Whiskey...

Rossco

Can't remember this being discussed, and I refuse to believe that there are not a lot of people on here who drink it...

So I would like like to know peoples best malt whiskey.

My favourites would have to be Macallan and Bunnahabhain, but I have been introduced recently to Scapa and have to say I love it.

What are other good whiskeys to try?

Can't beat the Irish. Bushmills rocks! :2thumbsup:

Although if you want to talk about whisky that is only distilled twice, I'm a big fan of Lagavulin.

Not a big whisky fan, but Highland Park (Orkney) is one of the better ones I've had.

Also Paddy (Irish whiskey) seemed to hit the spot once upon a time.

Currently enjoying Glenrothes had a couple of Deantowns at the weekend.Usual tipple is distilled 3 miles from my home.Glenkinchie.

Can't remember this being discussed, and I refuse to believe that there are not a lot of people on here who drink it...

So I would like like to know peoples best malt whiskey.

My favourites would have to be Macallan and Bunnahabhain, but I have been introduced recently to Scapa and have to say I love it.

What are other good whiskeys to try?

Not to be pedantic, but to misspell it is almost treason.

As a nice malt, easy going malt for a night with friends I do Like AncNoc.

southside1874

Highland park is very nice as is macallan, but for me a Bowmore is special. If you can get the 18 yo its amazing as is the Auchantoshan 12 wood. Bowmore doesn't do a lot of promotional stuff but it wins all the awards.

Not to be pedantic, but to misspell it is almost treason.

As a nice malt, easy going malt for a night with friends I do Like AncNoc.

Jesus... another one...

OK. How dare I. I'm very sorry. I swear I am Scottish and like Whisky. At least I spelt

Bunnahabhain correctly.

Carl Spackler
Jesus... another one...

OK. How dare I. I'm very sorry. I swear I am Scottish and like Whisky. At least I spelt

Bunnahabhain correctly.

He's correct though! Well done on the Bunnahabhain however, I don't think many could spell that.

Ask the mods to change the thread title if you don't want any more ****!

He's correct though! Well done on the Bunnahabhain however, I don't think many could spell that.

Ask the mods to change the thread title if you don't want any more ****!

I don't care about it that much....

I just wanted to get peoples opinion on whisky... whether it be Scottish, Irish, Japanese or what..

Now now you should know better than to upset the kickback kiddiewinks consider yourself chastised, no more of my whisky for you my lad

There was an episode of Minder once where the actor James Cosmo cared not for the spelling of Whisky, only how it tasted. He was probably quite right.

Anyway, I haven't had anything close to a decent malt that isn't Whisky. I can't pick out an individual though.

I like Highland Park, MacAllan, Tamdhu, Oban, Old Pulteney and Talisker are my choice but I like most malts. Oddly enough I'm not that keen on Glenkinchie

Now now you should know better than to upset the kickback kiddiewinks consider yourself chastised, no more of my whisky for you my lad

Now now father.... you know you only serve the best whisky... ;)

From the so-called "Classics", the only 3 of the 6 worth savouring are Oban, Talisker and Lagavulin.

Do yersel a favour and forget about Glenkinnchie, Dalwhinnie and Cragganmore

:stuart:

Highland park is very nice as is macallan, but for me a Bowmore is special. If you can get the 18 yo its amazing as is the Auchantoshan 12 wood. Bowmore doesn't do a lot of promotional stuff but it wins all the awards.

Totally agree with the Bowmore shout, It's by far and away my favorite. Even the 12 and 15 yr old bottles are lovely. You can get a 30yr old version but it cost an absolute fortune.

Cowley.jpg

As George in the Professionals once said "They're all damned good laddie and don't you forget it".

100% agree. Blends or malts. Never tasted duff Scotch at home or abroad. I'll provoke outrage by saying I'm much more interested in the quality of the mixer than the Whisky itself. Some folk may disagree but Whisky is a taste well worth acquiring. I only started drinking it when it was the only choice at my in-laws and will forever be grateful.

Never been a whisky drinker and to be honest I think part of my dislike stems from the way some very ordinary people turn into whisky snobs in a very unsuccessful attempt to impress! (Not aimed at the JKB whisky massive btw!) I just don't see what the need is for the snobbery? People can drink rare/specialist gins, vodkas and rums without making a fuss so why can't they do the same with whisky?

I had a neighbour who so despised peaty Islay malts that if he was given any in gifts he passed them on to me and took great pleasure in me drinking it with Ginger Ale. Over the top I agree and like wine, folk talk a lot of tosh is talked about Whisky. The only thing I notice is some are sweeter or smoother or very slightly peaty. I dont mind the snobs unless they try and force their views on anybody else. Still recommend you give it a try.

Ah, one of my mates hates the peaty ones; have to say I can't stand the saltiness of an islay.

My dad's 70% nineteen canteen Tamdhu from the malt whisky society was a personal favourite, tanned as it was on my 21st birthday, after he said, 'if you bring any mates home, help yourself to a malt...'

I was found unconscious in the hall at 6am.

Thanks Dad!

ITs being said already but Highland Park and Laphroaig are good basic malts. Whisky is all about experiences in my mind, if you end up having a good nght on a particular brand you will remeber it everytime you have a dram.

On the subject of really good ones than as someone has said Glenfiddich 21 is total class, its matured in rum casks which gives it a great smothess. Macallan 21 is also good but you will find it to be totally overpriced for what it is.

