Help me get into betting

P-Dizzle

Ok, so I'm not much of a betting person. Other than a few games of poker/online now and then I never bet any money. But I turned 18 a little while back and feel like setting up an online account.

There's some nice fixtures this weekend and the Haye Vs Valuev fight too. Anyone who knows their stuff fancy telling me good bets to place and what to stick to.

Cheers. :2thumbsup:

this_is_my_story
Ok, so I'm not much of a betting person. Other than a few games of poker/online now and then I never bet any money. But I turned 18 a little while back and feel like setting up an online account.

There's some nice fixtures this weekend and the Haye Vs Valuev fight too. Anyone who knows their stuff fancy telling me good bets to place and what to stick to.

Cheers. :2thumbsup:

There's definitely value in Valuev.

Sorry...

Don't get into betting, mate. Take it from a bookie; punters don't win! :(

It's too late for me, but save yourself. :D

It's never too late to save yourself Acey. You have chums on here that would never cope with the pain of losing that wit of yours.

:10900:

What I mean is, best sticking to result accumulators and such? Or individual bets.

My dad isn't a gambler, and I'm not talking about huge bets just ?20 a week or so. :stuart:

eddie fenwick
:10900:

What I mean is, best sticking to result accumulators and such? Or individual bets.

My dad isn't a gambler, and I'm not talking about huge bets just ?20 a week or so. :stuart:

tell you what,give me a tenner each week and keep the other,hey presto you up a tenner a week:stuart::2thumbsup:

this_is_my_story

Stick to what you know - if that's football, then bet on that.

Don't get into the 4, 5 and upwards results accumulators - mug's game.

Harder than you'd think to predict more than say, three. I'd say pick one, two or at most three teams you fancy strongly, and bet in either singles, doubles or trebles.

With the fitbaw, you can also do correct scores, and 'half-time/full-time' betting - say you fancy it to be a draw at half time tomorrow, with Hearts leading at full time - you'd get around 7/2 or 4/1 I'd reckon.

Good fun as long as you keep it sensible!

Harder than you'd think to predict more than say, three. I'd say pick one, two or at most three teams you fancy strongly, and bet in either singles, doubles or trebles.

With the fitbaw, you can also do correct scores, and 'half-time/full-time' betting - say you fancy it to be a draw at half time tomorrow, with Hearts leading at full time - you'd get around 7/2 or 4/1 I'd reckon.

Top answer. :2thumbsup:

Thanks, yeah I just fancied betting on few results every week. Money isn't to much of an issue but I don't have a very addictive personality so I'll keep smart. :stuart:

i concur with acey.

don't get into betting for the sake of it. especially online casino games.

happily gambling away one day, having the bailiffs horsing you oot yer bed to sell it the next.

i concur with acey.

don't get into betting for the sake of it. especially online casino games.

happily gambling away one day, having the bailiffs horsing you oot yer bed to sell it the next.

:th_o:

That's a far cry from the odd bet on the football though. :stuart:

:th_o:

That's a far cry from the odd bet on the football though. :stuart:

yeah not much wrong with the odd football punt but honestly, online casino is a killer.

i'm not a big gambler but i've got no intention of touching it.

the crack cocaine of gambling mate.

I'd say don't get into it any more than putting a coupon on on a Saturday. You know you're going to lose more than you win but it's still a nice feeling when that winner comes.

Bookies love accumulators, the more teams you put on the happier they are, so don't go crazy. See the guys you see with coupons that look like shopping lists? They're even bigger idiots than the rest of us.

yeah not much wrong with the odd football punt but honestly, online casino is a killer.

i'm not a big gambler but i've got no intention of touching it.

the crack cocaine of gambling mate.

Agreed man.

Don't fancy any of that online roulette etc. I'm a little oblivious when it comes to what to bet on. But I know my football quite well so I felt like having a bit of fun on it. :hat2:

I'd say don't get into it any more than putting a coupon on on a Saturday. You know you're going to lose more than you win but it's still a nice feeling when that winner comes.

Bookies love accumulators, the more teams you put on the happier they are, so don't go crazy. See the guys you see with coupons that look like shopping lists? They're even bigger idiots than the rest of us.

Yeah, this was what I was curious about. I know picking a fair few results is hard to do. Just wasn't sure if that was better than single bets on individual matches. That or the ingame betting.

Also, anyone recommend a site. Are these bet365 sites any good or just stick to your william hills and such.

Yeah, this was what I was curious about. I know picking a fair few results is hard to do. Just wasn't sure if that was better than single bets on individual matches. That or the ingame betting.

Also, anyone recommend a site. Are these bet365 sites any good or just stick to your william hills and such.

