How Pathetic is the Kimarnock support.

Fourcandles

Killie - flying high - 3rd place in SPL - home game against Falkirk - good chance of another 3pts - (even though they actually lost) - attendance?????

4,267 :eek:

How pathetic is that, I mean 3rd place and playing well is probably the best position they could ever be in.

A small town cursed by gloryhunting old firm fans ,Killie have no chance of having a decent support except for cup finals.

Population of (say) half of Edinburgh compared to population of Kilmarnock? Our attendances compared to theirs?

I don't understand threads criticising the level of support in places like Kilmarnock and Dundee when we live in one of the most apathetic major cities in the UK with regard to football crowds.

Scottish football has a cancer - the old firm.

With the old firm around teams in places like Kilmarnock will always struggle.

Population of (say) half of Edinburgh compared to population of Kilmarnock? Our attendances compared to theirs?

I don't understand threads criticising the level of support in places like Kilmarnock and Dundee when we live in one of the most apathetic major cities in the UK with regard to football crowds.

Unfair comparison mate. Edinburgh is 10 times the size of Kilmarnock. It's only a town of about 50,000. Like someone said it's hit pretty hard for old firm 'fans'

Try reading my post again.

How pathetic is Scottish football?

That's the real question.

which leads on the even 'realer' question....

why is scottish football so pathetic?

because it's been allowed to become, or deliberately engineered to become, a complete fait acompli. scottish football exists to serve the purposes of an elite, iluminati-esque group of people and organisations, each content to occupy the position they occupy, each determined to continue to occupy the position they occupy.

scottish football is not a sport in the true and purest sense of the term. it's a gravy train for parasites.

FACT.... i think.

Shoot me down in flames if I'm wrong here, which I think I am.

However I was told by a mate that after the Sheep Pen, Rugby Park is the biggest stadium ahead of ER and Tynie.

Can anyone confirm or deny this?

crowds are down at most clubs, the current prices dont really help non season ticket holders. my profit sharing bonus pays for my season tickets each year, and without that i would struggle to get to less than half the games i attend at the moment.

unless prices come down crowds will continue to dwindle, my brother paid ?17 to watch the Pars last week :eek:

dont know the figure but it must be really expensive to take a family to the football now,

Try reading my post again.

Oops! sorry man. I think you're bang on. Edinburgh for it's size does have a poor football fan attendance. Suppose it's the old thing of Edinurgh being a 'rugby' city. Look at Sunderland town of only 120,000 and almost half go to the football!

because it's been allowed to become, or deliberately engineered to become, a complete fait acompli. scottish football exists to serve the purposes of an elite, iluminati-esque group of people and organisations, each content to occupy the position they occupy, each determined to continue to occupy the position they occupy.

scottish football is not a sport in the true and purest sense of the term. it's a gravy train for parasites.

FACT.... i think.

Imagine the picture of a boot stamping on a human face forever...... :o

Carl Weathers

However I was told by a mate that after the Sheep Pen, Rugby Park is the biggest stadium ahead of ER and Tynie.

It's true - they have just over 18,000 seats.

Oops! sorry man. I think you're bang on. Edinburgh for it's size does have a poor football fan attendance. Suppose it's the old thing of Edinurgh being a 'rugby' city. Look at Sunderland town of only 120,000 and almost half go to the football!

Makes you wonder how Sunderland's other attractions compete!

FACT.... i think.

I agree. I think.

Im only 28 (only...? U decide!) but i remember in my young days Scottish football had a buzz. Dont think it's that everything is rosier in your youth like curly-wurlys being the size of a slide-rule, so it has changed. Dutd, Aberdeen where GOOD teams, really good! Hearts also were, and a Tynie with a larger capacity was full

Pricing up, standard down. You could probably trace it to when Souness started to bring in foriegners although i'm not blaming him for this as it raised our profile having the England captain play up here as well as someone as gifted (and about time, black!) as Mark Walters.

I Duno!! GFA GTF!

Unfair to slate Killie. Wee toon, infiltrated by OF filth. Alot of folk attend junior fitba through there too and i dont blame them.

Can any of the older posters say if there were as many OF fans outwith Glesgy in the old days, pre-80's say??????????

Glasgow - twice as big as Edinburgh (at least was when i was at School)?

So we should pro rata get half of the 50,000 that they get....i.e 25,000.

I bet we'd get that if we had their (the OF) success.

Makes you wonder how Sunderland's other attractions compete!

