Where do people stand on 'Anchovies'?

You know the deli counter at Tesco that had olives and sun-dried tomatoes etc?

Well that's where you'll find me, stuffing as many Anchovies into a little pot as possible.

You either lover 'em of hate 'em.

I love Anchovies so much.

As soon as that slippery fish, and oily goodness swirls round your mouth and the vingeary taste hits the back of your throat and it swishes and slides down.

Oohhh- aah!

Arrrhh.

Arr ha haaarrr! Oh I need another one!

anchovy.jpg

Pregnant%20Man.jpg

Jamie_the_Jambo

Where do people stand on anchovies?

I liked to jump on them in the bedroom.

its a good oily fish.

nice with a green salad.

like marmite, either love it or hate it.

I'm a fan..in fact there's always a tub of pickled anchovies in my fridge..also a vital ingredient in some salad dressings as well :2thumbsup:

slashishere
I'm a fan..in fact there's always a tub of pickled anchovies in my fridge..also a vital ingredient in some salad dressings as well :2thumbsup:

My opinion of you has dropped dramatically Kitster!!:10900:

Anchovies........:rifle:

Anchovies are great.

However, my fave fish at present are whitebait.....you have t look em in the eyes. :stuart:

Anchovies are great.

However, my fave fish at present are whitebait.....you have t look em in the eyes. :stuart:

Whitebait are quite simply the pinnacle of fish related foodery.

If "foodery" is a word.

No idea if 'foodery' is a word but it sounds like it should be!! :smiley2:

If "foodery" is a word.

'Poof' is a word.

Love it love love it.

Fresh anchovies in Spain are served as a Tapas called Boquerones. They are to die for.

800px-BoqueronesFritos01.jpg

Salted pickled anchovies are great in making Mediterranean pastes mixed with capers and garlic.

rossi_1983

Peckhams do nice ones in garlic olive oil

Apart from them, I aint a huge fan of anchovies

The Doctor

Anchovy Butter

butter

couple of anchovies

some chopped capers

lemon zest

Mash together in a pestle and mortar, spread over fish and put under a hot grill. (I'd recommend halibut, dover sole or grey sole, but pretty much any white fish will do)

Absolutely amazing.

Anchovies are also very good on pizza.

If "foodery" is a word.

'Poof' is a word.

Grease is the word.

According to Frankie Valli anyway.

Frankie-Valli-Grease-415305.jpg

Evaporate the wee blighters in olive oil with garlic,add pinenuts,sun dried tomatoes,good red wine,heave in some spagetti with it's water.Parmesan.

You won't diss Anchovies again,i assure you!

:smiley2:

slashishere

Was starting to think I was the only to dislike anboakies, thanks to all those you have taste plalettes for contributing!!!:2thumbsup:

I'm honestly not sure if I've ever tried them. Sardines/pilchards I love, which are also classed as an oily fish, I assume there must be some similarity.

You need to become more cosmopolitan Iain! :stuart:

Love it love love it.

Fresh anchovies in Spain are served as a Tapas called Boquerones. They are to die for.

800px-BoqueronesFritos01.jpg

Salted pickled anchovies are great in making Mediterranean pastes mixed with capers and garlic.

Boquerones Fritos - ya beauty!!! A huge favourite of mine, preferably washed down with a few nicely chilled glasses of verdejo...

:2thumbsup: :2thumbsup: :2thumbsup:

Walter Kidd

Anchovies make your hair fall out and spraff pish for a living. FACT. End off.

Have never tried them and don't really ever fancy doing so!

:dito: not really a big fan of fish so will probably give them a miss

Anchovies make your hair fall out and spraff pish for a living. FACT. End off.

I doubt they'd sell them in Aberdour anyway.

disgusting!

i'm not a big lover of fish at the best of times, but these things give me the boak

although, i do love ceaser salad, which i always get without anchovies.

oh and the dressing is just fab, which i know has anchovy oil or some such pish in it, but its still damn tasty

i think its cos they are slimy wee hairy things as much as anything else though.

japanjambo

Anchovies give me the hee bee gee bees! Look kinda like hairy worms

Lynn:th_o: