Sitting in the away end...

Jambosimmy

My systems are down at work so bored out ma mind and thought i would see if there are any good storys of people sitting in the away end at games.

I will start us off with one at easter road.

My mates mate who is a hibs fan had come up from manchester one weekend for the derby. He never had a ticket for the game and the home end was sold out. Me and my mates had a spare ticket but obviously his preffered option was to get a ticket in the home end. he left the pub early doors to head down to fester road and try and secure a ticket... No luck!!

Anyway as you have probably already guessed he used our spare ticket. Sitting very close to the east stand the banter and abuse was flying from all directions as per usual. The hibs fan sitting next to me didnt bat an eyelid.

Hibs eventually took the lead and the usual heads in hands in our end and shouting abuse at jumping monkeys in the East stand started. Again the boy just sat there. I couldnt beleive this.

Whats worse was when the mighty JT's equlaised. We were going totally mental jumping all over this boy and again all he did was stood up and clapped his hands as to blend in with the rest of us!!!

The game finished 1-1 so honours even. the guy has my respect anyway!!! (as much as i can give to one of those).

Anybody else been in a similar position?

I've been in the home end at Ibrox several times for Hearts games.

Cue the music....................

New Years derby at Tynecastle in 1986, Me and my mate couldn't get a ticket for the home end. Plenty tickets left for the Hibs end so we took our chances.

We arrived just at kickoff and made our way across to the fence that seperated the away end from the Hearts support. We noticed that like ourselves, very few fans round about us were wearing any colours which was a bit unusual, as these blokes were defineately not casuals.

Anyway we clapped politely when Hibs made some decent moves and tried to fit in a well as we could. But on about twenty minutes our cover was blown big time. Ian Jardine scored and the Hearts fans went wild, a couple of blokes near us in the Hibs end couldn't contain themselves any longer and jumped about cheering like a ouple of nutters. This had a ripple affect amongst all the other undercover Jambos gathered in that particular area of the Hibs end, and before long we realised that there must have been over a hundred Hearts fans in the same wee area all jumping about cheering and cuddling each other.

This seemed to have a bad affect on the Hibs casuals and other Hibs nutters who made their way across to do battle. Loads of Police piled in and manageed to keep the two sides seperated and the undercover Jambos were all escorted through to the Hearts end to huge cheers from the Hearts fans.

A real buzz that day, and Hearts went on to win 3-1, no great surprise there then.:)

was at ibrox two year ago with my mother and father all jambos got tickets for nothing so we went i hated it and after going one down i had to leave left parents there

New Years derby at Tynecastle in 1986, Me and my mate couldn't get a ticket for the home end. Plenty tickets left for the Hibs end so we took our chances.

We arrived just at kickoff and made our way across to the fence that seperated the away end from the Hearts support. We noticed that like ourselves, very few fans round about us were wearing any colours which was a bit unusual, as these blokes were defineately not casuals.

Anyway we clapped politely when Hibs made some decent moves and tried to fit in a well as we could. But on about twenty minutes our cover was blown big time. Ian Jardine scored and the Hearts fans went wild, a couple of blokes near us in the Hibs end couldn't contain themselves any longer and jumped about cheering like a ouple of nutters. This had a ripple affect amongst all the other undercover Jambos gathered in that particular area of the Hibs end, and before long we realised that there must have been over a hundred Hearts fans in the same wee area all jumping about cheering and cuddling each other.

This seemed to have a bad affect on the Hibs casuals and other Hibs nutters who made their way across to do battle. Loads of Police piled in and manageed to keep the two sides seperated and the undercover Jambos were all escorted through to the Hearts end to huge cheers from the Hearts fans.

A real buzz that day, and Hearts went on to win 3-1, no great surprise there then.:)

Thats quality!!!

Only ever been in the away end once........Rangers at Ibrox.

Was only a kid at the time, but I do remember it was the bottom tier of the Broomloan......and Hearts had the top (crazy segregation eh!)

Anyway, I remember 90 minutes of the following being hurled from above.....

Gobbings

Pies

SEATS FFS!!!!!

The memory of hundreds of Rangers fans going crazy gives me a warm glow to this very day....

