Best Memory of 05-06

Jamblow

Janny's goal at Hampden. The moment I knew we were going to win our second trophy in my (supporting) lifetime.

Easy, Easy, Easy against the Gers at Tynie.

Awesome, simply awesome.

:107years:

the 3rd goal in the semi vs the losers. that was when the game was put beyond any doubt and all the worry and tension disappeared and life tasted so sweet.

there were a few trials and tribulations after that but that moment was sheer heaven.

thank you big janny and the comedy keeper zibi. :D

unfortunately i will always remember the match against smeltic when we were winning 2-0

but my best memory has to be rudi skacels goal to start the scoring against the hobos in the first derby

his celebration was even better than the scrappy goal

closely followed by passing the hibs supporters coaches on the m8 back to edinburgh

weirdly, when we went two-up against Celtic at Tynie on NYD.

I thought, MAYBE - JUST MAYBE

Hey-ho... shows what I know.

weirdly, when we went two-up against Celtic at Tynie on NYD.

I thought, MAYBE - JUST MAYBE

Hey-ho... shows what I know.

Actually, i'll change that... it was the 4-0 semifinal

semi final day,

drinking in the pub at 6am, nervous as hell, biggest derby ever, would have had to leave the country if we lost.

crazy bus ride, 4 great goals, filling our end, everyone singing, hobos dressed as seats and taking part in a sponsored silence, partying afterwards in gorgie, not seeing any hobos for days :)

the hearts are having a party..........

that was the final imo

semi final day,

drinking in the pub at 6am, nervous as hell, biggest derby ever, would have had to leave the country if we lost.

crazy bus ride, 4 great goals, filling our end, everyone singing, hobos dressed as seats and taking part in a sponsored silence, partying afterwards in gorgie, not seeing any hobos for days :)

the hearts are having a party..........

that was the final imo

sums it up perfect for me.

Romanov Stole My Pension

4-0 semi is the obvious answer.

But I'll always remember the 1-1 game at Parkhead. So much pressure was on Hearts after all the weegie media in this country claiming that Hearts could never stand up to the old firm (even though we'd already beaten Rangers at that point). Celtic scored and it looked like our amazing run was over and then Rudi stepped up to equalise. Unbelievable atmosphere that day. WE ARE UN-BEAT-ABLE was absolutely immense.

I'd give anything to relive that season.

4-0 semi is the obvious answer.

But I'll always remember the 1-1 game at Parkhead. So much pressure was on Hearts after all the weegie media in this country claiming that Hearts could never stand up to the old firm (even though we'd already beaten Rangers at that point). Celtic scored and it looked like our amazing run was over and then Rudi stepped up to equalise. Unbelievable atmosphere that day. WE ARE UN-BEAT-ABLE was absolutely immense.

I'd give anything to relive that season.

that was the day when our fantasy lithuanian manager said to burley if he played a certain player we'd have won

The feeling of walking to Hampden on semi final day and from outside the stadium the only fans that could be heard singing were Hearts fans was immense! Then upon entering the stadium and seeing the Hearts end crammed full, and the reptile end empty, was superb! Oh, and the whole day afterwards was amazing too, the best footballing day of my life. :D

Paul Hartley's penalty against Aberdeen.

:sad:Nothing shall ever top that moment, but sadly I can't see us reaching those heights again.

Anyway, FTH.

Many good memories, Rangers at Tynie, utter chaos when Bednar scored, I ended losing a fair bit of flesh off my leg on the seat in front jumping around. The sheer amazing atmosphere against Aberdeen, you could feel the whole of the Wheatfield moving up and down. And the great day that was the semi, from 7.30am in the Diggers until the very end of the day. Not a clue what went on later in the day but I presume I had a good time.

The Team Bus & Scottish Cup arriving home in Gorgie Road after the final - felt just like 1998 all over again - read this & weep Hobo's. :)

Loads of great memories and some bad ones too; an interesting time to be a Hearts fan.

Obvious highlights were the semi, the cup win, the Rangers game and the midweek game v Aberdeen, plus another couple of derby hammerings dished out to Hibs.

But just to give something different, I'd say my two trips to Tannadice showed what a paradox the season was.

The first was in beautiful sunshine, as Hearts won 3-0 under Burley, in what was a really tough game. That day, I realised that something amazing was happening.

The second, was a cold night in January, we just heard Charlie Mann bluster his way through an interview, trying to justify Rix's comments that he didn't pick the team, and there was only two gates open for 3,200 Hearts fans. We weren't a happy bunch at all that night.

Still, we came good at the end, and 05/06 is up there with 85/86 and 97/98 as one of the three great seasons of my Hearts supporting life.

Pity how things unfolded after that...

What was better?

Rangers 1-0 or Aberdeen 1-0?

