Broomview House (Sighthill) demolition

Swanny17

The 'Blowdown' will happen sometime between 11am - 1230 according to the leaflet that came through the door.

Apparantly there are going to be 'hundereds' of police in Broomie around the time of the explosion, so that the locals can't nick anything from the vacated houses :P

The leaflet does mention that a security team and the police will be patrolling the exclusion zone to deter any would be tea leafs.

So you've been warned then?

It was the same when the flats at Oxgangs were blown up. They take no chances!!!

Is that one of the old high-rises overlooking the park and the Pitz?!

Aye, the long one of the four - situated next to the roundabout between Sighthill and Broomie.

Really, i had no idea it was getting knocked down.

I'm trying to think where the best vantage point will be to watch?

The big playing field might not be best as the taller flats block the view.

The roundabout (with the tunnels) between Saughton, Lonstone, Broomtoon and Parkhead might be a good shout.

Outside the Silver Wing should be a decent spot. It might even be open for a cheeky pint whilst watching :)

Susie-Jambo-66

I remember them using the flats and surrounding area for the BBC TV series 'Looking After JoJo' starring Robert Carlisle which was shown in 1998.

And a good series it was too.

Kickback Party!!!

Where we meeting?

We could ask Hibs.net along and tell them to meet us on the 9th floor between 11am and 12:30pm??

They'll be too busy on the rob as detailed above

BB, as the wee information leaflet says there is nowhere that you can get a proper view of it. It looks like the exclusion zone ends about the medical centre in the Sighthill direction. Can get a lot closer from the Parkhead side. That's really the only two options as the view will be hugely blocked from anywhere else.

Should have done the rest of Shighthill while they were at it :)

Those from Fife should keep their own counsel.

Ya hoor.

Should have done the rest of Shighthill while they were at it :)

The three big flats that are left?

Well remember 'Record Breakers', when they did the domino toppling?

There's you answer.

Those from Fife should keep their own counsel.

Ya hoor.

Its yahoorsur young Dassler. Commonly used by uneducated oiks from the likes of Oakley, Dunfermline and a quaint little town called Cowdenbeath.

Anyway, I moved there when I was three and didn't have much say in the matter unfortunately.

Great news!, i'm o/seas but i'll be checkin-up on that just to make sure they don't feck it up. Broomview Hoose, an absolute and total ****HOLE!!

The bus stop at the other side of the dual carriageway directly opposite.

That or Cathy's, the wee shop on the corner.

I might miss it :(

just go to the underpass and stay on the opposite side of it..........

You won't get that close. There's going to be a cordon set up and there'll be plenty police to stop people getting inside it.

I ken a good route through the gardens from my younger days though...

Just on Forth2 that the flats will be coming down between 1130-1200.

Think I will go up to the garage at Wester Hailes to get a good view.

Just heard a huge bang from my house in Longstone Road.

I take it that's that then.

I thought the Russians were coming.

woo that was fun.

just watched it from the wester hailes garage!

1 weel explosion followed by the building comming down within 2 seconds.

Jambojohnnyboy
woo that was fun.

just watched it from the wester hailes garage!

1 weel explosion followed by the building comming down within 2 seconds.

Aye that wee explosion gave us enough time to get to the window to see it come down. Not as impressive as Oxgangs though.

spot on m8

but the flats on oxgangs were much bigger