:

What time is the draw?

4:30

On a half-day today, so I'll be home to see that. :D

Enjoy the preamble and the wheeling out of pensioners in suits who once played football.

I think I'll just wait for the highlights package...

Rangers and Chelsea would be hilarious. So would Rangers and Man U. "Welcome back to Manchester, lads!" I don't think so.

I can think of one regular poster who would be left totally stumped if this one came out.

It starts on Sky at 16:30. Just cut to the chase on Yoorosport at 5pm.

Brian Badonde

Watching the draw now on SSN an Julio Cesar just won keeper of the year and he came from his seat to collect the award already wearing a mic. I hope the draw isn't as staged!

Just switched it on on Eurosport and they seem to be having some sort of awartd ceremony? Has the draw happened or is this going to be a prolonged boring "spectacular" instead of just pulling the balls out (as it were)?

For anyone interested in the coefficients and stuff like that, the teams we need to keep an eye on and hope they get a difficult draw and/or lose the majority of their games are;

CFR Cluj (Romania - pot 4)

Basel (Switzerland - pot 3)

Hapoel Tel Aviv (Israel - pot 3)

Hopefully Cluj are drawn in a different group to Basel and Hapoel.

Hearts Machine

That burd, nice though she is, keeps calling it The "Wafer" Champions League. Th` "Wafer" President etc. What`s that all about?

Yoofa saying they will "come down hard" on racism. They should have told the truth and added "unless you're a big club". Pathetic. :rolleyes:

Lyon, Marseille and Bursapor for Spurs please thumbsup.gif

Actually, can clubs from the same country appear together in the group stage? If not I'll settle for Panathanikos in pot 2 instead of Marseille.

That burd, nice though she is, keeps calling it The "Wafer" Champions League. Th` "Wafer" President etc. What`s that all about?

That's how she'd pronounce it. It's normal - and she's hot. :woot:

Man United and Barcelona first teams out.

Is it a sign? First teams out the pot, last teams out the competition?

Worth a punt. Probably be low odds though.

she's hot. :woot:

:yucky:

She'd be absolutely freaked out if she knew that Mr Interweb Loner was drooling over her. :yucky:

Hearts Machine

That's how she'd pronounce it. It's normal - and she's hot. :woot:

Granted, it`s an accent thing. But she`s almost hot enough for me to consider, I`ll have to think. Just stop saying "Wafer" or I`l not be goin` out with you.

She'd be absolutely freaked out if she knew that Mr Interweb Loner was drooling over her. :yucky:

:D :D

Group A

Internazionale

Group B

Olympique Lyonnais

Group C

Manchester United

Group D

FC Barcelona

Group E

Bayern Munich

Group F

Chelsea

Group G

AC Milan

Group H

Arsenal

Hearts Machine

Jesus they dinnae half drag this pish oot.

Aye. Agreed. Getting boring now.

:yucky:

Actually, I think she'd be thrilled that a man of my cosmopolitan sophistication was interested in her. She really needs to brush up on her football knowledge first though. :ninja:

Jesus they dinnae half drag this pish oot.

You're not kidding. So far the totally meaningless assignment of a Group letter to the pot one teams!

At this rate it will be like 90 minutes plus extra time plus penalties before we're through.

Actually, I think she'd be thrilled that a man of my cosmopolitan sophistication was interested in her. She really needs to brush up on her football knowledge first though. :ninja:

Has someone hacked into your account Shaun ?

AC Milan

Real Madrid

Tottenham

Rubin Kazan

Would make for an entertaining group.

Ooooh halfway there

You're not kidding. So far the totally meaningless assignment of a Group letter to the pot one teams!

At this rate it will be like 90 minutes plus extra time plus penalties before we're through.

Which they make a big deal of for reasons of TV scheduling. And that's football 2010 for you I guess.

Group A

Internazionale

Werder Bremen

Group B

Olympique Lyonnais

SL Benfica

Group C

Manchester United

Valencia CF

Group D

FC Barcelona

Panathinaikos

Group E

Bayern Munich

AS Roma

Group F

Chelsea

Olympique Marseille

Group G

AC Milan

Real Madrid CF

Group H

Arsenal

Shakhtar Donetsk

CavySlaveJambo

Group A

Internazionale

Werder Bremer

Group B

Olympique Lyonnais

Benfica

Group C

Manchester United

Valencia

Group D

FC Barcelona

Panathiakos

Group E

Bayern Munich

AS Roma

Group F

Chelsea

Olympic de Marseille

Group G

AC Milan

Real Madrid

Group H

Arsenal

Shaktar Donetsk

Three Inter players as the best three at their position.

Well there's a ******* shock.

I'd bet my house Diego Milito is voted the best striker.