Aberdeen had a brilliant midweek atmosphere, with a Champions League qualifier as the prize.

...but the Rangers game made it '8 in a row', and the possibilities were endless.

If you could go back to one of these days, which would it be?

Crying like a baby when we beat Aberdeen, closely followed by gubbing Hibs in the semi final.

2005 was the best autumn in my football watching life. Pity it won't ever be repeated.

Standing on top of Robbos Lounge after the FT whistle v Aberdeen going mental with several other people. What a night. Christ knows how we didnt go through the roof.

With BB on the Dundee Utd games. The first one was epic. Never seen so many away fans at Tanadice. I remember going up the season before and there was about 1-200 tops in the small corner. Must of been a good 3,000 + taking up the two stands that sunny day.

Then the game in Jan. Driving up hearing on the radio the goings on. Trying to get ina and some guy going mental at Webster as he wouldnt sign a new contract and people around him shouting at him to lay off. How right he was going to be.

The Rangers game i remember thinking, christ this could be on! only to have it all shattered a few weeks later, but hey i was at Dens park in 86 also Tynecastle in 65 so you think i would be used to it by now. Still hurts though but i would not have it any other way.

ernie winchester

Demolition Derby, the final, Gers and Dons at Tynie, were all great but Takis's wee song after the Dons game and "Ibrox Park, Champions League Section" getting the newspapers out at kickoff were absolute class!

Tokyo Drifter

Awesome, simply awesome.

The atmosphere at the Aberdeen game and the buzz in Rosebarn bar afterwards. Worst moment was the Celtic game. Wettest was the Sparta Prague game after we dropped out of the CL.

What was better?

Rangers 1-0 or Aberdeen 1-0?

Aberdeen had a brilliant midweek atmosphere, with a Champions League qualifier as the prize.

...but the Rangers game made it '8 in a row', and the possibilities were endless.

If you could go back to one of these days, which would it be?

Rangers. We had no idea how ***** things would become!

My personal best memory is the semi-final. Absolute belter of a day.

The semi final topps the list for myself.

i remember being at the aberdeen game & the penalty e.c.t bant remind the atmposphere, i knew it was electric but?! lol

so many memories of that season, meeting & having a pint bought for me from brooks mileston at the offside football special was one i ill never forget.

seeing someone's wee kid getting brought onto the pitch at Tannadice to have a kick about with the subs at HT was another, did I mention the semi!!!

IMO I was more nervous for the final than the semi, just something about waking up already dressed in my kilt knowing that we'd beef the cabbage!

the semi is up there with the final of 98 for me!

Thinking about that Aberdeen game has got me welling up and my spine tingling, that must be the moment for me. Celebrating the penalty award as if it was a goal. Silence falling as the delay in taking the penalty (for what seemed like eternity), the ground erupting into song out of nowhere, then the absolute pandemonium that ensued as the goal went in...topped only by the elation of the final whistle. Aye, that's my best memory.

Let's not forget though, the first 45 minutes of New Year's Day 2006. That was up there with the best experiences I've ever had at Tynecastle....shame about the hour that followed it.

unfortunately i will always remember the match against smeltic when we were winning 2-0

but my best memory has to be rudi skacels goal to start the scoring against the hobos in the first derby

his celebration was even better than the scrappy goal

closely followed by passing the hibs supporters coaches on the m8 back to edinburgh

I'm kinda the same. Best 45 minutes against the old firm I'd ever seen. It was 2 going on 4 or 5. Can't quite believe how we crumbled.

My main memory of the whole season was Skacel. He was a joy to watch, had the best technique of any player I've ever seen at tynie and he loved to get it right up the hobos.

Aside from the 3 obvious ones, Semi-Final, Final and Aberdeen at home, Hearts 3 Celtic 0 is my choice:)

Yep i agree. great day that was and i think thats when i felt that "we shall not be moved" :)

Without a doubt, the semi was the greatest moment in that season and one of the finest in our history.

It actually HURTS look back on that season and then see where we are now.

Still, amazing times.

Thinking about that Aberdeen game has got me welling up and my spine tingling, that must be the moment for me. Celebrating the penalty award as if it was a goal. Silence falling as the delay in taking the penalty (for what seemed like eternity), the ground erupting into song out of nowhere, then the absolute pandemonium that ensued as the goal went in...topped only by the elation of the final whistle. Aye, that's my best memory.

Let's not forget though, the first 45 minutes of New Year's Day 2006. That was up there with the best experiences I've ever had at Tynecastle....shame about the hour that followed it.

