advice please

Muppetboy

im hoping to get some advice regarding an incident that happened at my work. if there is anyone who has some knowledge of the legal system and the course of action that is open to me, then i would appreciate any input they can offer.

i work as a recreation assistant, and part of my job involves running youth clubs in the community. whilst i was working in the centre where the youth club is run, there was a gathering of kids outside playing around with skateboards, bikes etc. having recently bought a nice new car, i was concerned that an incident may occur and my car may get damaged. i put this out of my head until an hour or so later when i child came to me and said someones car had been hit by a child on their bike. to my horror, it was my vehicle that had been dented.

anyway, to cut a long story short, i found out who the perpetrator was and sought his number, which i managed to do. i called his parents but have been told in no uncertain terms they are unwilling to pay for the damage, which should roughly cost 200 pounds. to me, if my child had caused damage to someone elses property i would feel obligated to pay for any repairs etc. this situation is annoying from a moral standpoint more than from a financial point of view, although i cannot really afford the repair costs at this time. any advice would be gratefully welcomed.

I'm afraid I ain't no expert but...........

If your the law abiding forgiving type - let it go unless you've got witnesses etc can hand it over to your insurance company to deal with.

Regardless, you might just have to put it down to experience, think how you could have handled it better and move on. Be wary though, by challenging the kids and then been "put in your place" by the parents, you might just have set yourself up as a target (at least at work) - maybe best to park the car a bit out of the way or use public transport for a while. The dark nights are coming in as well - you need to keep that in mind.