Use http://www.oddschecker.com or http://www.betrescue.com to find the best odds for whatever you want to back.

If you're betting in any serious amounts (?10+), do it online, for the following reasons:

1) You can limit your desposits (e.g. ?10 a week) to control how much you spend.

2) The odds are always better online than in shops. Shop prices are ridiculous compared with online ones, even with the same firm.

3) More online bookies than high-street shops = more choice and better value.

4) Free bets / offers online that you don't get elsewhere.

5) Bigger choice of markets.

6) No FOBTs online. :)

7) Fewer punters in the bookies to annoy me while I'm trying to read/write an essay. :)

Having a punt on the football is my biggest vice, but I enjoy it. Don't touch roulette/blackjack etc; seriously, even if one of your mates says "I just won ?100 from ?5 on roulette in the bookies", 99 others will have lost sh*tloads. I see it every day.

Oh aye - what others have said re. accumulators. I don't see the harm in a mug accumulator for ?1 every week (with 10+ teams), but if you put much more on you'll be on a hiding to nothing. Pick 4 teams max, preferably fewer.

Victor Mancini

you get a good price on a 3 or 4 draws accumulator, ?5-10 can normally give a decent return.

If you're looking to get into it because you think that its a decent way to make a bit of money then don't bother.

If you're just after a bit of fun then just watch what you're punting.

Nice one guys.

Think I'll put a few quid on the more predictable premier league games and the odd championship fixture.

If you're looking to get into it because you think that its a decent way to make a bit of money then don't bother.

If you're just after a bit of fun then just watch what you're punting.

Yep, no more than ?20 a week. Just wanted some advice rather than running blind and betting on things with no chance of a return.

Private Hudson

Look for bets with 'value'. Good way to start is with football.

Find away teams that look good for a win (not obvious ones like Wolves v Arsenal) that have odds better than even (Hull v Stoke for instance). Find 2 or 3 of them and stick a fiver on a double or treble and you can see around 30 to 40 quid back if they come in.

If that's enough payback for you then you'll be cool.

No point chasing acca's that will pay hundreds or thousands cos they won't come in.

Nice one guys.

Think I'll put a few quid on the more predictable premier league games and the odd championship fixture.

Don't back odds shorter than 1/2, btw.

Look for bets with 'value'. Good way to start is with football.

Find away teams that look good for a win (not obvious ones like Wolves v Arsenal) that have odds better than even (Hull v Stoke for instance). Find 2 or 3 of them and stick a fiver on a double or treble and you can see around 30 to 40 quid back if they come in.

If that's enough payback for you then you'll be cool.

No point chasing acca's that will pay hundreds or thousands cos they won't come in.

Thats one I was really thinking of. I'm sure I was told Stoke were on good odds considering.

Just for a bit of a laugh, if im lucky. Pay for a round or two. :2thumbsup:

Private Hudson
Thats one I was really thinking of. I'm sure I was told Stoke were on good odds considering.

Just for a bit of a laugh, if im lucky. Pay for a round or two. :2thumbsup:

Steam in on a Stoke win. Hull are honking at the moment. Good luck!

Chaka Demus & pliers

Also you'd be best setting up a new online account every now and again. They all have offers on where they give you free money so have a look to see who is offering what cos they change all the time.

Then once you have a few accounts use oddscheckers football coupon service to see who is offering the best odds for your double/treble etc.

Don't listen to folk saying not to bet on anything less than evens. 4/6 or 8/11 is a good price for a team you really fancy.

Avoid betting on the Europa league, FA cup etc in general as clubs don't field full strength sides all the time. There could be a couple of good FA cup bets this weeend though as its a big chance for the smaller clubs to get a run and make some money.

Its tempting to get greedy (I still do it at times) and take too many teams. Stick to a couple of teams you strongly fancy and you have more chance of making money in the long run.

I really fancy Blackpool this weekend at 8/11. Their home form has been solid this season and Scunthorpe have been leaking goals

Chaka Demus & pliers
Mugs game :2thumbsup:

If you keep it sensible its no more a mugs game than spending your money on fags, alcohol and a lot better for your health :2thumbsup:

Don't do it, it will ruin your life!

Seriously though, if you do, try and set some rules such as:

• ?20/30 a week. NEVER go over it.
  • Do not chase losses. It's so easy to find yourself 50/100 quid down after thinking a 'banker bet' will make up for that last bet you lost.
  • Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever play casino games online. Stick to fitbaw.
  • Le Chat made a good point - don't go into it thinking you will make money, because you won't. I only know of about 1 punter who is up on the bookies (Moneytree)
  • Once again - NEVER bet on roulette. Can't stress it enough. When you hear about down and out gambling addicts, it's usually down to that vile game.