I had a short spell myself sitting in the East stand at Fester road. I called in sick to my work and my two hibs mates decided to go to the hibs St Johnstone game years ago. Somehow they persuaded me to go along. (i never paid to get in therefore i wasnt there really:))

Hibs won 3-1. Garry O'Connor got one of them and came over to where we were sitting and my mate decided to try and grab him. The bar steward got us in the evening news and needless to say i was busted for my "sickie"

Bit different but I sat in the hibs end at their diddy cup final against Livingstone (just don't ask).

All my hibby mates family knew I was a Jambo and at half time I was taking some stick in lighthearted manner.

When Livi scored their 2 goals I was ****ing ******-a-hoop. Sat there trying not to rub it in, but to be among 30 000 hibs fans when their wee diddy dream went tits up was quite something.

What a great journey home.

The minute I got in I phoned my dad to tell the tale. How we laughed.

Losers.

Old main stand at Parkhead, at the front, circa 1991.

Went with my Celtic supporting friend.

Celtic scored and I stayed in my seat. Hearts scored straight from the resulting kick off and I went ballistic.

Surprisingly I never received any bother at all.

One year we were playing Motherwell at Tynie and Hearts needed to win to stay up but me and a couple of mates couldnt get into the home end because it was a sell out....so the scarfs got stuffed up the tops and we bolted round to the old Gorgie End. It wasn't awash with 'Well fans but there were still plently of them, anyway if I remember rightly Robbo scored a penalty late on to give us the 1-0 win we needed....of course we went nuts (as did quiet a few other Jambos who had been hiding), the 'Well fans didnt seem too bothered - a few ugly looks but we didnt care!!

Not got a clue what year it was, but a fair few as I dont think any of the new stands were up.

2-2 game at Ibrox in '98.Main stand,sitting myself as my mate also managed to get a ticket but for the Broomloan stand.

I managed to contain myself when McCann scored the opener but leapt up when Hamilton gave us the lead.The second I was up I knew I was in bother so shouted out "Bjorklund,you're a ****y" which,when you think of it,wasn't really a lie.

Thought I would get out a bit sharpish and heard the cheer for the Albertz goal on the way down the stairs.All in all,a good day and better things were not far off!:)

The 85/86 Scottish Cup final, about 12 of us went through for it. Turned out we had tickets for the cod-botherers' end, the weegie police wouldn't let us move seats. I doubt we would've got out uninjured if the sheep hadn't won...

2-2 game at Ibrox in '98.Main stand,sitting myself as my mate also managed to get a ticket but for the Broomloan stand.

I managed to contain myself when McCann scored the opener but leapt up when Hamilton gave us the lead.The second I was up I knew I was in bother so shouted out "Bjorklund,you're a ****y" which,when you think of it,wasn't really a lie.

Thought I would get out a bit sharpish and heard the cheer for the Albertz goal on the way down the stairs.All in all,a good day and better things were not far off!:)

I think i remember that game. Albertz Free Kick 92nd minute or something!!

One year we were playing Motherwell at Tynie and Hearts needed to win to stay up but me and a couple of mates couldnt get into the home end because it was a sell out....so the scarfs got stuffed up the tops and we bolted round to the old Gorgie End. It wasn't awash with 'Well fans but there were still plently of them, anyway if I remember rightly Robbo scored a penalty late on to give us the 1-0 win we needed....of course we went nuts (as did quiet a few other Jambos who had been hiding), the 'Well fans didnt seem too bothered - a few ugly looks but we didnt care!!

Not got a clue what year it was, but a fair few as I dont think any of the new stands were up.

Was that not early 90's? I was in the old main stand, bottom tier, right next to the away end. One and only time Ive ever been there so the game sticks out!

Sure it was the case that we needed to win, or we were into the play off (mind we used to have a prem div/1st division playoff?)

Sure Brian Hamilton scored, maybe Robbo too? Cannie quite mind.......London Hearts, where are you!!!!!

I think i remember that game. Albertz Free Kick 92nd minute or something!!

Aye it was mate.A stinker because we were really looking good at that point in the season.