Was actually down there at the end of last season for the west ham game. The town centre is like somewhere from the 1970's! The stadium sticks out like a sore thumb!:)

Population Density in Ayrshire is a lot more spread out.

http://www.ayrshire-jsu.gov.uk/download/popdenayrshire1.pdf

About Half the people in the Lothians live in the City while Ayrshire is essentially a lot of small (****e) towns with Kilmarnock and Ayr being the closest things to cultural focus points and the only two league teams.

The population of Ayrshire is about 1/3 of the Lothians.

Killie (The Big team) just about got 1/3 of our attendance against Falkirk.

gordon the jambo

FACT.... i think.

spot on my friend full of small minded hypocrites and racists

Population Density in Ayrshire is a lot more spread out.

http://www.ayrshire-jsu.gov.uk/download/popdenayrshire1.pdf

About Half the people in the Lothians live in the City while Ayrshire is essentially a lot of small (****e) towns with Kilmarnock and Ayr being the closest things to cultural focus points and the only two league teams.

The population of Ayrshire is about 1/3 of the Lothians.

Killie (The Big team) just about got 1/3 of our attendance against Falkirk.

Which I think is actually pretty good for a town with a population of 44,000 in a county which has the OF pulling support away in one direction and the Juniors in the other. I admire anyone who turns out to support their local team in places like Kilmarnock.

I don't have any figures, but I wonder what kind of attendances clubs in England from towns with similar populations attract. I would imagine we're mostly looking at Leagues 1 & 2 by the time places as small as that feature regularly.

Unbelievably yes, RP is 18,128, ER is 17,500 and Tynie is 17,420

Sunderland's population at the last census was 280,000 and their average crowds are around 40,000 (including away fans) so that's about 1 in 7 at best. Not bad, but nowhere near half.

Got to agree with that. Sick of the amount of supposed Hearts fans who stay in the pubs and clubs (and bookies) all Saturday but still moan about Hearts and tell you how good or sheeite they are and they haven`t been to Tynie for years.

And it`s nowt to do with money, it was the same in the eighties at times when we actually had many good teams.

We blame others for holding Hearts back but i think we can lay a huge chunk at our dormant support.

Glasgow - twice as big as Edinburgh (at least was when i was at School)?

So we should pro rata get half of the 50,000 that they get....i.e 25,000.

I bet we'd get that if we had their (the OF) success.

No where near it. Glesga is aboot over 600,000 Edinburgh 450, 000 at last census.

But Strathclyde is far more densely populated.

For thr record Edinburgh is bigger land wise though.

Hearts Heritage

Its all about the OF, 'success' and the media coverage. One of my best friends lives in Brechin and hes desperately trying to stop his 8 year old supporting one of the OF. Most of his school friends support one of the 2. Peer pressure is difficult to resist.

The OF have never had as big crowds as they get now.

Rangers post WWII

28467 1946-47

28400 1947-48

44600 1948-49

44933 1949-50

35933 1950-51

34867 1951-52

40667 1952-53

30467 1953-54

34120 1954-55

36294 1955-56

35888 1956-57

30765 1957-58

35353 1958-59

31501 1959-60

35596 1960-61

35917 1961-62

30685 1962-63

30659 1963-64

29089 1964-65

24441 1965-66

28573 1966-67

34980 1967-68

33747 1968-69

33634 1969-70

29471 1970-71

26199 1971-72

27469 1972-73

22356 1973-74

32855 1974-75

30648 1975-76

21692 1976-77

28083 1977-78

25628 1978-79

20405 1979-80

18328 1980-81

16400 1981-82

17681 1982-83

21996 1983-84

20963 1984-85

25146 1985-86

36152 1986-87

38568 1987-88

39189 1988-89

38436 1989-90

35969 1990-91

37701 1991-92

40737 1992-93

43345 1993-94

44062 1994-95

44661 1995-96

48118 1996-97

49357 1997-98

49011 1998-99

48107 1999-2000

47532 2000-2001

47895 2001-02

48814 2002-03

48992 2003-04

48700 2004-05

49245 2005-06

Celtic Their average gate now is almost double what it was when they did the quintuple in 1967.