Make sure your bet is THREE MUNNEY and MT CERTIFIED.

Seriously though, be careful. It can be a slippery slope but the rush of a win is tremendous.

Anyway, I'm away to see how my bets are doing tonight. :D

EDIT: Another one that's worked well for me - if you are having a wee spur of the moment type bet and chasing losses or getting greedy then STOP - chill out for a second, go and make a cup of tea then come back and see how the bet looks once your head is clear. You'd be amazed at the radge decisions you can make when your not thinking straight!

I only know of about 1 punter who is up on the bookies (Moneytree)

Make sure your bet is THREE MUNNEY and MT CERTIFIED.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

I'm pretty sure John O'Dwyer and Mr_Winner are up there too, likewise that big player obeone...

Ken, I must say your post was very aesthetically pleasing. :laugh:

Yeah, I'll set it up tomorrow and stick a little bit on. I know what online gambling can do when you play these casino games. Guy at my dads work was in heavy debt to online poker and roulette. Turns out he was paying it off by siphoning cash from the company accounts through an event fund and into his bank.

But I'm not talking about that kind of stuff, just looking for a bit of fun as I have friends that do result bets but couldn't really explain the best way to go about it.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

I'm pretty sure John O'Dwyer and Mr_Winner are up there too, likewise that big player obeone...

:D :D :D

That Obeone thing was probably the greatest thing in the history of the Internet. This one if for the BIG players - under 3.5 goals in the Man Utd game .... final score: Man Utd 7 - 1 Roma. :laugh:

There was an absolute belter in the tennis the other week. Some polish bird was 6-2, 5-3 up or something and a Polish guy on Betfair managed to hear what she was saying to the trainer (she was going to retire), he alerted folk and obviously the punters who had a bet on her laughed at him because it was an absolute cert she would win but the folk who believed him cleaned up. The seeth was like nothing I've ever seen before. Folks losing 1.01 all over the place! Very pleasing!

Also, whats to stop me betting on a match with a win/draw with the best return and loss with the worst return putting the lowest denominator as my bet where I can still make a profit?

As you may know, I don't know how this works.

True story - In a previous job I delivered a bathroom suite to a well known female Scottish trainer. After humphing an en-suite up to a converted attic I asked her if she had any tips for for me. Her reply was "Yes, don't gamble" At the time I thought what a feckin ignorant boot, but in hindsight had I taken her advice I'd have saved thousands.

I trust this clarifies matters :smiley2:

True story - In a previous job I delivered a bathroom suite to a well known female Scottish trainer. After humphing an en-suite up to a converted attic I asked her if she had any tips for for me. Her reply was "Yes, don't gamble" At the time I thought what a feckin ignorant boot, but in hindsight had I taken her advice I'd have saved thousands.

I trust this clarifies matters :smiley2:

If that's you in your avatar then yes. :laugh:

Also, whats to stop me betting on a match with a win/draw with the best return and loss with the worst return putting the lowest denominator as my bet where I can still make a profit?

Nobody?

I'm not really sure what you mean tbh

Say if I could bet ?X on a home win/draw and ?X on an away win on the same game. If i took the winnings from the lowest possible bet, to make sure I was in profit on my overall bet. To say that total ?X placed was below lowest ?X gained.

Chaka Demus & pliers
Say if I could bet ?X on a home win/draw and ?X on an away win on the same game. If i took the winnings from the lowest possible bet, to make sure I was in profit on my overall bet. To say that total ?X placed was below lowest ?X gained.

That won't happen and if it ever did the margin would be so small you would have to be betting thousands to make it worth your while for the effort you'd spend trying to find a game where it did!

That may be, but that's a bet without loss. Even using different sites, there must be a way to cover all bases so to speak and still be in profit.

Chaka Demus & pliers
That may be, but that's a bet without loss. Even using different sites, there must be a way to cover all bases so to speak and still be in profit.

The prices are never different enough between bookies and even exchanges for that to happen. If you do find a way to do it then let me know and we'll both become very rich!! :2thumbsup:

The closest I have ever noticed to a bet like that is for the SPL actually. Its going to be Rangers or Celtic every season. You can also pretty much guarantee that they will both have a spell at the top where one is a few points ahead of the other.

Each of them will be 2/1 at some point during the season so say you stick ?100 on the Huns at 2/1 then they move above Celtic and you get ?100 on the Tims at 2/1. You are guaranteed a ?100 profit at the end of the season.