Another was a Hibs v Rangers game at Fester.You could probably call that standing in the away away end!Mental!:eek:

Was that not early 90's? I was in the old main stand, bottom tier, right next to the away end. One and only time Ive ever been there so the game sticks out!

Sure it was the case that we needed to win, or we were into the play off (mind we used to have a prem div/1st division playoff?)

Sure Brian Hamilton scored, maybe Robbo too? Cannie quite mind.......London Hearts, where are you!!!!!

'94/'95 season IIRC.

Only ever been in the away end once........Rangers at Ibrox.

Was only a kid at the time, but I do remember it was the bottom tier of the Broomloan......and Hearts had the top (crazy segregation eh!)

Anyway, I remember 90 minutes of the following being hurled from above.....

Gobbings

Pies

SEATS FFS!!!!!

The memory of hundreds of Rangers fans going crazy gives me a warm glow to this very day....

That will mean you were in the home end;):P

I was in hospitality for that game.

Also been in the Hibs old main stand for two derbies.

Both were easy wins and by the end of it we were about the only ones there.

Was at Ibrox, 87/88 in the enclosure, Hearts end full (8,000 Hearts fans in their end) Me and my mate stood all quiet, Colquhon (sp) had scored twice in the first half we managed to contain ourselves. Thought we'd got away with it. Then at half time these "bears" came storming over in big numbers saying we were Jambo XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Exit, stage left! lol

Going to Glasgow pre-segregation was always a bit hairy, Even when you went to the stand, you weren't comfy. I remember a game at Ibrox in the 70s, where Willie Gibson had us 2-0 up at half time. We all sat on our hands as the grizzlies growled around us. Then Greig scored late on for them to set up the old grandstand, nailbiting finish. We held on for 2-1.

As soon as we got back in the car, it was reminisent of the scene in Only Fools and Horses, when Del Boy and Rodney rock the car outside the Auction Rooms after selling their watch. All 4 of us went mental and the old car was rocking from side to side.

northfieldhearts

Duffy's 1st derby in charge - i left it too late to get a ticket for the hearts end so ended up sitting beside my dad with his pals season ticket - he was away for new year. 4-0 and the hearts fans doing a conga round the bottom tier - i was bursting! sitting on my hands, chewing coat sleeves - how i managed to say nothing was a minor miracle!

My systems are down at work so bored out ma mind and thought i would see if there are any good storys of people sitting in the away end at games.

I will start us off with one at easter road.

My mates mate who is a hibs fan had come up from manchester one weekend for the derby. He never had a ticket for the game and the home end was sold out. Me and my mates had a spare ticket but obviously his preffered option was to get a ticket in the home end. he left the pub early doors to head down to fester road and try and secure a ticket... No luck!!

Anyway as you have probably already guessed he used our spare ticket. Sitting very close to the east stand the banter and abuse was flying from all directions as per usual. The hibs fan sitting next to me didnt bat an eyelid.

Hibs eventually took the lead and the usual heads in hands in our end and shouting abuse at jumping monkeys in the East stand started. Again the boy just sat there. I couldnt beleive this.

Whats worse was when the mighty JT's equlaised. We were going totally mental jumping all over this boy and again all he did was stood up and clapped his hands as to blend in with the rest of us!!!

The game finished 1-1 so honours even. the guy has my respect anyway!!! (as much as i can give to one of those).

Anybody else been in a similar position?

He's back next weekend for the derby, dunno if he's got a ticket this time.

Don't think he'll be wanting one of ours again after us jumping around him like looneys lol

He's back next weekend for the derby, dunno if he's got a ticket this time.

Don't think he'll be wanting one of ours again after us jumping around him like looneys lol

hope whatever form of travel he is on crashes!!!

I've been in the home end at Ibrox several times for Hearts games.

Cue the music....................

GET HIM, BOYS. :mad::mad::mad:

Season we finished 2nd and qualified for the CL Qualifiers I had to sit in the Dons end!!

Was a cracking atmosphere as well and quite interesting watching Harltey sneering at the Dons fans as he came over to take a corner! He was getting dogs abuse off them as well!

