Broomview House (Sighthill) demolition

Swanny17

Here you go

Nice one.

I had totally forgotten this was happening today, heard the explosion from my living room though.

Good video that.

Now, where can they demolish next??

we (the cooncil)are blowing up the other three blocks at the same time in 2010.

hermiston court only has three tenants left.

weir court,we are starting the decant next month.

glenalmond,we start the decant next autum.

What are putting in their place?

According to a council official on the radio this morning it will be new council houses.

Here you go

very good video m8

think the beeb will be using that tonight in their news headlines.

a wee email to them will do the trick

the land is being sold for housing mate.the council dont have the money to rebuild so it will be housing association that builds.

According to a council official on the radio this morning it will be new council houses.

yeah the usual, put the usual junkies back in them...feckin waste of time, id feckin euthinase the all

no it wont.

it will be housing association and they wont be any higher than 3 floors.

Here you go

Gutted, wish i had checked on here first, heard on the radio that it was happening between 11.30 and 12:cool:

Got there at 11.30 to see hoards of people walking away.:(

Brilliant video though.

no it wont.

it will be housing association and they wont be any higher than 3 floors.

Ok it will be new houses for former council tenants who can rent them.

I went up to watch it.

Wished I didn't.

Was pish.

Very, very, very hungover.

Won ?200 at the casino last night though, which was nice :P

North Berwick Jambo

Can we no just nuke the whole Broomhouse, Sighthill & Wester Hailes area & save the cooncil a fortune? The huge crater would look much better :)

Us Sighthill lads will find you, and leather you for that comment ;)

Agree with Broomie and Wester Hailes though :P

no,i'd be out a job:)

Just on Forth2 that the flats will be coming down between 1130-1200.

Think I will go up to the garage at Wester Hailes to get a good view.

Feckin' Forth 2! Had made it to the end of my street when I heard the bang! Last time I listen to those amateurs...

Where else in Edinburgh had high rises. Is it just the Fort towers and Oxgangs that have been knocked down?

Good job by the demolition crew, not as easy as it looks, trying to use the minimum of explosives but getting the desired result.

i assume the council will be sending round a squad of windae cleaners to that area in the morning to clean the local residents windows, lol

Where else in Edinburgh had high rises. Is it just the Fort towers and Oxgangs that have been knocked down?

highrise blocks left in edinburgh

muirhouse 6 blocks

pilton 3 blocks

moredun 6 blocks

niddrie 4 blocks

leith 7 blocks............fort house to be blown up

lochend 4 blocks

dumydykes 2 blocks

blackhall 1 block

gorgie 3 blocks

joppa 1 block

porty 1 block

stockbridge 4 blocks

gracemount 3 blocks..........to be blown up

calders 3 blocks

sighthill 3 left..............to be blown up

hailesland 3 blocks

i assume the council will be sending round a squad of windae cleaners to that area in the morning to clean the local residents windows, lol

Some idiot on the 16th floor left his windows wide open haha

I'm amazed they let you stay in there while it was happening mate.

They didn't. Everyone had to be out their house at 8 in the morning and were put up in Forries school for the day. The picture will be taken from when they were allowed back into their buildings.

Doh! Of course, what a numpty I am lol, I've got the excuse of being rough as a badgers arse today though :wacko:

For my sins, the 'Sighthill Neighbourhood Centre', as it was called, was the first project I worked on an apprentice surveyor.

The block which was demolished yesterday was one of the first to incorporate, the then revolutionary, post tensioned concrete suspended floor and roof slab construction. I remember at the time discussions about how dangerous a job it would be to demolish the block because the floor and roof slabs would explode when the tendons were cut. They obviously hadn't reckoned on high explosives being used.

At that time governments wanted to build as many houses per annum as possible to alleviate widespread slum conditions which were prevalent at that time and to make up for massive housing shortages. Unfortunately, for macho political reasons, the aim was to build as many housing units as possible for the available money with little regard paid to quality and sustainability. The tenants and the tax payer have suffered the consequences of that policy ever since.

Not all developments of that era were poor, but they were sadly few and far between.

yip it was great.

getting paid 12 hours at treble time for getting the best view in town wearing a bright orange jacket.

Some idiot on the 16th floor left his windows wide open haha

there was a few idiots in the area who left the windows open.......we have had them on the blower all day.

Better call Saul
My gran & granda used to stay in 14/1.

Great Veiw BTW

Here did you no fancy just hiding in yer house and no answering the door