19860 1946-47

21000 1947-48

37205 1948-49

29867 1949-50

28786 1950-51

29568 1951-52

23933 1952-53

28067 1953-54

30654 1954-55

21467 1955-56

17706 1956-57

18348 1957-58

18411 1958-59

20588 1959-60

19324 1960-61

25332 1961-62

24643 1962-63

19800 1963-64

18284 1964-65

24102 1965-66

31082 1966-67

31373 1967-68

34740 1968-69

33188 1969-70

29647 1970-71

31241 1971-72

26606 1972-73

24762 1973-74

22775 1974-75

28066 1975-76

28063 1976-77

29568 1977-78

25303 1978-79

28499 1979-80

22836 1980-81

22718 1981-82

23740 1982-83

18390 1983-84

20827 1984-85

25335 1985-86

25311 1986-87

33199 1987-88

31713 1988-89

28616 1989-90

29012 1990-91

25086 1991-92

22684 1992-93

22637 1993-94

24601 1994-95

34342 1995-96

47504 1996-97

48532 1997-98

59271 1998-99

53887 1999-2000

59370 2000-2001

58587 2001-02

57614 2002-03

58516 2003-04

57942 2004-05

58151 2005-06

Hearts Heritage

Hearts crowd as a % of Celtic

1946-47 99%

1947-48 108%

1948-49 76%

1949-50 93%

1950-51 83%

1951-52 85%

1952-53 93%

1953-54 94%

1954-55 75%

1955-56 110%

1956-57 135%

1957-58 131%

1958-59 117%

1959-60 112%

1960-61 105%

1961-62 54%

1962-63 52%

1963-64 71%

1964-65 91%

1965-66 50%

1966-67 33%

1967-68 35%

1968-69 33%

1969-70 38%

1970-71 39%

1971-72 36%

1972-73 38%

1973-74 47%

1974-75 54%

1975-76 45%

1976-77 42%

1977-78 33%

1978-79 43%

1979-80 20%

1980-81 34%

1981-82 23%

1982-83 25%

1983-84 65%

1984-85 54%

1985-86 64%

1986-87 57%

1987-88 50%

1988-89 48%

1989-90 55%

1990-91 46%

1991-92 53%

1992-93 43%

1993-94 49%

1994-95 41%

1995-96 35%

1996-97 26%

1997-98 32%

1998-99 24%

1999-2000 26%

2000-2001 22%

2001-02 21%

2002-03 21%

2003-04 20%

2004-05 21%

2005-06 29%

Exactly. Whats the point in starting a thread demeaning Killie, who are a small town club who's support has been gobbled up by the old firm. Some clubs would regards crowds of 13k pathetic. In fact alot of clubs would.

Hearts are hardly in a position to criticise anyone's attendances! Overall, scottish football is garbage, and a combonation of a small population and ridiculous ticket prices mean crowds are going down for all non old-firm clubs.

Hearts Heritage

Here is the figures for Hearts and Hibs as a % of Celtic.

1946-47 99% 122%

1947-48 108% 133%

1948-49 76% 73%

1949-50 93% 98%

1950-51 83% 98%

1951-52 85% 104%

1952-53 93% 125%

1953-54 94% 78%

1954-55 75% 74%

1955-56 110% 94%

1956-57 135% 103%

1957-58 131% 110%

1958-59 117% 79%

1959-60 112% 80%

1960-61 105% 80%

1961-62 54% 39%

1962-63 52% 37%

1963-64 71% 60%

1964-65 91% 76%

1965-66 50% 48%

1966-67 33% 40%

1967-68 35% 37%

1968-69 33% 31%

1969-70 38% 40%

1970-71 39% 36%

1971-72 36% 45%

1972-73 38% 61%

1973-74 47% 58%

1974-75 54% 60%

1975-76 45% 49%

1976-77 42% 36%

1977-78 33% 33%

1978-79 43% 39%

1979-80 20% 34%

1980-81 34% 20%

1981-82 23% 33%

1982-83 25% 30%

1983-84 65% 45%

1984-85 54% 36%

1985-86 64% 36%

1986-87 57% 36%

1987-88 50% 35%

1988-89 48% 44%

1989-90 55% 37%

1990-91 46% 32%

1991-92 53% 39%

1992-93 43% 39%

1993-94 49% 43%

1994-95 41% 36%

1995-96 35% 29%

1996-97 26% 22%

1997-98 32% 25%

1998-99 24% 17%

1999-2000 26% 22%

2000-2001 22% 18%

2001-02 21% 20%

2002-03 21% 18%

2003-04 20% 16%

2004-05 21% 22%

2005-06 29% 24%

FACT.... i think.

Correct although I think you could say the same for a lot of the leagues in Europe, especially the Premiership.

Cannot knock Killie for lack of support - not be easy being so close to the OF. Clubs like Killie, Partick, Ayr, Clyde, Hamilton, Motherwell, Airdrie & Morton will never make inroads as more than half their potential fans prefer to jump on a bus to CP or Ibrox. Christ, busloads of the beggers leave Edinburgh, Fife, Dundee and even Aberdeen and Inverness for the OF on a Saturday too. It is an unfortunate sign of Scottish society that the people have a false bravado which manifests itself as "fierce nationalism" when truth is that we have more than our fair share of lazy gloryhunters...Glasgow has 100,000+ people who cannot work because they are signed off sick. You can see them queuing at Ibrox or CP whenever European tickets go on sale, when most of us are working.

