Stoke City - Long throw in's - anti football?

3inaBednar

Just watched the highlights of Stoke v Arsenal - both Stoke goals came from Rory Delap HANDHOOFING the ball into the box and somebody getting a touch intae the net. Now they have scored a few other goals using this HANDHOOF method in a few other games this season.

I believe this is anti football and not in the 'spirit' of what is meant to be a beautiful game of passing and skill. Do others believe this is an acceptable means of scoring goals or are you purists like me and want to see 'proper' goals!

I hate HANDHOOF!:mad:

Just watched the highlights of Stoke v Arsenal - both Stoke goals came from Rory Delap HANDHOOFING the ball into the box and somebody getting a touch intae the net. Now they have scored a few other goals using this HANDHOOF method in a few other games this season.

I believe this is anti football and not in the 'spirit' of what is meant to be a beautiful game of passing and skill. Do others believe this is an acceptable means of scoring goals or are you purists like me and want to see 'proper' goals!

When there's a difference of about ?40m in TV money between the Premiership and the Championship, the spirit of the game goes oot the windae unfortunately.

No one was complaining when Robbie Neilson was doing it for us and winning us games. But it is something the teams get smart to and it starts becoming ineffective. Wish someone told Robbie that though for most of last season!!

Stoke v Arsenal?

Stoke need to use all the weapons in their locker. Good luck to them.

Not every team can be Brazil 70.

Are you mad - I like winning football matches!!!

This was our tactic with Neilson.

You score more goals when you put the ball into the box.

markletissier
No one was complaining when Robbie Neilson was doing it for us and winning us games. But it is something the teams get smart to and it starts becoming ineffective. Wish someone told Robbie that though for most of last season!!

exactly.

but it's so crap to watch, god even the bloody stoke crowd were going oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo as he runs up to HANDHOOF it into the box, it's almost like a bloomin rugby lineout! Imagine all the teams in the SPL had two long throwers and every and i mean every throw in is HANDHOOFED into the box, that to me would meant the death of football in Scotland, it's only just alive the now!

Ban HANDHOOF now!

p.s I hate the NEILSON HANDHOOF'S, are we that crap that we need a HANDHOOF just to create a chance or some excitement, get the baw doon and play man!

cobblers

I dont believe this is anymore anti-football than Hearts playing with 1 up front!

Are you mad - I like winning football matches!!!

This was our tactic with Neilson.

You score more goals when you put the ball into the box.

Spot on mate.

Romanov Stole My Pension

Should we ban the "hoofing" of corners into the box aswell? Emm... nap.

Stoke use delap as a weapon in exactly the same way that Man Utd used Ronaldo to take free kicks as a weapon

Scott_HMFC1874

Stoke use delap as a weapon in exactly the same way that Man Utd used Ronaldo to take free kicks as a weapon

spot on mate.

was about to make that exact same point.

where he launches those throws into the box is not that far from the corner flag, its no different from launching a corner in.

Its getting them results, and goals, and isnt that the aim of the game?

Score more than your opponent.

unless you're Hibs. in which case, it doesnt matter.

Is the game not called FOOTball, i.e using your foot? Next we'll have Dan Marino from the Miami Dolphins coming on in the last few minutes to launch a HOOFBALL into the box from the halfway line!

Goalkeepers use their hands.

Players also use their heads.

You sound like you have got up with a stinking hangover and are in rant mode.

Scott_HMFC1874

But with a throw-in your allowed to use your hands. so its well within the rules of football.

I dont see a problem with it. Its an extra dimension to a teams attacking options.

How is his long throw any different to a team trying to defend a corner?

Are corners & free-kicks anti-football?

You win football matches by scoring more goals than the opposition, and if you have a tactic that works, and produces goals you do not drop it because it doesn't look nice. It is up to the opposition to work out how to defend against it.

so do you want too stop heading the ball aswell.

why not use handhoof - rory delap has prob created 90% of stokes chances

linekar,shearer and co basically hit nail on the head - if you cant defend it your screwed.

so if i hear pundits saying that im gonna continue to throw it into the box.

good luck to stoke.

arsenal were horrific yesterday

so no headers then

:hobofish::)

How is his long throw any different to a team trying to defend a corner?

Are corners & free-kicks anti-football?

Would the OP be happier if the throw in was passed to a teammate then crossed into the box?