Agreed with the bit in bold. After that 45 minutes my hangover was gone and i honestly thought we could go on and win the league, only for it to be taken away by crap officials. Fortunately my hangover made it a little more bearable i think :rolleyes:

Best moment though was hartley scoring the 2nd against the hobo's at hampden. Knew it was our day when he stuck that in the net :)

And then the final whistle against aberdeen, don't think i've heard a reaction like that ever at tynie. Was surprised the roof never lifted of. Oh to be back there again :sad:

All the obvious one's that people have said above are definately the highlights of that season but one other incident always springs to mind when I think about the good times of that year. After we'd drawn 1-1 away at Motherwell towards the end of the season (Hartley scored a last minute penalty I think) there was a train back to Edinburgh right after full of Jambos. When we got back to the train station each and every one of us had the scarfs twirling and the songs on the go - the train station was packed with Rugby fans not having a clue what was going on. Good times indeed...

In terms of mental celebrations, it'd have to be the second goal against the Dhims on New Year's Day. From where I started out that day, I ended up about ten rows down.

Ivan Sproule's red card in the semi. game over from self-inflicted wound and some idiots in the Hibs end actually applauding him off the park.

So many on the field, so I am going to go for an off the field one...

It was the hours from leaving the house up to kick off on the morning of the Semi-Final...the lines of cars packed with Jambos heading to Hampden...

The crowd getting bigger and bigger at the back of Hampden and then finally the team bus turning the corner at the west end of Hampden park and having to slow to a crawl as the sea of Jambos escorted them in to the Stadium.

What a sight, what a sound and what a feeling....will never forget it!

---------

At the other end of the scale was an hour or so before kick off on Cup Final day when my brother turned to me and said "I think I have lost my ticket"....

We begged, we pleaded and almost unbelievably the front desk staff at Hampden gave us another ticket to replace it...

Apart from the obvious semi, beating the Huns etc I always remember Craig Gordons last kick of the ball save against Motherwell at Tynecastle. I remember thinking that was the kind of thing that you look back on as moments that win leagues. Unfortunately not to be but still a great moment.

In terms of mental celebrations, it'd have to be the second goal against the Dhims on New Year's Day. From where I started out that day, I ended up about ten rows down.

likewise. the first goal was followed by mayhem and delerium, the second was just disbelief and utter carnage. bodies and limbs waving in all directions with the odd scarf doing the twirly whilst grown men screamed with delight, falling over rows of seats onto one another. absolutely brilliant.

i've got a video taken on my phone of the final whistle vs. aberdeen, uploaded it onto my computer and words cannot describe the volume of the uproar when the whislte sounded, brings shivers to my spine jus watching it.

hopefully 05/06 will repeat itself in some fashion not too long from now.....fingers forever crossed;)

Even though I was 6,000 miles away...listening to Gary McKay on HW...

4-0 semi...in a word...HEAVEN!

:ph34r:

i missed my coach back to the rosey after the final so thought it was a nightmare when i realised i had to make my way back on my own. How wrong i was...

walked on to the nearest pub saw my brother and some mates and had a right laugh threatenin to steal two stretch hummers left abandoned outside. eventually got moved on by the police and walked all the way to the station through the most intimidating place i know. eventually got to the station and the place was just a sea of maroon. the bar inside was absolutely bouncin. people were on chairs, tables, everything. the entire train journey was a laugh and was a constant sing song. even when we got off at haymarket and walked to robbos the entire road was filled with jambos and singin the hibs are in their beds the whole way. robbos was packed to the rafters and ther was not a sober person in sight

if carlsberg made days out...

One of the best years off my life. I will never ever forget it. Reading this thread gives me the ultimate shivers down my spine.

But the best part for me was the reaction after the full time whistle had went after the Aberdeen game & hearing the champions league tune.

BEST NIGHT EVER!!

This will sum it up for everyone. :107years:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fI18Eijg6dw

When Skacel scored at Parkhead it just felt like nothing could go wrong for us.

Also, the trip to Tannadice at the start of the season, the standard of football we played that day and the general happiness about the club was amazing.

I got my hole wi the best bird in my toon! That's my best memory of 05.

I believe Hearts did well too, but you shoulda seen this bit of Shereen, so i vote for that!

The semi -final without doubt put every hobo myth to bed FOREVER How good is that goal against livi the type that really good teams score wait a minute we were a good team then.

Awesome, simply awesome.

After the hibs game sitting in a boozer with my mates,everyone was dying to say "can we win the league",once one of my mates said it ,it was like opening the flood gates,everyone was on about it,what a great feeling that was.

One of the best years off my life. I will never ever forget it. Reading this thread gives me the ultimate shivers down my spine.

But the best part for me was the reaction after the full time whistle had went after the Aberdeen game & hearing the champions league tune.

BEST NIGHT EVER!!

This will sum it up for everyone. :107years:

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=fI18Eijg6dw

I had forgotten how good Rudi was:eek:

Not to mention, Hartley, Jankauskas and Bednar. That team was deadly.