Oh yes you can if you want , feel free.

I think 4odd thousand is pathetic when they are as high as they'll ever be -and I hate the Ayrshire Barstewards - even got knifed once at Tynie (in the brewery walkway) once by one of them.

:mad:

The_Supreme_Being

When a club like Kilmarnock have an 18,000 seater stadium to fill, and are that desperate to fill it they give 9,000 tickets to the old firm when they visit, and are situated just a 30 minute drive from the old firm's stadiums...............surely rule one of enticing young fans in the town of Kilmarnock to follow them and not head up to Ibrox and Parkhead is to not charge the same amount for tickets?

When Kilmarnock start charging ?10 for adults, ?5 for kids - maybe then they'll get more than 5,000 v Falkirk.

When a club like Kilmarnock have an 18,000 seater stadium to fill, and are that desperate to fill it they give 9,000 tickets to the old firm when they visit, and are situated just a 30 minute drive from the old firm's stadiums...............surely rule one of enticing young fans in the town of Kilmarnock to follow them and not head up to Ibrox and Parkhead is to not charge the same amount for tickets?

When Kilmarnock start charging ?10 for adults, ?5 for kids - maybe then they'll get more than 5,000 v Falkirk.[/QUOTE]

To be fair I think if most clubs did this they'd get much bigger crowds, prices are too high for many people to keep going every week.

Scotland has more fans attending games per head of population than any other country in the world (circa 2000).

We have many clubs with low attendances as we also have the lowest density of population in Europe - therefore many clubs are required to service a large geographical area, but there are only small populations available to purchase tickets.

In the top tier the attendance figures are skewed due to the large Old Firm support, so more needs to be done to attract new fans away from the Old Firm. How that will be achievable though while the divide on the pitch is so high, I'm not sure.

I think SPL crowds would increase if there were still cash turnstiles for every game.

Making last minute decisions to go to games was always a part of our football culture. I know that I have suddenly decided to go to some away games as late as Saturday morning upon reading that there were cash turnstiles for away fans. And on arriving at these grounds like Rugby Park and Tannadice, one could see that I was not the only Hearts fan who must have decided to go at the last minute judging by the larger than usual away support.

The old firm glory-hunter cancer is everywhere. I now live just outside Alloa, everyone here is Rangers or Celtic.

I think Scottish football crowds are decent, generally between 5-10% of a town's population attend their home games, paying ridiculously high prices to do so and with armchair Old Firm fans all over the place.

I also think challenging for 3rd place in the league has no discernable effect on attendances at any club, this has been shown time and time again.

Killie - flying high - 3rd place in SPL - home game against Falkirk - good chance of another 3pts - (even though they actually lost) - attendance?????

4,267 :eek:

How pathetic is that, I mean 3rd place and playing well is probably the best position they could ever be in.

considering there catchment area you have to be kidding mate

Two reasons why SPL crowds are poor:

1. Tickets are over-priced

2. The majority of people support the Old Firm

Also we have to remember the area around Glasgow (including places like Coatbridge, Airdrie etc etc is over 1,000,000). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_largest_United_Kingdom_settlements_by_population

Also about the Newcastle/ Sunderland thing.

The North East is a big place if you add all the small towns etc - about 1,000,000 too. So there is probably no surprise about attendances there.

Also....who would you rather want to go and see - Michael Owen....or Jamie Mole...? mmmmm

A good example of their problem is that around 4 years ago I was leaving a game there (the Webster sending off game) and was stopped by a guy on the street asking me the score. He was then disappointed that we hadn't turned the b******s over. Old Firm fans are capable of not just turning their backs on their home town teams but actively hating them.

I think SPL crowds would increase if there were still cash turnstiles for every game.

Making last minute decisions to go to games was always a part of our football culture. I know that I have suddenly decided to go to some away games as late as Saturday morning upon reading that there were cash turnstiles for away fans. And on arriving at these grounds like Rugby Park and Tannadice, one could see that I was not the only Hearts fan who must have decided to go at the last minute judging by the larger than usual away support.

The old firm glory-hunter cancer is everywhere. I now live just outside Alloa, everyone here is Rangers or Celtic.

Not everyone! ;)

Got to agree with that. Sick of the amount of supposed Hearts fans who stay in the pubs and clubs (and bookies) all Saturday but still moan about Hearts and tell you how good or sheeite they are and they haven`t been to Tynie for years.