The prices are never different enough between bookies and even exchanges for that to happen. If you do find a way to do it then let me know and we'll both become very rich!! :2thumbsup:

The closest I have ever noticed to a bet like that is for the SPL actually. Its going to be Rangers or Celtic every season. You can also pretty much guarantee that they will both have a spell at the top where one is a few points ahead of the other.

Each of them will be 2/1 at some point during the season so say you stick ?100 on the Huns at 2/1 then they move above Celtic and you get ?100 on the Tims at 2/1. You are guaranteed a ?100 profit at the end of the season.

there are at least 50 of these bets come up a month (for football). you maybe have a 5-20 minute window to get your bets on and make anywhere between 1.5% and 20% (sometimes more) profit. averages out between 2 and 5% profit

I'll apply my maths skills tomorrow and see if I can. :laugh:

Idea was that I would find out the minimum profit before betting and place my maximum bet accordingly. I'm sure this wasn't right as someone would have done it by now if it was, at the same time. There has to be a gap in the odds otherwise bets would be pointless.

its called Arbritrage Betting and it works on the principle that bookies don't always agree. you'll be lucky to find these bets on your own without software.

there are websites that specialise in this. i used to make a couple of hundred a month on it but its not without its risks. you'll see it marketed as "risk free betting" or such like, but you can get burnt badly if you're not very careful. and being careful isn't always enough as there are bookies out there that'll shaft you after you've put your bets on.

the profits are low for what you put out but if you do it right its an investment, not a gamble. generally looking at between 2 and 5% returns. you kinda have to put a grand on at a time to make it worth it

Chaka Demus & pliers
there are at least 50 of these bets come up a month (for football). you maybe have a 5-20 minute window to get your bets on and make anywhere between 1.5% and 20% (sometimes more) profit. averages out between 2 and 5% profit

I've never put the effort in to try and find these tbh as I have always thought that if it was possible then everyone would be doing it.

50 bets a month with a minimum 2% profit a time? I assume that you have made a lot of money from doing this then?

I do believe that if anyone can find these bets then its probably you after your handy threads to make free money from bingo etc

I'll apply my maths skills tomorrow and see if I can. :laugh:

Idea was that I would find out the minimum profit before betting and place my maximum bet accordingly. I'm sure this wasn't right as someone would have done it by now if it was, at the same time. There has to be a gap in the odds otherwise bets would be pointless.

You have to factor in the draw..... and the percentage "overround" for the book for each individual football match. Overround being the percentage profit that each bookie calculates above the true odds of each of the 3 possible outcomes.

Remember if doing multiples (accumulators, luckies etc) the effect of the overround in the book of each selection is compounded to the detriment of the punter in terms of the financial return compared to the true odds of all of the selections winning.

Stick to trebles for fun :smiley2:

Ah **** it, I did enough probability when I was in school. I'll just go with a few results and watcht the classifieds in anticipation. :2thumbsup:

I've never put the effort in to try and find these tbh as I have always thought that if it was possible then everyone would be doing it.

50 bets a month with a minimum 2% profit a time? I assume that you have made a lot of money from doing this then?

I do believe that if anyone can find these bets then its probably you after your handy threads to make free money from bingo etc

i used to use a service that would text me when a bet was on, and i'd be sent an email to a link showing me it. it was decent for a couple of ton a month but it can be hard work. it IS risky, no matter what anyone says. if you're bet goes wrong you can easy be a few hundred down. experience helps you mimimise your losses though.

the thing is that you can't choose when these bets come up and unless you're working or walking around with permanent internet access then you aren't able to action most of them. Also, there ARE a lot of other people using these services so when you get wind of it so do many others. the influx of bets makes the bookies change their odds very quickly and it can hurt you

Mate, just pick a few teams you like the look of and stick a tenner on it. Arbs, matched betting, no deposit bets etc just kill the fun of casual punts!

Here's a wee treble that I will probably get involved with this weekend (you need to be on Betfair to do it though)

Man City

Lay Hull

Lay Vermin

?20 on that returns ?57 (including stake)

this_is_my_story

Occasionally, such an opportunity will arise. It's called, in betting terms, arbitrage.

Usually, you'll only see such an opportunity in 'two horse races', e.g. tennis or snooker matches, where there is no draw; only two outcomes - player a wins, or player b wins.

Say for example, in a tennis match, bookies have a different opinion - Hills bet Nadal 11/10, Federer 8/11. Ladbrokes bet Nadal 8/11, and Nadal 11/10.

You can have ?100 on each, with a total outlay of ?200, with a guaranteed return of ?210, no matter who wins. Only a 5% profit on your initial outlay, but it's a certain profit, nonetheless.

Doesn't happen very often though. Is this the kind of thing you're on about?