When we scored I just sat motionless and basked in the delight of my fellow jambos going wild all around me in the home ends - it was almost poetic watching the scenes of celebration!!!! I recall that the gentlemen in Section N were jumping around with great enthusiasm in between making sporadic nazi salutes at the Aberdeen fans!!!!

At full time i stayed and got a high 5 off Skacel as he started his lap of honour, there were quite a few left in the away end as well belting out the Hearts song which must have been quite confusing for the stewards!!!

On the way into the ground i even enjoyed being hissed at and verbally abused by an eldery woman, i was desperate to just go up to her and reveal myself as a fellow jambo but was deep under cover at this point!!

I went to Ibrox to see hearts with my uncles season ticket, turns out it was a 0-0 draw about 96 or 97 but i sat on my hands and had to hold onto my seat when Neil Pointon hit the post for Hearts.

The bit i found hardest was when the hearts fans were singing, not to join in.....wanted to belt out the hearts song to. I was proud listening to my fellow jambos out singing 50k current buns.

Not a nice experience though overall and dont fancy watching hearts from an opposing end again.

i've sat in the famous five stand at the bottom of the slope........... at the sangiro a few times.

i was there the day wee cameron done bandy twice from 25 yards.

it was great .............3 up and the hobos all started fighting and throwing their scarves on the pitch.

i nearly had the full stand to myself in the second half.

Not a Hearts game but I was in the Hibs end for a match against Rangers in 2002.

The week before, Hearts had beaten Hibs in the derby, with a narrow 5-1 hoof 'n' grab.

The next week, my brother n law (a hibby), asked me to the game as had a spare ticket and could find no hibby willing enough to go!

A very strange experience, and I wore a baseball cap well over my face. We sat in the upper main stand, and to be honest, it was pretty quiet and only half full. Rangers won the match 4-2.

Era Macaroons

Celtic scored and I stayed in my seat. Hearts scored straight from the resulting kick off and I went ballistic.

You 'look' like them tho, so they prob thought it was one of their own having 'a turn'.

Had to go to Aberdeen end at terraced Tynie when the shout went up outside the ground that Hearts end was about full up.

Loads of folk in the Q just walked round to Gorgie Rd end and congregated nearest near main stand/enclosure....im sure we scored 2 goals which were

celebrated as there was enough folk there doing the same as us.

I've been in the away end of old tynecastle for a mid week game v Falkirk (i think). I was a youngster and me and a mate climbed up the church on the left hand side of the gorgie road entrance, then simply climbed the wee fence into the toilets at the top of the terraces. We scored and won the game while i was there and i happily cheered due to the lack of away support and youthful fear of nothing.

Nae danger i'd climb something that high now without harnesses etc, i probably wouldn't cheer in the opposing fans faces either now...

Not my story but my brothers were in amongst the Rangers fans the day Allan Johnston scored his hat-trick.

How they made it out I'll never know.

tommythejambo

Was thinking about sitting in the away end ata recent derby, but just hate them too much to bring myself to do it.

At Ibrox a couple os seasons ago when we drew 0-0 ....think it was in Jan or Feb.

Was easy to contain myself as its probably the worst game i've ever attended. Don't think either team had a chance at goal....zzzzzz.

Dik Mar Van Nostrilboy

my mate had a spare se ticket for the hearts hibs game a few years back when sevvy and a pressley penalty in the 86th minute or so gave us a 2-1 win...was in the west stand and my arm was red raw from my mate holdin me down for the whole of the 2nd half!

fantastic!

One of my mates ended up in the Hibs end at Hampden for the semi final!! He was getting a spare ticket from a guy at work (who somehow thought he was a Hibs fan)

Best of it was he turned up at hampden with his Hearts top with Hartley on the back!! Had to borrow a hoodie and spent the whole 90 mins sh*ting it encase any maroon was showing!!

