Great guitar solos

flecktimus

Listening to guitar solos has always given me musical pleasure, so what are your favourites.

My first, Dave Gilmour (pink floyd) Comfortably Numb. Enjoy

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=4-MLxgkiPNg

As soon as I saw the thread title, i thought comfortably numb would be the first one mentioned.

It is pretty amazing.

As soon as I saw the thread title, i thought comfortably numb would be the first one mentioned.

It is pretty amazing.

Was thinking exactly the same just now.

Pink Floyd have numerous quality guitar solos. Gilmour is tremendous.

Where do i start

Alvin Lee intro to i'm going home live

Clapton Crossroads & many many more

Rory Gallagher Catfish live

P Kossoff The Stealer

F Zappa Cosmik Debris

I need to stop now but there are hunners more

Live Forever - Noel Gallagher Solo.

Immense

Anyone who has seen Oasis live will know that Noel does not play the difficult guitar bits.

He used to. He switched to rythmm when Gem replaced Bonehead in the band.

Nobody in Oasis plays the "difficult guitar bits". Apart from the bloke in the screened off area. :o

This is how a guitar is meant to be played:-

Rory Gallagher - Bullfrog Blues

Ahh Rory gone but definatley not forgotted guitar god!

Yup virtually anything by PK was brill not the most technically gifted but BOY! did he play with bags of feeling

Paul played from his heart not his head. Which is just as well really... :rolleyes:

I can listen to Free for hours, and often do. :)

Great band. Fact.

Play fair Dave.

I am loath to admit it but I love the solo on Hotel California.

That's brilliant but it's a duet. ;)

I wish someone would close this thread every time i go back to it i think of more,

Wishbone Ash (Andy Powell) Jailbait

Hendrix (how could we forget) Voodoo Child

Hotel California as someone has just said awesome.

Gary Moore Still got the blues for you.

Bernie Marsden any blues track he plays on

NAE MARE I COULD BE HEAR AWE NIGHT !

OK I've put a bit of though into this now.

Good Times Bad Time by Led Zeppelin. Page did more complex but this is a great explosion of sound.

Paranoid Android by Radiohead. Both of the breaks are superb.

Sympathy For The Devil by The Rolling Stones. A song so good the Stone Roses almost recreated it with I Am The Resurrection.

Also all the great guitarists like Johnny Marr and Ry Cooder who don't do solos as such but add so much to a song all the way through without needing a few bars of pyrotechnics in the middle.

Freebird - Lynryd Skynryd

Strength of the World - Avenged Sevenfold

Children of Bodom - Kissing the Shadows

Children of Bodom - Hatebreeder

Machine Head - Aesthetics of Hate

Opeth - The Grand Conjuration

And pretty much any Dragonforce song.

I could go on all day but these are ones that jump out straight away.

Hendrix - Voodoo Child (Slight Return) - basically the whole song is one long solo.

Red Hot Chili Peppers (John Frusciante) - Lyon 6.06.06 (a b-side - http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=TzkMUeXLdeE )

Derek Trucks - Joyful Noise (in fact, anything he does is fantastic)

Anything by Joe Pass

Red Hot Chili Peppers (John Frusciante) - Throw Away Your Television (Live at Hyde Park)

Stevie Ray Vaughan - Scuttle Buttin' (it's basically a twelve-bar blues in warp-speed)

That's just a couple off the top of my head.

OK I've put a bit of though into this now.

Good Times Bad Time by Led Zeppelin. Page did more complex but this is a great explosion of sound.

There are a shed load of Zeppelin ones, but for me the one that stands out is "Since I'v Been Loving You"

Some of the live stuff done by Hendrix is way out there. Always thought Hendrix was more suited to playing live than in the studio.

There are a shed load of Zeppelin ones, but for me the one that stands out is "Since I'v Been Loving You"

Some of the live stuff done by Hendrix is way out there. Always thought Hendrix was more suited to playing live than in the studio.

awsome mate, as is

black dog

heartbreaker

kashmire

no quarter etc etc

Ok we will allow bass guitar :)

Great song and band

In that case, the Les Claypool solo in Tommy the Cat (by Primus)

Larry Graham in Pow! I got Ya (by Graham Central Station)

Anything by Victor Wooten.

Live Forever - Noel Gallagher Solo.

Immense

That's a pretty much laughable example when compared to the likes of Mark Knopfler and Clapton as most of their material pretty much blows that pish out of the water without much effort at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XVVZPefbR4

An honourable mention to Muse - Invincible. Heard better, but by todays standards, it's as good as things are gonna get nowadays.

Mark Knopfler - sultans of swing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j34gG2xR3I

A brilliant shout, I absolutely love that song.

How Stairway hasn't been mentioned yet is beyond me. It's awesome.

All Along the Watchtower - Hendrix

November Rain - Guns N Roses

Floods - Pantera

Fade to Black - Metallica

A few that come to mind.

heartgarfunkel

Some fabulous stuff I hadn't heard before, cheers all! David Gilmour takes some beating though.

I love Jimmy Page's guitar on 'Tangerine', and the euphoric solo on 'Ramble On'; I'm also a Bunnymen nut and have many favourite Will Sergeant bits of guitar magic to delight in.

Gary Moore Still got the blues for you.

Bernie Marsden any blues track he plays on

NAE MARE I COULD BE HEAR AWE NIGHT !

Two good shouts there. A mate of mine was due to do a gig with Bernie Marsden the other week but had to pull out with a tooth abcess. He was well peed off as he reckons that BM is one of the finest blues guitarists he's come across.

On the basis that it's just about the greatest guitar solo ever, I'd say it should be.

Perhaps particularly great because of it's setting - I mean, all that schmaltz makes it stand out more than if it had been in an otherwise decent song.

Hendrix on Hendrix In The West. He plays Lover Man, then right at the end just tosses off this incredible piece of guitar playing. Not really part of the song at all and only about twenty seconds long, but one of my favourite "solos" of all time.