It's the same thing except without the middle man.

I stated on a thread years ago, we were totally ineffective with his throw-ins. You struggle to remember any goals that came off them. pressley in a cup tie once. all you can say was he was slightly more accurate at throwing than his dreadful crossing. BTW I am not a Robbie Hater.

Dont think folk are getting my point. My thoughts on a throw in is that it is simply to restart the match after the ball has crossed the line, it is not an opportunity to turn the beautiful game into an american football match!

But there is no limit on the length of throw-in's , how is a long throw into the penalty box really any different from a long throw up the touchline from a deep defensive position inside your own half?

I'm with the op on this one. Stoke are horrific to watch and the sooner they are relegated the better. Its a pretty desperate day when your most/only potent attacking weapon is the full backs ability to chuck the ball 40-50 yards into the box then hope for a break. Theres nothing wrong with playing to your strengths but why not get it down and wide and get crosses into the box instead of playing for touch. They are one dimensional clodhoppers. I wouldnt open the curtains to watch them

At the end of the day, a long throw is still a 'skill' and you need to use any weapon you have to score a goal.

You sound very Tony Mowbrayish.

'We lost but played the game the right way'

Can see where you're coming from but I don't have a problem with the odd long-throw expert...........adds to the spice and variety of games and it's within the rules.

I would only call for change if teams started fielding players whose ONLY contribution was a long throw and I don't think that'll happen much less the prospect of American rugby football type specialists who would only come on to take a throw

I'm with the op on this one. Stoke are horrific to watch and the sooner they are relegated the better. Its a pretty desperate day when your most/only potent attacking weapon is the full backs ability to chuck the ball 40-50 yards into the box then hope for a break. Theres nothing wrong with playing to your strengths but why not get it down and wide and get crosses into the box instead of playing for touch. They are one dimensional clodhoppers. I wouldnt open the curtains to watch them

Thank you thank you thank you, hit the nail bang on the head.

Ban HANDHOOF teams now!

I was listening to Five Live's 606 phone-in yesterday, and two things hacked me off:

1) People having a go at Arsene Wenger for not spending enough on Arsenal's squad, even though the most common complaint about English football is that money has taken over the game and is ruining the sport. Might Wenger get a bit of praise for not flogging millions and for trying instead to make the most of what he's got? Obviously not, though the same moaning idiots will be back on 606 in January after Man City invest ?100m in their squad, complaining that money is ruining the game.

2) Praise for Stoke City's throw-ins. Hull are making a really good fist of staying in the Premier League by playing two up front and playing as Premier League clubs should. Stoke are reverting to the most basic, uninspired tactics known to man. I'm not knocking their results, but their goals yesterday should be seen for what they are - completely devoid of any real skill.

On the plus side, good to see Spurs feeding Liverpool their own medicine.

Thank you thank you thank you, hit the nail bang on the head.

Ban HANDHOOF teams now!

You look like you're desperate for the term "handhoof" to enter the popular vocabulary.

It's not going to happen mate.

If they were to put some sort of stop on this, how would they measure whether the throw-in was deemed a "hoof" or not?

MackaysCentreSpot

They won the game.......thats what it is all about in the end.

If Hearts achieved the same today against Celtic winning 2-1 and both goals came from long throw in into the box by Bruno, for some reson I do not think you would be complaining.

It is not against the rules and they are more then entitled to do it. They are playing to their strengths and it has been successful for them for quite a while now.

I personally do not like Stoke City though, and I had the misfortune of going to two of their games last season. The football that they play is horrendous from a football purists point of view, and there is nothing wrong IMO with slating their 'style of play'.

Added to their brand of football they have a large violent element to their support who think singing Delilah at football games is brilliant.

****hole town, ****my fans, embarrassing football anthem, ****e football, but sadly playing within the rules.

It is not against the rules and they are more then entitled to do it. They are playing to their strengths and it has been successful for them for quite a while now.

I personally do not like Stoke City though, and I had the misfortune of going to two of their games last season. The football that they play is horrendous from a football purists point of view, and there is nothing wrong IMO with slating their 'style of play'.

Added to their brand of football they have a large violent element to their support who think singing Delilah at football games is brilliant.