ONE TO ADVOID AT ALL COST IS Balvenie 21 Years !

I'll pass thanks! Whisky doesn't really agree with me, can't drink bourbon either! Plenty of vodkas, gins and rums for me to choose between when I can't drink anymore pints!

ITs being said already but Highland Park and Laphroaig are good basic malts. Whisky is all about experiences in my mind, if you end up having a good nght on a particular brand you will remeber it everytime you have a dram.

On the subject of really good ones than as someone has said Glenfiddich 21 is total class, its matured in rum casks which gives it a great smothess. Macallan 21 is also good but you will find it to be totally overpriced for what it is.

ONE TO ADVOID AT ALL COST IS Balvenie 21 Years !

I'd have said that Leapfrog was the most acquired of tastes! There are not many people who like it as a "basic malt!" More for the hardcore of whisky drinkers....

i don't know about that mate, i know a few people who don't really drink whisky but will have a few Laphroig(It may just me trying to force it down their necks tho:smiley2:). Totally agree that it is a love/hate thing tho. Maybe more things like glenmorangie and glenlivet would be a better starting place for a non-whisky drinker.

Cadenheads Whisky Shop in the Royal Mile is owned by the Springbank Distillary folk. I like a few Springbanks but my fav is a 21 year old North Briiths which is a grain whisky. All the 21 year olds are sold and only a few bottles of the 19 year old is left

glengoyne and knockandoo are my personal favourites. not a huge fan of islay malts and have a bottle of talisker which has barely been touched.

i would also like to hand out a row to the previous poster who puts ginger ale in a malt. my dad left the malt whisky society because of the touristy types doing exactly the same. if you need a mixer have a grouse. a splash of water is okay especially with the cask strength ones

Aye, it's a waste of a malt to stick it with a mixer. Fair enough, drink it how you like, but really you're simply wasting your cash putting a mixer in with a malt. Just have a grouse, nothing wrong with a grouse anyway!

Agreed re: water and cask strengths.

The Pot still in glasgow always seems to have Benromach on as malt of the month, at least whenever I go in, and it's a really nice easy drinker, with a bit of peat for bite.

In fact a few good whisky pubs in glesga, including the Liosmor/lismore up on dumbarton rd.

Hear, hear.

Whisky's not one for me to fuss over. If I get someone raving on about some ancient malt that I really should try, I tell them that it would be a shame for them to waste it; that they should just pour me some of the ordinary stuff and knock themselves out on the stuff that's been extremely well-marketed in the export market.

Given that I'm in the minority as a Scot in my circle of friends, this reaction is greeted with bewilderment but I feel like the little kid who points out to that the emperor is in the all-together.

glengoyne and knockandoo are my personal favourites. not a huge fan of islay malts and have a bottle of talisker which has barely been touched.

i would also like to hand out a row to the previous poster who puts ginger ale in a malt. my dad left the malt whisky society because of the touristy types doing exactly the same. if you need a mixer have a grouse. a splash of water is okay especially with the cask strength ones

Ill respect your so please respect. Last week I bought a couple of litre of Glen Moray from Scotmid for ?12.99 each. Best buy on the High Street and delicious IMO so don't rain on my parade.

My preference is for the Islay holy trinity of Lagavulin, Laphroaig and Ardbeg. Of these, Lagavulin is the biggest-hitting taste in whisky, Laphroaig the most medicinal and Ardbeg, with its fetid-sock aroma, the weirdest.

But I'll drink anything. Macallan and anything from Glenfarclas are my Speyside favourites. Elsewhere, Highland Park and Scapa are both great. Clynelish has a lovely, peppery taste and from Campbeltown, Springbank is to die for.

My favourite unrated or underrated malts are Fettercairn and Ledaig.

Mac, how very dare you suggest that Cragganmore and Dalwhinnie are not good malts!

Glenfiddich 21 year old is the best by far :)

Not a massive fan of Whisky(Although I love Jack D, but people say that aint a whisky??), but my Auld man knows a good malt and he loves Glenfiddich, so Im with you on that one.

willie wallace

Went on a tour of the Blair Atholl distillery in Pitlochry at the weekend and was fascinated to discover that their whiskies are matured in either Bourbon or Sherry casks.Can't remember which one is for single malts and which is for blended.Tasted nice anyway.

I'm a bit partial to a wee whisky of an evening.

Current bottles on the go are;

Glenfarclas 105

Auchentoshan

Dalmore 21 year old

Glenrothes

I'm not really big into being prescriptive to people on what to do with a whisky. If you want to spend ?30-?40 on a bottle of whisky to put ginger ale or irn-bru into it, then crack on. Your loss.

Highland Park

Macallan

Enjoying a large glass of Johnny Walker Black Label at the moment and I have to say it extremely good.

Highland Park

Macallan

Enjoying a large glass of Johnny Walker Black Label at the moment and I have to say it extremely good.

Good choice

Its amazing that the rest of the world cant recreate the taste of Scotch given that the production method is simple to copy. Natures gift to Scotland even with lowland whiskies produced in semi industrialised areas I'm told.

PS I.m aware that the Japanese, Irish and Welsh are said to come close.

i remember being in munich last year and ordering 2 Laphroiags, the women put them into shot glasses !:hang: The look of disguest on my face !

We had to buy serval rounds and make the barmaid drink them with us the proper way. She will never serve whisky like that again !