And it`s nowt to do with money, it was the same in the eighties at times when we actually had many good teams.

We blame others for holding Hearts back but i think we can lay a huge chunk at our dormant support.

fair point however don't forget there are literally hundreds of thousands of old firm fans who live with in the city limits in glasgow never mind getting into ayrshire ect who have never attended a game at ibrox or parkhead ever

personally i rate a support by how many show up on matchday by this standard i have watched in my cognitive matchday attending lifetime rangers and celtic crowds double and nearly tripple respectively and they still probably as a percentage of people claiming to be fans have a lower turn out due to the massive ranks of nominal fans

Two reasons why SPL crowds are poor:

1. Tickets are over-priced

2. The majority of people support the Old Firm

Two questions:

How did you determine that crowds are poor?

How did you determine that tickets are overpriced?

try being a Ayrshire jambo ;);););)

school was so much fun

I was the only non-OF fan at my primary school, and one of very few at High school. Great fun!

I think Scottish football crowds are decent, generally between 5-10% of a town's population attend their home games, paying ridiculously high prices to do so and with armchair Old Firm fans all over the place.

I also think challenging for 3rd place in the league has no discernable effect on attendances at any club, this has been shown time and time again.

Totally agree with all your points but more so with the bit in bold.

We all know that historically we can't compete with the Uglies financially and therefore being able to put in a sustained league challenge, but this 3rd place target nonsense although probably realistic is not going get punters out of their armchairs -- sad but true

I was the only non-OF fan at my primary school, and one of very few at High school. Great fun!

me 2

What made you guys follow Hearts then?

Its all about the OF, 'success' and the media coverage. One of my best friends lives in Brechin and hes desperately trying to stop his 8 year old supporting one of the OF. Most of his school friends support one of the 2. Peer pressure is difficult to resist.

The OF have never had as big crowds as they get now.

Rangers post WWII

28467 1946-47

28400 1947-48

44600 1948-49

44933 1949-50

35933 1950-51

34867 1951-52

40667 1952-53

30467 1953-54

34120 1954-55

36294 1955-56

35888 1956-57

30765 1957-58

35353 1958-59

31501 1959-60

35596 1960-61

35917 1961-62

30685 1962-63

30659 1963-64

29089 1964-65

24441 1965-66

28573 1966-67

34980 1967-68

33747 1968-69

33634 1969-70

29471 1970-71

26199 1971-72

27469 1972-73

22356 1973-74

32855 1974-75

30648 1975-76

21692 1976-77

28083 1977-78

25628 1978-79

20405 1979-80

18328 1980-81

16400 1981-82

17681 1982-83

21996 1983-84

20963 1984-85

25146 1985-86

36152 1986-87

38568 1987-88

39189 1988-89

38436 1989-90

35969 1990-91

37701 1991-92

40737 1992-93

43345 1993-94

44062 1994-95

44661 1995-96

48118 1996-97

49357 1997-98

49011 1998-99

48107 1999-2000

47532 2000-2001

47895 2001-02

48814 2002-03

48992 2003-04

48700 2004-05

49245 2005-06

Celtic Their average gate now is almost double what it was when they did the quintuple in 1967.

19860 1946-47

21000 1947-48

37205 1948-49

29867 1949-50

28786 1950-51

29568 1951-52

23933 1952-53

28067 1953-54

30654 1954-55

21467 1955-56

17706 1956-57

18348 1957-58

18411 1958-59

20588 1959-60

19324 1960-61

25332 1961-62

24643 1962-63

19800 1963-64

18284 1964-65

24102 1965-66

31082 1966-67

31373 1967-68

34740 1968-69

33188 1969-70

29647 1970-71

31241 1971-72

26606 1972-73

24762 1973-74

22775 1974-75

28066 1975-76

28063 1976-77

29568 1977-78

25303 1978-79

28499 1979-80

22836 1980-81

22718 1981-82

23740 1982-83

18390 1983-84

20827 1984-85

25335 1985-86

25311 1986-87

33199 1987-88

31713 1988-89

28616 1989-90

29012 1990-91

25086 1991-92

22684 1992-93

22637 1993-94

24601 1994-95

34342 1995-96

47504 1996-97

48532 1997-98

59271 1998-99

53887 1999-2000

59370 2000-2001

58587 2001-02

57614 2002-03

58516 2003-04

57942 2004-05

58151 2005-06

Would it be fair to say that, until the past few decades, football crowds were grossly under-reported by crooked club chairmen?