****hole town, ****my fans, embarrassing football anthem, ****e football, but sadly playing within the rules.

That will be the Naughty Forty :P

As a Stoke City fan who has family from Stoke can I just say.....:P:p:p

You said watching Stoke last season was horrendous? Did you catch any gems from Tynie last season? At least Stoke were winning.

We are in the premiership on merit, we will stay there on merit and we will grow stronger.

For years we have got crowds on a par with Hearts in a city that has a third of the population of Edinburgh and is 30 miles from Manchester. Stoke on Trent people support their local club and are truly passionate about it and they deserve every success.

And nowt wrong with Delilah, either (in moderation)

It seems to me like you would rather watch a team playing pretty passes and going nowehere which makes you a.......wait for it......:hobofish:

Stoke on Trent people support their local club and are truly passionate about it

Can't argue with that. Shame you're as supportive of the BNP though ;)

The OP seems more excited by his term "HANDHOOF" than the fact Stoke use the "HANDHOOF" to good effect against better teams....I wish we had someone who could "HANDHOOF" 3 or 4 goals against the S C U M from the weeg Today...It might upset the OP (Cannae be ersed remembering his name) but I'd be ferkin delighted!!

P.S If teams can't play against this tactic, put it out for a corner instead of a throw-in...Easy :P

P.P.S That is the last time I'll use the term HANDHOOF, It's sheeite, nice try though OP!!

I like it. It makes teams less keen to "hoof" the ball out of play because the consequences are a bit more severe. Also, anything that means more play in the 6-yard box gets my vote.

As a Stoke City fan who has family from Stoke can I just say.....:P:p:p

You said watching Stoke last season was horrendous? Did you catch any gems from Tynie last season? At least Stoke were winning.

We are in the premiership on merit, we will stay there on merit and we will grow stronger.

For years we have got crowds on a par with Hearts in a city that has a third of the population of Edinburgh and is 30 miles from Manchester. Stoke on Trent people support their local club and are truly passionate about it and they deserve every success.

And nowt wrong with Delilah, either (in moderation)

It seems to me like you would rather watch a team playing pretty passes and going nowehere which makes you a.......wait for it......:hobofish:

Haha I don't get the opportunity to go to Tynecastle much now and I can assure you I am no Hibs fan. It's more Coca Cola Championship games that I get to watch these days.

You are in the Premier League on merit. I never denied that. Your football which got you there was horrific to watch though and that cannot be denied.

FYI the population of Stoke is slightly more than half of Edinburgh's but you are right in saying that your city has a large proportion of Stoke and also Port Vale fans which is very commendable.

I'd wish you good luck in the Premier League but I wouldn't be meaning it. I sincerely hope that your club with its 'brand of football' and your chav fans that left a mass mess and assaulted many people from my city get relegated. Which you will.

;) Enjoy it while it lasts.

Haha I don't get the opportunity to go to Tynecastle much now and I can assure you I am no Hibs fan. It's more Coca Cola Championship games that I get to watch these days.

You are in the Premier League on merit. I never denied that. Your football which got you there was horrific to watch though and that cannot be denied.

FYI the population of Stoke is slightly more than half of Edinburgh's but you are right in saying that your city has a large proportion of Stoke and also Port Vale fans which is very commendable.

I'd wish you good luck in the Premier League but I wouldn't be meaning it. I sincerely hope that your club with its 'brand of football' and your chav fans that left a mass mess and assaulted many people from my city get relegated. Which you will.

;) Enjoy it while it lasts.

The hobo comment was below the belt - apologies!

Which city are you from, by the way?

they are doing allright for themselves. If it works...

...Csaba take note. Whens robbie back? :P

Can't argue with that. Shame you're as supportive of the BNP though ;)

Ah yes, can't hide that fact.

Unfortunately a combination of large-scale unemployment and large-scale immigration is rich pickings for the BNP.

I agree with the OP.

I also feel that scoring miskicks or deflections or any goal that isnt beautifully crafted is anti football and if any one is ever to score a goal like this they should do the decent thing and let the other team run up the pitch and score.

We all love watching good football but you do anything to win.

At the moment i would take a couple of handhoof assists if it gave us 3 points.

The bottom line is Stoke use this tactic if the opportunity arises, don`t see a problem with it if it`s a tactic which the players are organised for.

It's called playing to your strengths, and if that's their tactics on winning matches in the EPL then I say bloody good luck to them!!