SORRY BUT NO DISRESPECT to anyone who has sat in the hobo end , just could not do it myself, the thought of pretending to be a hobo :chase:just fills me with the :boak:

Was at Ibrox, 87/88 in the enclosure, Hearts end full (8,000 Hearts fans in their end) Me and my mate stood all quiet, Colquhon (sp) had scored twice in the first half we managed to contain ourselves. Thought we'd got away with it. Then at half time these "bears" came storming over in big numbers saying we were Jambo XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Exit, stage left! lol
That game was at Christmas 1985 either boxing day or the 27th. Wee JC scored twice in the first half laving big donkey McPherson on his ass twice:)

Last season at Ibrox i sat in the Rangers end against Hearts They knew a was a Jambo but didnt care as we are the Cousins of William:)

Thats why i have a wee soft spot for our Brothers through the west.

Was in the away (Gorgie) end for the second last game of the '85/'86 season.

Mind you, so were thousands of other Jambos :D

Surprisingly few Clydebank fans...

Superb day mate - remember it quite well surprisingly for a old bugger like me.

As you say Hearts fans filling the whole stand - that's when we were a "fitba club":rolleyes:

I sat in the Hibs end when we beat them 4-0 on New Years day at ER years ago.

It was fecking torture!!

I remember standing in the away end at east end park in 1990 i think. hearts won 2-0 and Davie Moyce was playing for the pars I think (can't remember - he was gash)

I remember jumping for joy when Hearts scored... only to have people stare at me. I think I pretended not to have a clue what was going on....

I was 12!

Me and a couple of mates went through a weird spell atually choosing to go into the opposition ends for a few games. Just to take the game in from the enemys perspective or possibly because we were young, stupid and pished.

Anyway one week away to Airdrie we were standing on the terraces amongst a few sparse Airdrie fans. Hearts were winning something like 2-0 and the game only had about ten minutes to go. The stewards must have just opened the gates to let the early leavers out and a large group (20-30) Airdrie casuals who hadn't been at the game came strolling in.

Just our luck they all gathered round about us. One bloke in particular who was built like a Pitbull on steroids grunted in my direction enquiring as to the score. I quickly put on the best west coast accent I could muster and blurted out '2-0 to they bas***** big man'.

We just got away with it.:)

Sat in the Rangers end against Hearts at Ibrox as my Uncle has a season ticket there back in 2001. It was the last day of the season and they'd sewn up the league. Duries last game for them i think too.

Also sat in the smelltick end at darkhead with my dad back in 1991. We went in the wrong end by mistake as we'd got there really early and dint notice many fans of either side around. ba$tards wouldnt let us back out to go round to the Hearts end! Worst of all was that we were 2-0 down then scored twice to end 2-2 and we couldnt celebrate!

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope

Slightly different. In late 80s, I drove from Sheffield with Jungle Jim mate and his mate. I had a ticket for our end of the ground. Parked on London Road, near the Darkheid and across the road from the Celtic Supporters Club. Where we went drinking. I kept my Hearts scarf in the inside pocket of my Barbour coat (well, I said it was the 80s).

All went OK except for one moment, when my mate, discussing wearing club colours in certain bars turned to me and said "Do you not find the same, when you've got your Hearts scarf on?" in a stage whisper that could normally have have been heard at Ibrox. Fortunately, it was so noisy in there that only the immediate few heard it, and they were in on the secret. Fair play to them, they thought it was hilarious that I was drinking there while around me were the assembled mentals of the East End.

Not an experience I'd like to repeat. And we lost 3-1. And I had to travel back with two crowing Bhoys. Fortunate for them that it wasn't my car.

Sawdust Caesar

Been in the main stand at Easter Rd quite a few times. I used to work in Fine Fare/Gateway at the top of Easter Rd when they sponsored the league. The nearest store to the ground got 10 comps tickets for every home game. My boss was a Hibby and made me go and collect the tickets every Friday and gave me a couple for a few of the games except the Hearts ones. I think was a way of trying to rub my nose in it cos he never gave me a Saturday off when Hibs were playing away. :mad:

letsalllaughathobos

when i was a lad my old man took me to hampden to see hearts v ardrie.

i think it was the big cup semis ended up standing in the ardrie end im sure we got beat 3-2.

robbo got punched by the keeper in a one-on-one with not long left(outside the box).

im not 100% about all the info if someone would kindly let me know ifall the details are correct(i mean the score and events).

thanks in advance.

I was a ballboy that day, behind the goals at the gorgie road end.

Quality pitch invasion at the end.